Old 1st December 2016, 18:34   #421

re: Next Gen Bajaj Pulsars - SS400 & CS400 (rechristened as Dominar)

I don't like this name at all!!!

A friend of mine even quipped:

Two dominars standing together = char minar

Urban_Nomad is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 2nd December 2016, 16:27   #422

Originally Posted by Urban_Nomad View Post
I don't like this name at all!!!

A friend of mine even quipped:

Two dominars standing together = char minar

Absolutely terrible name - sounds like some cartoon villain from HeMan

MODs: Can you change the name of the thread to the official name?
Old 2nd December 2016, 17:04   #423

I really hope Bajaj has chosen this name on recommendation of some numerology, astrology and what not experts and wish their collective knowledge makes this bike a success. Apart from that, I can't find a single reason for such a silly name. Bajaj CS400 would have been much better or for that matter even Kratos was good enough.

That apart, how do I spell it? Dominar as in Pulsar or car?? Disappointing.
Old 2nd December 2016, 17:12   #424

Originally Posted by ksameer1234 View Post
I really hope Bajaj has chosen this name on recommendation of some numerology, astrology and what not experts and wish their collective knowledge makes this bike a success. Apart from that, I can't find a single reason for such a silly name. Bajaj CS400 would have been much better or for that matter even Kratos was good enough.

I can only imagine how "Dominar" would sound when spoken in a local thick desi accent.

Now don't anyone say that this bike is only meant for the folks who converse in English.

Last edited by payeng : 2nd December 2016 at 17:17.
Old 2nd December 2016, 19:22   #425

If i remember correctly some thing simmilar happened when Hyundia Creta was launched. But after that i never heard any one calling it X Creta or the other things people suggested.

So similarly here, what i am going to do is remove and TWO PILLAR names from the bike i buy and paste a good old Monogram of Pulsar from the PULSAR 220

Originally Posted by payeng View Post
I can only imagine how "Dominar" would sound when spoken in a local thick desi accent.

Now don't anyone say that this bike is only meant for the folks who converse in English.
Old 9th December 2016, 12:44   #426

Re: Next Gen Bajaj Pulsars - SS400 & CS400 (rechristened as Dominar)

Excerpt from a recent Businessline article.

How will the Dominar 400 score in this segment where Bajaj Auto’s other brand, KTM (with its 200 and 390 Duke), has hardly made any ripples?

"Within the Royal Enfield stable, says Bajaj, people are buying a 350cc bike, be it a Bullet or Classic, at a price range of ₹1.1-1.3 lakh.

KTM begins at ₹1.5 lakh while the 390Duke is a little over ₹2 lakh which means there is already a problem in terms of affordability.
"

Expect a typical Hamara Bajaj type of VFM product in the Dominar 400.

Price, any guesses?

Old 9th December 2016, 13:49   #427

Price, any guesses?
1.6-1.7 Ex-showroom.

They need to smart about this, there's a whole of heat lined up for this segment in 2017-2018. Typically they don't have any competition, because what we've seen so far is typically in direct competition with the KTM's (G310 R case in point).

They can't price it too low and delivery not a great quality product as well, because their motive is to eat away into RE's sales numbers. They need to have a solid reliable product if they even want to think about making a dent in RE's numbers.
Old 9th December 2016, 14:43   #428

Originally Posted by praful View Post
1.6-1.7 Ex-showroom.

They need to smart about this, there's a whole of heat lined up for this segment in 2017-2018. Typically they don't have any competition, because what we've seen so far is typically in direct competition with the KTM's (G310 R case in point).

They can't price it too low and delivery not a great quality product as well, because their motive is to eat away into RE's sales numbers. They need to have a solid reliable product if they even want to think about making a dent in RE's numbers.

I think there is an option of a Dominar 250 as well. After all Bajaj already manufactures the KTM 250 Duke/RC 250.

Believe me, its very much possible.

From what I know the 250 and 390 shares the same engine platform (The 125 and 200 shares the other one).

Old 11th December 2016, 22:34   #429

Heads up guys,

With few days left before Dominar 400 is officially launched, more information is surfacing. This time a video clip posted by Rushlane shows LED headlight of Dominar 400 in action. IMHO, those head lamps look exquisite. What do you guys think?

Source: Rushlane

Link:
https://www.rushlane.com/bajaj-domin...-12200069.html

Last edited by drive_angry : 11th December 2016 at 22:35. Reason: Added link
Old 11th December 2016, 23:30   #430

Looks chunky and beefy. I like it. By the way, the article on that link states that the gross weight of the motorcycle will be 322 kilograms. That can't be right.
Old 12th December 2016, 12:53   #431

Originally Posted by rahul4321 View Post
Looks chunky and beefy. I like it. By the way, the article on that link states that the gross weight of the motorcycle will be 322 kilograms. That can't be right.
This particular thing is already discussed in one of the threads. There is difference between Kerb weight (sans rider + pillion, could be 170-180 kgs) and Gross weight (includes all fluids + 2 riders).

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motorbikes/127273-next-gen-bajaj-pulsars-ss400-cs400-rechristened-dominar-17.html#post4037271 (Next Gen Bajaj Pulsars - SS400 & CS400 (rechristened as Dominar))
kthrottle is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th December 2016, 13:30   #432

Few pics of a white Dominar have surfaced now.
Source :- (pics have Motoroctane watermark though.)

https://www.rushlane.com/bajaj-domin...-12204694.html
Next Gen Bajaj Pulsars -  SS400 & CS400 (rechristened as Dominar)-1481529481796.jpg  

Next Gen Bajaj Pulsars -  SS400 & CS400 (rechristened as Dominar)-1481529494104.jpg  

Next Gen Bajaj Pulsars -  SS400 & CS400 (rechristened as Dominar)-1481529505992.jpg  

Next Gen Bajaj Pulsars -  SS400 & CS400 (rechristened as Dominar)-1481529516225.jpg  

Last edited by uday.ere : 12th December 2016 at 13:31.
uday.ere is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 12th December 2016, 18:28   #433

The Speedometer is NOT on the Tank!!!

The display on the tank just gets some tell tale lights.
Next Gen Bajaj Pulsars -  SS400 & CS400 (rechristened as Dominar)-1481529481796.jpg  

payeng is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th December 2016, 18:46   #434

The Speedometer is NOT on the Tank!!!
I was expecting they would retain what they showed in concept. Seems like a cost cutting measure. But again, this is just a gimmick so the location of speedo should not be a huge concern.

What is important though is that the news coming in indicates just around 35 PS which would be pretty low considering KTM 390s make 44 PS. And then there is the speculated price. If the engine is so much detuned, one would expect significant price gap between this and KTM.
Old 12th December 2016, 18:56   #435

I was expecting they would retain what they showed in concept. Seems like a cost cutting measure. But again, this is just a gimmick so the location of speedo should not be a huge concern.
It is actually, especially if you consider a "Tank Bag"

What is important though is that the news coming in indicates just around 35 PS which would be pretty low considering KTM 390s make 44 PS. And then there is the speculated price. If the engine is so much detuned, one would expect significant price gap between this and KTM.
Power is almost academical and serves the purpose of looking good on tech specs. What matters more (and what can actually be felt) is the TORQUE.

35 Ps is more than enough on Indian roads. The Torque would be decent given the 373 cc engine. What matters more for me is we are getting ABS. and also Tubeless Tyres (something that Royal Enfield don't get)

Last edited by payeng : 12th December 2016 at 19:00.
payeng is offline   (3) Thanks