Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 17th December 2007, 16:47   #1

e46 BMW 3 Series for 15 lakhs or less?

I am currently looking to buy a new car and probably zeroing down on the Skoda Laura Ambiente (approx 15lakhs)

However I am tempted to wonder if i can get an e46 second hand BMW 3 series for that price bracket (14 ~ 15lakhs) preferably a 6 cylinder 325 or 330

I had a e36 1995 325iC back in college in the states which i sold before moving back to bombay last yr, and would love to own a bimmer again. I drive a Civic now, quite the downgrade :(

I have heard a lot abt Haren Choksey and his cars but a lot of ppl have also warned me against him. Would appreciate if someone could give me his number.

Apart from Choksey, are there any more reliable import dealers in bombay? Could someone help me with the telephone numbers and details for these

Also if any fellow TEAM BHPians have anythgin up for sale, pls let me know.

Thanks !

ps: the owner of Percept lives in my building and has a silver 3 series convertible with a dark blue soft top. His parking spots right next to mine and i see that ride every day, kills me :( dont think he wants to sell it though, YET !

MODS: if this is not the correct section to post this, pls let me know.
Old 17th December 2007, 17:47   #2

Man, the E46 was the best looking 3 ever......what lines! Not one of them out of place, and perfectly in proportion. Plus you could have one with the slick manual tranny. Choksi's numbers are 6694.1751 / 2 / 3 / 4. Also speak to Mahesh on 2446.1271.

Not that sure about the Laura if you are a speed freak. Why not a used RS instead of the Laura? Its been raining (a couple of them atleast) RS on Team-BHP lately. Best bang for the buck under 10 lakhs.
Old 17th December 2007, 18:10   #3

thanks for the numbers man...appreciate it

yeah no kidding...the e46 design is truly flawless ....not sure why bangle would do what he did with the e90....not the biggest fan of the new 3 series really

I could go in for a brand new Octavia RS since its almost the same price as Laura Ambiente ...appporx 14.5 lakhs... hear its quite a speed demon...will def consider it since i am probably test driving the laura and the RS this coming weekend
Old 29th December 2007, 23:31   #4
Sss

Originally Posted by hollaback View Post

However I am tempted to wonder if i can get an e46 second hand BMW 3 series for that price bracket (14 ~ 15lakhs) preferably a 6 cylinder 325 or 330

I
Have you found any E46 BMW's yet. do keep us updated.
Old 21st May 2008, 15:07   #5

well funnily enough i didnt, and decided against the Laura after testdriving it, not my type

Decided against an import bcos of long term maintenance cost and some other factors though every once in a while i do think abt a bee em doubleU

Gonna buy either the New corolla or the Jetta once they are out -- like they say, play it SAFE !

Note from Mod : Please take the time to type out your posts in full words as per Team-BHP rules. Avoid the use of SMS language (abt = about, dat = that, etc), and please take the time to re-read your post for typos before submitting.

Last edited by Rehaan : 22nd May 2008 at 08:08. Reason: Please see note in post.
Old 27th June 2008, 08:45   #6

does anyone know of an e46 in delhi or near about regions.preferably a fast one.like the 325i or above.
Old 27th June 2008, 10:57   #7

I think even whatcanthisbe was looking for a similar one in and around Delhi and he got a couple of responses too. I think Autopsyche may have something up her sleeve.
Old 27th June 2008, 12:07   #8

Originally Posted by hollaback View Post

Gonna buy either the New corolla or the Jetta once they are out -- like they say, play it SAFE !
Wise decison !

Jetta seems like a better option now as you can get the diesel engine and throw in a tunning chip/remap to satisfy your need for speed.

However, it's best to wait for both to launch and then judge.
Old 27th June 2008, 17:42   #9

Originally Posted by navpreet318 View Post
does anyone know of an e46 in delhi or near about regions.preferably a fast one.like the 325i or above.
I know of an E36 US-spec, 6-speed manual (I think, could be 5 too)! But the owner won't sell, have been after him for a long while now! Maybe, maybe he'll sell it to me next year!!

Originally Posted by hmishra83 View Post
I think Autopsyche may have something up her sleeve.
What?? Arush had a gender change??

Last edited by iraghava : 27th June 2008 at 17:49.
Old 27th June 2008, 18:54   #10

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
I know of an E36 US-spec, 6-speed manual (I think, could be 5 too)! But the owner won't sell, have been after him for a long while now! Maybe, maybe he'll sell it to me next year!!
well i don't actually like the e36.not to my taste.to each his own.thats why i'm looking for the e46.let me know if you spot one.

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
What?? Arush had a gender change??

hey when did this happen.congrats arush.its great to see a female on top of the car customization game.
Old 26th December 2008, 15:27   #11
sAP

The E46 330i is the one to go for. The 3 Liter has immediate touch-and-go response, linear acceleration and won't disappoint. The 2.5 is reasonably quick, but lacks low end torque. The steptronic transmission (in the auto) in manual program mode is superb and actually shifts faster than a stick shift.
Old 27th December 2008, 01:27   #12

Originally Posted by sAP View Post
The E46 330i is the one to go for. The 3 Liter has immediate touch-and-go response, linear acceleration and won't disappoint. The 2.5 is reasonably quick, but lacks low end torque. The steptronic transmission (in the auto) in manual program mode is superb and actually shifts faster than a stick shift.
Big engined 3-series (2.5/3L) are almost impossible to find in India. Same applies for 5-series too, most are 520i/523i/525i/525tds/530i at best.
Old 24th July 2012, 23:41   #13

Re: e46 BMW 3 Series for 15 lakhs or less?

I have been doing some research on used Beemers available. I'm thinking of going for a E46, in the near future and came across this thread.

What would be the pros and cons of going in for a 6 - 7 year old 320d E46 ? How much should it cost ? What should be the mileage that one should look at ? Anyone know any well maintained vehicle around Mumbai / Pune ?

If I'm not mistaken E46's would be direct imports, right ? Any DRI associated issues with it ?

Can someone shed some light on it please ?

Yogesh.
Old 25th July 2012, 12:19   #14

FYI, Infinity motors Mumbai has an e46 M3 6 speed manual for sale for 33lakhs!!!
Old 7th September 2012, 13:24   #15
Mtv

I found a 2005 330ci convertible, done only about 7000km. The owner is known to me and has taken very good care of the car. Sadly he passed it on to a dealer. The car will probably be sold to Delhi unless he finds a buyer here in Kolkata. He's asking for 18 lacs, should I bite?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com