|
Advanced Search |
Go to Page... |
![]() |
Search this Thread | ![]() 1,993 views |
![]() | #1 |
BHPian Join Date: Aug 2022 Location: Mumbai
| Motorcycle Mechanics in Mumbai Hi Folks, It's been two years since I have been using my daily commute which is a 2002 Hero Honda Passion. It was given to me by one of my grandfathers' since his son, my uncle wasn't using it much. Coming to the bike, it is the first version of Passions, no Plus, Pro, XPro, just Passion. I remember my Grandfather had got a cricket bat with signatures of famous Indian Cricketers on it when he purchased it. I use the bike for my daily commute to cover a distance of 45 Kms (Work and Home). Since my uncle is a huge fan of modifications, the bike has modifications like the front original headlight replaced with a Yamaha FZ V1 headlight, who would think of that right? Led indicators with the Hazard Light Blinker Feature. A huge aftermarket Visor that you see on the Pulsars, and a SC project exhaust which had the misfire feature where you could actually see fire coming out of the bike when you left the throttle and it was madly loud. He later removed it since that exhaust was just too loud and replaced it back with the old silencer and painted the engine and the silencer complete black. Since the original colour is black, silver coloured stickers of Passion Plus version were stuck. I have had people wondering which bike are they looking at sometimes. All the documents are cleared and in check. I recently got the RC renewed till the year 2028 and paid Rs 6,000/- through an agent outside the Andheri RTO office.l to get it done. When the bike was given to me back in 2021, I firstly was excited but scared as well since I didn't ride bikes that much and used an Activa I for my daily commute. The Bike did have problems, some of them include Misfiring which you don't observe much today, except on some modified Royal Enfield Bullets but when that happened, folks riding or driving would get scared and I didn't like that to be honest. It had another problem which I'm not sure what do they call it but it used to stall at signals and in traffic which would be a real pain and also it needed constant revving so that it wouldn't stall, even setting the carburettor didn't work. It still has the age old problem of water entering the fuel tank. Too much vibes after 55 Kmph, 60 was almost like I'm riding it at 80. The clutch was okay but while shifting gears, specially going from 1st to 2nd, while the gear was slot into the second gear, the bike engine would make a weird noise like as if the gear was changed without engaging the clutch, this problem still persists. The Brakes needed tightening every week and the modified Yamaha FZ V1 Headlight was on the verge of falling as it has become loose and at night I would'nt be able to see much and I've gotten it fixed now. The ODO has given up after 63,000 Kms. the mirrors were/are useless. After almost 4 months of agony I took it to a service mechanic in Andheri, DN Nagar and I had a good experience, my bike was serviced by 4 people, all working on different sides and it took me about an hour and the bike was good to go. I paid around 1,100 back then for the service with engine oil replacement, all checks done, brakes tightening, carburettor cleaning done which had a lot of clogging and that's it. I didn't face any misfire or stalling problem after that and it gave me a better mileage, around 55 kms I guess, since I had more city commute. Some months passed by and I used to service it every 3/4 months to ensure good running, but each time I got it serviced, the service quality deteriorated. There was negligence and sometimes essential services such as carburettor cleaning was forgotten about. The bike went from a good condition to worse condition. One thing to mention is that the battery has just been replaced once, which I got done recently and the spark plug has almost been replaced 5 times till now. The suspension had been replaced by me last year since the roads were bad and the older suspension had broken and made a weird noise as if the bike chassis had fallen off. The clutch wire had also broke once but luckily I wasn't that far from home and got it replaced. The bike as of now works but has this problem of cutting the power in between, it feels as if there's some water in the fuel tank, some problem with the CDI, the ignition or the spark plug. I have tried looking for Reliable Service Centres in the past but didn't find any. I would really be happy if there was an authorised Hero Honda Service Centre but they are no longer exist. Hence, I am looking for a Reliable Service Centre/ Mechanic in Mumbai who specialises in Old Hero Honda Bike Servicing and would able to service my bike, the 2002 Hero Honda Passion in the best way possible by not using the desi "Jugaad" techniques but by doing a genuine service so that I could use the bike without worries for a longer period of time. Please do suggest me if you know any good ones in Mumbai. Thanks! Fun Fact: I wear a black Studds Thunder helmet with Orange accents and it doesn't go well with my bike, mostly seen KTM riders using it and I've often seen people staring at my bike then looking my helmet ![]() Apologies for not attaching pictures of my bike, will share it soon. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank Justus12 for this useful post: | pachchu77, Ripper |
|
![]() | #2 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Nov 2015 Location: Mumbai
| Re: Motorcycle Mechanics in Mumbai |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks TheRajput for this useful post: | Justus12 |
![]() | #3 |
| A Good SVC for my Yamaha FZ 25? Hey Folks, I am looking for a good SVC/Workshop/Mechanic in Mumbai for my 2017 Yamaha FZ 25 (Non-Abs) How did I get this bike? It was given to me from a relative's best friend who moved abroad for work and visits home twice a year. The owner rode this machine like an absolute maniac, never even bothered to get the documents from the dealership and was an extremely rash rider. I was given this bike since there was no one to take care of it and I am know as that member of my family who's into bikes and cars and I love maintaining my vehicles. I am extremely happy to have this bike. Condition of the bike The bike is in not so good condition as of now. It is extremely vibey. Post 70 to 100, the vibes are more evident. It struggles after 110 kmph. The 6th gear absense is felt. It does pull cleanly and overtaking is no problem but the refinement is poor. It reaches 0-100 quickly but struggles post that. It does take three clicks to start sometimes. A couple of false neutrals, good low end torque but the tyres don't do justice to it. It runs on a set of Michelins, the front being a Michelin Pilot Street and the rear a Michelin City Pro. I don't find the clutch to be a problem but I have noticed a tappet noise recently. The suspension is good but the rear has gotten a little squeaky. The brakes are okay, not good, neither bad. The lack of Abs is always felt and while pushing it hard, also there is a lack of confidence. The short gearing is very helpful to be honest. The maximum mileage I could extract from this bike after riding at 60 kmph was 32 kmpl. I have read about folks getting 40+ mileage. Finding a good SVC: Today, finding a good SVC is really difficult. Everyone wants to charge you a bang and offer you nothing. I plan on getting my bike serviced within two weeks. Since I am residing in Mumbai Suburban, I checked various service centres and the reviews from almost all of them were poor. Hence, only two made it to my list: 1. Thomson Automotive - Andheri 2. My First Motor - Worli These are authorised Yamaha SVCs but upon doing a review update I found My First Motor to be the best and I am more inclined on going towards it. I am planning to get the entire engine work done first and I would prefer getting my bike serviced at a very Genuine SVC/Workshop or Mechanic as long as they do the job well and don't try to make money out of me. I can get the other parts like the panels changed sometime later. Please do share your opinions about SVCs or places you know where my bike could have the best genuine service. Thanks! Ps: I have always wanted to get my bike Dyno Tested to know the actual power loss but couldn't find a place in Mumbai. I did come across Dynamic Racing Concepts at Mahim but when checked, I did notice that they serviced many superbikes to which I assumed that it would be really expensive to get mine serviced from there, correct me if I'm wrong. Again, it's all about maintaining this beauty and restoring her back to how wonderful she was. Please do help. Thanks! |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #4 |
BHPian Join Date: Jun 2015 Location: Thane
| Re: A Good SVC for my Yamaha FZ 25? |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks dsnaveen21 for this useful post: | Justus12 |
![]() | #5 |
| Re: A Good SVC for my Yamaha FZ 25?
Hey dsnaveen, I honestly couldn't find a good mechanic but I came across a good SVC. I tried hard to find good mechanics here in Mumbai but honestly whoever I'd come across performed well at first and then I'd find myself shelling out more for a below average service. I looked up every service centre in and around Mumbai on the Yamaha website. I looked for ones who had good and honest user reviews and came across a few good ones. Hence, I can only suggest you a good service centre and not a good mechanic as I couldn't find one myself. I will list below a few good service centres that I had come across. You can take a look at them if you're interested. These SVCs are based out of Central Mumbai, South Mumbai, Navi Mumbai and North Mumbai (Vasai - Virar) 1. My First Motor (Worli) 2. Thomsun Automotive (Andheri West) 3. Naman Auto Sales (Panvel) 4. Pro Life Yamaha (Nalasopara) I serviced my bike from Pro Life Yamaha Nalasopara, which happens to be a spare part dealer and a service centre. The funny part is that they aren't even listed on the website but holds very good reviews. They are located at around 15 minutes from the Nalasopara Highway. Since my colleague lives nearby, I had asked him to get it serviced because I was tired of being scammed by the local mechanics. I expected a heavy bill since the bike had never been to service centre (The owner of the bike was against it). I got a bill of around 9,000 Rupees and the service seemed fine. The engine felt smooth and I am getting a healthy mileage close to 40 at an average speed of 50-60. Currently, I am experiencing a squeaky noise from the rear suspension, rattling noise from my number plate light and the rubber at the front brake seems to work very weirdly. To elaborate, sometimes the front brake feels set right and sometimes just wrong. I am sure this is because of the "rubber packing" as they call it which lies right in between the brake lever and the unit to which it is connected. Apart from these I have no issues at all. I would personally rate them 7/10. But going all the way to Nalasopara isn't for everyone I understand that. I honestly feel I could find a good reliable mechanic who specializes in the now discontinued FZ 25 series. There is a post I came across on another thread who found a very good mechanic in Kolkata I guess, who used to service the old Yamaha superbikes which sounds like finding the right doctor to fix you. Hence, My search for the best service centre will go on and I would appreciate if you come across one and share it here to help fellow members like me too. Regards, Justus12 |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #6 | |
BHPian Join Date: Jun 2015 Location: Thane
| Re: A Good SVC for my Yamaha FZ 25? Quote:
got a number in the below site, you can contact them... https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motor...ps-mumbai.html (Bike repair shops in Mumbai??) | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks dsnaveen21 for this useful post: | Justus12 |
![]() |