Old 11th July 2021, 18:47   #16

Re: Honda Hornet vs Yamaha FZ25

@ drt_rdr Recently Suzuki Gixxer bikes' price have been increased up to Rs. 3500 (155/SF155 to 250/SF250) ex showroom on the contrary!
Fastdriver is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th July 2021, 19:26   #17

Originally Posted by PranavJoshi View Post
Hello Fellow Bhpians !!!
I an owner of Royal Enfield Classic 350 (2014) since the last 5 Years. Being Fed up with Fueling and reliability problems, I am considering to sell it to exchange it with something more reliable from the house of Honda and Yamaha. My Current considerations are Honda Hornet 2.0 and Yamaha FZ25. Both are priced in the vicinity of 1.5 Lakhs onroad. I have noted a few Pros and concerns about both bikes
Any reason for not including the Gixxer 250?
For a slightly more premium, it offers more power & torque, that too with 6-Speed transmission.
abhishek46 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2021, 00:04   #18

Originally Posted by Fastdriver View Post
@ drt_rdr Recently Suzuki Gixxer bikes' price have been increased up to Rs. 3500 (155/SF155 to 250/SF250) ex showroom on the contrary!
Seems they upped their prices just a couple days ago. Suzuki india did always give the impression of being a stubborn company.

There goes my plans to buy the Gixxer250. Oh well.

Last edited by drt_rdr : 12th July 2021 at 00:05.
drt_rdr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2021, 09:18   #19

Suzuki Gixxer 250 was not considered by me as it was in my opinion, very plane jane looking. The Gixxer 25 SF on the other hand is a very handsome motorcycle, but has a clip-on handlebars and sportier sitting posture. Also it costs a good Rs. 44,000 more than the Motorcycle I have considered.
Old 12th July 2021, 09:48   #20

I would suggest you to look at the X Pulse 200. After the RE, ( I own an Electra too) there is no way I would go back to a motorcycle with a stiff suspension and commited driving posture. The X Pulse with its excellent upright riding posture and superb suspension will ideally be my pick.
Ragavsr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2021, 10:05   #21

Originally Posted by Ragavsr View Post
I would suggest you to look at the X Pulse 200. After the RE, ( I own an Electra too) there is no way I would go back to a motorcycle with a stiff suspension and commited driving posture. The X Pulse with its excellent upright riding posture and superb suspension will ideally be my pick.
I am considering to go on X Pulse 200 test ride soon. I like the Looks of the X Pulse. Some dealers are not having the bike for test ride while some are stating that X Pulse is discontinued
Old 12th July 2021, 10:52   #22

I am considering to go on X Pulse 200 test ride soon. I like the Looks of the X Pulse. Some dealers are not having the bike for test ride while some are stating that X Pulse is discontinued
Sorry to jump in uninvited but the dealers who are saying xpulse is discontinued can you ask them if they're talking about the XPulse 200 or XPulse 200 T(this one has been along with Xtreme 200R and 200S).

XPulse 200 should be quite comfortable IMHO.
Good Luck.
shancz is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2021, 12:15   #23

FZ25 should sell well, especially after the price correction. Mind you this is a 250cc bike and naturally will sell lower numbers compared to 200cc. You can compare the sales figures of FZ25 with other 250cc offerings and it is not that bad i feel.

What you get is decent midrange torque, refined Yamaha engine and good tank range as well.

In case you are still looking at 200cc segment, I would any day pick Apache 200 over Hornet as it is loaded with features. Riding position is not that bad either(considering clip-ons).

I also liked Xpulse, good low and mid range again and potent bike if top speed(highways) is not your primary requirement. 200T also looks like a better XSR clone compared to the recently launched FZX
rajshenoy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2021, 13:02   #24

My 2 cents as owner of both FZ25 and unicorn without confusing the OP with more options. Though not a direct comparison but the switchgear quality is almost similar.

Yamaha has precise and better gear shifts. Till legal speed limits, both have enough grunt. Yes, vibes do creep in post 6.5k in FZ25 due to inherent nature of single cylinder engine but the low and mid range (typical use case in city riding) more than makes up for it.

Kindly check seat comfort by doing back to back test rides at similar psi tyre pressure as that has been the major concern atleast for me in FZ(split seat vs single seat in unircorn)

Spares should not be major concern as almost all parts are shared with FZ series.

P.s. I would not recommend naked bikes for >100km/highway riding due to wind blasts.
abhipuri is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2021, 16:17   #25

Being a Bullet owner myself, Last week I rode Xpulse, MT15 and RTR 200.

In the Xpulse, the low end Punch was missing and somehow the Riding position with the wide handle bar didnt feel very comfortable (maybe I have to get used to it).

The MT (2nd time I was riding one) was dealer bike and thrashed a lot, the punch at higher revs was awesome, but when you are pottering around not sure how good it will be, also because the bike was an abused one so it was buzzing all over and I kind of felt bad for the 150cc engine being pushed so hard.

The RTR 200 was just great, lovely smooth engine, brisk performance and lots of features, good exhaust note, I commend TVS for constantly improving the product and adding a host of features, a good effort from the home grown bike maker and if I were to choose one it would definitely be the RTR, we should support our indigenous companies specially when they are bringing out such great products.

Also the RTR is cheaper to buy and also to service, Yamaha people gave an estimate of 1500-2000 for a general service, TVS people quoted 800-900 for a general service.

Williams_f1 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th July 2021, 17:10   #26

Hello Fellow Bhpians !!!
Yamaha Fz25 ADVANTAGES over Hornet 2.0 :
I am a Honda Unicorn Owner for the past 16 years and I am also looking for a new one due to FC Issues.

Unicorn has been reliable for all these years but heard from my mechanic off late lot issues are coming from Honda Products and he suggested to go for Yamaha instead
Arun_S is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2021, 18:04   #27

I had upgraded from a Thunderbird 350 to TVS RTR 160 4V (BS4 FI variant) about 1.5 years ago. The super refined engine in the Apache felt like a dream (especially to someone coming from Enfield). It is very lightweight and fast enough to be enjoyed on highways, and I didn't feel the need for a 6th gear as the engine is very rev friendly and spins freely till 10k rpm.

The mid range punch is delightful and there's a distinctive 'kick' felt after 5k rpm which is quite addictive . The bike is still entertaining and I don't feel that anyone needs more power within city limits.

In your case, I will suggest you to go for RTR 200 4V (Dual channel ABS variant) and you'll enjoy it thoroughly. TVS has increased the power output in 2021 variant by about 1 HP and it shares the super refined engine with its smaller sibling. You'll not get bored of it for a long long time .

I have ridden the FZ25 and one word I can say about it is - Boring. You'll get bored of its dull performance in no time and it is anything but fast. Hornet - haven't ridden it but it is simply overpriced for what it offers. Just the brand name 'Honda' isn't going to cut it anymore.
TwerkyC0ffee is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th July 2021, 18:47   #28

Originally Posted by TwerkyC0ffee View Post

In your case, I will suggest you to go for RTR 200 4V (Dual channel ABS variant) and you'll enjoy it thoroughly. TVS has increased the power output in 2021 variant by about 1 HP and it shares the super refined engine with its smaller sibling. You'll not get bored of it for a long long time .
I would add the reliability aspect of the TVS, the RTR 200 4v series of engines have come a long way from the early Esurge 150cc engines the first generation Apaches( Pre RTR days) came with. These have gone through at least 4 stages of Evolution ie the 160RTR, 180RTR, 200 4v, 160 4v. They have been thoroughly reworked and improved at each iteration and the current 200 4v is a vastly different engine when compared to the 180RTR on which it was primarily based on.

I would suggest you to consider motor Bikes in the below order,
1. TVS Apache 200 4v
2. Suzuki Gixxer 250
3. Bajaj Dominar 250 (I for some reason have never warmed up to a Bajaj)
4. TVS Apache 160 4v
5. Suzuki GIxxer 150
6. Yamaha FZ25
Jessierider is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th July 2021, 00:06   #29

I suggest you go for a FZ250 for its Yamaha reliability, stability and raw power.
Besides you can customize like hell. I added:
1.Transparent Windscreen
2.Handguards
3. Luggage tray
4. Fog Lights
5. Customized Vinyl Wrap
Honda Hornet vs Yamaha FZ25-3faf17007fb646bb99c085aa5baa4926.jpg
Honda Hornet vs Yamaha FZ25-42c82c041aae496f8f4bc0540658c37b.jpg
Honda Hornet vs Yamaha FZ25-b060c58af50e40b88b7169a686064397.jpg
Honda Hornet vs Yamaha FZ25-c7aa221f70374f65bfbf9c08a908a836.jpg
Honda Hornet vs Yamaha FZ25-d037238cd9724731a1ba64b957ed45b2.jpg
Honda Hornet vs Yamaha FZ25-f9d7cd4ba0314332a40eed0768f8fa6c.jpg
Standing with my other Yamaha steeds..A Fazer and a Fascino
Honda Hornet vs Yamaha FZ25-4fbee405602449cdaea5cf5d8280099b.jpg
Honda Hornet vs Yamaha FZ25-c01872a8be1e4cd28210042d8652f95c.jpg
Ride Safe..

Last edited by hillram : 13th July 2021 at 00:08.
hillram is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th July 2021, 12:27   #30

Hi Pranav,

Being an RE owner myself and having gone through the same ownership experiences as you, I too am in the lookout for a potential replacement, and I would consider the following bikes listed out in the order of preference:

1) Yamaha FZ 25
2) Suzuki Gixxer 250
3) Hero Xpulse 200
4) TVS Apache RTR 200 4V
5) Bajaj NS 200

1) The one to go for if I were you. Torquey motor, smooth shifting gearbox, strong low and mid range grunt. I believe spares won't be issue as it shares much of its underpinnings with its younger sibling. Could be clinically boring, and the lack of a 6th gear might dampen your spirits while doing highway runs. Top up with Japanese reliability, and you should have a fuss free ownership experience.

2) The underdog. Not many knows about it, not many will go for it, but the ones who went for it swears by it. Got more grunt than the Yamaha, which will let you enjoy bustling city roads as well as twisty mountain roads with aplomb. Spares could be an issue, as Suzuki still has to catch up with Yamaha, when it comes to service network.

3) The affordable dual sport. Yes, the engine output leaves nothing to write about, but the practicality it offers more than makes up for it. A perfect companion for our otherwise non existent roads, easy on the wallet when it comes to buying and maintaining one. Spare parts availability wouldn't be a problem, thanks to the strong dealership network.

4) Home bred race horse. I am curious about this, as TVS has been consistently fine tuning this platform by refining the mechanicals and adding in more tech. Sure, it won't match the Japs for refinement, but I believe they are steadily gaining ground. One to look out for, and definitely worth a test ride.

5) Never warmed up to a Bajaj, except for the first generation P180, but I believe that NS200 is an underrated and undermarketed platform, these days. Handles well, and got a sprightly motor as well. Couple of my friends own the NS200, and they love it. Spares wouldn't be a problem, but reliability could be, if you're comparing it with the Japs. Worth checking out.

However if I am to replace my ageing cruiser with another cruiser, then I will go for the Honda CB 350, eyes shut. Hope my post helps. Peace

PS : Observations are based on my personal experiences, and I mean no offence to the owners of these machines. You are free to agree or disagree with me.
ss11011988 is offline   (1) Thanks