Old 8th February 2024, 13:30   #76

Re: River Indie electric scooter Review

Originally Posted by pogo0120 View Post
As far as I know, this company has sold just over 200 units in past three months. Now, that is disturbing.

https://techcrunch.com/2024/02/05/ri...or-investment/

Also, they are aiming for 300 units per month in march and 3000 units by end of the year. This is disturbing again. Not enough quantities to be family scooter/resale value/parts availability etc.

On the other hand, OLA is selling 30,000 scooters a month. I really liked indie, but I am not sure about their plans.

Stick to mass selling scooter and you donot have to worry about resale, parts availability. I have a friend who is trying to sell Renault lodgy from 3 years. I donot want to become like him.
@Pogo0120, I remember your skepticism from the very beginning of this forum. I strongly suggest you skip River. I’m afraid you’ll remain unsatisfied no matter how the River experience turns out to be. Go for one of the fast sellers. That may assuage your concerns on “family scooter/resale value/parts availability etc.”

A correction: Since its launch, River has sold more than 300 units, not 200.

On a few occasions, strangers have offered me spot cash to sell my bike on the spot. So you see, I'm not worried about reselling the scooter.

River has already proved itself by NOT going for numbers but by refining the product. This is NOT a product for everyone. They have clearly positioned the Indie as a lifestyle utility vehicle. And I’m glad they’re sticking to their guns and not diluting the brand ethos or the product quality chasing volume.

I own the third-ever scooter they sold. When necessary, I speak to the Head of Customer Service, besides the Prototyping Head, to clarify anything about the vehicle’s behavior.

They hear you out and work on your feedback to improve the product.

In my humble opinion, the second round of funding will go towards establishing a robust retail stream. Having witnessed how River works, I’ve put down money on a second Indie.

The delivery is scheduled for next month.

I suppose one can say I put my money where my mouth is. ��

Last edited by Raskolnikov.R : 8th February 2024 at 13:37.
Raskolnikov.R is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 21st February 2024, 15:43   #77

Important update:

Received an email as below, they are refunding the booking amount, but keeping the priority booking, I think this is a good gesture.

River Indie electric scooter Review-screenshot_2024022115343455.jpg
Vinod_nair is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st March 2024, 17:51   #78

I was recently visiting Bangalore for some work and I happened to notice the giant River showroom on the Outer Ring Road. While on the way back, it was around 7 pm and we decided to stop to check out the scooter. I had ridden a rented Activa 6G to the showroom and the showroom staff were keen to give me an introduction to the River Scooter.

First, I had a look at the scooter that kitted out with all the accessories.

River Indie electric scooter Review-20240226_191304.jpg
River Indie electric scooter Review-20240226_191744.jpg

I met a product specialist by the name of Madhu who helped me with information about the River Indie scooter, and assisted me with getting a test drive as well. He told me that these accessories were just prototypes for now and not available for sale. But that the company would launch them in the future.

Some pictures of the scooter follow below.
Front with 14 inch tyres and these funky headlights:
River Indie electric scooter Review-20240226_191504.jpg

Display with range and charge percentage:
River Indie electric scooter Review-20240226_191404.jpg

It has three ride modes which can be selected on a button on the right switchgear. It also has the killswitch and the hazard lights button:
River Indie electric scooter Review-20240226_191420.jpg

The left switchgear has the standard indicator, high beam and horn buttons:
River Indie electric scooter Review-20240226_191517.jpg

Phone holder was the main accessory that I noticed on the handlebar:
River Indie electric scooter Review-20240226_191356.jpg

The front boot opens to show space large enough for a water bottle, a small grocery bag, a rain cover, etc. It also has a USB charging socket inside.
River Indie electric scooter Review-20240226_191531.jpg

The left side of the scooter has the charging socket:
River Indie electric scooter Review-20240226_191555.jpg

The panniers seemed to be of decent quality. They opened with the key and could be quite easily removed once opened. Wouldn't even take 30 seconds to get them on and off. I could imagine them being a nightmare in traffic though.

Off:
River Indie electric scooter Review-20240226_191621.jpg

On:
River Indie electric scooter Review-20240226_191637.jpg

I moved on to have a look at the standard un-accessorized scooter after this. Madhu took the opportunity to tell me some specs about the scooter. The on-road price is 1.47 lakhs in Bangalore. This is their first showroom, and they're looking to expand to 10 cities in India. Currently, the Indie has a 60 day waiting period. The range is 120 km in eco mode, 90 in ride mode, and 70 in rush mode. It has a 4.0 kwh battery pack and front and rear dual suspension. A CBS braking system gives decent braking power, but I feel the lack of ABS at 1.47 lakhs is a miss.

My SO thought the colors looked really good. The pastel colors really appeal to the Gen Z crowd, I guess.
River Indie electric scooter Review-20240226_192016.jpg

The scooter comes with a portable charger that fits into a 16A socket.
River Indie electric scooter Review-20240226_191949.jpg

The underseat storage is a whopping 47 litres. Not sure if it fits a full-size helmet though.
River Indie electric scooter Review-20240226_191941.jpg

There's another USB charging socket on the ride side under the handle bar.
River Indie electric scooter Review-20240226_192130.jpg

The footrests seem to be of good quality. There are footrests for the front passenger as well. It's not pictured here, but I feel like that is such a good feature to have.
River Indie electric scooter Review-20240226_192207.jpg

The belt drive comes with a belt cover. I was told that it performs well in the monsoon and muddy conditions as well. I won't miss doing chain lubrication.
River Indie electric scooter Review-20240226_192243.jpg

They were happy to give me a test drive, without me asking. The riding modes did have a distinct feel. The Eco mode would be perfect for traffic, where you just wanted to creep in traffic. The Normal mode would be okay for regular driving. The Rush mode felt quite fast. The only miss was the lack of ABS, which seemed even more necessary after I gave Rush mode a try on an empty stretch of road.

Overall a really positive experience at the River showroom. I really enjoyed riding the scooter and I would replace my ICE scooter with this in a heartbeat. However, it won't be available in Goa for the next 2-3 years, for sure. The ride was comfortable and Rush mode was quite fast as well.
River Indie electric scooter Review-20240226_193933.jpg

Since I was taking a lot of pictures, Madhu asked me if I was a youtuber. I declined but said that I would post my experience at River on teambhp. He said he knew of the website and thanked for visiting. I also gave feedback to the store on Google maps. Today, they called me again to ask for feedback, at which point, I told them to add ABS! That's the only missing thing from this scooter, otherwise it's perfect!

Last edited by KarthikK : 1st March 2024 at 18:38. Reason: Moving to River review thread. Thanks for sharing!
pepega is offline   (46) Thanks
Old 4th March 2024, 12:16   #79

Having not figured out how to put up an ownership report, here's my try on what I've found interesting about the River Indie and what I wish could be better.

A big shoutout to @KarthikK for pushing me to write down my experience.

I named my Indie Amélie after the Audrey Tautou starring movie. Like the character, my River Indie faithfully puts a smile on those who cross paths with it. And gosh, people walk up to me to ask about her almost daily.

Pros:

Customer Service: This is the best part of the entire River experience. I booked the day after they launched. At the test ride, I got a chance to meet with the founders, Aravind and Vipin. Both were eager to hear one's experience. At the time, I complained about the rear suspension pogoing when I was carrying someone heavier than me. Vipin heard me and explained the work that'd gone into finetuning the suspension for most users. Binesh heads customer experience and has always been proactive and willing to listen to customer issues and offer practical solutions. Vaikund from the Prototyping team is the kind of gentleman whose knowledge and experience is essential in finetuning a new vehicle.

I'll gladly line up first to buy River’s next offering.

Riding position: The stretched-out riding position is a boon, especially for tall riders. At an average height, I find it just adequate and comfortable. However, taller friends of mine swear the riding triangle suits them superbly. The front foot-pegs make all the difference. I can't believe no other manufacturer had thought of the idea previously.

Common-sense approach to engineering: The River team has invested many resources in ensuring the customer has a mature product. One that takes a beating and keeps working well. In the 4,500 km I've ridden, I've experienced power restriction only when the battery dipped alarmingly low. Most facets of the vehicle are well-thought-of and executed.

Suspension: You must ride the bike to realize how well the double and triple-rated springs and gas-filled chargers work with the 14-inch wheels. I've never overloaded my scooter. For solo riding, the suspension absorbs bumps and potholes with aplomb. Two-up, it's comfortable for both riders.

Handling: This call is tough. The Indie is not a bike to go corner carving, given that it has the most extended wheelbase of any scooter sold in India. But lean her, and she sings. It's not a Ducati, but it's way better than any other scooter I've ridden in the 150 class. (Full disclosure: I've never ridden the Aprilia. My sister uses a Vespa 150, which I use when I visit my family. It’s a hoot to ride. However, I believe the Indie is better overall.)

Space: The under-seat storage takes in a full-face MT and a half-face Vega. My sister-in-law was so impressed with the storage, swallowing two school bags and a lunch bag. It allows her to transport her two children without their bags hanging off their shoulders, presenting a safety risk. She demanded we add one more to the family. And we did.

Sheer ease of use: The River Indie is an excellent second vehicle in the family. So much so that I hardly use my first. Going anywhere inside Bangalore (at a radius of 35 km), I cannot imagine an easier way to travel. I ride 50 km a day to work and back. The sheer convenience of twist-and-go while riding the massive wave of torque is JOY!

No touchscreen: My first touchscreen mobile was in 2005, Nokia 7710 (their first ever smartphone.) After two decades, I'm happy to limit my use of touchscreens. It's a key reason why I'm not interested in spending money on new cars and their troublesome screens. The River Indie NOT coming with a touchscreen was a key feature that interested me. After 4.5 months, I have not missed it once.

Cons:

Lighting: This is the weakest link in the entire package. As fancy as the lights look, the throw of the front headlights is inadequate at most and horrifying in the rain. From my conversation with the team, I hear that while the current headlights meet current regulations, they're improving the lighting package. It'll be great if they can come up with a retrofittable solution.

Proprietary charger: I'd have loved the Indie coming with a CCS port for a scooter that begs to be taken on the highway. It'd have meant taking the scooter to Chennai despite the long charging time. I've never charged my scooter anywhere other than at home or the River HQ/showroom. Therefore, I don’t know about the experience of using third-party service providers.

ABS/CBS debacle: As good as the CBS is, it doesn't hold a candle in the rains. The scooter demands a dual-channel ABS. I believe cost considerations drove the team to skimp on the feature.

Mirrors: The less said about the mirror, the better. It's practically useless. I've tried sourcing a replacement, but I've not found one that sits on the Indie yoke.

Plastic Quality and Fit & Finish: The body is ABS plastic. I've experienced fit issues from day one. The front cover for the storage space is a little iffy. I need to align it precisely while closing. In saying that, I must add that the second Indie has no such issues. Maybe the team got better with the assembly and finish. Or I just happened to end up with a misaligned piece. I hope the Yamaha investment paves the way for River to use Yamaha-quality plastics, the best in business.

Phone holder: It took about four months to reach the market. Since the brake oil cylinders are located close to the mirror stalks, it wasn't convenient to fix a mobile holder on the stalks. Therefore, I'd to wait for River's proprietary set-up, which turned out to be a holder at the base of the clip-on bar, fitting a white-label waterproof mobile holder (akin to Bobo/GrandPitStop). While the piece is machined well, it is far from line-of-sight. One is forced to look down to see the maps. This choice perplexes me for a scooter that has put practicality at the top of its design ethos.

PS: I almost never take pictures of anything. I realize its adds context to the reading experience. Let me try it for the next update.

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 19th June 2024 at 15:02. Reason: Removing unwanted bits.
Raskolnikov.R is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 4th March 2024, 12:21   #80

Originally Posted by Raskolnikov.R View Post

ABS/CBS debacle: As good as the CBS is, it doesn't hold a candle in the rains. The scooter demands a dual-channel ABS. I believe cost considerations drove the team to skimp on the feature.
The only reason I am holding on to my Aprilia 150 is because of ABS. Difference for singe channel ABS and Non abs version is only 5K in most of the cases. Wonder what stops River/ Ather/ Ola to provide it as an option when the total cost is anyway going in 1.25-1.7 lac range.
Old 4th March 2024, 12:26   #81

Having not figured out how to put up an ownership report, here's my try on what I've found interesting about the River Indie and what I wish could be better.
Nicely written, thanks for sharing! These observations echo my impressions from the test ride, and I'm glad real-world usage isn't too far off.

Proprietary charger: I'd have loved the Indie coming with a CCS port for a scooter that begs to be taken on the highway.
+1

One of our top feedback as well.

Have you had instances where the scooter went into limp mode? I faced that twice during the test ride - I eventually walked the scooter to the engineers. They mentioned this would happen in case the scooter anticipated a fall. In reality, I had just ridden through gravel.

Both times that the scooter went into limp mode, I had started accelerating in Sport mode on the patch of gravel. (The first time was unintentional, the second was deliberate to confirm why the first happened)

Mirrors: The less said about the mirror, the better.
Was one of my first comments to Aravind. He'd mentioned they can do something about it only in the next iteration, given that supply chain is already in place.

Phone holder: It took about four months to reach the market.
I understand they're a young company and such teething issues are to be expected, but I do hope they speed up availability of all their accessories. The extensive list of accessories / customizations is what makes the Indie special and stand out.
libranof1987 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th March 2024, 12:28   #82

Originally Posted by shashant View Post
The only reason I am holding on to my Aprilia 150 is because of ABS. Difference for singe channel ABS and Non abs version is only 5K in most of the cases. Wonder what stops River/ Ather/ Ola to provide it as an option when the total cost is anyway going in 1.25-1.7 lac range.
Given the speed the bike does, it deserves a dual-channel, not a single-channel ABS module. It makes a lot more difference in the rain.

As I picked up the scooter in October, the rainy season had abated. However, I was caught out in heavy spells a few times, and found myself struggling to see (or be seen) with the feeble headlights, and the CBS brakes. Adding ABS would infuse the Indie with a lot more confidence.

I suppose most customers would find the current set-up adequate.
Old 1st April 2024, 12:24   #83

Cons:

Proprietary charger: I'd have loved the Indie coming with a CCS port for a scooter that begs to be taken on the highway. It'd have meant taking the scooter to Chennai despite the long charging time. I've never charged my scooter anywhere other than at home or the River HQ/showroom. Therefore, I don’t know about the experience of using third-party service providers.

Hi Raskolnikov,

I had a question with regards to charging. Is there a drop in the battery charge if, say the scooter is charged to 100% and not used for a week? Is there a procedure where the scooter can be put into some sort of sleep mode if not used for a week or 10 days? I have booked the Indie, but this is a question that is on top of my mind, since I have observed Ola losing about 3-5% charge overnight when not used for a week or so.
Old 2nd April 2024, 16:19   #84

Originally Posted by Neo18 View Post
Hi Raskolnikov,

I had a question with regards to charging. Is there a drop in the battery charge if, say the scooter is charged to 100% and not used for a week? Is there a procedure where the scooter can be put into some sort of sleep mode if not used for a week or 10 days? I have booked the Indie, but this is a question that is on top of my mind, since I have observed Ola losing about 3-5% charge overnight when not used for a week or so.
The scooter has a normal idle drain of 1% overnight. However if you won't use it for a long time you can put it in hibernation mode.

You can engage hibernation mode by pressing and holding the Park and Set button.

Additionally in the manual it is also mentioned that the vehicle automatically goes into hibernation mode if not used for more than 7 days.
sev2024 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th April 2024, 12:52   #85

Originally Posted by pepega View Post
However, it won't be available in Goa for the next 2-3 years, for sure.
What? Why? This is such a bummer. Was this communicated to you by showroom staff?
Old 19th June 2024, 14:10   #86

I visited the JP Nagar Showroom yesterday for paperwork and full payment. The sales has now touched 1000 as per the team over there. Paperwork took all of 5 minutes.
Also to reiterate some of the posts above - I love the company that is not hard on sales and is product focussed.
will update post sales ownership review after I receive my blue (in 10 days).
bhpmooney is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th June 2024, 13:13   #87

Recently, the River Indie app was launched. Although I was invited to participate in the app's beta testing, I couldn't for technical reasons.

The app is neat and clean. It shows the vehicle's state—charging or resting—and catalogs the distance per trip. I guess it will also prompt the owner according to the maintenance schedule.

Also, it shows the distance traveled in each mode. The app says I average about one-quarter Rush mode and three-quarters Ride mode. I reckon it's accurate.

However, there is a difference of a few hundred meters between what the trip meter says and what the app says one has traveled on a given day. I don't see it as an issue.

Other Indie owners have said that it is now easier to sync the Indie clock to reflect the time accurately.

Could have been better:
I wish there was a mode to limit the charge once it reaches 80%. Every day, I'm forced to charge to 100% because I cannot stop charging at 80% or 90% via the app.

Until next time, see you folks!
Raskolnikov.R is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th June 2024, 00:22   #88

I am currently hunting for my first electric scooter. I visited River JP Nagar showroom recently.

Below are some of the observations based on the test ride vehicle for which I would like to get opinions from people who have owned the scooter:

1. Since the seat is slightly inclined and has a height difference with respect to the pillion, I constantly had to adjust myself from slipping down. I am 5'10. Do anyone of you feel or have observed the same?

2. The quality of the plastics on the handle bar and near the screen felt very low quality. Is this true for the vehicle you own (especially if owned for a longer duration)?

3. The front side of the scooter had lot of rattles. Is it just on the test ride vehicle or is it the same in your owned vehicles as well due to flimsy fit?

4. In your ownership so far, any issues encountered during service or otherwise?

Thank you in advance.
Old 25th June 2024, 12:00   #89

Originally Posted by Gurudeep BN View Post

1. Since the seat is slightly inclined and has a height difference with respect to the pillion, I constantly had to adjust myself from slipping down. I am 5'10. Do anyone of you feel or have observed the same?
Answer: I'm 5'5", and I find myself having to joist myself to the rear of the seat every so often. When I tested riding the scooter last August, I brought this up to the team, and they reassured me that a perforated or a seat with embedded bars wasn't necessary. However, I've seen them put up a seat with horizontal bars as an accessory. I suppose it must help you arrest the slide to some extent.

2. The scooter is made with ABS plastic. The two areas I found tacky were the charge port and front apron storage space hinges. I originally wished the hinges were more sturdy. At the time of delivery, I had an alignment issue with the front apron storage lid, which the team rectified over time.

I've had no issue with the screen plastic. Of course, it could have been better built. With varied usage during the heavy rains and the scorching sun, I can safely say that it does its duty but little beyond that.

In one of my earlier posts, I hope River can learn a bit about plastics from Yamaha, and Yamaha must employ River to sort out the Aerox suspension.

3. I'm afraid my experience points to the opposite of your claim. However, I should add that the front end takes some time to get used to. Initially, in the immediate days of ownership, I was afraid my arm would fall out of its socket when going over rough patches in Rush mode. When I took this up with Mr. Vaikunth, Head of prototyping, he calmly explained to me how the suspension springs work. I won't attempt to explain it because it was quite a complicated system for a simple scooter. Needless to say, after 8 months of ownership, I can reassure you that the bike is solidly built with no rattles on the bike. Knock on wood.

Do account for the fact that the Indie rides on 14-inch boots. They take some getting used to. When riding my cousin's Yamaha Ray, I wondered why it felt so different. Then it struck me what a difference the larger-diameter wheels make.

4. Be prepared to be surprised. Initially, there will be a disparity between the indicated range and the real distance you can cover. Over time, you will learn to appreciate the vehicle. You will get used to the torque, and then you will ask yourself for a bit more power.

Technically, the River is probably the best-built electric scooter. Overengineered? Yes! As good as a German or Japanese? No. But it is definitely better than most Indian-built scooters.

From what I understand, most of the early glitches have been smoothened over, and they took the time to optimize the assembly line rather than churn out copy after copy without regard to quality. Your Indie ownership will be fairly easy.

Despite owning a Triumph, I am drawn to the River Indie for its simplicity of use. This is high praise indeed!

Last edited by Raskolnikov.R : 25th June 2024 at 12:06.
Raskolnikov.R is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 28th June 2024, 13:46   #90

Mitsui, a Japanese conglomerate, invests in River. Deal terms unmentioned

Press release below:

https://www.mitsui.com/jp/en/topics/...388_14380.html

Investment in World of River, a Company Developing an Electric Scooter Manufacturing and Sales Business in India
Jun. 27, 2024

Mitsui & Co., Ltd. ("Mitsui", Head Office: Tokyo, President and CEO: Kenichi Hori), has invested in World of River Limited, Inc. ("River", Head Office: Delaware, U.S.A., Co-founder/CEO: Aravind Mani), which manufactures and sells electric scooters under the "River" brand in India, the world's biggest market for two-wheelers. Mitsui invested through a third-party allotment under River's Series B round of funding.

The Indian government is actively promoting the use of EVs as a response to serious air pollution problems. In this connection, River has established River Mobility Private Limited (Head Office: Bengaluru, Karnataka, India) to supply high-quality electric scooters with enhanced design features.

The Indian electric scooter market is expected to enter new phase of growth. In addition to River's two-wheeler design capabilities, by utilizing Mitsui's networks, we aim to assist India to solve societal issues facing the country and contribute to the realization of Prime Minister Modi's "Make in India" initiative*. Mitsui's activities in India also include an investment in 2008 in India Yamaha Motor Pvt. Ltd., a two-wheeler manufacturer and a subsidiary of Yamaha Motor Co., Ltd. ("Yamaha"). We will pursue business collaboration with River and Yamaha, which also invested in River in January 2024.

Mitsui has adopted "Deeper Sustainability Management" as one of the corporate strategies in its Medium-term Management Plan 2026 and is working toward a vision of achieving net-zero emissions by 2050.

Through this investment, we will contribute to the creation of a society that is in harmony with the environment by further promoting electrification in the mobility sector.

*The aim of this policy is to take the Indian economy to a new level of growth by attracting foreign capital to drive the development of the country's manufacturing industries.
Raskolnikov.R is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com