Old 29th March 2010, 11:26   #226

Originally Posted by terminator_47 View Post
Guys,seek a little help.
I have been following this thread also as I too own a Classic 500 with an up swept.Like you,I have also experienced a clatter in the sound produced specially when the engine is cold,something annoying other than the exhaust sound.
I am posting the link of my uploaded video for the same,kindly check & see if that is normal:

P.S:This is relatively on warm engine,bike has covered 2000 on ODO.
That is perfectly OK according to me - It sounds good - The clatter that you hear is because of the electric starter motor and the way it is connected to the engine - I have it in my Electra 5S and when I showed it to my mechanic over here, he quickly inspected the tappet and cam settings and told me that the clatter was because of the starter motor - Just ignore it !!

Old 29th March 2010, 12:28   #227

@bbkp-Please explain as how your electra 5s starting mechanism is similar to an UCE engine and why would it clatter in cold and not when warm?
Old 29th March 2010, 12:51   #228

Originally Posted by terminator_47 View Post
Guys,seek a little help.
I have been following this thread also as I too own a Classic 500 with an up swept.Like you,I have also experienced a clatter in the sound produced specially when the engine is cold,something annoying other than the exhaust sound.
I am posting the link of my uploaded video for the same,kindly check & see if that is normal:

P.S:This is relatively on warm engine,bike has covered 2000 on ODO.
i do not think that there is any abnormal sound from your c5. the noises you hear are various parts just working away, nothing to be concerned about. the cast iron engines are a lot quieter due to the substantially different noise/sound/vibes conducting properties of aluminium and cast iron.

i have heard 3 c5 closely and all have this similar characteristic noise.
Old 29th March 2010, 13:10   #229

Originally Posted by Randhawa View Post
@bbkp-Please explain as how your electra 5s starting mechanism is similar to an UCE engine and why would it clatter in cold and not when warm?
UCE or CI engine, the electric start mechanism is pretty similar - an electric motor moves the piston back and forth and provides the initial spark that is needed to start it off !!

The engine when cold is dry and hence more clatter - however, as it heats up, the engine oil circulation would lubricate and hence reduce to clatter to a great extent.

The starter motor is one of the many reasons for the clatter, so, take my comment as one of the reasons for the clatter and not the only reason for it.

The other reason for such clatter generally is the tappet gap settings, but with hydraulic tappets on the UCE, I would rule out any possibility of them to be altered with - you can in any case, get them inspected by a mechanic.

Old 29th March 2010, 16:55   #230

@Terminator : do you hear the clatter even on the run?
Old 2nd April 2010, 16:03   #231

Originally Posted by Dhruva View Post
@Terminator : do you hear the clatter even on the run?
At times for the initial run.
Old 2nd April 2010, 16:56   #232

Originally Posted by hollywoodhogan View Post
i do not think that there is any abnormal sound from your c5. the noises you hear are various parts just working away, nothing to be concerned about. the cast iron engines are a lot quieter due to the substantially different noise/sound/vibes conducting properties of aluminium and cast iron.

i have heard 3 c5 closely and all have this similar characteristic noise.

Well thats a great news for me.However at times the clatter increases to a high level,dont know why,still I am okay presently.

Old 4th April 2010, 23:28   #233

Hello, fellow TeamBHPians and classic 350 Owners

Fellow TEAMBHPians and classic 350 owners and yet to be owners. I have just joined TEAMBHP even though I have been using the website for various issues, needs etc. I have been going through this particular topic ever since the thread was started. This thread was one of the deciding factors to buy the all new Electra Twin spark. Yes I'am a proud owner of the new Electra Twinspark. Well one might ask me why Electra. The reason is the unusual waiting periods. On the contrary I'am getting the same engine, better seating and better rear tyre (I prefer the regular tyre compared to the Zappers which are not the best ones when it comes to wet surfaces).

In short, I got my Electra delivered in the third week of March. It had done 20 Kms short of 800 Kms and the first service is completed. The engine has smoothened after the first service. However I have been experiencing with my own set of unique problems.

I'am writing on this thread asking help from all the fellow classic 350 owners to solve my problems.

Problem 1: The very first day of owning the bullet, my rear tyre was punctured. To my disbelief when I got the tube checked, it was not one or two punctures but atleast dozen. Guess what the culprit was? We found a tube nozzle cap inside the tyre. The dealer (HSR services, mission road, Bangalore) was not of much help except for directing me to the MRF dealers. I felt investing in a new tube was much cheaper than approaching the MRF dealer and forgot about the issue.

Problem 2: Oil started to leak from the kicker oil seal. And it started from day 2. When approached the Head mechanic was quick to say its from the chain (even though, one could easily say it was from kicker oil seal). It was not rectified even in the first service. Finally I took to Mehaboob garage on Nandi durga road. The reply I got there was, run it until the next service and we'll replace it free of cost for you. My question is, why should i be driving a leaky bullet when I have paid a staggering 1 lakh rupees? This issue remain unsolved. I'am planning to write to RE customer care after one last try at HSR again.

Problem 3. When I saw the wiring diagram of the vehicle, the head light output is mentioned as 60/55w. The service engineer at HSR also confirmed the engine is exactly same as the one on classic 350. I even went ahead to the extent of comparing the wiring diagrams of both which looked similar. The problem I'am facing is, the stock bulb is 35/35w regular bulb and the brightness is not sufficient to drive on the Bangalore ring road. When i installed a 60/55w halogen lamp, the battery discharged in 2 days.

I would like to know if any CL350 owners are experiencing battery discharge.

Any suggestions and tips are welcome.
Old 5th April 2010, 10:22   #234

Originally Posted by ElectraTspark View Post

Problem 2: Oil started to leak from the kicker oil seal. And it started from day 2.
Even I was worried when my motorcycle had same issue, but turned out to be a regular chain oil splash.

Problem 3. When i installed a 60/55w halogen lamp, the battery discharged in 2 days. I would like to know if any CL350 owners are experiencing battery discharge.
No it does not discharge.
Old 5th April 2010, 11:30   #235

In my case the complete engine underbelly is covered with oil. I also see few droplets. More over Mr sheriff at Nandi durga road confirmed the issue with oil seal. But he wanted me to wait until the second service.

The most surprising of all is, even while I was writing this reply, I got a call from Mr Mithun from HSR services. I wonder how he could get to know. The only thing I can think of is, he being an active member/viewer of this post.

He has been very kind and polite to me from the early days of booking and has promised to address the issue on priority.

Will keep all of you posted soon.
Old 5th April 2010, 14:39   #236

Does not make sense. Why Mehboob Garage does not want to fix it right away being authorized service station ? Why wait till second free service which will be at 3000kms, if none of these folks agree to fix it speak to RE Regional Service Manager and take it to Brand Showroom's service station on Bannerghatta road.
Old 5th April 2010, 15:19   #237

Originally Posted by RECL350 View Post
Does not make sense. Why Mehboob Garage does not want to fix it right away being authorized service station ? Why wait till second free service which will be at 3000kms, if none of these folks agree to fix it speak to RE Regional Service Manager and take it to Brand Showroom's service station on Bannerghatta road.
Nope these guys are no good either. I bought thunderbird last month 3rd. Took it for first service.

complains. Tacho gets stuck after 99 kms.
2) oil leak from oil filter area.
3) If i put fuel around 10 lts.. it starts leaking from the fuel cap.. After visiting the royal enfield brand store service center 4 times till now they havent fixed any problems.

Now new problem.. i can see oil stains on the complete sleeves right from the spark plug. any of have information why this oil is leaking.
Old 7th April 2010, 15:06   #238

@ElectraTspark and @RECL350,

Don't worry too much about the oil leakage - a bullet is not a bullet if it doesn't leak. Well - everything else apart, I too was a victim of this problem in my electra (the Cast Iron engine one ofcourse). The problem is with the way the nuts and bolts are tightened in the factory - Quality of fitment has always been a concern with RE. All you need to do is to buy a set of original gaskets and get everything fitted and tightened from a mechanic - don't go to an RE garage for this as most probably, they will not do it. RE service centers are overloaded and anyone with a decent knowledge of working on a bullet typically has his own shop. The first thing you should do is to "befriend" a good mechanic - Yes, with other bikes you can either rely on the service centers and on some good mechanics - but with an RE, you need to befriend a mechanic !!

Fuel leaking form fuel cap if more than 10 liters of fuel is added to the tank - it is by design.

The RE authorised service centers typically don't care much about these kind of issues - as long as the vehicle is moving they seem to be OK with it and don't do much. In some cases, they don't have the necessary skills as well to fix some of the issues.

That is one of the reason why I suggest that it is better if you go to a good mechanic after enquiring a few of the bullet owners about the same.

Secondly, please be very careful with your bikes when you give them for a service to anyone - be it be the authorised ones or the roadside mechanics - they do all kind of cheating - a good mechanic of a bullet who doesn't cheat is very very rare - don't be surprised if all of a sudden the bill for getting a few minor things done starts running into thousands - that's you getting fleeced.
Old 7th April 2010, 18:37   #239

@bbkp: Thankyou for the suggestion. your point about a good mechanic is very true. I had been to HSR service centre. Per the head mechanic its not oil leaking from the engine but that of chain. He also said the chain in newer Bullets are of dry type and chain lubricants/sprays have to be used. However he also said that they use the regular lube oil which splashes all over.

What i did not understand is, why are they using lubricating oil instead or chain spray on a dry type chain. In my opinion this will reduce the life of chain.

@RECL350: Do you have any inputs for me on this?
Old 7th April 2010, 18:54   #240

The very first day of owning the bullet, my rear tyre was punctured. To my disbelief when I got the tube checked, it was not one or two punctures but atleast dozen. Guess what the culprit was? We found a tube nozzle cap inside the tyre. The dealer (HSR services, mission road, Bangalore) was not of much help except for directing me to the MRF dealers. I felt investing in a new tube was much cheaper than approaching the MRF dealer and forgot about the issue.
That's 'quality' RE service!!! Now about the oil leak, the only way to deal with these kind of 'smart' mechs and dealers is to shout at them at the top of your voice. My friend's Classic 350 started sprouting oil left, right and centre. He tried the shouting trick and it worked. The mech listened to him and got it fixed instead of giving his gyaan!!!

Take your Electra to an authorised workshop, they are much better!!!

Note from the Team-BHP Support Team : Please use the "edit" button if posting within 20 minutes of the first post, instead of creating another back-to-back post.

Also use "Multi Quote" option for quoting Multiple posts.

Last edited by Technocrat : 7th April 2010 at 19:04. Reason: Please read the note in your post, thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com