Old 11th November 2011, 08:19   #1276

Re: Ford Fiesta : Test Drive & Review

Originally Posted by carfreak77 View Post
FYI the car in that picture is the model sold internationally. In international markets it is sold with a different grill and some other small exterior differences. Since the car was launched so recently I do not see the introduction of the additional features as "a half hearted attempt", rather I see it as a good move on their part.
Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post

Like carfreak77 pointed out, that's the international model.
Thanks for clarifying that... I think the shape of the fog lamps spoil the sharp look of the car.

Also, I said it was half hearted because, although hill ascent and hill descent features are very useful, it feels like they've borrowed one or two features from higher segments and when these features are mentioned as USP, it seems that there are features missing, features that were not taken.
Old 11th November 2011, 09:13   #1277

Originally Posted by carfreak77 View Post
This is not a sports car to have "sport mode". L stand for "low" which means low gears e.g. 1st and 2nd. It is used when you want to lock the gear in either first or second.
So a Honda City A/T is a sports car because it has a sports mode?
Old 11th November 2011, 11:15   #1278

Originally Posted by MAS View Post
Is the recommended first service at 2500 kms? "Kitna deti hai"? In Chennai, i spotted three New Fiestas yesterday. Two of them Sea Grey and one Moondust silver.
Yes, the 1st recommended service is at 2500 Kms.

Figures before service were in range of 17-17.5 Kmpl in city conditions.

After service, I have refueled it, but will have to wait for a few more days to see the new figures for comparison.
Old 11th November 2011, 12:15   #1279

Originally Posted by aparth View Post
16kmpl for a petrol automatic seems a bit unrealistic
Think of this as a robotized-manual transmission, that also has a dual clutch.

Its no less efficient than a manual transmission. See what i had mentioned in my review :

Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
• The AT version actually got better FE figures than the MT in the USA tests. There are three reasons for this: it’s a dual-clutch, so there’s no wasteful torque converter in there; the optimal shift points are pre-programmed in; and the AT is a 6-speed whereas the manual is a 5-speed. Ford, here’s your chance to bring in this DCT and capture this niche. More-so if it’s paired to a diesel engine!

Originally Posted by aparth View Post
What does "L" stand for?
Always stays in the Lowest gear possible.

cya
R

Last edited by Rehaan : 11th November 2011 at 12:16.
Rehaan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th November 2011, 12:20   #1280

Spotted the new Red Fiesta on PH road, Chennai with a red number plate. Looked quite good compared to the kinetic blue. Not sure if it was an automatic though.
Old 14th November 2011, 13:35   #1281
MAS

Just spoke to my dealer. I called the SA to ask him if i can get my Fiesta this week itself. He informed me that Ford is offering upto 85K discounts on its Petrol engined Fiesta. This is being stretched to 1 Lakh on individual basis!!!

My SA has asked me to wait for another month as he feels that there will be a discount scheme coming out for the Diesel in December. Scheme or not, i will take my car in December. My wait continues for another month now....
MAS is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th November 2011, 16:17   #1282

Originally Posted by MAS
Just spoke to my dealer. I called the SA to ask him if i can get my Fiesta this week itself. He informed me that Ford is offering upto 85K discounts on its Petrol engined Fiesta. This is being stretched to 1 Lakh on individual basis!!!

My SA has asked me to wait for another month as he feels that there will be a discount scheme coming out for the Diesel in December. Scheme or not, i will take my car in December. My wait continues for another month now....
Dealers usually give a lot of discounts after 20th dec on all cars as the year is about to change. Try getting a 50k cash discount on the fiesta along with the company sanctioned freebies.
Mustang.101 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th November 2011, 16:53   #1283

Here is the link mentioning the 75K discount being offered on the petrol variants . All New Ford Fiesta Petrol Sedan now available with discounts of up to INR 75,000! | IndianCarsBikes.in.
Old 14th November 2011, 17:23   #1284
MAS

Originally Posted by Mustang.101 View Post
Dealers usually give a lot of discounts after 20th dec on all cars as the year is about to change. Try getting a 50k cash discount on the fiesta along with the company sanctioned freebies.
Will try that Mustang. I read somewhere (may be Auto India or zigwheels) that the Fiesta comes with ESP. Please confirm if this is correct.
Old 14th November 2011, 17:50   #1285

Originally Posted by MAS

Will try that Mustang. I read somewhere (may be Auto India or zigwheels) that the Fiesta comes with ESP. Please confirm if this is correct.
Not in india. It comes with ESP in the US i think. All UK models have ESP.

Last edited by Mustang.101 : 14th November 2011 at 17:54.
Old 15th November 2011, 14:43   #1286

My first ever Fiesta spotting on the road in Chennai. This car surely is rare on the roads.

Ford Fiesta : Test Drive & Review-dsc03326.jpg

Ford Fiesta : Test Drive & Review-dsc03327.jpg

Ford Fiesta : Test Drive & Review-dsc03328.jpg
Old 17th November 2011, 18:03   #1287
MAS

Originally Posted by supremeBaleno View Post
My first ever Fiesta spotting on the road in Chennai. This car surely is rare on the roads.
Guess we should start a "Spotted the New Fiesta" thread. I get to see the new Fiesta almost everyday now. I spotted two cars yesterday. One at Pallavaram, Kinetic Blue with Temp number plates and one opposite CLRI (White). Surprisingly, the car looks very small when viewed from the rear. May be due to the ultra small tail lights.
Old 17th November 2011, 18:11   #1288

There are 4 NFS in my company parking lot! 2 Blue & 2 white

1 of the white is about couple of days old without regn. plates!
Old 17th November 2011, 19:17   #1289

Originally Posted by MAS View Post
The answer is simple. He should have offered you a test drive. The amazing drive and handling of the car would more than answer your question as it is leagues ahead of Fluidic Verna and much better than the City.

80K is news to me. Hope Ford starts to give some discounts on the oil burner too.
I second that. Our family bought one recently and it is a dream machine.
Old 18th November 2011, 11:05   #1290

Good to see the numbers of New Fiestas increasing.

The car drives really well and after the first service, the 'lag' has been considerably reduced.

I wonder why Ford Motors cannot do a correction on pricing of the diesel version to add to sales. They simply do not seem to be interested in promoting this car. With a 75K decrease in the diesel version's price, the sales are going to move much better.