Call me on +91 9867282152 to discuss further
82rawath is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th February 2013, 10:15   #17

re: Want to own a Honda motorcycle from the 70s

Originally Posted by thumpingheart View Post
Wow. That's one drool worthy bike!

Actually I can't PM you unless you get promoted to "BHPian" status after 25 posts. So its not very far away though, but till then we can converse here

It must be a bit expensive isn't it? What figure does your friend have in mind?
ohh my bad!!!
It got sold off yesterday noon
For a measly 1.3 lakhs
The mileage claimed was 15 kmpl but charm has its own value
Anyways,I will see if i can source some pics of the same and upload here
InControl is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th February 2013, 13:28   #18

Here is a good CB400 on sale in e-bay classfieds.

http://www.ebay.in/itm/HONDA-TWIN-CB...#ht_481wt_1160

Contact # 9866081728
adityasiera is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th February 2013, 16:47   #19

Originally Posted by thumpingheart View Post
Hi guys. I am a bike enthusiast...
Here's one that looks reasonably well-kept, and its in Pune!

http://pune.quikr.com/Old-School-HON...106186771ImgC1

Rahul

Note: I just found the ad online, do not know the bike or her owner, and have no personal interests in it.
voodoochild is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th May 2013, 01:57   #20

The bike in that last post is at Sheri's garage on east street which is one of the first places you should start a search for any sort of bike in Pune. There are a lot of these 80's model cb's in Pune(400's). I myself owned one many years ago. I also agree with what someone said earlier about looking for a cb750 instead(again personal opinion). But whatever your decision may be, get in touch with Sheri and I'm sure if there's anyone in Pune that can get u what you're looking for, it's him.
Cheers and good luck
Old 13th August 2013, 19:06   #21

I am looking for 69 - 75 model CB750.Can any one guide me as to where I can find one? I am located at Bangalore and have approached several garages; but they keep trying to sell me newer sport bikes
Old 29th August 2013, 12:14   #22

if you still looking for a CB350 i might be able help you, one of my friend want to sell it. bike is located in BLR.
Old 2nd September 2013, 18:33   #23

Originally Posted by TwinHead View Post
if you still looking for a CB350 i might be able help you, one of my friend want to sell it. bike is located in BLR.

I was actually looking for a CB750 (69-75). BTW how much is the expected for CB350 and what year?
Old 10th May 2017, 17:36   #24

I am trying to get this query posted on a new thread but i get my new thread requests rejected. So this is the nearest thread which i think is related to my query.

I have recently acquired a CD185 twin (1979) honda and am trying to get some parts and some advice to locate a good mechanic in bangalore who can repair it. So any help in this direction will be appreciated.

I request the moderators to move my request to the correct thread if this is not the correct place for it.
Old 16th May 2017, 15:05   #25

Restoration Of Honda Cd185 Twin

Just acquired this Honda (1979) CD185 twin motorcycle. I need some help in locating parts for this bike. From the pics it will be clear that it needs a lot. For starters here's a list.

1. Petcock.
2. Dash ( Nippon Seiki make).
3. Silencers ( Does CD100 silencer work?).
4. Front and rear mudguard.
5. Petrol tank cover.
6. Handle bar controls.
7. Rectifier ( 6V )

Bike is presently not running and has been standing for 7 years now. Brake is stuck but pistons are moving freely when kicked. I also would like to know from members if it would be advisable to change from the existing 6V to 12V technology. Spark plugs I guess dont come in 6V these days. A lot of parts came in loose and seems like a jig saw puzzle piecing it together. I did search this model and seems this twin produced around 16HP and is fairly rare in India, hence this effort at restoration.

Request moderators to place this new request thread in appropriate threads. Just checked there were no restoration threads available for this unique motorcycle.
Want to own a Honda motorcycle from the 70s-20170515_184950.jpg  

Want to own a Honda motorcycle from the 70s-20170515_185122.jpg  

Want to own a Honda motorcycle from the 70s-20170507_202101.jpg  

Last edited by GTO : 17th May 2017 at 10:52. Reason: Language
srini1785 is online now   (6) Thanks Received Infraction
Old 16th May 2017, 22:45   #26

Re: Restoration Of Honda Cd185 Twin

That's a rare find in India, congrats first of all.
BUT, getting spares will be a herculean task. If your intention is to restore with factory spec and parts you are left with the only option of importing the stuffs. OR in case if you could compromise on certain substitute parts, it's comparatively easier to start the second innings.

Workshop manual available from Amazon India.
http://www.amazon.in/Honda-200T-CM25.../dp/1850103593

Subscribed to this thread. All the best
Old 17th May 2017, 08:54   #27

Re: Restoration Of Honda Cd185 Twin

Thanks for the info. importing is the last thing i want to do. cant take chances with the customs .

I am only hoping that it has all the mechanical parts and only the "can-live-without-it" parts are missing. I am ok too with certain non stock components as long as it is up and running.
Old 22nd May 2017, 12:07   #28

Re: Want to own a Honda motorcycle from the 70s

I have owned a couple of classics back in the days...My favourite was the Honda CBX250F. I have a had some two strokes like the MBX125F and a couple of tasty Yamaha TZs and RZs.
The problem here is getting the bike fixed of all the issues which crop up due to age of the bike and unavailability of trained/ experienced technicians. Most mechanics are production line experts and will not know anything beyond basic services.
Old 2nd August 2017, 10:01   #29

Some Update:

Changed the wiring from 6V point set to 12V Electronic. Now I get spark from the plugs. So I cleaned the carbs , checked the float , connected the throttle cable and tried to start the bike when it sprouted out fire from its air intake end of the carb

What could be the reason?
Old 2nd August 2017, 10:14   #30

Originally Posted by srini1785 View Post
Some Update:

Changed the wiring from 6V point set to 12V Electronic. Now I get spark from the plugs. So I cleaned the carbs , checked the float , connected the throttle cable and tried to start the bike when it sprouted out fire from its air intake end of the carb

What could be the reason?
That my friend is a backfire!

Reasons:
1. You're running absurdly rich.
2. Your choke circuit is open.

EDIT:

Sorry, I missed to take the age of the motorcycle into consideration.

Please make sure your valves are operating as expected, a decent means of ensuring the same would be to conduct a compression test. A backfire can also be caused by the intake valve not sealing properly and Honda’s are known for stuck valves.

Last edited by ashwinprakas : 2nd August 2017 at 10:17.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com