Old 17th September 2014, 11:50   #166

Re: KTM RC390 - Now Launched for Rs. 2.05 lakhs

Originally Posted by ebonho View Post
I know bro.

I'm just requesting the boffins in Mattinghofen for a measly 10-15 kmph more from that big rorty heart .....
Bro,
Long time since I had logged onto Team BHP. But would there be any updates on the 390 adventure? Am more keen for it though.
Old 17th September 2014, 11:52   #167

390 adventure is not happening for sure, only 690 is going to come in adventure model.
Ajaybiz is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th September 2014, 11:54   #168

Originally Posted by ku69rd View Post
Bro,
Long time since I had logged onto Team BHP. But would there be any updates on the 390 adventure? Am more keen for it though.
The Adventure is most likely not happening Mahesh.
ebonho is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th September 2014, 12:41   #169

The Adventure is most likely not happening Mahesh.
Any source for this? The only reason why I'm asking for it is that if it's not happening I'll be heart-broken. I waited out the entire Hero Impulse lot for this. Now I can't find that one either in Bangalore. Why can't these manufacturers look at the potential of launching a decent adventure bike for Indian market?
Old 17th September 2014, 12:55   #170

Originally Posted by creative420 View Post
Any source for this?
There was an official communique put out by KTM's CEO recently which said as much. So from deep inside the horse's mouth.

Why can't these manufacturers look at the potential of launching a decent adventure bike for Indian market?
In all my interactions with guys from Bajaj, not one has been even off-the-record convinced of the business viability of an adventure in India.
Old 17th September 2014, 13:12   #171

In all my interactions with guys from Bajaj, not one has been even off-the-record convinced of the business viability of an adventure in India.
Why not offer the existing D390 with customization bits and pieces?
Wire Wheels, Bigger tank, remapped ECU for a better Low End Grunt rather than the existing power map and some luggage carrying bits?

Pretty sure KTM guys can afford them
Old 17th September 2014, 13:16   #172

Why not offer the existing D390 with customization bits and pieces?
Wire Wheels, Bigger tank, remapped ECU for a better Low End Grunt rather than the existing power map and some luggage carrying bits?

I have told them this many times over the past 2 years.

Again its a business thing. They will get these bits as Power Parts. We all know how Power Parts are priced. And we are all Indians and we all know how the Indian mind works.

Within a few weeks there will be copies flooding the local market.

The fork and wire wheels we can already do. On our own. Import. The tank will be more difficult because of fitment and all the gizmos linked and attached to and configured for the original tank.

But the costs will be close to that of the bike.
Old 17th September 2014, 13:22   #173

Why can't these manufacturers look at the potential of launching a decent adventure bike for Indian market?
I dont think the Indian market as a whole is mature enough for accepting an all out adventure model 'Except' for a handful of enthusiasts who form only an atomic percentage of the whole market!

The 'failure' of the Impulse in terms of sales is a testimony of that fact. And before that the Bajaj sx Enduro. Although I believe that Impulse would have done slightly better with the 223cc unit of Karizma. Still I wouldn't blame Hero MotorCorps for pulling off the Impulse off its showroom floors.

If these accessories are to be sold under the 'KTM Power Parts' category, your last statement is invalid!
Old 17th September 2014, 14:07   #174

Any source for this? The only reason why I'm asking for it is that if it's not happening I'll be heart-broken.
Not sure how valid the source is but it clearly says the KTM PR team gave this statement :

“From a strategic point of view KTM always considers new developments and for this reason: never say no. But currently such models are not foreseen. From a technical perspective other versions would require a complete different package. The existing layout can [be] used for Naked and Supersport models,”

Source : http://www.autoevolution.com/news/kt...ors-85522.html
Old 17th September 2014, 14:26   #175

390 would be too small for adventure bike, even for 2014 BMW GS800 people said that it feels under powered once it's fully loaded.
Old 17th September 2014, 14:56   #176

Originally Posted by Ajaybiz View Post
390 would be too small for adventure bike, even for 2014 BMW GS800 people said that it feels under powered once it's fully loaded.
Ajay,
Suppose it depends on the LET with an acceptable top end of 140 Kays all day long without damaging the engine? Too much to ask?
Old 17th September 2014, 15:12   #177

140 top end sounds possible with all the load, but it should not end up reducing the engine life and apart from carrying the load on highways it should have enough torque to pull the bike even in places like semi off road conditions or ride at places like Leh.
Old 17th September 2014, 16:16   #178

Originally Posted by Ajaybiz View Post
140 top end sounds possible with all the load, but it should not end up reducing the engine life and apart from carrying the load on highways it should have enough torque to pull the bike even in places like semi off road conditions or ride at places like Leh.
I think the engine is not the limiting factor here. Give decent wheels and at least a 16 liter tank (5 liters more) and see how this bike devours anything that India has to throw at it.

P.S. I am talking "adventure bike" from a purely Indian perspective. I am not talking about loading my house and spouse on it and going around the world.
Old 17th September 2014, 16:50   #179

I know that the Duke 690 (from all international reports) hits about 195+ kmph (just shy of the 200 mark). This is the current 72 bhp R version I am referring to. So I'm wondering if a 44 bhp bike does 180, will I not feel a trifle "cheated" that my 690 with 30 more horses, weighing just a bit more, and probably costing 2-2.5 lacs more, does only 15 kmph more?
The 690 is geared really short and thats the reason for the relatively tamer top end. Its very difficult to keep it on two wheels

Last edited by n_aditya : 17th September 2014 at 16:59. Reason: quoted post shortened to improve readability
Old 17th September 2014, 16:55   #180

Originally Posted by TheCelestial View Post
The 690 is geared really short and thats the reason for the relatively tamer top end. Its very difficult to keep it on two wheels
Maybe they should have an "old fart" version then for guys like me who always like to stay on two wheels. I'd happily trade 20 kmph for one wheel.