Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Old 8th September 2008, 18:34   #31

Originally Posted by iceman91 View Post
Yes the power steering unit can be fixed on a gypsy, ther is no problems with that, it is not a major install. can be QED

Which power steering unit does one use ? From the Baleno / Esteem ? Have you seen such a fitting done & more importantly is it working fine ?

Thanks for your advice

Old 9th September 2008, 14:31   #32

Originally Posted by autopsyche View Post
razor, the mivec is definitely there, whether it will go in a lancer or a gypsy, that is the question
OT: Is this the 6a12 or 4g92 Mivec?
Old 9th September 2008, 14:38   #33

4G92 1.6 DOHC Mivec...
Old 9th September 2008, 21:09   #34

Swapping a mivec would be bit complicated & will require lot of fabrication & custom mounts which if not engineered correctly will be a big problem.

how about swapping something like Sr20Det off silvia r.w.d?
Old 10th September 2008, 01:05   #35

sr20det.. is there one in India?????
Would love to get my hands on one

Jitu Bhai you say that the mivec will be a problem with the install and then recommend this baby from nissan!!! How will this be easier?

Last edited by iceman91 : 10th September 2008 at 01:06.
Old 10th September 2008, 09:12   #36

because of layout of engine amit bhai & its r.w.d, the gear box will be facing rear wheel of gypsy,the engine will need to be imported though.

But before carrying out any swap be it a mivec, sr20 or any engine it is viable to do some homework w.r.t to oem engine mounting location which will fit in to gypsy, all pros & cons & acesses the amount of cutting welding work involved.see which is simpler & more practical. one cannot decide on internet that which engine to plonk if its not done before, one needs to get in to the vehicles & take required measurements.

Last edited by Ford Rocam : 10th September 2008 at 09:24.
Old 10th September 2008, 09:16   #37

ah ok.
Fair enough.. I have been drooling since last night thinking there was a sr20det lying around
Old 10th September 2008, 09:40   #38

Thanks Ford Rocam & iceman for your valueable inputs. I was talking Mivec as I already have that.

Would the sr20det not entail all the mods to the engine bay as well (vs Mivec) ? I think the simplest is the Stock King engine TC'd or the Baleno worked on & maybe TC'd.

Old 10th September 2008, 16:47   #39

There was an Sr20 Black top lying around some time back, let me check...
Old 10th September 2008, 18:05   #40

Karan of KS had an SR20DE (NA) with an auto tranny.. check with him for more details.

but i guess you might have to stick to RWD as opposed to 4WD if you choose this motor..

cheers..
Old 10th September 2008, 18:51   #41

@R32 GTR

Loosing the 4WD & an auto tranny are 2 -ve's that I see with this option. Thanks anyways for the suggestion

Old 11th September 2008, 00:38   #42

Might as well just pick up a 2JZ GE, there are plenty lying around. 5 speed manual to boot, and you can always turbo it to 1000 hp if the mood strikes you.
Old 11th September 2008, 09:38   #43

Originally Posted by v1p3r View Post
Might as well just pick up a 2JZ GE, there are plenty lying around. 5 speed manual to boot, and you can always turbo it to 1000 hp if the mood strikes you.

What's the viability of putting it into a Gypsy Engine bay ? Have you seen such an application done before on the Gypsy ? Does one get to retain the 4WD ?

Thanks for your input. What kind of price are we looking at for procuring this kind of engine ?

As for the 1000 Bhp option - no thanks, do not intend to make a monster out of the Gypsy !!

Correct me if I am wrong, but would this engine not be great for a Contessa ??

Last edited by Ricky_63 : 11th September 2008 at 09:41.
Old 11th September 2008, 09:45   #44

Originally Posted by Ricky_63 View Post

Correct me if I am wrong, but would this engine not be great for a Contessa ??
: did somebody say "contessa"? if ricky's idea is possible, the me wants to know the cost of procuring a 2jz too.
Old 11th September 2008, 23:32   #45

AWD, no chance, because not even the Lexus sedans had AWD. 2JZ GE, the non turbo, with gearbox injectors wiring and ECU would be north of 2 lakhs.

I have a V6 off an SUV with AWD et al lying around somewhere. Gotta check.