Old 1st March 2023, 03:20   #16

Re: My First True Love | 2022 TVS Apache RTR 200 4V Review

Originally Posted by prajwal_ View Post
Greetings fellow motorheads,
So in a nutshell the RTR200 4V gave me a even bigger smile after living with it for six months now, more than i was expecting. For 1.8 lakhs on road, this bike makes the perfect sense as a daily commute bike on urban mode for the weekdays. And come the weekends switch to sport mode and it becomes a different beast. Few snaps of my new found love below...
Really happy to see other people with the same bike! Glad to know you're having a good time - please do share everything positive or negative that you experience onwards, as people owning the same bike we all want to know if our bike has any quirks not found in other bikes of the same model and hopefully help each other and other readers.

It's been quite a long time since I've updated here about my bike. So, let's get down to it. The reason it takes so long is because I've set some standards for myself when attempting to write about anything I own, so as to provide good value. Which added to my lazy nature makes me hesistant to write
I'll break my post down to three parts: (I'll start in the next post)
  1. My bike itself
  2. Riding gear updates
Old 24th June 2023, 08:19   #17

Originally Posted by OffPoynt View Post

14. Tank capacity is just 12L, despite how big the tank looks. Yes, given an ideal mileage of 40, it should do 480 km which is sufficient. The old RTRs however, came with a 16L tank and near-50kmpl mileage (a theoretical 800km!). The upshot to this is that the tank you see isn't a tank, it's a fiberglass panel covering the tank that can be replaced for cheaper than if something were to directly damage the tank.
How is the bike?
Is it good for a college student who has a daily commute of 35-40 kms?
How are the mileage figures?
Does the mileage vary in different modes?
I am really confused between the 160 and the 200.
Kindly help me choosing the right bike!

Happy and Safe Motoring!

YashOjha15
Old 25th June 2023, 08:54   #18

Originally Posted by YashOjha15 View Post
Gladly.
When you say "160 or 200", i assume you're talking about the 4V variants. Otherwise it would be a different comparison.
Let's get to some of the obvious differences:
  • The 200 does make more power and torque, but it's just 3 more bhp and 2.8nm more torque. Unless you've ridden the two bikes a lot and side-by-side, it will be hard to tell the difference in power right away. That said, the difference does exist and shows itself in quicker acceleration and top speed.
  • As a counter to the above point, the 160 4V is capable of higher mileage - it should be able to sustain 50+ kmpl easily with calm riding (this comes from me having achieved 48kmpl on my 200). Which if you assume an average mileage of 55kmpl, should give you a 660 kilometer range from the 12L fuel tank (theoretically).
  • The 200 gets dual channel ABS. The 160 doesn't.
  • There is a small difference in the body and handlebar of the two bikes. The 160 gets the traditional handlebar which is good for having space for phone mounts and stuff but is a bit lower in comparison. The 200 gets non adjustable clip-ons that are higher and hence provide a better comfort, reducing the stress on wrist on long rides. But the 200 does not have any handlebar mounting options for things as such, and most things are done with jugad. Besides, the 160 has a single seat while the 200 has split seats. How that contributes to racing DNA is yet to be seen.
  • The 200 is louder.
  • The 160 is lighter.
  • Smartxconnect isn't really a differentiating factor because the 160's special editions get it too.
Other than these, and the price difference, I don't know what other differences exist.
Many people in my college, around 5 have the 160 4V. 2 to 3 people (including myself) have the 200 (all in the same black colour dangit).

If you need any other info about the bike, please ask away.

Psst: my preference for colour would always be white, as the TVS Draken concept bike (from which came the 4V RTR) was designed in white.
OffPoynt is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 25th June 2023, 10:03   #19

. [*]Smartxconnect isn't really a differentiating factor .
How is the SmartXConnect app?
+ How is the service experience and service cost?
Old 25th June 2023, 10:08   #20

If you need any other info about the bike, please ask away.
I currently ride a 2015 TVS Victor and it gives me 62 kmpl if ridden calmly. If you ride it like a crazy nut it returns around 45-48 kmpl.
I am planning to buy the RTR 160 or 200 4V around the festive season.
Petrol prices going above ₹100 is actually concerning.
I am confused. Should I look for power or mileage?

Last edited by YashOjha15 : 25th June 2023 at 10:11. Reason: Wrong year
Old 27th June 2023, 08:07   #21

Psst: my preference for colour would always be white, as the TVS Draken concept bike (from which came the 4V RTR) was designed in white.
I would prefer the blue one but the showroom guys are telling that it's no more in production.
Old 3rd July 2023, 01:59   #22

Sorry for the late reply, got busy in a few things. Let's go!

How is the SmartXConnect app?
+ How is the service experience and service cost?
Smartxconnect, normally does not work as intended because Android tends to kill apps that run for a long time. The connection tends to keep getting severed because the app gets stopped. You can fix this by disabling battery optimisations and a setting allowing the app to run all the time. I do not know if iPhone users have the same problems.
As for the features of the app connectivity, i would say it is decent. The speed, distance, rpm and top speed trackers all work well and will help you to gauge the average speed or gain other insights of your trip (if the app gets gps signal, you'll get a location map as well). But the lean angle stuff is a gimmick and pointless, never works. I'd rather them implement an IMU in the bike and have the bike record all these statistics on a bigger display, but that might be asking for too much. I've used turn by turn twice but that was before I figured out the reason for app disconnections, which also played havoc with the navigation. But the caller name alert on the screen is extremely useful (I use an intercom to pick or reject calls on the move).
As for service experience, i would say that it is decent and that they are trying to improve it, with calls from the company where they want to know how a particular service center performed. But if I'm being honest, i am not 100% satisfied at all with TVS service centres in general. It is just me being too OCD with my vehicle, but i expect them to treat it like i do (i don't touch the tank with bare hands, and if i have to, i wash and dry them first. I wear gloves almost all the time). You can see that they work with commuter vehicles most of the time and hence even bikes like mine get handled similarly, i would guess it's a similar problem at Hero for the Xpulse/Xtreme, Bajaj for their Dominar and high end Pulsars. Yeah, the RTR may be "just a 200cc bike", "stop acting like it's a superbike", but it's my bike. I don't care if my bike is cheap or expensive, i will always pamper it (case in point - my bike has Vesrah brake pads, Liqui Moly engine oil + brake fluids and runs only on Shell V-Power). Sorry to turn this into a rant

Should I look for power or mileage?
That, is something you need to decide on before looking at the options. Then the answer will be clear for you. When i was about to buy my bike, i looked for fun and the thrill of going through the rpms, and a slight bias for Apaches (having borrowed a friend's old 160 for a while) pulled me to the 200, as the 160 4V would not have felt that different, power-wise to me (i wanted a little upgrade too)

I would prefer the blue one but the showroom guys are telling that it's no more in production.
I've faced the same issue, i badly wanted either the blue or white. Since the Draken concept is white, i reasoned that the 200 looks best in white. Blue is also a stunning colour, the matte finish is awesome. I initially asked for blue but got the same response you did. I asked for white, got told to wait a month or two. Stupid impatient me jumped the gun when my dealer got hold of a black bike within a week of booking. But i don't have much regret, the bike does look good in black. I'm also planning some extra stripes and stickers to make it stand out.
OffPoynt is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2023, 06:43   #23

Sorry for the late reply, got busy in a few things. Let's go!
No issues for the late reply
How is the pillion seat and how's it's comfort?
Is it comfortable for ladies like my mom?
Did you face any tappet noise issue?
Did you install a side stand extender?
I guess we can install RR310's LED Blinkers
Old 3rd July 2023, 08:41   #24

How is the pillion seat and how's it's comfort?
Is it comfortable for ladies like my mom?
Now, sporty nakeds like the RTR, N250, NS, CB300R etc etc will not have the best pillion seat experience. That said, i found the RTR to be decent in this area (lack of experience in other bikes too). The seat is tall - your mom will have to hold on to the grabrails or you, and i have no idea how a sideways sitting passenger would fare. To be honest, I'd recommend you take your mother to a test ride session once and have her check out the pillion seat comfort for a definitive answer.

Did you face any tappet noise issue?
Yes, i have. I was about to update this thread with this issue, but I've been busy with our house moving and the work being done in the new house. As I've said, i have OCD, so even the smallest of things get noticed by me - I've noticed the bike having a clattering sound since around 5000km. I've been to various different service centres. One had even replaced my bore kit under warranty. And most of the time, I'm having a very hard time in getting the service center people to understand what my issue is. And the usual, you know, "it's fine no, sir?" responses. The issue isn't major, but it bothered me to the point where i was ready to sell the bike and get a different bike. But I can't.
That said, this is just me getting pissed over non-major things. The bike hasn't had any major issues, and as of now I've made my peace with the numerous positive points the bike brings forward. There are many RTRs that run properly without the tappet issue, so there's that.

Did you install a side stand extender?
Nope, i haven't. Never felt the need to, as the side stand is pretty good in striking a balance between being too low to fall and being high enough to tip over to the other side.

I guess we can install RR310's LED Blinkers
Yeah, you can. I heard of this from hagaru on his review of his 2021 RTR 200. But it is going to be expensive. I'll probably dabble in the affordable aftermarket before i put down my money for the RR310's indicators. I'll also try on a tail tidy. Marty (my bike) is going to be one year old in a month's time so I'll get it some gifts.
OffPoynt is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2023, 17:30   #25

Yes, i have. I was about to update this thread with this issue, but I've been busy with our house moving and the work being done in the new house. As I've said, i have OCD, so even the smallest of things get noticed by me - I've noticed the bike having a clattering sound since around 5000km. I've been to various different service centres. One had even replaced my bore kit under warranty. And most of the time, I'm having a very hard time in getting the service center people to understand what my issue is. And the usual, you know, "it's fine no, sir?" responses. The issue isn't major, but it bothered me to the point where i was ready to sell the bike and get a different bike. But I can't.
That said, this is just me getting pissed over non-major things. The bike hasn't had any major issues, and as of now I've made my peace with the numerous positive points the bike brings forward. There are many RTRs that run properly without the tappet issue, so there's that.
I would really buy a RTR 200 but the TVS's service is stopping me to!
The service also isn't much good but the service cost has increased a lot in the past years to match the cost of their competitors
Old 9th July 2023, 11:13   #26

Now, sporty nakeds like the RTR, N250, NS, CB300R etc etc will not have the best pillion seat experience. That said, i found the RTR to be decent in this area (lack of experience in other bikes too). The seat is tall - your mom will have to hold on to the grabrails or you, and i have no idea how a sideways sitting passenger would fare. To be honest, I'd recommend you take your mother to a test ride session once and have her check out the pillion seat comfort for a definitive answer.
Wild card entry!!
TVS Ronin

I am super confused right now on what should I choose
1. Ronin
2. 200 4V
3. 160 4V
Old 7th January 2025, 23:54   #27

I am really confused between the 160 and the 200.

Happy and Safe Motoring!

YashOjha15
Suuuper late reply, but still I am of the opinion that you should choose your first motorcycle based on how it makes you feel, rather than thinking about the logical aspects like FE and practicality. I've used both 200 4v & 160 4v extensively and I assure you that there are significant differences between the two. 200 is raw, grunty, makes you feel like you are riding something big and powerful. It's exhaust note feels more authentic, like it's coming from the engine. Whereas 160 is calmer and refined. 160's exhaust note feels more artificial, like it's engineered to sound bassy. 200 is a midrange monster, while 160 has linear power delivery with power evenly distributed in low, mid & top end. Outright acceleration is much quicker and satisfying in the 200. In case of comfort also, I felt the 200 has better ergo's for both rider and pillion. 200 has more sophisticated and better suspension (earlier KYB, now Showa) which are almost perfectly tuned to offer best balance between ride quality and handling. Now the latest 160 does come with USD forks, but I don't know how they behave. The 200 was created to rival NS200, while 160 4v was designed to rival FZ, Unicorn & likes, there itself lies the main difference.

200 4v gives 35-40kpl at best, 160 4v easily gives 50+ kpl. But I would anyday choose 200, as it give more smiles per km and is really satisfying to ride. For the 2 EMI price difference, you are getting a much more fun machine
RD410 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th March 2025, 12:12   #28

I've noticed the bike having a clattering sound since around 5000km. I've been to various different service centres. One had even replaced my bore kit under warranty.
Hi. I also faced this clattering sound twice on my ns, and this used to happen only in one particular rpm(around 4-5k) before or after which it just used to disappear. I tried everything to find the cause and where it was coming from, but wasn't able to.And you know how did I discover it? I was sitting pillion while my BIL was riding, and i noticed the sound was coming from the back. After poking around for a bit, got to know it was the number plate which was making that clattery sound in a certain rpm. Used some double sided tape and its gone.
Flechazo is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th March 2025, 09:01   #29

Wild card entry!!
TVS Ronin

I am super confused right now on what should I choose
1. Ronin
2. 200 4V
3. 160 4V