Old 26th November 2024, 16:12   #1

Ola S1 Z with removable battery launched at Rs 59,999

Ola Electric has launched a new electric scooter called the S1 Z. The new model is available in two variants: S1 Z and S1 Z+, priced at Rs 59,999 and Rs 64,999 (ex-showroom), respectively. Deliveries will begin in May 2025.

Ola S1 Z with removable battery launched at Rs 59,999-20241126034142_ola-s1-z.jpg

The Ola S1 Z features an all-new boxy design, unlike the S1. It has a trapezoidal LED headlamp mounted lower down on the front apron. The handlebar has minimal bodywork, comprising a translucent fairing.

The Ola S1 Z has a flat footboard and a single-piece seat with a pillion grab rail. The e-scooter can be fitted with a front and rear luggage rack and a pillion sidestep. It also has an LCD instrument console offering Bluetooth connectivity.

The Ola S1 Z is equipped with a 3 kW hub motor powered by a pair of removable battery packs of 1.5 kWh each. Together, they can power the e-scooter for 146 km. It can also run on a single battery pack, which gives it a range of 75 km.

According to Ola, the S1 Z can sprint from 0-40 km/h in 4.7 seconds and has a top speed of 70 km/h.

Link to Team-BHP News

Last edited by TusharK : 26th November 2024 at 16:13.
TusharK is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 26th November 2024, 16:40   #2

Re: Ola S1 Z with removable battery launched at Rs 59,999

Looks like knee jerk reaction towards Honda’s upcoming e-Activa probably just to give an idea to prospective Activa Buyer that similar scooter will be available for this price so hold your purchase until that time.

But given the image above(assuming no other Prototype or actual display model was displayed), OLA might have just told their product manager to draw a scooter on figma and marketing Team was asked to launch a halo product.

Great strategy indeed, but those who can look through this know how stupid this launch is. I hope I am wrong.
Hispaniola is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 26th November 2024, 16:54   #3

I'm also waiting to see how the e Activa launch goes. But underseat space is a big miss for the Honda. Don't see too many Hero Vida's on road; so I doubt if removable battery is as big a USP.

Last edited by Senotrius : 26th November 2024 at 16:56.
Old 26th November 2024, 16:57   #4

Ola launches Gig and S1 Z range of scooters in the price range of ₹39,999 – 64,999.

Ola Electric introduces PowerPod at ₹9,999, an inverter that powers homes using its portable batteries.

Ola S1 Z with removable battery launched at Rs 59,999-gdtcdukaoaec0ps.jpg

Ola S1 Z with removable battery launched at Rs 59,999-gdtcy06auaayavz.jpg

Link:

Last edited by volkman10 : 26th November 2024 at 17:00.
volkman10 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 26th November 2024, 17:16   #5

Fantastic configuration I must say. I’m loving the concept of this latest Ola offering - the one at 65k INR with twin removable batteries.

- 14” wheels: Nice.
- Removable battery: Super convenient.
- 70 km top speed: Adequate*
- 145 km range: More than enough*

{* - just coming from my own use case - where we ride a scooter literally within a 2 km radius and barely twice a week).

Hope Ola develops a little more credibility and pretty soon. At this point, I’d struggle to plonk any money on this brand, however enticing the product specs may be.
Axe77 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 26th November 2024, 19:36   #6

This is clearly a render. I don't think any prototypes exist for these products either. Frankly, it is very difficult to trust this brand after so many fiascos.

I hope Indian customers are intelligent enough to not fall for this marketing ploy.

Ola does what Tesla used to do with product releases (Tesla still does it):
Create hype for a product that is so far from production that the actual timelines for delivery are at least 3 or 4 times the promised delivery deadlines.

On top of this, Ola has a woefully incompetent and overloaded service network.
A 2 wheeler should first and foremost be reliable and safe and dependable. Ola vehicles manage to fail on these parameters.

As for these Z products, they seem to be aimed at the food aggregator business fleets. I don't know if any private individuals would want these.
Only big businesses can fight and sue ola and deal with their customer service issues. A private vehicle owner should stay away from Ola. This is my humble opinion (no offense to existing ola customers that are actually experiencing a fuss free ownership)

Perhaps it's good that Ola is aiming these toward fleet operators. They'll get a chance to grow their service network, improve cash flow and hopefully improve service experience for their private vehicle owners.

I'm still not hopeful though. There are many horror stories about the work culture at Ola. An organization that doesn't respect its employees can never grow. Who would want to work for a megalomaniac like Bhavish Agarwal (again no offense to existing Ola employees that enjoy their job)
vamsi.vadrevu is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 26th November 2024, 19:51   #7

Originally Posted by vamsi.vadrevu View Post
This is clearly a render. I don't think any prototypes exist for these products either. Frankly, it is very difficult to trust this brand after so many fiascos.
First thing that came to my mind also was these are just some renders, and they feel like they are done by someone in the design team rather than the marketting team. I can also confirm from my friends working for this company that they are more shady than what's been revealed to the public.
Bhavesh is just a narcissistic "we have an Elon Musk at home".

Last edited by Doge : 26th November 2024 at 19:52.
Doge is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 26th November 2024, 20:09   #8

Could have timed it for Diwali launch. Missed opportunity I'll say.

Who will wait 6 months to buy this? If it isn't ready already you know there's some jugaad happening behind the scenes to undercut the Activa Ev

Last edited by Nithesh_M : 26th November 2024 at 20:10.
Old 26th November 2024, 20:55   #9

Seems like they are just busy running their ads with a potential new launch while they already have lakhs of experimental prototypes running on our Indian roads. Being an Ola S1 pro owner, i wouldn't even recommend this scooter to my enemies. As my 3 year warranty is set to expire in about 3 months time, I guess the fate of my scooter will be like a used second grade Android phone with no value. Currently my scooter is standing in the workshop for a week with a possible BMS issue that still needs fixing. As I use this scooter approx. 75 kms from the nearest service center, it is very hard to imagine how the next warranty less year will look like !
apple.kiddo is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th November 2024, 21:11   #10

e-Activa teasers come in, somebody's feeling the heat and is restless.

Once e-Activa comes in, somebody's going to get hurt (burnt) real bad!

#StockUpBurnol
ToThePoint is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 08:34   #11

Why so many models when you already have S1X with 2kWh at Rs 70K (or even lower with offers)? Ola should concentrate on improving reliability instead of bringing dozens of models with minor differences. Bajaj and TVS are selling 30K EVs per month with just 3-4 variants of a single model. The main reason for their success is reliability at a decent price.

Contrary to many members' opinions, I don't think this is a knee-jerk reaction to the upcoming Activa EV. There is no guarantee of Honda's success with the Activa EV. It will fail if the battery capacity is only 2.6 kWh as rumored. Indian market already has a very good lineup of electric scooters from the likes of TVS, Bajaj, Ather, and Hero. All these are selling in huge numbers every month. Then there are innovative startups like River and Ultraviolette. While the design is fantastic, the Activa EV should have at least a 3 kWh battery and be priced at around Rs 1 lakh to achieve reasonable success.

Last edited by sri_tesla : 27th November 2024 at 08:37.
sri_tesla is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 09:17   #12

Originally Posted by TusharK View Post
Ola Electric has launched a new electric scooter called the S1 Z. The new model is available in two variants: S1 Z and S1 Z+, priced at Rs 59,999 and Rs 64,999 (ex-showroom), respectively. Deliveries will begin in May 2025.
The scooter comes with only one battery for the mentioned prices with 75 km range. I couldn't find any info in their website for the cost of separate battery or if they're selling it as a service.
Old 28th November 2024, 08:20   #13

The original Appscooter from which OLA bought the license had removable banana shaped batteries.
They changed the original design because it was costly to keep the same design.
It’s a little disappointing that OLA couldn’t replicate the original design of banana shaped batteries. It would’ve allowed to keep the huge space empty under the seat.
I don’t want to give them any points here as they seem to be trying to bring new models without fixing the issues from older ones. I have seen people literally abandon their OLA scooters because of issues.
Thanks to toothless consumer protection laws, greedy business men like these can keep looting in India.
Old 4th December 2024, 12:21   #14

Just bought Activa and was surprised at the sales. The cupboards were full of service booklets and numberplates. (had gone to change service booklet) It sells like a normal fast-moving item in a local store. Reliability and engine play a big part in mind and heart of those buying. OLA needs to win confidence in this part first.
sukhbirST is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th December 2024, 22:54   #15

This actually seems like a good move. SEEMS, being the operative word.

The whole mini electric bikes (dont sue me, i coined this term ), segment is actually really underrated. As an owner of such a bike (mini battery, mini range, mini torque and mini top speed), the urban capabilities are actually unsaid. While i purchased it at a premium price, getting such a bike, at the cost of a flagship smartphone, has its perks.

That said, there are a million ways Ola could go wrong with its marketing strategy here. That is, by catering to vanilla consumers. These bikes, seem like regular electric bikes and people automatically have an inclination (despite flagrant announcements) to compare these to the likes of Ather 450(s), and the other Ola bikes.

These bikes would fare very well amongst the various delivery drivers of the Blinkit, Instamart (so on and so forth), community. They wouldnt expect a touchscreen, posh riding dynamics, value for money, snazzy features etc. They would need a bike that gets from Point A to Point B. The removable battery feature also comes handy, as the guys could have an extension cord in their warehouse, charging a couple of batteries. The ones who run out can be replaced with the ones that are fully charged. No fuss, no foul.

Trust me, you have no idea how simple and easy it is to just pop the battery out and plug it into a normal 3 pin wall outlet and let it charge. In the end, the delivery guys, need just that.

I dont know if the price seems really competitive. If it is, Ola is really sitting on a winner here.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com