As someone who loves growling, V-twin powered, chrome laden cruisers more than the high performance sports machines, someone who wants to own a cruiser before his late thirties, I have always kept a watch at how cruiser scene is shaping up in India, especially at the entry level.
Looking at the entry level cruiser options available, I see a couple of Aquilas from Hyosung, Street and Superlow from Harley Davidson and then Classic and Thunderbird by RE. The options aren’t many if we compare them with the sports offerings from the likes of Honda, Yamaha, KTM, Kawasaki and Hyosung. While Bajaj is increasingly focussing on this segment even at the cost of commuter segment and Kawasaki and KTM continue their onslaught, Honda and Yamaha too have a pipeline of more powerful sports offerings.
Before going any further, I would like to present some facts and observations about the Big Bikes (>250cc) segment in Indian two-wheeler market. This is merely a result of a quick googling, so I might miss out on details, please enlighten if you find any gaps.
- The segment has grown by over 70% in last year
- Largely dominated by RE, but the growth of ‘Others’ primarily driven by Harley Davidson, Bajaj-KTM and Triumph has resulted in RE’s loss of market share by around 22 percent in 2014
- While RE surpasses HD on global figures, HD’s Street is neck to neck in sales with Continental GT even after being thrice as costly as the Continental GT
- Harley Davidson India is running high on Street’s success and aims a ten-fold increase in sales and double the number of dealerships by 2016
- Bonnie accounted for over 40% (by May’14) of Triumph India sales and Street 750 accounts for more than 50% of Harley Davidson India sales. Gives an idea of how important the entry level is to bring in the volumes
- Manufacturers like UML and Keeway also want a share of the pie and plan to launch in 2015
- And the most startling observation of all – The Japanese are yet to get into the game!!!
And that brings me to the subject here –
Why don’t we have any Japanese entry level cruisers in India? Demand is there
HD’s quick success and aggressive growth plans also show that a sizeable chunk of Indians is getting over the ‘kitna deti hai’ mind-set to the ideas of touring and riding pleasure. Today, India has a large population of young and earning individuals with good disposable incomes who are willing to spend extra for better riding experience, distinctiveness, certain road presence and in some cases, to look more attractive to the opposite sex while riding an expensive machine.
And after all, in a country with a population of 1.2 Billion, even a small niche can be far bigger than mainstreams of many European countries.
They have the products
The Japs have been making some excellent machines and a quick look at their global websites reveals they have a wide portfolio when it comes to cruisers. These products are popular in other parts of the world and can be brought to India with minimal changes if at all anything is required. So it looks like they have the bat and the ball, but they are simply not interested in playing while others are establishing their control over the field.
There is a huge void
The only cruiser offering by Honda in India is VT 1300c priced at around INR 16 lakhs. For Yamaha, it’s their hi-performance monster called Vmax which is again priced out of reach for too many, same is the case with the Suzuki Intruder and there is none from Kawasaki with a Vulcan badge on it.
Things that should work for them - Established supply chain and dealership network. They don’t have to start from scratch like HD or Triumph
- Vast experience in running an assembling/ manufacturing set up in India, if they intend to do so
- Known for their mechanical brilliance and reliability
- Relatively cheaper maintenance / accessories than HD or Triumph counterparts. (Now that’s what I would like to believe, please correct me if I am wrong)
- Some of the older models especially from Yamaha, still enjoy a cult following among enthusiasts
- Their ability to offer great value for money. Remember, Kawasaki has been offering some truly world class products at very competitive prices, the Z800 is still the most affordable 4 cylinder machine you can buy
Things that can work against them- Can’t think of many reasons except for the fact that their products don’t come with a badge which says Harley-Davidson
- ‘Itne-paise-me-to-Harley-aa-jayegi’ mentality. Cruiser lovers often have their attachment to HDs and the rest for them are copycats
Here, I leave it open for all BHPians to share their views. The entire write-up is purely an outcome of my thoughts and a genuine query; will be more than happy to be corrected in any way possible.
Finally, some parting shots of entry level machines I would love to see on Indian roads.
Yamaha Bolt
Base Price: USD 7,990