Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Old 15th March 2007, 22:30   #1

Want more space in my Zen...

I don't know if this is possible, but I'm thinking of remodeling my Zen so that it would have more space in the rear. I can do away with the luggage space in the rear, as I don't and perhaps would never need it. Is it possible to get rid of that space and shift the rear bench back? I want it to make comparable to Indigo, or the Indica, at least. So, I'll be happy with even 15 cm gain.

The cost should not exceed
(The price of 2001 Indigo) - (Price of my 2001 Zen) = about Rs. 1 lakh.
Old 15th March 2007, 23:14   #2

Doing that is surely posssible but is very risky because in case of a rear end collision the rear seat will be the first victim.
Old 15th March 2007, 23:28   #3

Even if you shift the seats back it wont do much good as the platform will still be in the same place and i dont think you will be able to change that. and whats the point spending so much money. you might as well just buy a bigger car.
Old 15th March 2007, 23:31   #4

i think 1 lakh is a good amount...why not ask dc for an estimate...to STRETCH your car by a few inches.It shouldnt go more than 1peyti.
Old 15th March 2007, 23:34   #5

Originally Posted by danlalan View Post
i think 1 lakh is a good amount...why not ask dc for an estimate...to STRETCH your car by a few inches.It shouldnt go more than 1peyti.
iv heard tht DC doesnt work on used cars. is it true?

Last edited by khanak : 15th March 2007 at 23:36.
Old 16th March 2007, 17:25   #6

Yes, getting a bigger car is the easiest option, with no 'side-effects'. But, thought it'll be cool to mod my Zen. I don't want to part with its peppy engine.

What if I modify the platform (which the bench sits on) itself?
Old 16th March 2007, 23:00   #7

Originally Posted by amu1983 View Post

How will you modify the location of the fuel tank then? I think you should go in for some other car if better rear seating is absolutely necessary.

az
Old 18th March 2007, 11:08   #8

Originally Posted by amu1983 View Post
Yes, getting a bigger car is the easiest option, with no 'side-effects'. But, thought it'll be cool to mod my Zen. I don't want to part with its peppy engine.

Isn't the platform part of the car chassis? I think the cost will be a lac or more. Try looking at an old Palio GTX , If you are lucky you can get one for just over a lac and the engine is peppier that the zen
Old 18th March 2007, 22:13   #9

yea,then u have to do some modification on the chasis which is not at all recommended.
Old 21st May 2007, 20:14   #10

Originally Posted by khanak View Post
iv heard tht DC doesnt work on used cars. is it true?

one of my frnd did a dc for a same reason and sold it in two months coz he was not satisfied with the work done so he sold it and besides you cant make a zen look more spacious like indica coz its a small car.
Old 3rd April 2009, 15:35   #11

It is not advisable at all to stretch the car, It can have a negative effect on the structural integrity! And as per the RTO rules, stretching the chasis is illegal unless you have permission from the car manufacturer and the rto