Old 29th August 2023, 11:53   #1

Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review

Introduction

After the Bajaj era, how many times has one heard of someone acquiring three scooters of the same make/name one after the other? It happened to us - three Suzuki Access 125s - first by chance, second by chance, and third by chance! While it would have been apt to call this experience a hat trick, I didn't use this phrase as a hat trick is normally associated with success and happiness, which wasn't quite the case with me always with the Suzuki Access. Read on to know why.

Circa 2012

We were using an old Scooty Pep (the 75cc one) which did seem a tad inadequate when riding duo. Although I had a Toyota Corolla then in Chennai, the city as most of us know is ideally navigated using a two wheeler. I'd end up driving even when I didn't want to and that would be a pain, especially with heavy traffic on Arcot Road/ Kodambakkam High Road, and the then under-construction metro affected 100 feet Road. The need for a second two wheeler was then felt.

Options considered

We've historically used two wheelers no more than 3,000 km a year, but the kms done on the Scooty Pep seemed to suggest we were doing 7k a year. An equal split between two scooters would mean the ideal 3.5k kms a year OR once in a year service. We looked at a few options and shortlisted them

1. Honda Activa 110 - the best priced at the time; it was getting to approx INR 60k on road. Sales people experience at KUN on Dr. Ambedkar Road was good. They said black was readily available but white would take upto 10 days
2. TVS Wego - I always admired this vehicle for its novelties - a fuel filler cap independent of the rear seat, an easy to mount center stand, a nice upright seating, 12 inch wheels. On road price was 62k. Sales team experience at Maruthi TVS West Mambalam was just average
3. Hero Maestro - sported the same engine as the Activa, and was priced a tad lower at approx INR 59k on road, but one experience at Vishnu Hero at Ekatuthangal was enough to say, "Thank You". Worst sales team who were rather casual about the enquiry. They just gave a lame excuse at a vehicle not being available and "Battery pottu vandi ready pannanum" (battery would need to be fitted to make the scooter ready for display)

We were almost decided on getting the Wego and were going to shortlist one at Ramkay TVS Adyar when I chanced upon an ad on sulekha.com. For those who remember, olx wasn't a strong platform then while quikr and sulekha did show genuine ads.

Last edited by vigsom : 29th August 2023 at 20:48.
vigsom is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 29th August 2023, 12:11   #2

Re: Ownership Review | Three Suzuki Access in a row

Options considered (Contd.)

An ad on sulekha.com showed this early 2012 registered silver Suzuki Access, done a mere 600 km for sale. I'd until this ad thought that a Suzuki Access commanded a waiting period and with limited dealerships, we'd be stuck with a monopolistic set up at least until free and paid services were over. To add to this, it was a 125cc engine which would mean a higher price tag and a little lower FE; all assumptions with no basis or data!

What made this an examinable proposition

1. It looked pretty similar to our earlier scooter in Gujarat - a Kinetic Nova 135
2. The full ABS panels would mean zero corrosion - like the Nova 135
3. My wife fell so much in love with the Nova for its super powerful engine and its cavernous boot, and this Access would also sport these two virtues
4. Here was an almost brand new, less than 6 months old, 600 km run fully accessorized scooter that was available right there
5. Silver was a pleasing color - probably the best on an old Access

Evaluation and closure

I contacted the seller, and off I went to his residence, tucked away in one of the by lanes of West Saidapet. It was 7 in the morning and so I could beat traffic and mayhem. Went to the seller's place, and the vehicle was covered. The moment the cover was off, it was instant attraction; so much in common with the Nova 135. I fired the engine up and that one thing was enough - one of the most sweet sounding engines among all two wheelers that I've come across - the engines on the Honda Shine and Honda Unicorn were also smooth as silk. A short test ride revealed all was fine. Examined the documents and everything was in order. I later got back to the seller with a reasonable offer, and after a 24 hour wait, we were given the nod by the seller. I picked the scooter up at approx. 18% below cost of new, which was fair. It was as good as brand new. Ma'am was happy, and that mattered more than anything else.

2012 Suzuki Access - sample image
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-2012suzukiaccess_silver_sample.jpeg

Last edited by vigsom : 29th August 2023 at 19:15.
vigsom is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 29th August 2023, 12:26   #3

The honeymoon phase of ownership

My wife found the scooter very convenient to take a pillion rider along and the extra 50cc engine displacement over the Scooty Pep was a huuge plus. However, I found the scooter bad on two fronts - balance at low speed and the overall feel of the brakes compared to the Scooty Pep. Here is a summary:

1. Silky smooth engine
2. Best in class under seat storage area with a flat bottom
3. Excellent pulling power even when riding two up inclines
4. Good fit and finish - most components fitted flush and there were no gaps of any kind
5. Fine touches like a drain hose from the area around the fuel filler cap to grade, to prevent fuel spillover onto the engine

Hates

1. Brakes
2. Balance at crawling speeds
3. Below average ride quality despite the "telescopic" shocks in the front, which don't work well at all
4. Riding position - seat height vs handlebar position
5. Design flaws and lack of idiot proofing in many areas w.r.t maintenance eg. air filter box inlet venturi can go missing, air intake hose susceptible to damage, carb idle screw cover can go missing, drive belt case air filter choking
6. Silencer placed rather low, with the exhaust snout placed at the lower end of the silencer can. Result - capability to go through shallow water was limited
7. ABS mudguard susceptible to damage/cracks

Nightmarish phase of ownership viz. Maintenance - this is where many drawbacks were noticed

1. 4,000km - oil change minus the oil filter was a very straightforward affair. The mechanic charged me only INR 25
2. Nightmare #1 viz. Air filter cleaning - it was a pain to access the air filter. Six screws on the air filter top cover and four more holding the dry type air filter in place. I thought the Japanese would make maintenance easy for the worker. Here, the worker was getting overworked and worked up
3. 6,500km - first instance of acceleration issues. I immediately opened the drain screw on the carb barrel and got some water out. Although the hiccups went away, I decided it was time to get the carburetor serviced.

Nightmare #2 viz. Carburetor removal for cleaning - The time taken to remove this carb from the vehicle was 2x of what it would take with any other typical scooter. Reason: the short hose from the air filter to the carb was so stiff and would allow no room to move the carb back and forth and remove the diamond shaped spacer. Easier way out would be to remove the entire air filter housing - very un-Japanese
4. 11,000km - Carb cleaning round#2 - again a pain. This time, after installation, the engine was drawing air from somwehere, and traced to a poor placement of the o-ring in the spacer. Spacer had to be removed and a new o-ring was placed
5. 8,000 and15,000 km - Oil filter replacement - rather straightforward. First time I was seeing an oil filter in a scooter. Related post on oil filter replacement by bhpian Scarlet_Rider
6. 16,000km - Air filter inlet hose cracked at the bend. Again, poorly designed position of the hose. The hose would get damaged due to up and down movement of the body during the ride, plus the slush from the rear wheel
7. 15,000km - Spark plug replacement - the OE plug for the Bajaj Boxer was a straight fit
8. Battery replacement - twice in my period of ownership. First was a PowerZone put in end-2014 and the second was an Amaron ProRider put in Dec-2017
9. Variator (Clutch) case air filter - cleaned every 6 months and replaced once with a self made foam filter of the same shape

Engine Bay
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-suzukiaccess_enginebay.jpg

Air filter box (encircled) and the stiff hose (arrow marked)
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-suzukiaccess_enginebay2.jpg

Dirty air filter - gets dirty faster due to its low placement
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-suzukiaccess_dirtyairfilter.jpg

Clean Air filter - won't remain this clean beyond 3,000km
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-suzukiaccess_airfilter.jpg

Air filter inlet hose cracked - in my case, I just used wide cello tape and wound that around the damaged portion - no point spending on another hose when the design and placement itself was wrong
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-suzukiaccess_airfilterinlethosecracked.jpg

Venturi(?) at air filter box inlet - lose this piece and the vehicle would struggle to accelerate
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-suzukiaccess_airfilterventuri.jpg

Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-suzukiaccess_airfilterventuri2.jpg

Carburetor idle screw adjustment cover missing - why provide such small bits that csn easily be misplaced?
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-access_carbidlecover_open.jpg

Oil filter housing - one o-ring inside and one on the cover, else filter is useless
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-suzukiaccess_oilfilterhousing.jpg

2009-2012 Access instrument console
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-suzukiaccess_oldspeedo.jpg

2013-2016 Access instrument console
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-suzukiaccess_20132016_speedo.jpg

Last edited by vigsom : 29th August 2023 at 19:17.
vigsom is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 29th August 2023, 16:45   #4

Suzuki Access#1 | Departure

It was time for us to leave Chennai for Gujarat and we had two options - take the scooter that had done 18,000 odd kms but was in top shape OR sell and move to something else in GJ. We chose to sell and got a buyer who picked it up for INR 25,000. Had the scooter not gone, it'd have gone to my in-laws' place and be used there. The Pep finally went to the in-laws.

Enter Suzuki Access #2

After we were in GJ, I was quite clear that I didn't want the older Access anymore. The primary reason was the painstaking maintenance. However, my better half was only too keen to have one again. I instead offered her the option of a new Access 125 - available at approx INR 68,000 on road thanks to the low road tax in GJ. While we were almost fixated on this, we got an option of an Air Force Officer's 2013 Access, which seemed irresistible. Our usage wasn't going to be over 3k kms a year, and we again got bitten by the capital expense cum period of ownership bug - what if we don't last too long in GJ? Do we really need a brand new two wheeler for limited use? The 2013 Access answered these questions and was eventually destined to come to us. With approx 22,000 km on the odo, this rode much better than our earlier Access. We ended up acquiring the 2013 Access for approx. 1/3rd of new, and it came along as a well maintained example for a GJ vehicle. Immediate expenses were for transfer of ownership and a set of HSRPs which cost quite a lot. Agent's fees had gone up substantially from when I left GJ in 2012.

Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-redaccess_1.jpg

Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-redaccess_2.jpg

Maintenance woes

The intial 18 months of ownership was great - just routine maintenance from a local garage, who did a very good job. But the joy was shortlived, when at the third service in end-2019, the same garage caused damage to the carb air screw causing the rpm to hunt. He tried giving me cock and bull stories around the Access carburetor being faulty by design, refused to admit his fault and ended up losing my patronage. I also posted a scathing review of this garage on Google. I eventually found an expert mechanic. The ordeal and the fault finding is described here.

More woes in the form of:

1. pathetic ride quality - had the front shocks' oil changed but to no avail
2. key coming out of the key barrel - caused primarily by the bad jumpy suspension. The spare key was put into use and the problem was sorted out
3. Mudguard damaged and shaky as it was ABS and had poor impact resistance - had to get it plastic welded to prevent rattles

Spots on the front mudguard that were plastic welded and reinforced - sample image
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-mudguard.jpeg

Finally, both tyres were replaced, and that improved the ride quality substantially. The Honda Eterno carburetor that was retrofitted into the Access did a brilliant job until I parted with the machine in end-2022. The second Access was overall in much better shape at the end of my ownership, but it was very clear - no more 2009-2016 Access for me ever.

Last edited by vigsom : 29th August 2023 at 19:19.
vigsom is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 29th August 2023, 17:57   #5

A new city and a new khoj (search)

We moved south, and after a 4 month cooling off period, the demand for a two wheeler started getting warm. Again, faced with the same situation of very low usage, I asked myself if it was indeed worth investing over 1.1 lacs for an EV or a BS6 two wheeler? The answer was No. Now here came the most difficult part while scouting - sellers quoting I N S A N E prices for used two wheelers.

Scan data

1. Mediums - olx, FB marketplace, MyGate, credR, beepkart, papers
2. Vehicles scanned for - TVS Jupiter, Honda i-Activa, Honda Activa 125, Suzuki Access 125 (2017 or later)
3. No. of examples scanned - 300 approx.
4. Examples shortlisted - less than 10

Except olx, the rest were all bakwaas, offering no reasonable leads or quoting absurd prices, beepkart especially. On olx too, I had to search based on localities rather than just the city. Here is some info on the examples I liked but didn't materislise:

1. 2021 TVS Jupiter done 9k kms for INR 69k - gone with the wind. I reached out within a day of the ad, was told I'd be on shortlist if the first potential buyer didn't pick it up, but it wasn't to be mine
2. 2019 TVS Jupiter Classic done 8.5k kms for INR 69k - the seller wasn't willing to drop below INR 65k and it made no sense going in for a non-FI vehicle for that kind of money
3. Dec- 2021 Hero Pleasure+ - super genuine ad for INR 73k but no response from the seller
4. 2016 Honda Activa 125 - great machine but hugely overpriced and a disinterested seller
5. 2014 Honda i-Activa done 25k kms for INR 42k - no response from the seller

I eventually searched using an area name and it led me to a vehicle in Doddakammanahalli. This was a 2017 Suzuki Access (disc and alloys) and after my first two trysts with Suzuki Access, I treaded with caution. The vehicle was being used only once in 10 days post lockdown, and when I went to examine the vehicle, the owner wasn't around. Tyres were low on air but were stock. Some of the good points about the vehicle:

1. Engine fired on one stroke of the kick starter; self starter also worked well
2. Engine noise was absolutely like new
3. Odo read less than 12,000km
4. All documents were there in the boot for inspection
5. A short test ride within the compound of the apartment revealed no abnormality; the caretaker wasn't willing me a test ride outside since the owner wasn't in town
6. Scooter had been serviced just a month ahead

It finally indeed is Suzuki Access #3

However, I did find the 2017 Access a huge improvement over the older one and therefore decided to shortlist this one. Waited for the owner who came in the following week, negotiated and agreed on a price, and fulfilled his conditon of taking delivery of the vehicle only after paying transfer fees at the RTO.

My first ride home was a revelation - why didn't Suzuki carry out all these improvements on the earlier model midway through its life? Did they need to wait for so much criticism from mechanics, owners and others to make a better product, like they eventually did? Ride quality, seating comfort, brakes, headlamp, ease of maintenance all seemed to have been taken care of. The engine note, however, is no match for the older one. The only one negative I'm seeing in the new Access is that the variator (clutch) housing cooling hose is again susceptible to failure and changing it is a pain, where the whole floorpan needs to be removed.
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-access_variatorventilationhose.jpg

The next day, I took the scooter to Shree Scooter House off JC Road, got an SS accessory guards set, a set of number plate frames, a speedo cable, and a new ignition switch (the older one was running a little jammed probably because of water ingress). Their mechanic Salman, and his assistant, fitted all the stuff in a mere 25 mins without compromising on work quality. I was amazed at Salman's speed and quality. After returning home, I also worked on the starter switch - just to clean its contacts since it was operating only when pressed hard. I could've easily got a new switch for INR 75 but the kick of opening something up and rectifying is far more gratifying!

Replacing the tail lamp bulb on the day the scooter came home. Bulb used - Philips 21W/5W
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-access_before.jpg

Replacing the ignition switch/lockset
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-access_ignswitchreplacement.jpg

Easy to open front cover to inspect the battery and front cables
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-access_inspectingbattery.jpg

Starter switch all open
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-starterswitch_open.jpg

Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-contact_before.jpg

Starter button contacts cleaned
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-contact_after.jpg

Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-contact_after2.jpg

At time of purchase
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-access_before_2.jpg

After the sprucing up
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-access_after.jpg

Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-access_after2.jpg

Last edited by Aditya : 30th August 2023 at 18:15. Reason: As requested
vigsom is offline   (28) Thanks
Old 30th August 2023, 05:03   #6

re: Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review

Thread moved out from the Assembly Line. Thanks for sharing!
Aditya is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th August 2023, 11:22   #7

Re: Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review

Oh that's nice, I am a big fan of Suzuki Access 125, I have had around 6-8 of them for my self my wife and for my company for delivery purpose. I can say it's the most reliable scooter till now for me. I first bought access 125 after bad experience with TVS Wego which I had bought soon after the launch, it had serious oil leaking issue from the crank case from day one and even TVS engineers couldn't solve it. I sold it within a year. Most of my Access 125s are no more with me, but I last year bought one BS6 White model for my wife which is smooth as butter and gives mileage of around 45-50 in the city on top of its service interval is 4000km! what more you want from a scooter? I never bought an Honda Activa though till now, I don't know why. No other scooter gave me satisfaction. Sharing few pics which I could pull from google photos of the same. 3more Scooter pics I could not find. All the scooters below and few more are mine.
Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-latest-bs6-model.jpg

Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-sold.jpg

Three Suzuki Access scooters in a row | Ownership Review-twonossold.jpg
MotoDrive is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 30th August 2023, 11:38   #8

Welcome to the club Vigsom.

- I like the Access(2017) but having three in a row is applaudable, I couldn't.
- That idotic design for the air filter inlet hose also plagues the Swish 125, essentially the older Access with lighter bodywork.
- Echo your thoughts, the first gen engines were in a different league in terms of refinement and smoothness. The ASC guys still swear by it. The second gen is a better package but I have my doubts over the reliability of the engine the lack of smoothness is apparent.
- Still I think its a better buy than the Activa, somehow the latest gen felt too meek, squishy and expensive for what it offers. The Jupiter 125 would be next pick if I have to because of the 2 helmet storage and 2-3 step preload-adjustable rear suspension.

@Access Owners
I had started a thread on the Access (The Suzuki Access 125 thread), feel free to share your experience.

Last edited by shancz : 30th August 2023 at 11:39. Reason: compacted
shancz is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 30th August 2023, 11:53   #9

Great thread as always. Have always maintained myself that the Access is as good as a commuter scooter can get. The refinement and simple easy-to-use nature has been it's USP and it's as good as commuters go. I had almost finalised on one before going for my Ntorq for the sportier ride and taller handlebars but I was really torn to be honest.

Infact over my multiple interactions with 2W dealers while looking around for options with friends, I've also found Suzuki dealers to be the best of the lot.

Try to ride the BS6 Fuel injected access. You'll not even notice the engine firing at all!

Originally Posted by vigsom View Post
2. key coming out of the key barrel - caused primarily by the bad jumpy suspension. The spare key was put into use and the problem was sorted out
I distinctly remember this incident. I guess it happened on the way to one of our meets and what a laugh did we have!

Last edited by porsche_guy : 30th August 2023 at 12:02.
porsche_guy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th August 2023, 14:36   #10

Originally Posted by vigsom View Post

Hates

5. Design flaws and lack of idiot proofing in many areas w.r.t maintenance eg. air filter box inlet venturi can go missing, air intake hose susceptible to damage, carb idle screw cover can go missing, drive belt case air filter choking
The low air filter is a major problem in Old Access models even though it was a good vehicle. Since it was low, accumulation of mud happens in that.

When I was speaking to mechanic, he said, in most of the older version vehicles engine seizure happens regularly due to design.

In the later version they have fixed this and moved it higher.
Arun_S is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th August 2023, 15:26   #11

Fellow members, I have a question regarding the FI system of the access 125. I have heard from many people that there is a problem of premature FI system failure in the access, is there any truth to these anecdotes ?
Old 30th August 2023, 15:34   #12

I have one, bought new in 2011 and is pepping along happily. the usage is very limited (15k kms so far) and I alternate between one oil change at a shell pump and one service at the authorized service center and it has held up quite well.

With the advent of E20 petrol, need to see the long term implications on this gem of a scooter.

If I were to buy anything to replace this one in the future, a new access will be hard to resist and next in line will be an Ntorq, just for the peppy engine note.
dass is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th August 2023, 16:38   #13

Access is one heck of a reliable and sturdy Scooter. Back in 2020 my extended family needed a scooter and my cousin put the final decision onto me. I choose this over the Activa 125 and it has been the best choice I've made. A friend who bought an Activa 125 a few days apart has been riddled with issues.
Bismaya is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th August 2023, 17:51   #14

Congrats and many thanks for the detailed buys with timelines. Nice to see you back, writing wonderful and useful threads once again. Have 2 queries regarding your choice of ICE over EVs and how much you paid for (may give in % to new price). Am in 15th year of my bike usage and planning to buy pleasure+ (keeping budget in mind). Readers may please suggest.
sukhbirST is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th August 2023, 18:40   #15

Originally Posted by MotoDrive View Post
- Access I have had around 6-8 of them for my self my wife and for my company for delivery purpose
- last year bought one BS6 White model for my wife which is smooth as butter and gives mileage of around 45-50 in the city
Wow - eight of them. That shows how they delivered, both goods and satisfaction! The white looks beautiful and goes very well with this body line; impressive FE that you've reported. Thank You, @MotoDrive.

Originally Posted by shancz View Post
- That idotic design for the air filter inlet hose also plagues the Swish 125
- The second gen is a better package but I have my doubts over the reliability of the engine the lack of smoothness is apparent
Thank You @shancz. Swish 125 was probably an attempt by Suzuki at wooing the younger ones. But the same drawbacks prevailed. The BS3,4 Suzuki Access engine is Activa 110 type - rough compared to the silky smooth old Access, but still reliable. Only yesterday, I saw one (a random one on the road) that had done 68,000km

Originally Posted by porsche_guy View Post
- Have always maintained myself that the Access is as good as a commuter scooter can get
- also found Suzuki dealers to be the best of the lot.
Agree with you, @porsche_guy. I was sold on a Suzuki at GJ via just one interaction with the dealer on the phone; so patient and nice.

Originally Posted by Arun_S View Post
The low air filter is a major problem in Old Access models even though it was a good vehicle. Since it was low, accumulation of mud happens in that
Yes, Arun. In my own case, I could see the air filter getting dirty in less than 2,000 km. I'd remove, clean and put back the air filter at that frequency and hence my rant.

Originally Posted by Nikhildrao View Post
heard from many people that there is a problem of premature FI system failure in the access, is there any truth?
I don't think so Nikhil. In BLR, I see that 7 out of 10 scooters on the road are Suzuki Access, and most or them are later ones (fuel filler above the tail lamp). So I suppose the scooter is well accepted.

Originally Posted by dass View Post
I have one, bought new in 2011 and is pepping along happily. the usage is very limited (15k kms so far)
Fantastic, Das Babu. If you're happy, and have good mechanic support, nothing to worry.

Originally Posted by Bismaya View Post
choose this over the Activa 125 and it has been the best choice I've made. A friend who bought an Activa 125 a few days apart has been riddled with issues.
Surprising to note a complaint about an Activa 125. This was my favoutite from the Honda stable for its smooth ride.

Originally Posted by sukhbirST View Post
- how much you paid - in % to new price
- planning to buy pleasure+
I saved myself approx 50% over new, Sir. If you are able to get yourself a well kept under 20k km run Suzuki Access (2017 or later), it would be just right. At least it would give you some breather before EV tech matures even further. EV - Ather 450x would be a good choice; investment justified only if usage is high.
vigsom is offline   (4) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com