Old 3rd December 2011, 00:50   #1141
MAS

Re: Mahindra XUV500 : Test Drive & Review

Yup, that's confirmed. Bookings will be reopening in January 2012. Mahindra is also looking at increasing production capacity over 2,000 units / month.
Got to read this in Autocar website

Link: XUV500 bookings to re-open in Jan - News - Autocar India

Mahindra is will once again take orders for its hugely popular XUV500 SUV in January. As you may recall, the company shut down bookings on October 11, after having received over 8,000 orders – or four-months’ production – over the span of just 10 days.

The company says production is on schedule and will also be ramped up to meet demand, which has grown thanks in part to word of mouth from customers who have taken delivery.

The launch prices, which started at Rs 10.8 lakh (ex-showroom, Delhi), however are expected to go up.
The prices are expected to go up?! That was expected, but by how much? Hope Mahindra irons out the niggles.
Old 3rd December 2011, 04:26   #1142

Guys forgive me for my ignorance but I am yet to find a trip meter on my XUV. Can someone confirm if its actually there?
EDIT: Also it seems the remote is missing volume button?

Last edited by rohitbagai : 3rd December 2011 at 04:30.
Old 3rd December 2011, 08:45   #1143

I have an urgent and critical question.

Went to the stockyard (Vasant Kunj, ND) to check the XUV 500 which is being allocated to me. following observation bothered me:

the ODO showed 114. On query, the mechanic mentioned that "your piece is a part of the 1st lot which had some gear issues, hence they drove these a little more in order to rectify the problem. The problem was of throw in gear and once the gear oil was changed the problem disappeared. the new lot isn't facing this problem." The sales team completely denied any of this - stated long distances between stockyard-wrokshop etc as the reason for ODO.

the question: Mannubhai's post revealed that it might really be a 'first batch' niggle. Is it technically a 'hard wiring' problem or it genuinely gets eased out with the new synthetic oil? Does it justify the 114 on the ODO? Or do I simply insist for a new batch piece? (the piece has been in the stockyard for around 20 days now, they are releasing 8 to 9 pieces a day. the engine bay looked clean and there were no signs of body damage)

MODS: I am supposed to take a call by tomo morning. Your views will be truely appreciated.

Old 3rd December 2011, 09:41   #1144

Originally Posted by inomad View Post

Went to the stockyard (Vasant Kunj, ND) to check the XUV 500 which is being allocated to me. following observation bothered me:

the ODO showed 114. On query, the mechanic mentioned that "your piece is a part of the 1st lot which had some gear issues, hence they drove these a little more in order to rectify the problem. The problem was of throw in gear and once the gear oil was changed the problem disappeared. the new lot isn't facing this problem." The sales team completely denied any of this - stated long distances between stockyard-wrokshop etc as the reason for ODO.

the question: Mannubhai's post revealed that it might really be a 'first batch' niggle. Is it technically a 'hard wiring' problem or it genuinely gets eased out with the new synthetic oil? Does it justify the 114 on the ODO? Or do I simply insist for a new batch piece? (the piece has been in the stockyard for around 20 days now, they are releasing 8 to 9 pieces a day. the engine bay looked clean and there were no signs of body damage)

MODS: I am supposed to take a call by tomo morning. Your views will be truely appreciated.

When your are in doubt albeit even a small one, ask for a new piece. If you opt for this piece and wondering if any niggles come up syndrome psychological effect on you is not worth the risk.

Demand a new piece and be happy. If they themselves are mentioning they have sorted out in the new batches why buy one form the old batch.

Anyways congrats in advance.
Old 3rd December 2011, 10:17   #1145

Hello Team, i am getting XUVi 5oo today.....so far i was manage to get 10k discount 36k (bumper to bumper) from SBI..

Last edited by Tushargohil : 3rd December 2011 at 10:19.
Old 3rd December 2011, 11:51   #1146

Just got the news from SE at Bangalore that Mahindra has again withdrawn the awd model for some changes and refinement. (he said that they have delivered only 1 awd xuv so far from their dealership) and that awd deliveries will start again in January 2012. It this true? Can anyone please confirm this.
Old 3rd December 2011, 13:01   #1147

Had replied in Mamba thread. Reposting :

I had issues on gear engaging. The lever would also pop back at times after putting in 1st/2nd/6th . I have changed the gear oil to synthetic and the problem has not appeared since. It looks rectified.

The gear falls in smoothly now and stays put.

114 ODO should not worry you IMHO. Most cars are delivered at +100 in ODO.
Old 3rd December 2011, 14:23   #1148

XUV500 AWD news, expectations & Delivery

It is really surprising that there is no news about AWD performance, please share if anyone of you have tested it or seen it in action. Since Mahindra has delayed the deliveries for AWD, I feel that they should surprise the customers by adding some really good features which were not mentioned during time of booking.

My 2 cent for this-

News (to be confirmed) –

*XUV 500 AWD participated in Desert Dash (27th Nov.) and outperformed many high end SUV’s in Rajasthan deserts, it secured 2nd place, 1st was Q7.
*BS motoring has driven the AWD version and review is expected soon.

Expectations from XUV AWD-

1.Super select option for AWD
2.Sunroof
3.niggle free gear mechanism
4.Smooth clutch
5.Better ICE output
6.A/T tyres

Delivery Date-

I booked on 3rd October & the Delivery is 9th March 12

Old 3rd December 2011, 15:27   #1149

I booked awd w8 on 3rd Oct which was entered into mahindra system on 4th Oct. Expected date of delivery march 20th 2012
2weeks back the se who did the booking called and said they will give delivery on December 30th for sure but now he says they have delivered only 1 awd and mahindra has stopped awd deliveries till Jan 2012 to rectify some problems with the awd model-would be nice if someone can confirm this
Old 3rd December 2011, 15:39   #1150

Re: XUV500 AWD news, expectations & Delivery

I am really interested to know what are the additional goodies you get in the AWD variant with respect to the W8 2WD, apart from the AWD of course.

For a city dweller, would the AWD make sense? Has it got any additional benefits? I feel FE would be impacted too.
Old 3rd December 2011, 19:48   #1151

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
For a city dweller, would the AWD make sense? Has it got any additional benefits? I feel FE would be impacted too.
If it's purely city drive, I would NOT pick an AWD. Why do you need so much traction in city? Unless of-course, you travel thru some low slung places which gets flooded - even then a 2WD should suffice I guess [most of the times]. And as you mentioned, slightly lesser FE & added electronic gizmos & their reliability problems related to AWD [if it's electronically controlled]
Old 3rd December 2011, 21:08   #1152

Infractions: 0/2 (9)

if I had bought the XUV I would have without a doubt bought the AWD W8.
because while I live in the city too, I do go here and there where I would like to have the added benefit of the AWD.
Else the W8 variants are pretty much the same - be they 2WD/FWD or AWD.
The price differential is also not too much so might as well buy the AWD. Maybe buying it will motivate you to go out into the roads less travelled.

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
I am really interested to know what are the additional goodies you get in the AWD variant with respect to the W8 2WD, apart from the AWD of course.

Old 3rd December 2011, 21:38   #1153

the ODO showed 114.
Please check the VIN and check the month of manufacture.It should be at least Nov 2011 assuming a 15 days transit time at the max. Sometimes the stockyards are indeed far from the showroom - try to know where exactly is your dealer's stockyard and calculate the distance too. These should clear your doubts to a good extent.
Old 3rd December 2011, 22:08   #1154

Originally Posted by naveenchhillar View Post
I think there is huge drawback of side facing seats. If you are on a long drive with people sitting in last row - they are bound to have neck pain after the drive
Originally Posted by m_upreti View Post
It is after all a question of personal preferences, but none of the current 12 Lac + SUV's sport the side facing seats, may be M&M can think of a foldable design to configure both way facing seats in one set, but as ACM points out it is alll a questions of sales, why change if it is selling as it is .
I personally hate the side facing seats, and still remember the days touring the Uttarakhand region in Jeeps with my father and the driver in the front & me on the rear side seats with all the jerks and discomfort.
Old 3rd December 2011, 22:47   #1155

Does anyone knows if a Gear Lock is available for XUV in the market ? I would prefer to get it install as soon as I get the delivery of my W6 next week.