Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Old 27th November 2006, 21:19   #1

maruti 1000 : teachin an old dog new tricks!

hey guys.... i currently own a 99 model maruti 1000..... its run just about 40,000kms..... i'm planning to move on to a better car soon but till then i wanna see more bang for my buck!

any tips on gettin it to spit out more horses? its currently completely stock and churns out 45bhp....... wats the least i can do to get it to run faster? i dunno wanna blow a lot of money on it cos i've made up my mind to get rid of it in 6 months or less!

* also.....i found this restrictor plate sorta thing factory-welded inside the air filter box..... do u think it'l make a diff if i got it off??

anyone else wit maruti 1000's out thr??
Old 27th November 2006, 22:41   #2

Since you have been driving this vehicle with stock 45bhp for so long now it wouldnt hurt to continue to do so for the next few months? Im not saying that dont go for any mods, but just a thought that since youre going to change over to a better performing vehicle soon wouldnt u rather spend that money on your new car... coz even with basic performance mods like intake and exhaust setups your car wont be any much faster than a carb esteem! Just a little doubtful wether youll get your bang for the buck.
Old 27th November 2006, 23:33   #3

To the best of my knowledge, i remember Maruti phasing out the M1000 model sometime in the year 1997 (guys, kindly correct me if i am wrong).

Soo if yours is a M1000 then i guess its definately not a year 1999 model because if it is a year 1999 make then i am pretty much sure that it is a Type-2 Carb Esteem!

Cheers+
Old 28th November 2006, 10:53   #4

Yep his must be the 64 bhp carburated esteem
Old 28th November 2006, 11:32   #5

no guys this is a m1000....... maruti stopped making these bak in 97 but they ended up gettin rid of them only by the end of 99......i bought mine in december 99..... the only reason i got it was bcos they gave me a brand new 4 door sedan for 2.20 lacs!!
Old 28th November 2006, 11:36   #6

hey autopsyche...... i was considering modding cos now we have a second car...... so i could use tht for my daily chores..... but as u said m1000 isnt really worth modding..... jus a few more horses hurt no one..... wat do u think i can get for under 10k?
Old 15th March 2007, 13:47   #7

Yes, maruti did get rid of old 1000 cc engines in 1999/2000. But, was it selling for that low ? i heard different.
Old 15th March 2007, 18:23   #8

45bhp??
Dude, Filter+Freeflow exhaust will give u 10%. Thats 4.5 bhp.Is it worth Ur 10,000 bucks???
Old 15th March 2007, 18:44   #9

@esteem lover : yeah actually the marked price on paper was around 2.75L but khivraj motors was kind enough to give us roughly 50k discount which effectively got the price down to around 2.2 - 2.3L

but things to bear in mind. the prices above were ex-showroom for the non-A/C model.

@nitrous : yeah hardly seems worth 10k. the most logical thing seems to be to trade this in for a used esteem MPFI.
Old 16th March 2007, 14:23   #10

heehee....tell me about it !

everyone i've approached till now to juice up my 1000 have said just one thing "not worth it"

its either u do a full blown mod job (with an esteem engine swap & the works) or u drive it around just as it is

the first option i figured out would cost you anywhere between 25-30k upwards.....so u decide !

anyways, try K&N's and a proper freeflow (and lemme know if it works !)

J