Bajaj Dominar 400 0 0%
Royal Enfield Classic 350 9 5.06%
Royal Enfield Interceptor 650 30 16.85%
Others (please specify in your post) 4 2.25%
Voters: 178. You may not vote on this poll

Old 1st October 2023, 12:45   #16

Re: Triumph Speed 400 vs Harley-Davidson X440 vs Royal Enfield Hunter 350 vs Others

Took the delivery of my Speed 400 last week from Keerthi Triumph Bangalore. As described in the pros, found it to be the perfect bike to get back to riding after a decade or so. I really didn't need a bike and budget was not a concern. But I was looking at something fun and flick-able for city rides for the last 3-4 years. Tried more or less all the bikes in the list above. Loved the 650 cc engine in both Interceptor and Super Meteor but they were too heavy and had some ergonomic issues. The Duke 390 is a monster and I needed something more sober for the crazy traffic in the infamous ORR in Bangalore. At heart I kept looking for a replacement to my Suzuki Fiero which I used during my engineering days 20 years back and the Speed 400 is the closest with respect to seat height, nice pick up and mid range, comfortable suspension and light weight.

The sales experience at Keerthi was nothing to write about but I guess that's all they could do given the volume of interest. Hopefully Khivraj/Keerthi don't bungle up the service experience going forward.

The kids love the feeling of being on a bike, the wife is grateful that there is no 220 kg/10+ lakh speed monster in the garage and I am just waiting for the rains to stop to catch up on some breakfast rides soon.

Happy riding!
aravindrn is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st October 2023, 18:22   #17

Re: Triumph Speed 400 vs Harley-Davidson X440 vs Royal Enfield Hunter 350 vs Others

I felt speed 400 finish should have been better especially buttons are very botchy. Harleyx440 seems to better in terms of finish.

My Heart says Triumph and Brain says Harley after I test rode it few weeks ago, its seems a perfect urban bike. I have pre booked scrambler 400x but considering my height-5.4, 835mm seat height would be challenging ti ride in city conditions and hope Triumph provides low seat option like BMW 310 GS. Coming on to BMW 310 GS, the bike looks very aesthetic but 4.x~ lac onroad price in Bengaluru is not value for money considering the fuel capacity, digital console and engine capacity.

After riding avenger 220 for 9 years , wanted to go for different genre of bikes instead of Cruiser or pseudo cruisers.
Avenger2014 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th October 2023, 12:51   #18

I believe this whole Speed 400 vs HD x440 was started off by the Bajaj marketing team. I've always wondered why they are compared when they are entirely different machines and the only reason, I can think of is because Bajaj does not want the Speed 400 to be compared with the KTM or even the new RTR.

The Speed 400 is a street naked so it should be compared with similar bikes. The HD X440 is something entirely different and should be compared with RE, CB350 and maybe even some Yezdi. Both bikes look entirely different and to me they are meant for different purpose. Have you ever heard of anyone doing a drag race between a Harley and Kavasaki or KTM? I bet you have not, and that is because they are meant for different purpose.

I booked the Scrambler 400X and have emailed Keerthi Motors to cancel the booking as I could connect with the X440 once I took it for a test ride. The Scrambler 400X does look nice and maybe I would have bought both if I had the money! But I don't, and so finalized the X440. I will be going for a test ride of the Speed 400, not because I want to compare them both but to see how different it is from my KTM. In the end there may be 1000 comparisons, but you should test ride all the bikes in your list and buy the one you can connect with and makes more sense plus you will be able to get the most out of. Getting the most out of what you have is important because most people believe just getting more BHP or Torque will somehow make them excellent riders. While the fact is most people are unable to ride a bike to its fullest potential!
HDx440Life is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com