Old 1st October 2006, 17:23   #1
BHPian

Modifying Zen < INR15K

Current Situation

1997 Maruti Zen,89000 KM

Stock Engine-13" Alloys on 165/60/R13

Budget-15000 INR

Guys,
Please advise the most optimal performance mod I can achieve on the above nominal budget.Please guys,even I love to have an E-Zen ,but the engine itself is almost 20K away from budget.So expecting comments on how to get max bang for 15K.

Last edited by artofzen : 1st October 2006 at 17:26.
Old 1st October 2006, 17:51   #2
Senior - BHPian

Hi,

IMHO there are these 2 options. Though i am not an expert so experts can take over from here:

I think viper tri-phase is about 18k he may give you discount being T-Bhpian. PM him have read a lot reviews on vipers tri-phase and its sure is a hit.

Or you can always go for the mods speedzak has done on his Alto. K&N extreme + Automech exhauts and according to him 0 -100 has improved to aroun 12 secs (stock is 17+).
Old 1st October 2006, 18:05   #3
BANNED

Hi,

Firstly the Tri-Phase is not for carburetted cars. As far as your questions go. I would recommend the following.

1> Full Free Flow Exhaust
2> Iridium Plugs
3> K&N Conical Filter
4> Good Tune Up(Including Carb Overhaul)

All of the above can be done within your budget and you can expect approx 10-12% gains(realistic).

Viper

@Abhibh - It is not possible to gain 5 seconds from only free flow and extreme filter. Either of you have made a mistake.

Last edited by viper : 1st October 2006 at 18:06.
Old 1st October 2006, 18:14   #4
Senior - BHPian

I never looked at what model car it was lol. My mistake

Secondly speedak stated 0-100 timings over here but he has not yet recorded a 0-100:
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/288838-post76.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by viper
Firstly the Tri-Phase is not for carburetted cars. As far as your questions go. I would recommend the following.

@Abhibh - It is not possible to gain 5 seconds from only free flow and extreme filter. Either of you have made a mistake.