Old 24th December 2013, 21:02   #256

Re: Indian Two Wheelers that flopped

Originally Posted by rajeev k View Post
I too had one and I can say that the Saffire did flop at the marketplace.
That was one bike that I used to love at that time, had even gone to the showroom with dad and enquired about price/availability. Never actually got around to buying it though.
Old 24th December 2013, 23:39   #257

There was a bike called Vicky2 launched some time in 1980 or whereabouts that flopped before the launch was noticed.
Old 25th December 2013, 02:11   #258

Originally Posted by targaryen View Post
The XCD also failed to deliver on the promised fuel efficiency but it still returns a decent 45 kmpl. I found it to be a decent bike overall for the price
45kmpl?? Bajaj auto at the time of launch was claiming something like 108 or 109 kmpl!
antariksh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th December 2013, 11:22   #259

@antariksh: Yes sir! Imagine my surprise when the max I could get out of it was 75 kmpl! This honeymoon period lasted a mere 12 months.
Old 14th January 2015, 11:35   #260

Came to know that a halted LUNA WINGS 35cc moped is for sale... Vehicle needs a complete servicing. What should be the max amount I should pay....

FYI already I Have TVS Express 35cc & Enfield Mofa 22cc in mopeds (others Enfield Bullet - Petrol, Enfield - Diesel, Mini Bullet, Crusader, BSA Bond, Yezdi , Jawa, Scooter, Kinetic Zing...etc) :-)
Old 14th January 2015, 12:36   #261

Originally Posted by ranilkumar1981 View Post
Came to know that a halted LUNA WINGS 35cc moped is for sale... Vehicle needs a complete servicing. What should be the max amount I should pay....

FYI already I Have TVS Express 35cc & Enfield Mofa 22cc in mopeds (others Enfield Bullet - Petrol, Enfield - Diesel, Mini Bullet, Crusader, BSA Bond, Yezdi , Jawa, Scooter, Kinetic Zing...etc) :-)
Wow that's quite a collection you have!

As classics go I guess Lunas aren't that premium in the market, I would start the conversation at around 3000-4000. I definitely wouldn't pay 30k for it. For a Yezdi yes, but not for a Luna.
rajushank84 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th January 2015, 12:57   #262

With your kind of collection, I would not ask for others advise on this matter.

However, I think the person should pay you for helping him in freeing some space in his garage.
sourabhzen is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th January 2015, 13:51   #263

I guess it would be a good time to add the latest one to the list. The Suzuki Inazuma. It was a really good motorcycle which met a premature death due to bad marketing and pricing!
man_of_steel is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th January 2015, 13:48   #264

Could not find any mention of the Lambretta by API which supposedly had the body redesigned in 1989 by Japanese design firm Miyazu.
Old 16th January 2015, 10:36   #265

Originally Posted by sourabhzen View Post
With your kind of collection, I would not ask for others advise on this matter.

However, I think the person should pay you for helping him in freeing some space in his garage.
Sourabh bhai - Always take help from others. No one knows everything, & in front of collectors here in the forum, I am nothing.
Old 16th January 2015, 10:42   #266

Originally Posted by PratikPatel View Post
Could not find any mention of the Lambretta by API which supposedly had the body redesigned in 1989 by Japanese design firm Miyazu.
Lambretta by API.... was that a flop model
Old 19th January 2015, 18:17   #267

Lambretta by API.... was that a flop model
As I said the one redesigned by Miyazu. If I recall correctly it was called Lamby Polo 150. It never really sold in any substantial numbers. So by that definition, yes it was a flop model.
Old 19th January 2015, 21:40   #268

Newest addition would be the Suzuki Inazuma. GW250
A very capable bike, unfortunately met its sad demise due to Suzuki India's disinterest to promote it.
iron is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th January 2015, 22:00   #269

Originally Posted by iron View Post
Newest addition would be the Suzuki Inazuma. GW250
A very capable bike, unfortunately met its sad demise due to Suzuki India's disinterest to promote it.
Capable? A 250cc twin which makes only 24 PS of maximum power is anything but capable (heck the 200cc KTM makes more power from a single cylinder) and at 3.1 Lakhs ex-showroom it is terrible value for money proposition considering the spec on offer.
For comparison the same motorcycle in UK is 1100 pounds cheaper than KTM 390 which itself is approx 1100 pounds cheaper in India than Inazuma.

With the spec and price, the bike was destined to be a failure.
Old 20th January 2015, 04:49   #270

I don't think any two wheeler maker has the number pf hit and miss attempts of Bajaj Auto. Wow is the list comprehensive or what:

1 . Stride - 2 stroke geared scooter
2 . SX Enduro - 2 stroke, on/off road motorcycle
3 . Super 99 - 2 stroke geared scooter
4 . Legend - 4 stroke geared scooter
5 . Bravo - 2 stroke geared scooter (5 port engine, sports Chetak!!)
6 . Chetak 99 - 2 stroke geared scooter
7 . Spirit - 2 stroke automatic scooter
8 . Saffire - 4 stroke automatic scooter (3 speed auto transmission)
9 . Prowler - 2 stroke motorcycle (5 port engine, 5 speed, brembo disc)
10. Caliber Croma & 115 - 4 stroke motorcycles
11. M80 4 stroke - 4 stroke moped
12. Eliminator - 4 stroke motorcycle (cruiser)
13. Aspire - 4 stroke motorcycle
14. Chetak 4 stroke - 4 stroke geared scooter
15. BYK - 4 stroke motorcycle (low cost)
16. Wind 125 - 4 stroke motorcycle
17. Wave - 4 stroke automatic scooter
18. XCD 125 - 4 stroke motorcycle

Some of these on the list did not have a complete market launch (eg. Prowler) and some were re-engineered and re-branded and had better fortunes (Wind to Platina, Eliminator to Avenger). Also there are a few I missed out, like a plastic bodied variant of the M80 2 stroke and a myriad of Discover variants!

Thats quite a few models. Hey, but at-least no one can accuse Bajaj of not trying back then.

From a very troubled 90s, Bajaj have come back in the 21st century with a bang! From the Pulsar launch to owning a big chunk of a global brand like KTM.

Last edited by shortbread : 20th January 2015 at 04:51.