My Parani M10
First let me address the question :
WHAT? So, What is a Parani M10?
Parani M10 is a Bluetooth Motorcycle Intercom System from Parani - A product line from Sena itself. It’s cheaper than any of the Sena Systems and equally capable.

The Device itself

Attached on my helmet.
Some salient features:It has a LCD display which most of the Intercom systems lack. Well that’s mostly useless as you can’t really see it while you’re wearing the helmet with the device attached. However, when you take it off, you can see know the battery status of the Device. The LCD display does switch off after a while, hence saving battery life.
It’s tiny compared to the usual Sena Intercoms, almost at 2/3rd of the size. I find that a positive point as it then becomes tough to spot from a distance (riders, you know who I am addressing here – ‘he kay lavla aahe, allowed nahi aahe’)
Apart from the above, it comes with- A four way intercom, with a range of 1km (haven’t tested).
- Versatile Jog Dial and
- FM Radio
- Noise Cancelling Mic.
Question No 2 : What’s the need of a Bluetooth Intercom? Communication, Entertainment, Guidance, Safety...
While on a bike, communication between riders happens thru visual signs, and there are a lot of them. But now a days with the given road conditions of the Highways and available motorcycles for touring, we rarely ride at 60kmph. Also, it’s best to avoid taking off your hand/legs from the handle or pegs to make some visual sign to the other rider.
For eg : If you want make a quick stop to fill the tank, and your partner is some 100m ahead of you, the only way he/she can know is if he/she looks into the mirror while you are making the visual sign. I don’t want to get into the calculation of the probability.
With the intercom, you can simply just speak to each other and it’s done; no need for anyone to take eyes of the road or hands off the handle bar.
While on a drive in a car, listening to songs is something that most of us do, then why not while riding. A few might say, you then can’t hear the outside noise, true, same goes for the car as well. We reduce the volume then. It goes for can and bike both.
Listening to music keeps you entertained and awake on those boring long straights.
Nothing irritates a rider more than time and again pulling out the mobile to check the map/navigation. The Bluetooth has the turns spoon fed to you by the lady over the maps. Yes you can check the mobile when you have it in front on the mobile holder, but I believe it better to have keep eye on the road, especially when you are about to make a turn or coming across a junction.
With all the above mentioned points, safety is somewhat covered already.
Happened with me – On a ride to Coorg, which is full of sharp bends, it’s hard to spot your leading partner visually. So when I came across a broken down bus right after a blind turn, I could easily avoid it as my partner who passed it earlier had already informed me about it over the intercom.
Similarly, on a Sunday brunch, I avoided a crash by keeping to the middle lane. How? My following partner had informed me over the intercom about a speeding car in the outer most left lane.
So that’s why I feel the need for a Bluetooth Intercom.
OPTIONS
Moving on to Options you have while getting a Bluetooth/wireless Intercom for helmet.
We have an Indian helmet manufacturer who sells helmet with speakers installed and you need to connect an aux cable to your helmet from your phone. But with the helmet, its best avoided to have wires connected all the time.
Only Bluetooth- It comes as a tiny unit and usually hides inside the helmet completely. A person outside cannot make out if you have anything inside the helmet. They can be used for listening music and calls.
- Pretty basic and useful, if not intercom, you can at least call the person wearing one in case of emergency.
- Battery life is also not that great, a couple of hours at the max because of their compact size. Neither is the sound quality that impressive, “kaam chalau” mostly.
- Suggested to use on your daily wear helmet, it’s much better than sticking your phone inside the helmet.
Bluetooth and Intercom - These are the ones who are I believe the most useful for group rides.
- Even on a solo ride, as they mostly have a good battery life.
- Cost ranges from Rs 4,000 to over Rs 30,000 for different models and brands.
So coming back to My Paranai M10 now. Why did I go for the M10?
I have tried a normal Bluetooth helmet headset which I use in my office helmet and also a cheap intercom (BT-S2). The BT-S2 was great for the price; I had got it for 2k from AliExpress back in 2017. It was one of the better intercoms in the budget price. The biggest drawback of the BT-S2 was that it used same port for charging and headset connection. Over the time because of regular wear and tear, as you have to remove the headset connection for charging, the port gave up. Same happened with a couple of acquaintances who were using the BT-S2. So this time I had decided to go for something better quality wise. The first name came to my mind was the SENA. The SMH-5 is their most affordable Bluetooth Intercom, by affordable meaning the cheapest in SENA’s lineup, starting at 10.5K INR. Not cheap by any means. The 10S with increased battery life and range comes at 19K INR.
I was willing to take the plunge and go for the SENA SHM-5. So I called a nearby reseller and enquired about the same. Now the SMH-5 is a very old model from SENA and will probably be phased out soon and the 10S was way above my budget. The re-seller informed me about the Parani M10, like most, I also had not heard about it.
From SENA at 6k INR sounds a very good deal. Also the features are same as the SMH-5, the size is smaller than the SMH-5, almost 2/3rd of the SMH-5 and half the SENA-20S (just for size reference).
So I used the Parani M10 over the weekend on my ride to Mahabaleshwar.
My Experience
The Battery.
The 3 day trip was completed on a single charge. However I could only use the Bluetooth, I was constantly listening to songs and navigation for at least 12 hrs.
Different sockets for Charging and Headset.
The M10 has 2 sockets, a type-C charging port and another one for headphone and mic. This means in case I ran out of juice, I could still use it while charging. It comes with a good quality charging cable which is long enough to comfortable reach the helmet from the bike’s handle (where we usually have the charger).
Also the device is removable easily, so one does not have to keep the entire helmet for charging.
Sound Quality
The voice clarity is on par with other Sena devices. I could clearly hear the other person at highway speeds despite the wind noise. Noise cancellation is impressive as well; my better half could not make out if I was riding or stopped.
On the other hand that I would have been happier with a lot more bass, there is none. I have not heard any other SENA device, if you have, kindly enlighten me if that’s the case with all of them.
Functions
The M10 comes with a Jog Dial and a multifunction button. A host of functions are possible using the combination of these 2.
The device starts when we press the Jog Dial and the Multifunction button together. Once started, it automatically looks for a phone to pair with. It’s an easy setup like any other Bluetooth device. You can use 2 phones with the single M10 at the same time.
Calls
Single tap on the jog dial or the multifunction button to receive a call.
Press the jog dial for 2 sec to reject the call.
Press and hold the Multifunction button for 3 sec for voice dial.
Press and hold the Jog Dial for 3 sec for speed dial. This needs to be configured in the device, your phone’s speed does not sync.
Radio
Press the multifunction for 1 sec and the radio starts at 87.something MHz. It does a good job of tuning to channels; however it needs a strong signal. Inside the city, it works fine.
Intercom
The Parani website/usermanual says that it can only work with other Parani devices, however, I have tried connecting with a SENA 10S and it worked. The voice over the intercom crisp and clear. However this will affect the battery life of the device which I will update once I use it on a long trip.
Overall Positives : - I feel that the Parani M10 is a worth buy at 6k INR.
- The sound clarity and noise cancellation is amazing.
- Battery can easily last for the day.
- The product has got a premium look and finish compared to what competitors have to offer at the cost.
- The display, instead of the only single light indication is much easier to understand.
Negatives : - No bass, if you have a Spotify Premium membership, look elsewhere.
- The jog dial is a size bigger than the device, I feel it’s just waiting for an accidental fall or mishandling to come off.
- Manual says it only connects to Parani devices, being new in the market, the owner might be left alone.
- Supports 4 rides at the max, suitable for smaller riding groups only.
In short, its like moving from a commuter to a beginner superbike.
Well this is my take on the smallest product from one of the biggest names in the industry.
Now that we all know what is it, lets see how the device actually is. 
Packing - In the box

The first screen, ready to pair to a phone. Battery indicator is helpful.

See what I meant by tiny, its half the size of a standard desktop mouse.

Type-C charging port.

Headphone and mic attachment.

Top Button - waterproof.

See how that jog dial comes out of the device, its at dial + button.

This is how it fits to the clip attached to the helmet.
So this has been my short experience till now. Will keep the thread updated with the upcoming experiences.