Team-BHP > Motorbikes
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 17th July 2015, 17:38   #1
Senior - BHPian

Restored: Dad's Bajaj Chetak comes back to life

Looking at ACMohan's tread on his restored Chetak, I decided its high time I shared the story of the restoration of our Chetak as well.

Restoring bikes doesn't come new to me and I have hands down experience rebuilding some bikes, which are incredibly rare in India.

Here is a link for those who are interested in reading further on these bikes, my Yamaha RD 200 & RD 125 http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motorb...-rd-200-a.html

Now coming back to our Bajaj Chetak. The Chetak is my fathers second two wheeler, previously he had owned a Enfield 200(not a great bike as per my father). The Chetak served him well over the years, with some usual niggles and he never felt the need to upgrade.
He is a teacher by profession and used the Chetak for is local commutes around South Mumbai.

I as a teenager have many fond memories of riding with my father on the Chetak. In our family of four back then, I used to normally stand in the front, with my mom holding my sister used to sit at the back. Then as i started growing tall at a past pace. my dad couldn't ride with me in the front and hence, slowly we stopped commuting on the Chetak and it was kept back in South Mumbai, where my father works. I still remember asking by father to get the Chetak during our summer vacations every year and go on a spin whenever possible.

So, as the years passed I always used to remind my father if ever the day comes when he plans to part away from the Chetak I would be the one who would buy it form him