Old 10th October 2012, 15:40   #196

Re: 2012 Chevrolet Cruze : Official Review

Dear Cruze owners. Can you guys please share the best mileage figures you've got on the Cruze, both in city and on highways?

My family is planning on buying a sedan in some months and I had high hopes on the Cruze. But a recent review by OVERDRIVE magazine on their October issue stated something like "the Cruze is unable to put its power down efficiently" and has given the highway mileage to be around 16 kpl and the overall figure to be as low as 11.43 kpl. My father sees this as a BIG drawback and hes pretty stuck up on the Vento because of this.
He says the cheaper Volkswagen has better build quality than the Cruze, is frugal, and has a 106bhp motor which is "adequate". But somewhere my heart still pangs for the Cruze!

P.S. We do not want to pick any car which goes above the price of the Cruze and fuel economy is not our only requirement. We needed a bit of power too (more than the C segment cars) if we were to spend in excess of 12 lakhs (hence we didn't bother looking at the Altis, Fluence, etc.). The main reason to consider the Cruze was its powerful engine but if it doesn't prove to be reasonably fuel efficient then dad would strongly decide against it.

He finds the XUV500 (i know... an SUV!!) to be a better value for money proposition than the Cruze for a similar price because it has got a very good engine and offers more space and practicality. Hes also saying that it's as economical as the Cruze. Is this true?

Which would be a better choice? We're looking at a long- term highway machine which can move around at least 4 people in good comfort over long distances.

Please share your views and help me out!
Old 10th October 2012, 16:24   #197

Originally Posted by Vivek Jayan View Post
Which would be a better choice? We're looking at a long- term highway machine which can move around at least 4 people in good comfort over long distances.
The above statement alone is good enough for you to consider the Cruze and Laura and no other car (within stated budget).

Laura DSG will give you more mileage but is poorly speced when it comes to features (ambient).

Cruze is not known for mileage. So bottom line is that you will have to convince you dad through the other positives of the car.

In the older engine Cruze i have achieved a max of 20 kmpl (MID) on highways and 13.5 kmpl (MID) in city. Although the highway figure is HUGELY dependent on your right foot. I've also managed a figure as low as 14kmpl on highway!!

Having said that, the new engine Cruze should manage quite a bit more mileage. 6th gear and more mid range torque will aid fuel efficiency. I would estimate anywhere around 18-19 kmpl easily with usual cruising.

Hope this helps!!
rangakishen is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th October 2012, 16:33   #198

@Vivek, you need to be prepared for the worse in terms of FE.

If your choosing a manual cruze then, dont expect a city mileage of more than 11.50kmpl and on highways a maximum of 14kmpl. Getting above that highway figure is possible but, that means sacrificing the fun of driving a Cruze.

If 4 people need to travel comfortably on highways. Then Cruze is a good choice.

No Offense, Comparing the space available in XUV 500 vs. Cruze is a bit childish in my opinion. In that case, an Ertiga, Quanto, Verito, Manza etc also offer more space than the Cruze

Anyways bottom line is if you love driving a fast sedan, then Cruze it is.

Goodluck on your decision making
mobike008 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th October 2012, 16:35   #199

Originally Posted by rangakishen View Post
In the older engine Cruze i have achieved a max of 20 kmpl (MID) on highways and 13.5 kmpl (MID) in city. Although the highway figure is HUGELY dependent on your right foot. I've also managed a figure as low as 14kmpl on highway!!
Having said that, the new engine Cruze should manage quite a bit more mileage. 6th gear and more mid range torque will aid fuel efficiency. I would estimate anywhere around 18-19 kmpl easily with usual cruising.
AAH!! I'm going to save the link to this post right here!! You sir, are a life saver!! Yes considering that my dad and I rarely do high speeds, I was expecting similar economy figures like what you've mentioned. So, you strongly recommend the Cruze over the Vento and XUV??

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
No Offense, Comparing the space available in XUV 500 vs. Cruze is a bit childish in my opinion. In that case, an Ertiga, Quanto, Verito, Manza etc also offer more space than the Cruze
I agree that space is not one of the Cruze's USPs. I was merely stating my dad's "utilitarian" comments. As far as I know all he wants is VFM as he is the one spending all the hard earned money. I can't argue with him on that but I'm sure he'll enjoy driving the Cruze once gets his hands on one. He just needs some strong convincing thats all. Besides since hes a light footed driver (I'm the one who likes to go fast ), I'm hoping that he'll be able to squeeze more economy out of the Cruze. Please correct me if I'm wrong

Originally Posted by drchernish View Post
Between Cruze and XUV I would suggest you cruze not because I also made that choice but because the piece of mind it gives with each drive that that you just enjoy that drive and not that you keep on discovering new niggles every time.They both look good especially in black. For a detail info about what new niggles are their in Xuv their is even a thread that runs into pages. Show that to your Dad and he will forget about Xuv.
I'll surely make him see light on this matter. Can you kindly share the fuel economy you've observed with your Cruze?

Note from Team-bhp support: Please use the EDIT or MULTI-QUOTE buttons instead of typing one post after another on the same thread. High speed references are not permitted on the forum. And, do not quote an entire large post as it inconveniences our mobile and small screen readers.

Last edited by Vivek Jayan : 10th October 2012 at 16:55. Reason: Back to back posts.
Old 10th October 2012, 16:38   #200

Between Cruze and XUV I would suggest you cruze not because I also made that choice but because the piece of mind it gives with each drive that that you just enjoy that drive and not that you keep on discovering new niggles every time.They both look good especially in black. For a detail info about what new niggles are their in Xuv their is even a thread that runs into pages. Show that to your Dad and he will forget about Xuv.
drchernish is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th October 2012, 16:52   #201

Lets face the hard facts here. I tried driving with light foot once or twice (a nightmarish experience) and it still returned 14.50kmpl on the highway as that was the best figure i got in 32,000kms of driving till date.

In the city, I drive faster than normal people and still get 11.50kmpl which has neither reduced nor increased till date.

Many Cruze AT owners have reported horrid figures of 8-9kmpl too.

Bottomline, dont expect more than above FE figures. Period
Old 10th October 2012, 16:59   #202

But as rangakishen has put it, isn't the new Cruze supposed to give better economy as a result of its engine upgrades? Also, I'm looking at the MT version not the AT.
Old 10th October 2012, 17:04   #203

Originally Posted by Vivek Jayan View Post
But as rangakishen has put it, isn't the new Cruze supposed to give better economy as a result of its engine upgrades? Also, I'm looking at the MT version not the AT.
Not sure if Rangakishen drives the New Cruze but, i know only Kch82 owns the 166BHP Cruze and can confirm the actual FE figures

Even if you go by the engine upgrade the power has been enhanced with better gear ratios and a 6th gear but, i still have my doubt of increase in FE in real world terms ( tankful to tankful).

MID's are usually way off the actual mark when it comes to FE calculation.
Old 10th October 2012, 17:11   #204

My experience from my 2011 Cruze LT in Bangalore has been around 12 km/lt (20% highway, 80% city; 50%AC) and a best of 17 km/lt (Bangalore-Madurai-Munnar-Madurai-Bangalore; 1200 km, 80% AC).

Overall delighted by the mileage given Bangalore's atrocious traffic. Many days, I can barely reach 5th gear!
Old 10th October 2012, 17:22   #205

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
My experience from my 2011 Cruze LT in Bangalore has been around 12 km/lt (20% highway, 80% city; 50%AC) and a best of 17 km/lt (Bangalore-Madurai-Munnar-Madurai-Bangalore; 1200 km, 80% AC).
When you say 50% AC, Do you drive the car with windows open? Because you cannot drive with AC off and windows closed.

In that event, arent you afraid of dust seeping in and spoiling the interiors?

I drive almost 99.9% with AC on. I keep the window open when i start the car for 1-2 mins just to let the hot air out.

Anyway, 17kmpl is a great acheivement. I cannot acheive that because I am busy shoving the throttle to the floor
Old 10th October 2012, 17:43   #206

When you say 50% AC, Do you drive the car with windows open? Because you cannot drive with AC off and windows closed.

In that event, arent you afraid of dust seeping in and spoiling the interiors?

I drive almost 99.9% with AC on. I keep the window open when i start the car for 1-2 mins just to let the hot air out.

Anyway, 17kmpl is a great acheivement. I cannot acheive that because I am busy shoving the throttle to the floor
Don't know why you have experienced such horrid figures really.

On highways unless i really really push my mileage rarely drops below 15kmpl (tankful to tankful). I do the tankful method rarely but whenever i have done so (without taking it easy as such) i have got 15+ only!!

In city i get 12 kmpl regularly with 100% ac in bangalore. Have done tankful method a few times. And yes i drive fast.

On highways i Cruise along at 120+ speeds and easily manage 16-17 figures. Its when i leave cruising and start rocketing that my mileage drops even further. Have tried staying within 100 once on my way to mysore. It was plain old cruising in 5th below 100 all the way. And achieved 20kmpl on MID which i personally feel will not be too far off the real fig (guesstimate - 19) kmpl.

Last edited by rangakishen : 10th October 2012 at 17:46.
Old 11th October 2012, 01:54   #207

Not sure if Rangakishen drives the New Cruze but, i know only Kch82 owns the 166BHP Cruze and can confirm the actual FE figures

Even if you go by the engine upgrade the power has been enhanced with better gear ratios and a 6th gear but, i still have my doubt of increase in FE in real world terms ( tankful to tankful).

MID's are usually way off the actual mark when it comes to FE calculation.

I will be glad to share my FE experience with my 2012 Cruze AT 2012. I have driven it for around a 1000 km till now, with mostly the AC on for 90 % of the drive and the fan speed at 1 tol 2. The FE that I have got is around 7.5 - 8 km/ltr. I am not sure how much will it increase post first service, but anyhow I am not expecting the car to return FE of more that 9.5 -10 km/ltr at all points of time in city driving. I think I will be able to live with that.

I for one have bigger yet more basic concerns with the Cruze. Still have not got the steering wheel at 180 degree and steering naturally tilts a bit to the left.

I too (once again) have a few questions from a first service perspective :
1.What all will be covered in the first service ?
2. As in what all work will be carried on bybthe zervice centre and of which what will I need to pay for ?
3. Also the Service Manager suggested at purchase that I go for synthetic
engine oil as it improves performance and life of the engine ?

Vivek - IMHO the Cruze ideally cannot be categorised as VFM car. Agreed cheaper sedans offer better plastic quality, mileage, space, easy resale and tension free running - all that most Dads like. But the Cruze is a Driver's car. A very Passionate Driver's car

You can try and convince your Dad and might succeed. But keep your fingers crossed that your Dad appreciates all the positives of the Cruze in the long run or else you might get a earful
kch82 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th October 2012, 07:02   #208

Originally Posted by kch82 View Post
The FE that I have got is around 7.5 - 8 km/ltr.
After 28K on odo, I get 8.5 to 9.0 KMPL in city. With 100% A/C, bumper to bumper traffic in Bangalore. For comparison under similar conditions my palio 1.9D gives 10 - 10.5 KMPL.

Highways it is possible to get good mileage figures above 15kmpl with patience, I get 13 - 14kmpl. In a recent trip from Bangalore - dindigul - munnar - udumalpet - Bangalore, I got 13kmpl.

Vivek - You have to test drive Cruze and not compare it on paper with Vento. I find a big difference, and there in lies my justification for VFM. For me Cruze is VFM when compared to Jetta.

Still have not got the steering wheel at 180 degree and steering naturally tilts a bit to the left.
Since you have mentioned before that you have tried other Cruzes and still find the same problem, have you tried any other car on the same road. On a empty two lane road, have you tried driving on other side of the road, does it still pull to left? I do not have this problem.

2. As in what all work will be carried on bybthe zervice centre and of which what will I need to pay for ?

Just general checkup and wash. I donot think they do anything unless you have complaints. My bill for first service was exactly 0.
pach is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th October 2012, 11:00   #209

Originally Posted by rangakishen View Post
Don't know why you have experienced such horrid figures really
Ah! There you go. The speeds which you have quoted are not in the same ballpark

Besides, seems like your the only Cruze owner to get such fantastic mileage on highways. As you can see others are getting in the same range as mine and lot many much lower as well

I bought the Cruze expecting 10kmpl in city and 13kmpl-14kmpl on highways. So i am NOT complaining at all ( Come on, it's a diesel car..on top of it...)

I will be glad to share my FE experience with my 2012 Cruze AT 2012. I have driven it for around a 1000 km till now, with mostly the AC on for 90 % of the drive and the fan speed at 1 tol 2. The FE that I have got is around 7.5 - 8 km/ltr. I am not sure how much will it increase post first service, but anyhow I am not expecting the car to return FE of more that 9.5 -10 km/ltr at all points of time in city driving. I think I will be able to live with that.
Bang on. I was expecting these FE figures and you confirmed my belief.

With the power up so much, even i dont expect the new Cruze to give more than 11kmpl in city ( yours maybe 10kmpl being an AT) and a couple of kms more on highways.

I too (once again) have a few questions from a first service perspective :
3. Also the Service Manager suggested at purchase that I go for synthetic
engine oil as it improves performance and life of the engine ?
Answers to your queries :

1 & 2. Nothing is covered. It's just a general check-up and they hook up the car to diagonistics and scan the entire car, tighten screws, wash and hand it back to you. Expect Rs.0 bill

2nd service : Pretty much same as 1st service

3rd Service : This is when they change the oil. DONT change before this time period which is 15,000kms

This is what I hate about Chevy guys. Such ridiculous suggestions spol the entire Cruze experience

3. Cruze comes stock with synthetic oil. Its a pity the service manager DOES NOT know that OR is trying to take you for a ride. Whatever the case, seems like your A.S.S is either incompetent or on path of fleecing you. BE CAREFUL
Old 11th October 2012, 16:17   #210

Thanks for all the real mileage figures provided by you. I intend to buy my Cruze LTZ soon. Initial expectations in terms of mileage was not more than 12kmpl in city and 15kmpl on highway.

So, the real numbers are not too much off What else can you expect from a beast with 2.0L engine under its hood .

Any updates / news on 2013 Cruze launch in India?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com