Team-BHP > Motorbikes
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 5th April 2010, 15:44   #1
BHPian

Pulsar 135LS - Initial Ownership Report

"Dad, I need to join CAT classes". That was the dialogue which got me a bike. Strange? Read on.

I am currently in my 3rd year, and decided that I need to get buckled up and start preparing for the plethora of examinations that lie ahead. I had a slight inclination towards the CAT for unknown reasons, and hence, decided to join an institute in the vicinity. After deciding on the batch and other nitty gritties, I told my dad about this.

"All right, but how will you travel all the way?" (It was some 2 kms away)
"I'll take a bus, no problem"
"Hmm... But taking a bus everyday might be troublesome. How about I get you a bike?"
I start grinning, and off we go, bike hunting.

First up, we went inside a Honda showroom. Had a look at the Activa and the Dio. Both looked neat. I, however, had problems turning the steering handle, as I had long legs (I am 6 feet +). The price tag of 45-50k odd ex showroom didn't seem too appealing either. So the scooter category was wiped off the charts.

We then had a look at the Twister. I didn't know that such a bike even existed, because it hadn't been launched in my city yet. (The ad came out 3 days later). The showroom guy says, "This one costs 45k on road. With discs and an electric start, it'll go up to 50k odd on road". The bike looked good, funky, and we made a mental bookmark on the Twister and walked out. The showroom rep didn't seem too keen on making a sale though.

Bikes like the Apache and the Karizma were ruled out as I am quite lean. I wanted something that was reasonably light, something that I should be able to handle with relative ease. There was a Bajaj showroom right opposite to the Honda showroom, and we walked into it.