Old 6th May 2024, 12:31   #1

Royal Enfield takes booking for Himalayan 450 with low seat | Says option doesn't exist at delivery

Hi BHPians,

I wanted to post a detailed review of my new Kaza Brown from the perspective of a naïve user (at least from the perspective of power bikes) and I am in the process of compiling one however RE's promise and delivery have forced me to reach out to you guys for help.

The problem: I am a 5'7'' guy with an average build and new to the world of power bikes. I specifically asked the showroom guts to get me the lowest seat (805 mm) for my new Himalayan 450 (advertised by the company in their brochures) and was promised the same.

Day 0: Come the day of delivery and after a few kilometres on the odometer I noticed that the seat provided was of standard height and not the low-height one, which was not giving me the control that I wanted. I spoke to the dealership and they promised to get back to me.

Day 0: After talking to showroom guys spoke to customer support and was told that the seating option is only available at the time of booking and NOTING can be done now.

Day 1: Again dropped a mail at support@royalenfield.com and received a prompt reply that there have no updates on the low-height seat and the same is not available even as an accessory.

Again mailed the company that the vehicle was not of much use unless I got the low-height seat and the next day received a call with the same reply and they literally said, "If you want the low seating position visit the showroom and then get the shockers adjusted, there is no option of low height seat being delivered now." End of conversation. However, they did register a complaint on the grounds that the "showroom did not provide correct information"

Spoke to showroom guys who acknowledged that I had made a request for low-height seat at the start itself. But firstly, they themselves did not know anything about such an option. Secondly, even while making the order to the company they did not have any such option even to them.

Ques:
1. Who's fault is it? Is the customer to be blamed?
2. What is the way out from here?
3. How can the company explicitly deny the customer a bike part which they are selling to others even when they are at fault?

On an emotional note, It took me years to purchase this bike and have high expectations of riding it but the attitude of the company makes me feel that I made a wrong decision.

Last edited by Aditya : 3rd June 2024 at 05:05. Reason: Spelling errors
jatinkhanduja is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 6th May 2024, 14:45   #2

Re: Royal Enfield Himalayan 450 Review

Sorry for the ordeal you had to go thru. There are so many things RE talked about at launch, and are not delivered yet. The tubeless wheel is a glaring miss.

This 805-825 seat should have been the default in india. This low seat is available as an option, at zero cost, in "configurator". Hence this is a miss on dealer side. They should have taken care of this.

Not sure why this is not available as part of accessories, yet.

BTW, I am 173cms. And have no issue at stop and go traffic. But i wear a shoe all the time.

Last edited by gkrishn : 6th May 2024 at 14:59.
gkrishn is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th May 2024, 14:57   #3

Originally Posted by gkrishn View Post
Sorry for the ordeal that you had to go thru. There are so many things RE talked about at launch, and they are not delivered yet. The tubless wheels is big glaring miss.

This 805-825 seat should have been the default option in india. This low seat is available as a option, at zero cost, in "configurator". Hence this is a miss on dealer side. They should have taken care of this.

Not sure why this is not available as part of accessories.

BTW, i am 173cms. And have no issue at stop and go. But i wear a shoe all the time.
Thanks, but the problem is I have just started biking after a very long time and wanted to be in full control of the vehicles especially in stop and go traffic.
I have the following concerns:
1. Even if I learn to drive the vehicle as it is can the company behave the way they are and deny a bike part to the customer. God forbid if one has the low height seats and they get damaged for any reason will the company not provide a replacement? I am really at loss to understand their attitude.
2. Is there a way I could escalate this to the RE management so that they understand how they are making a mess of a beautiful product.
jatinkhanduja is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th May 2024, 19:40   #4

Originally Posted by jatinkhanduja View Post
Thanks, but the problem is I have just started biking after a very long time and wanted to be in full control of the vehicles especially in stop and go traffic.
I have the following concerns:
1. Even if I learn to drive the vehicle as it is can the company behave the way they are and deny a bike part to the customer. God forbid if one has the low height seats and they get damaged for any reason will the company not provide a replacement? I am really at loss to understand their attitude.
2. Is there a way I could escalate this to the RE management so that they understand how they are making a mess of a beautiful product.
I understand that the dealership messed up and the company hasn't figured a way out.

Some options now though don't know how tall are you -
1. Try to see if you can get the seat cushion modified to make the seat narrower than it is at the front. Most of the times, this helps with finding a good footing.
2. Get an after market seat - not sure if there are options yet though
3. Get the cushion modified to drop the seat height.

I prefer 1 over 3 if 2 isn't available.

Two other things you could do -
1. Don't worry about losing balance and just ride the bike. While flat footing will boost your confidence, even otherwise, am sure your muscle.memory will help find the necessary balance. You have ridden motorcycles before, just remind yourself of it and start small rides during off peak hours to get used to the bike.
2. Enjoy the motorcycle and don't fret about dealer, RE etc. While irritating, your experience is not a deal breaker imo. You got the bike after so long and the bike itself is a good one. So a bit of tweaking your style and you are good to go.

Trust me, waiting for the low seat height option and until then, simply parking your bike is no fun. Plus no guarantee when the accessories will be available any time soon. Happy riding!
Nilesh5417 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 6th May 2024, 22:33   #5

Originally Posted by jatinkhanduja View Post
Hi BHPians,
The problem: I am a 5'7'' guy with an average built and new to the world of power bikes. I specifically asked the showroom guts to get me the lowest seat (805 mm) for my new himalayan 450 (advertised by the company in their brochures) and was promised the same.
The 825mm seat can be cutdown to 805mm by shaving off some foam. Someone in YouTube has already done that. My advise would we be to take it to a good bike seat maker and get it done. It's just 20mm of foam removal. Any good local guy can do it and stitch the seat back.
true_sedan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th May 2024, 22:44   #6

Originally Posted by true_sedan View Post
The 825mm seat can be cutdown to 805mm by shaving off some foam. Someone in YouTube has already done that. My advise would we be to take it to a good bike seat maker and get it done. It's just 20mm of foam removal. Any good local guy can do it and stitch the seat back.
Bad idea. Especially when others are already complaining about the stock seat being poor on longer hauls. Removing almost 20mm foam is never a good idea
b16h22 is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 6th May 2024, 22:54   #7

Originally Posted by b16h22 View Post
Bad idea. Especially when others are already complaining about the stock seat being poor on longer hauls. Removing almost 20mm foam is never a good idea
Well that's the same amount of foam you get in a 805mm seat. It does not have a different material composition. The material is same as the 825mm seat but just lesser foam. So basically you are not losing anything by removing the foam.

I'm just advising the OP considering his situation. Nobody should stop driving just because of the seat height.

A better but challenging alternative would be to stitch a plush comfy seat from scratch. It is possible. But you have to find a skillful guy to do it.
true_sedan is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 7th May 2024, 10:29   #8

Originally Posted by true_sedan View Post
Well that's the same amount of foam you get in a 805mm seat. It does not have a different material composition. The material is same as the 825mm seat but just lesser foam. So basically you are not losing anything by removing the foam.

I'm just advising the OP considering his situation. Nobody should stop driving just because of the seat height.

A better but challenging alternative would be to stitch a plush comfy seat from scratch. It is possible. But you have to find a skillful guy to do it.
Originally Posted by b16h22 View Post
As true_sedan said, the lower seat is essentially the foam shaved off from the regular seat. And from what I'm hearing, the main issue with the default seat is that it's not flat. It keeps pushing the rider (crotch) towards the tank. Which the touring seat solves by making it flat. A skilled seat customization shop should be able to solve this.

I cent percent get that this is not really what the OP is struggling with, rather, it's the dealership and RE's attitude on the issue which is killing the mood altogether.

However, the motorcycle is now in OP's name. You will have to find the strength to move past this (easier said than done), and find alternate solutions to the issue. It's unfortunate, and I do really feel for you.
My wife too was very clear that her first personal motorcycle would be light and one where she could easily flatfoot.

Yes, you can skill up, and you anyway will over time. You don't need to torture yourself by getting a 900mm seat height bike and then learn on it. If you do, good for you, but that doesn't mean, everyone needs to do that.

Would request mods to make this a separate thread for greater visibility. From all what OP has mentioned, the company has mishandled the issue and should definitely help OP with (faster) resolution.
shyamg28 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 7th May 2024, 10:53   #9

If you have an email or some other evidence that your low seat request was prior to delivery, you can take them (dealer and RE) to consumer court.

If not, I suggest you buy the low seat from RE and not go to a seat walla. Keep your current stock seat as a spare. Seatwala seats never ever have the same feel and finish.

In a bike costing lacs, 3-4k would be small change. This is what puts RE owners off completely with the company and the dealer/service network. Permanently.

This is why specialized RE mechanics have always been God and family to RE riders.

Cheers, Doc
ebonho is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 7th May 2024, 10:54   #10

Infractions: 0/2 (11)

Good advise. Low seat will be 100% uncomfortable. Rao seats in Bengaluru use a high-density foam for long-distance comfort, can use that.
Originally Posted by shyamg28 View Post
As true_sedan said, the lower seat is essentially the foam shaved off from the regular seat. And from what I'm hearing, the main issue with the default seat is that it's not flat. It keeps pushing the rider (crotch) towards the tank. Which the touring seat solves by making it flat. A skilled seat customization shop should be able to solve this.
Sebring is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th May 2024, 12:39   #11

Originally Posted by Sebring View Post
Good advise. Low seat will be 100% uncomfortable. Rao seats in Bengaluru use a high-density foam for long-distance comfort, can use that.
My recent experience with Rao has been way below average, the exuberant pricing for the high density foam and the comparative shoddy workmanship due to the crowd was a put off!

I would rather go to a non crowded shop and sit through the process in future.
bhansali_hardik is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th May 2024, 12:41   #12

My experience wasn't great as well, as he demanded more money than agreed while I was leaving (For my CB 350), and stuck to it. I've sworn off the place but found no alternative.
Originally Posted by bhansali_hardik View Post
My recent experience with Rao has been way below average

Last edited by Sebring : 7th May 2024 at 12:45.
Old 8th May 2024, 12:44   #13

My experience wasn't great as well, as he demanded more money than agreed while I was leaving (For my CB 350), and stuck to it. I've sworn off the place but found no alternative.
There are a few in Jayanagar and Tilak Nagar which I have passed by. Did not feel the necessity yet for any mods so holding my horses.

Any idea on the touring seat and how good/bad they are for the price?

I do not believe in the online world of reviews especially for the Himalayan. They just want to hype this up as it's RE!

How is the spares situation? I asked for extra clutch cable during service, but they say they have not received it from RE for the new Himalayan.
Is this at the company service centre? I wonder if they can help me with my headlight assembly, seems like the screws which hold the headlight are at an angle and that might be the reason why my headlight points to left.
bhansali_hardik is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th May 2024, 13:14   #14

a. Im still to install the touring seats. Its just lying in its box. True, like you, I'm also wary of the RE Hype brigade .

b. The company service center at BTM layout, yes. They can help out, and in DIY, they showed me 'how'
Originally Posted by bhansali_hardik View Post
Any idea on the touring seat and how good/bad they are for the price?

Is this at the company service centre?
Old 8th May 2024, 15:18   #15

Originally Posted by ebonho View Post
If you have an email or some other evidence that your low seat request was prior to delivery, you can take them (dealer and RE) to consumer court.

If not, I suggest you buy the low seat from RE and not go to a seat walla. Keep your current stock seat as a spare. Seatwala seats never ever have the same feel and finish.

In a bike costing lacs, 3-4k would be small change. This is what puts RE owners off completely with the company and the dealer/service network. Permanently.

This is why specialized RE mechanics have always been God and family to RE riders.

Cheers, Doc
Thanks, but never anticipated such an attitude from RE. The showroom guys have been very polite and cooperative. Can't really blame them for something that the company hasn't told them.
I would rate the showroom guys 5 /5 but the company seems to follow a different attitude altogether.
What perplexes me is their response "You cannot have this item, even when we are selling it to others".

Probably they are launching too many new products and the company is not is control of spares, accessories and after sales services. This is not the experience that a company would like its consumers to have but they are doing exactly the same.
As of now forgetting about the company and enjoying the vehicle and my two cents "love the bike, hate the company"
jatinkhanduja is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com