Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Old 9th February 2010, 16:05   #1

After-market Air Suspension. Possible?

This weekend we went on a trip to Theni from Chennai in our Innova. It was a 1100 km trip. While returning, everyone were sleep all tired from the travel and the work that we had at Theni. I was driving, it was around 1am, call it Sunday night or Monday early morning, overtaking many buses, trucks and a few cars. When i overtook a Volvo bus was when I got thinking about this air suspension, I have traveled like million times in Volvo buses, they have very comfortable and smooth drive - reason - Air Suspension. Why cant my Innova have one? I know Merc S Class has air riders. This was the thought that was running in my mind for the next 2 hours till we reached home and sleep took over me.

Now it is got me thinking again. I know and have seen many cars in US having aftermarket air suspension fitments.
- Is there any one who can fit it as a after market fitments in India?
- Has any one in this forum done it?
- Is is possible realistically?

Mods : Pls move if in wrong section or if a thread already exists.

Last edited by Archish : 9th February 2010 at 16:07.
Archish is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th February 2010, 16:33   #2

I dont think we have those in India & just because of then Moolah it requires. However I can be wrong.
Old 9th February 2010, 16:50   #3

How much could it cost? When i was searching for similar title on the net, there are air suspension kits in US for Fortuner that costs around 2500$ so thats around Rs.1,12,000/-. Some for Innova should cost more or less the same, another 40k for fitments and labor work. 1.5 Lacs is something people would be willing to pay for comfort. But, technically is it possible. Does any one do it or done it.
Archish is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th February 2010, 21:14   #4

Originally Posted by Archish View Post
When i was searching for similar title on the net, there are air suspension kits in US for Fortuner that costs around 2500$
do you really find the present suspension that uncomfortable?

btw i dont think the fortuner is sold in the us.
Old 14th February 2010, 14:22   #5

Yes , it is very much possible . There are dunlop , firestone , goodyear kits in general .

You can check up suspensionsindia.co.in .
Old 14th February 2010, 14:56   #6

the air suspension is calibrated according to the weight transfer which takes place under various conditions, so if you are planning to use a standard kit, not necessary that it will prove useful as the weight transfer for various vehicles is different, which depends on various factors like WB,FAW,RAW,GVW,GC,RC,Track etc etc

Spike
Old 15th February 2010, 09:00   #7

Originally Posted by greatmana2000 View Post
Yes , it is very much possible . There are dunlop , firestone , goodyear kits in general .

You can check up suspensionsindia.co.in .
Seems these guys might bring one, that means its possible but at a cost. Now would it be worth the cost and effort? How about its maintenance ?
jkdas is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2010, 11:22   #8

forgive my ignorance Are you guys talking about putting gas filled shocks in place of oil filled ones or changinh the entire suspension?

I think innovas already comes with gas filled shocks as lancers have them.

Pramod
Old 15th February 2010, 13:42   #9

Originally Posted by pramodkumar View Post
forgive my ignorance Are you guys talking about putting gas filled shocks in place of oil filled ones or changinh the entire suspension?

I think innovas already comes with gas filled shocks as lancers have them.

Pramod
Its about replacing the coil spring of the Innova with an air bladder like the one installed in an air suspension bus. Gas filed shocks(dampers) are different, its the springs they are talking about.

Must be a straight forward job in Innova provided a suitable bladder is available since the axle is located by trailing arms & links instead of leafsprings.
Old 15th February 2010, 17:30   #10

Solution: drive around in a xylo. After becoming seasick, you'll junk the idea entirely
greenhorn is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2010, 18:06   #11

Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
Solution: drive around in a xylo. After becoming seasick, you'll junk the idea entirely
Thats the cheapest idea i think. Hire or rent a Xylo for a week, after that innova becomes heaven. But seriously, will go through the suspension website. They seem to be located in Chennai, thats good. Would talk to them and get back with more.

Last edited by Archish : 15th February 2010 at 18:09.
Old 16th February 2010, 19:18   #12

If you google there are a lot of aftermarket kits by firestone and some other rubber companies which sell generic bellows with generic compressors and switchgear there is one available for the innova based thai/phiilipines pickup with leaf spring, and aussi pickups as well doubt anything specific for innova you may have to experiement as these kits are calliberated as per vehicle dynamics and size etc a lot things go into if you get the right one she will go like dream no Xylo comparrision these kits are half a days work they slot into either where the dampers/shocks are now or between the diff and chassis. I have extensively researched this (for my safari) even called over seas and dunlop/sundarum JV in south they are the one who supply to Volvo etc if you are near them you could get one custom made by visiting them and befriending the senior mgmt
Old 10th June 2013, 12:29   #13

Airbag suspension kits

Hey guys,
I wanted some advice about airbag suspension kits.
Im sure all of you guys know about the awful mumbai monsoons and the persistent problem of water logging in some areas.
i was thinking of going on for a height adjustable suspension to overcome the issue.
Im looking at modifying the suspension of 2 of my vintages, the contessa and the Premier S1.
What is the best method to do it?
i have heard of air suspension kits, but i am not sure of which one.
Please guide me!
HimuraKenshin is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th June 2013, 06:55   #14

Re: After-market Air Suspension. Possible?

I was searching for air suspension kits around, and came to know TVS is having air suspension kits for vehicles like Tempo Traveller and the likes. Talked with them about doing it in the TT. We can get it done by taking the vehicle to their workshop in Chennai or if we can provide welding machine their machanics will come to our place and do the installation. Cost is around 1.45L for TT. They said they've installed the kit in some 325 vehicles.

Do anyone know about any kit that'll fit perfect in the Innova - considering all the configurations and factors to be taken care ?
Joe M is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd September 2024, 21:11   #15

Re: After-market Air Suspension. Possible?

Did anyone try out the Airlift suspensions in their sedans? I saw in Amazon selling at around 20k.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com