(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
Well chill out I have not bought the car yet. Still contemplating whether to buy it or no.
So what do the experts think?
what options do I have in making this faaaaassssst yet comfortable, after all it is an accord.
The works guys, suspension,FI or NA, exhaust, EMS lets hear it. ICE. etc etc.
Going by some of your other threads, I was beginning to wonder if you were giving up on cars and planning to get married and settle down in life :uncontrol . And then, you go and do this.....
Whatever you do just don't become the testing mule.simple.go in for bolt on parts for this engine.Even Hondata has an ECU for this and it has good potential.I'd suggest that you keep it NA and put in cams,polished and ported head, hondata ECU and make it pretty fast.
In case you want to go FI just get a bolt on kit.expensive but a surety of reliability.Almost all of the FI's done in india have blown off at sometime or the other.
Just go in for tried and tested bolt on parts from reliable sources.
If you do buy it, congrats in advance.its a very nice ,comfy and good engine potential car.
Which K24 Accord is this, the 142bhp or 180bhp?
I think you should consider an "FI" setup for this one. Unlike the wild childs (OHC and Civic), the Accord is looked at as a much more mature and elegant sibling.
So a high revving NA Accord doesn't really workout, as a daily ride. Moreover, with FI, you will not only get more power but also loads of extra torque at a much lower rpm.
Shan2nu
Rahul, long way to go before that happens :D
Navpreet, yes the way would be to go off the shelf parts.
Shantanu, good point.
Jitu bhai, any advise??
So the K24 is an engine from Honda for the Accord? Is it (also) a CR-V engine?
Why can't you folks speak English? :Frustrati
Not all of us are Google + youtube + Top Gear + PS3 experts.
Iceman, why dont you get the old accord, the 1st one which came to india, it is sleek and is a low rider. You can get a k24, get stronger internals,then turbo it at low PSi, and port, polish, remap, get a FFE, CAI or RAM, get the usual.
This will make it a regular ride, but if you want you can take the PSi to 25 or so, and the forged internals will handle it.
This is a option.
Or you can just buy a lancer and make a complete evo conversion, with a AWD and a mivec with turbo :D
EDIT :- arre dude even im crazy, if you are going for the accord, why not go for the J37? it will fit the accord, it is a V6 at 60 degrees, it has 300 BHP N/A, oh yeah forgot, it is 1300 cc more than the K24.(engine size of a esteem)
:I Rule:
Abhay, The idea is to go with the K24 and see what can be done.
Sky is the limit for the K24, you can see some big numbers and torque figures. Getting hold of a good engine with good compression will be your challenge.
Yeah its a good engine to mod, with many tuners flying in K24s from Japan for tuning.
Ohhh, i just thought that you want a fast car, if it is to mod a K24 then please rebuild the internals and Turbo it, this is the best, you should look in to sequential turboing, it is possible in the K24.
Originally Posted by hrag
(Post 1313399)
So the K24 is an engine from Honda for the Accord? Is it (also) a CR-V engine?
Why can't you folks speak English? :Frustrati
Not all of us are Google + youtube + Top Gear + PS3 experts. |
The K is the family of engines used by Honda and Acura. Yes, it does duty in both the Accord and the CR-V in their 2.4L (K24) variants.
The same engine does duty with a lot of cutting edge tech in the JDM Civic Type-R as the K20A. The K20Z series does duty in the EUDM Civic Type-R, USDM Civic Si and the progenitor of the 8th generation Civic, the Canadian Acura CSX. The K20Ax series does duty in the now-defunct Acura RSX. The K24Ax does duty in the Honda Accord, CR-V, Element etc etc. The best performing one, the K24A2, does duty in the Acura TSX (until 2008. 2009 has a different head design with economy VTEC).
The great thing about this engine family is that nearly all parts across the range are interchangeable. Cylinder heads, engine blocks, gear boxes, LSDs, ECUs, manifolds, etc etc. And nearly every car that comes with any one of these engines can accept any other engine. It is
the in thing in the Honda scene.
The series also incorporates all of Honda's latest and greatest technologies. DOHC i-VTEC with the 3 lobe cams we love and VTC. The K24s, with their low compression ratios, are also very receptive to forced induction, generating upto 600 wheel BHP before requiring forged internals. Although rather lazy in their stock 2.4L long stroke form, to around 6700RPM, they are capable of revving to a stratospheric 9000RPM when done up properly. The K20s are of course, already very high revving from the factory, with modified Type-Rs doing 10,000RPM daily.
For a daily driven car, it is a waste to have more than 300BHP. You are not going to be able to put that power down thanks to FWD (although an LSD will help) and with the huge mods list, it'll be hard to get it reliable in India. Get a K24, change the head to one of the high flowing in the family, change the manifolds, change the camshafts to use the flow, KPro the ECU for tuning, change the gearbox to a six speed with LSD, change the suspension and call it a day. You'll have 250BHP on call at the wheels and it'll last years. Of course, the turbo route will be cheaper, but you'll still need KPro and the suspension work, at the very least.
Originally Posted by ImmortalZ
(Post 1313756)
The K is the family of engines used by Honda and Acura. Yes, it does duty in both the Accord and the CR-V in their 2.4L (K24) variants.
The great thing about this engine family is that nearly all parts across the range are interchangeable. Cylinder heads, engine blocks, gear boxes, LSDs, ECUs, manifolds, etc etc. And nearly every car that comes with any one of these engines can accept any other engine. It is the in thing in the Honda scene.
The series also incorporates all of Honda's latest and greatest technologies. DOHC i-VTEC with the 3 lobe cams we love and VTC. The K24s, with their low compression ratios, are also very receptive to forced induction, generating upto 600 wheel BHP before requiring forged internals. Although rather lazy in their stock 2.4L long stroke form, to around 6700RPM, they are capable of revving to a stratospheric 9000RPM when done up properly. The K20s are of course, already very high revving from the factory, with modified Type-Rs doing 10,000RPM daily. |
In short, the K-series is the new B-series. Extreme interchangeability and potential on offer across the range. But in the Indian scenario, as Navpreet mentioned- going bolt-on is the way to go to avoid woes, since the K is nowhere as simple and cheap (relatively) as the B-series, tech like VTC and stuff needs to be worked around to boost it so one needs to have decent experience with the K to do serious mods. Keep it NA for now, gain confidence slowly and go FI.
Originally Posted by iceman91
(Post 1312695)
Well chill out I have not bought the car yet. Still contemplating whether to buy it or no.
So what do the experts think?
what options do I have in making this faaaaassssst yet comfortable, after all it is an accord.
The works guys, suspension,FI or NA, exhaust, EMS lets hear it. ICE. etc etc. |
Accord, niceclap:. go for FI this time, I know you like NA cars, but FI more fun and a bit easy to tune. plus one has control on the power output depending on the fuel used.and you can get huge output with stock internals.
"k" is the future, but parts wont be cheap, F.I on stock K24 engine if you gonna use as it is on an Accord or else plonk K24/k20 hybrid on a light weight Car say Lancer & go N.A, with good standalone something like Kpro & to tune it here will be tough one as apart from vtec you need to tune VTC as well as ivtec has different cam angles & there are separate tables around 24 degrees of advance & 24 retard & you need to tune every Cam angle separately for every cam degree advance/retard . Luxury + performance. Will need to do lot of research & join K series forums for more info.
Does K24 have the integrated exhaust manifold like the R18?
IMO, unless you want to experiment, it makes more sense to go in for a V6 with mild mods.