Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 19th December 2024, 16:10   #16

Re: Advice on buying a Used Volvo V90 Cross Country

You could go for the Camry, if your priority is the piece of mind behind the Toyota badge + the proven hybrid powertrain + creature comforts (ventilated seats).
The V90 is phased out in India and spares will always be a challenge in the future (more so for a car that was sold in such small numbers).
BMW 6 series is a safer gamble (globally discontinued)- but if the car is mostly going to be self driven, the other 2 options do not hold a candle to the engine + gearbox combination.

Either way good luck and let us know the outcome!
Vinay3832 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th December 2024, 23:46   #17

Thanks guys. Everything is at a bit of a standstill right now. I’ve made an offer on the Volvo but the dealer is quoting a higher price and I’m not willing to match that. They have another customer who’s put down payment but is unable to get the loan. Let’s see how this plays out.

I checked out a year old BMW 6 GT but it wasn’t cared for properly. There were scratches everywhere and I didn’t feel confident to make an offer.

The search continues!
bhargav_dave is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th December 2024, 09:33   #18

Originally Posted by bhargav_dave View Post
Thanks guys. Everything is at a bit of a standstill right now. I’ve made an offer on the Volvo but the dealer is quoting a higher price and I’m not willing to match that. They have another customer who’s put down payment but is unable to get the loan. Let’s see how this plays out.
Be patient, the car has limited appeal for some and the dealer will want cashflow!
ajmat is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th December 2024, 10:44   #19

Thanks guys. Everything is at a bit of a standstill right now. I’ve made an offer on the Volvo but the dealer is quoting a higher price and I’m not willing to match that.
You an get an idea about how much they are selling for from this site:
https://www.bigboytoyz.com/collection?brand=volvo
Guna is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th December 2024, 19:40   #20

As someone who is living in Sweden, I've extensively driven these cars (V90, V90 cross country, S90) on several occasions as it's the go-to rental car offered by my company. My advice is to take a long drive and see if the Volvo is for you. I felt the V90 was too soft & big for my liking, But it's a very comfortable car with good seats, a good ADAS system, fantastic sound insulation etc. But it's not my kind of car. Last week I did a 700 km trip in a day in V90 & the car performed great in the snow & comfort was so good that it didn't feel like a 700 km trip. Had I done this in my 4 series BMW, I would be more tired. But did I enjoyed the drive? No, I felt too disconnected with the Car.

If reliability is what you are looking for, Volvos are not the most reliable cars, and parts availability and dealer support will be good with German cars like BMW. At least aftermarket support for German cars is much better than the Volvo. I would also suggest you to extend your search to something like the G30 BMW 5-Series, if there are limited used 6-Series GT available in the market. BMWs are simply more reliable, and easy to own in the long run. Not to forget it will bring more smile on your face each time you drive it.
Aromal is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st January 2025, 13:21   #21

I have been driving Volvo for close to 10 years now. Previously we used to drive V60 and then for last couple of years V90 Cross Country. Also as part of my job, we extensively modify Volvo cars and use it. We have used V90, XC40 Recharge and regular XC40 for these.
I agree to some of the comments here. V90 is a large car and will not be a great car for daily driving on Indian roads. But, it is a fantastic car for road trips. The ride is amazing especially if you have the air suspension. In addition to that Volvo IMHO has the best car stereo if it is equipped with B&W system.

Mechanically, the SPA1 cars have been rock solid. As I said we made lot of modifications to the cars down to replacing the complete electronics of one model year car with another, replacing the windshield to accommodate the newer ADAS systems. The cars have been great, but I guess you can argue we knew what we were doing
acurafan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st January 2025, 21:05   #22

I found a certified Volvo V90 CC at a local dealer at around 40 lacs asking price. It has done 25k KMs and is in a pretty good shape.

I love this car but not sure what is the reliability record and would it make sense to buy it now? The alternatives are BMW 6 series GT or the new to be launched Camry.

Hello as an owner of multiple Volvos & also having similar car in my friends circle, i highly vouch for it. Amazing car, Comfortable, tons of space, built like a tank so safety is top notch, loaded with tech, can munch miles effortlessly. Negotiate the price and try bringing it down to around 35 lakhs which is what its selling for in the market currently. The Cross Country trim gives you additional ground clearance making it easy to navigate through our roads and can manage a bit of off roading too, thanks to the AWD setup.

Things to look out for, the D5 engine is maintenance hungry once it hits past 50k kms.

1. A strict & mandatory Timing belt service with OE parts must be done every 40k kms or 5 years, whichever is earlier.
2. Diesel pump, injectors, water pump, valve covers all must be inspected for leaks at every service.
3. Stick to specified oil grade 0W20 (ACEA C5), do not use any other oil in this car. Same goes for coolant, use OE Volvo coolant available from the dealer as the car requires precise 50:50 ratio with water, the OE coolant comes premixed.
4. Car gets Air suspension at the rear and tends to leak if its sitting for long or driven hard on rough roads.

Apart from this few interior trims tend to break over the period of time, but other than that it is a highly underrated wagon.

Would advice you to get a service history from the dealer before purchase to know its complete history from the VIN no.

Last edited by ShortShifter : 1st January 2025 at 21:08.
ShortShifter is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 10:12   #23

Originally Posted by ShortShifter View Post
Hello as an owner of multiple Volvos & also having similar car in my friends circle, i highly vouch for it. Amazing car, Comfortable, tons of space, built like a tank so safety is top notch, loaded with tech, can munch miles effortlessly. Negotiate the price and try bringing it down to around 35 lakhs which is what its selling for in the market currently. The Cross Country trim gives you additional ground clearance making it easy to navigate through our roads and can manage a bit of off roading too, thanks to the AWD setup.

Things to look out for, the D5 engine is maintenance hungry once it hits past 50k kms.

1. A strict & mandatory Timing belt service with OE parts must be done every 40k kms or 5 years, whichever is earlier.
2. Diesel pump, injectors, water pump, valve covers all must be inspected for leaks at every service.
3. Stick to specified oil grade 0W20 (ACEA C5), do not use any other oil in this car. Same goes for coolant, use OE Volvo coolant available from the dealer as the car requires precise 50:50 ratio with water, the OE coolant comes premixed.
4. Car gets Air suspension at the rear and tends to leak if its sitting for long or driven hard on rough roads.

Apart from this few interior trims tend to break over the period of time, but other than that it is a highly underrated wagon.

Would advice you to get a service history from the dealer before purchase to know its complete history from the VIN no.
Hi thanks for your feedback. I was very much looking forward to buying this car (and kind of still am) but the latest is that the deal is on a standstill at least from my side due to:

1. When I asked for the service history record - the car has only been serviced twice in 4.5 years. When I asked why, they said since it has only done 25k kms they did not service it.
2. Due to the above the dealer says they can't guarantee I will get the extended warranty or service package approved by Volvo.
3. The owner is refusing to lower the price to reflect this. They are adamant at 37L.
4. When I put the details of the car in the insurance and other portals the IDV and fair value assessment shows this between 26-31L.

Given the potential maintenance costs which will hit me soon after I buy the car I am being put off. Paying nearly 40L for a car that is now 5 years old (mfg 2019) does not come across as very sensible. Other than that I actually love the car and hope they will see some sense and come down on price in the new year.
bhargav_dave is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 11:17   #24

Other than that I actually love the car and hope they will see some sense and come down on price in the new year.
Even if they come down on the price, I suggest you to stay away from a car which has skipped services. Forget about extending the warranty, warranty will be gone the minute the car is not serviced in the scheduled intervals.
Guna is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 13:02   #25

Originally Posted by Guna View Post
Even if they come down on the price, I suggest you to stay away from a car which has skipped services. Forget about extending the warranty, warranty will be gone the minute the car is not serviced in the scheduled intervals.

1. When I asked for the service history record - the car has only been serviced twice in 4.5 years. When I asked why, they said since it has only done 25k kms they did not service it.
I agree with Guna. A missed service is an opportunity for Volvo to reject any warranty situation should there be one in the future.

Dealership has been hiding this fact. In some countries, this non-disclosure makes the dealership liable for the cost of fix if manufacturer rejects (missed service)

Trust me - I've been through it with the RRS I currently drive.

Some who are familiar with handling break/fixes will use this to their advantage and negotiate a drop in price.
14000rpm is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 18:01   #26

Other than that I actually love the car and hope they will see some sense and come down on price in the new year.
Any one who doesn't do service at specified interval is not even expected to have taken care of the car. The bit about low mileage is a whole load of non-sense.

That is why I like good running cars because regular wear and tear gets taken care.

I suggest you forget about this car. The car will keep losing value as it stands and time passes. And there will come a time when the penny will drop.
Its not a rare Bentley or Rolls Royce to appreciate over time.

Originally Posted by Guna View Post
Exactly!
MileCruncher is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd January 2025, 22:43   #27

Thanks guys. I’ve dropped the idea for now. Will keep searching.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com