Old 31st January 2025, 12:00   #1

Yamaha YZF-R3 & MT-03 prices slashed by Rs. 1.10 lakh

Massive price cut on the Yamaha 300s!! This looks a little more sane now.

Yamaha YZF-R3 & MT-03 prices slashed by Rs. 1.10 lakh-img_2898.jpeg
RT13 is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 31st January 2025, 12:07   #2

Re: Yamaha R3 & MT-03 Review

Originally Posted by RT13 View Post

Attachment 2720953
Looks like stock clearance before the facelifted version is launched.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 31st January 2025, 12:08   #3

This is a panic reduction based on the tuono is what I can assume. The Tuono is already ruffling feathers and scaring the unchanging Yamaha. We are in for interesting times.
doomketu is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 31st January 2025, 12:13   #4

Looks like stock clearance before the facelifted version is launched.
Could be. But if it is, it’s pretty stupid of them to explicitly say it’s ‘not’ a clearance sale

I do think some sanity (or panic) has set in with the reasonable success of the 457 and the imminent launch of the Tuono. That, combined with the existing Kawasaki twins at reasonable prices, put them as absolute outliers even for those who want a twin over a single.

Last edited by RT13 : 31st January 2025 at 12:14.
RT13 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st January 2025, 12:21   #5

Still overpriced but at least the pricing is on par with current eye watering R15 prices. I get the feeling that they just wanted to undercut Aprilia. Come on Yamaha, sell it at least like at 3.3-3.4L, you are fighting against KTM 390s, not 457s. I do unfortunately see R3 wiping out RS457 sales because the average Indian customer will go 'twin cylinder' bro, 'japanese reliability bro', 'yamaha' bro.
hikozaru is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 31st January 2025, 12:24   #6

Attachment 2720953
Wonder how does this sit with the few current owners who put down their hard earned money to a buy an overpriced product due to their trust in Yamaha. 1L Is a huge discount and reminds me of the Inazuma saga all over again. Can't say we didn't see this coming.
b16h22 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 31st January 2025, 12:38   #7

I love it when an overpriced product from a company who thinks they can sell anything at any price is shown its place by the market. Yamaha along with Honda need to rethink their pricing strategy. This is definitely not a stock clearance as we all know how lethargic Yamaha is when it comes to new launches. The new R3 MAY come to India in early 2026.

The R3 at 3.6 lac ex showroom is a steal.
RD150 is online now   (10) Thanks
Old 31st January 2025, 12:52   #8

Yamaha India has announced a price cut on two of its overpriced motorcycles – the R3 and the MT 03. These bikes are now cheaper by Rs 1.10 lakh.

https://www.bikewale.com/news/yamaha...n-2024-models/
Old 31st January 2025, 13:39   #9

Originally Posted by hikozaru View Post
Still overpriced but at least the pricing is on par with current eye watering R15 prices. I get the feeling that they just wanted to undercut Aprilia. Come on Yamaha, sell it at least like at 3.3-3.4L, you are fighting against KTM 390s, not 457s. I do unfortunately see R3 wiping out RS457 sales because the average Indian customer will go 'twin cylinder' bro, 'japanese reliability bro', 'yamaha' bro.
What’s wrong with that (bro)? In all seriousness, Aprilia may have a decent product prima facie but only time will tell how it ages. Plus it has an established questionable track record for after sales service. The Japanese reputation for reliability, refinement and engineering certainly has been earned and enough people value it to even pay a premium for it (I certainly would). And no, they are right in not pitting themselves against the KTMs - that would be devaluing the brand and offering. The question has never been about premium - it has always been about the quantum of premium. At the old prices, for the package offered it was simply too much for any other than blind Yamaha loyalists. Now that’s been addressed, it opens the market up to a much larger demographic of riders who are still willing to pay a premium and yet aren’t swayed purely by heart.

Originally Posted by b16h22 View Post
Wonder how does this sit with the few current owners who put down their hard earned money to a buy an overpriced product due to their trust in Yamaha. 1L Is a huge discount and reminds me of the Inazuma saga all over again. Can't say we didn't see this coming.
Not particularly different from the many buyers of premium car brands from BMW to Audi to Merc who routinely find the models they bought at sticker price, hugely slashed at the end of the year or model cycle. Purely from a brand POV, in this instance, the number of buyers is so few that it just makes business sense to rip that bandaid off. Having said which, considering those who bought are probably the most fanatical Yamaha brand advocates, if I were Yam, I’d find a way to mollify them through free services, merchandise, invitational events, track days, etc.

The Inazuma was a different scenario altogether because it was a product with no market equivalent whatsoever. A unicorn of sorts, which only real, discerning enthusiasts would buy. And the Indian market was considerably less mature at the time.

I have to say, I personally didn’t see it coming. Japanese brands are not known for changing their stances on positioning. They’d rather exit a market than compromise their view of things. This is a pleasant surprise, to me anyway.

Last edited by RT13 : 31st January 2025 at 13:41.
RT13 is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 31st January 2025, 13:53   #10

I have to say, I personally didn’t see it coming. Japanese brands are not known for changing their stances on positioning. They’d rather exit a market than compromise their view of things. This is a pleasant surprise, to me anyway.
I'm a bit confused when you say this because it's the Japs that recently executed the most significant price cuts due to overpriced launch prices. Honda very recently cut the CB300R and CB300F prices substantially and CB500X & CBR1000RRR prices were cut agressively in the past. Plus the recent price correction on Kawasaki SBKs. It was easy to see what's coming looking at the single digit numbers the R3 was doing and MT was just a complete failure.

And Inazuma was severely overpriced for the time and it wont sell even if launched now as the inflation will take the prices to eye-watering territory in 2025. It was launched for 3.1L back in 2014. I like it for what it is but it was never a 4L bike.

Last edited by b16h22 : 31st January 2025 at 13:55.
b16h22 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 31st January 2025, 16:39   #11

Re: Yamaha YZF-R3 & MT-03 prices slashed by Rs. 1.10 lakh

Yamaha YZF-R3 & MT-03 prices slashed by Rs. 1.10 lakh - Posts moved to a new thread.
Old 31st January 2025, 16:46   #12

What’s wrong with that (bro)? The Japanese reputation for reliability, refinement and engineering certainly has been earned and enough people value it to even pay a premium for it (I certainly would).
I agree with you on the Aprilia service part but Japs are anything but fuss free. My Yamaha FZ25 was the most unreliable motorcycle i have every owned from Multiple Fork seal leaks to straight up engine oil leaks (not a drizzle but the tap open kind), I even dealt with theft of parts by Yamaha Service Center. Among the 4 motorcycles i have owned from Bajaj, Yamaha, KTM and Royal Enfield, the Bajaj was surprisingly the most Fuss Free ownership i ever had. Japanese Brands are not as attentive to Indian market compared to other brands, ex. R3 was always insanely priced and never sold in good numbers, Honda Parts availability is a challenge in Cities like ex. Pune and just forget about the tier 3 cities, Suzuki barely sells anything above access and gixxers. Barely any Japanese motorcycle launched globally makes it to india and even if some do they are priced at a significant premium. Take CB650R for example, its ex showroom price is similar to Z900, Why would one buy CB650R instead of a Litre class motorcycle?. All said and done, If i service my vehicle timely and take care of it, I cannot trust the Japanese reliability any more than that of the other manufacturers.
maverick029 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 31st January 2025, 17:54   #13

Originally Posted by maverick029 View Post
My Yamaha FZ25 was the most unreliable motorcycle i have every owned from Multiple Fork seal leaks to straight up engine oil leaks (not a drizzle but the tap open kind)
Wow, feels good to hear someone else too has faced similar issues. I had ditto similar issues which made me sell it off within 5 years. Lesser said about Yamaha's Service center, the better.
Sk8r is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 31st January 2025, 23:52   #14

It's still pricier than the KTMs and if you think people see Yamaha as superior to KTMs or even close to KTMs like somebody has said here, it's doesn't work in India that way except for people who are really into motorbikes. When people say Yamaha, the regular people don't think R1, they think Yamaha FZ 150 and R15. It apparently sits below even KTM's 125. So I don't think it's going to sell much to be frank but that motorbike is a great motorbike for sure but still not value for money. The sports guys will go for RC 390 and the retro guys will go for RE 650s.

Now, Japanese motorbikes are said to be more reliable than European ones but I don't think the Indian spec 150 CC bikes are that reliable. Yamaha FZs had so many problems with its carb that most of them are running with Pulsar carbs, isn't it? I do believe that Japanese inline 4s are inherently more balanced and reliable than the V twins of Harleys and Italians or even V4s.
LiamJose is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st February 2025, 01:47   #15

I don't really see the point in prejudicing manufacturers. Aprilia being Italian doesn't automatically make them unreliable, and as shown with the RS457 which hasn't had any major issues apart from minor alignment issues.

Similarly the R3 having a Japanese company logo on the tank doesn't make it an infallible piece of engineering as seen with the numerous stator coil issues, a fate that befell R15M_Rider in this very forum. R3s of multiple generations have suffered from stator coil issues pretty frequently.

Aprilas dealers are far and few however, and this alongwith that nice yamaha blue mean that if I had 4.5 lakhs I'd go for the R3. It's old and barebones, but it's a nice sports tourer.

MT-03 however I don't see any reason to buy over the Duke 390. Duke has more power, is cheaper to buy, spares are aplenty and has better equipment throughout. The extra cylinder is a simply a bragging point considering how smooth the Duke becomes past 5000rpm. A R3 with a flat handlebar isn't special enough.
asininite is offline   (7) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com