Team-BHP > Motorbikes
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 12th June 2011, 15:54   #1
BHPian

FZ16 as first bike, in Bangalore?

Hi everyone,

I'm from the US, spent a year in Mumbai, and just moved to Bangalore, where I'll be for the next year.

I have a company car (a little Reva i) that I use to commute (~40 km/day).

I have no experience with motorcycles but have had a latent desire to ride one, so figured maybe I should give it a shot while in India (in the US, you pretty much only get >600 cc, so here I can experiment with a cheaper, smaller, lighter bike; prob a higher chance of getting into a bike accident here, but given road speeds, prob a lower chance of dying than in the US ).

Since I already have a car, this'd purely be to add some excitement. Still not certain this is a good idea-- if I leave from home and work early, I should have a straight shot, but otherwise I might get stuck in Bangalore's terrible traffic, which is probably much less fun / safe to navigate in a bike?

Thinking of the Yamaha FZ16 (admittedly mostly because it looks cool, but also the fat rear tire should provide better grip than the bicycle-like widths I see on most commuter bikes here?). Downsides I've read are uncomfortable pillion seat and not the best fuel efficiency, which aren't big concerns for me.

The Honda CBR250R looks to be solid too, but I'd assume there'd be a wait time, and the price seems to be over double the FZ's. I realize it's a different segment, and quite a bit more powerful, but I don't intend to drive terribly fast on these roads, so figured there's no point?

So couple q's:
  • Thoughts on the FZ16 for this purpose
  • Training - People laugh when I ask about 2W driving school here (how do people learn to ride safely?), so I'm thinking of taking the MSF course when I'm back home in the US for a bit next month