Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 18th August 2024, 09:11   #1

Most comfortable luxury car under 80 lakhs | Recovering from hip surgery

Dear friends,

I currently drive a 2021 Hyundai Tucson. In recent years I have developed a bad hip (recovering from a core decompression surgery of the hip) and am also diagnosed with cervical spondylitis.

While my doctor has advised me to stay off the roads, this is not practical especially with increased work from office mandate. My focus has now shifted to getting the most comfortable car I can get for under 80 Lakhs. I am actually debating whether a sedan would be more appropriate than an SUV / crossover, so I am actually open to all body styles.

Usage will be about 1000 km per month with 70% use in city and remaining on highways.

I would appreciate recommendations from my fellow Team BHP-ians based on their ownership and drive experiences.

To summarise, my priorities are:
1. Excellent Ride comfort
2. Minimum body roll and vibrations
3. Back, Neck, and Under thigh support on front and rear seats
4. Ergonomic comfort for left elbow/arm to rest on the centre console when driving
5. Light controls (steering, pedals)

Last edited by Pyrotek : 18th August 2024 at 09:37. Reason: Added one more priority
Pyrotek is online now   (8) Thanks
Old 18th August 2024, 10:24   #2

Re: Most comfortable luxury car under 80 lakhs | Recovering from hip surgery

Wishing you a speedy recovery, Pyrotek.

- What is wrong with your 2021 Tucson? Do you need a change?

IF YES:

- You should be open to being chauffeur-driven, if & when required for your comfort / recovery. And even if being chauffeur-driven, sit in the front passenger seat which is a lot more comfortable than the rear seat (seat adjustability, you can stretch out for legroom, ride quality).

- Rule out sedans. Crossovers & MPVs will be best for you.

- Innova Hycross is a great option if you want something great at half your budget. Drop the tyre PSI in the city and you will find the Ioniq 5 also to be very comfortable, with sorted ergonomics and an easy-to-drive nature.

- Among luxury cars, if you can stretch a little bit and are okay with the size, the Q7 is something else with its adaptive suspension. Massive discounts on the car, as is typical of Audi. If not okay with the size or price, test-drive the Lexus NX. In his review, Turbanator said the ride quality is "outstanding". Nothing touches a Lexus for refinement, reliability & durability.

Last edited by GTO : 18th August 2024 at 10:25.
GTO is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 18th August 2024, 10:33   #3

In my humble opinion, you would do great to increase your budget just a little bit higher and get a Q7. It’ll be supremely comfortable owing to it’s air suspension, and as it is has been on sale for a long time, it’ll be free of any potential bugs, and with the frequent mouthwatering deals Audi has, it can be a great value purchase too.

Alternatively you can buy a Hycross / Camry, or wait for the new Carnival as it’s just around the corner.

It goes without saying that you should drive all these cars, as opinions are subjective and you should make your own.
Nishant345 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th August 2024, 11:10   #4

As has already been pointed out, an ideal choice for you would be an innova Hycross with a chauffeur.

The only problem with the above is the waiting period for the innova.

As an alternative, you can consider the Lexus NX. It fits just within your budget and has an extremely comfortable and cushy ride. Of course, you should take a test drive and see if it is comfortable for you.
teknophobia is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 18th August 2024, 11:59   #5

Drivetrain:EV and Hybrid+e-CVT offer smoothest motion without jerks. Avoid sporty dual clutch (VW group) and ZF8 (BMW) drivetrains.

Tires:Change to lowest possible wheel dia and fat profile tires. It will downgrade high speed handling but improve the ride comfort and NVH significantly.

Centre of gravity:Sedans offer minimal body roll and also offer better NVH - if entry/exit/seating posture are OK with you. Lower GC would be better for ride comfort.

Suspension: A very difficult aspect to judge. Japanese (Camry and Lexus) cars tend to come with comfort oriented suspension that works good at lower speeds. Air suspension would be great but it's available only in large and expensive models. Adaptive suspension needs to tested over a test drive to check how comfortable is the "comfort" setting on it.

Seats: Good amount of cushion, all around support and adjustment range. Front seats are better than rear ones in most cars.

Keeping all these in mind and assuming some compromises have to be made no matter what the budget is, I would recommend Camry Hybrid or Lexus ES with downsized wheels given your usage is mostly within city.
androdev is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 18th August 2024, 14:00   #6

Wishing you a speedy recovery, Pyrotek.

- What is wrong with your 2021 Tucson? Do you need a change?
Thanks GTO. I intend to replace the Tucson as I only have space for 1 car. I am finding the following challenges in the Tucson:

1. Low speed ride over bumps and potholes is causing a lot of side-to-side movement which is hurting my neck and aggravating my spondylitis
2. When driving, the length of the arm rest is insufficient and causing my left arm to dangle, thus aggravating the spondylitis. Essentially, I need to be able to keep the left arm as flat or horizontal as possible
3. The seat squab is not wide enough to accommodate my large frame and the under thigh support is less. This is causing my right leg (I was operated on the right hip) to hurt more than usual.

It has been almost 2 years since I got operated. I tried to make peace and adjust but there's been no respite. That's why I am considering a different car which can help me cope with these conditions better, as some of my arthritic symptoms only seem to be getting worse.
Pyrotek is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 19th August 2024, 11:22   #7

Perhaps you should try the Citroen c5. With the air suspension, they claim its the most comfortable car ( atleast in its segment). It easily fits your budget and based on your requirements it ticks all the boxes.

In the MUV segment you can also have a look at the Kia carnival which also is very comfortable chauffeur driven car.

Another car to also consider is the toyota camry Hybrid which is also within your budget.
Jhinchak is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th August 2024, 11:29   #8

The only car which comes to mind is the S class. You can get a W222 facelift well under 80 lacs and save the rest for maintenance. The downsides are the image which the S class gives a person, which one may not want. And the other is that its not an suv, which means if roads are bad then one will have to drive very carefully, and with a lot more care. That being said the comfort will be unmatched, especially as per your requirements.

With regards to SUVs, again as many have suggested the Q7 is a good option. If you stretch a bit you can get a new one with the current discounts. Otherwise maybe a pre owned one. This too is reasonable comfortable and has a flat ride, and will be better than the S class over broken roads.
Akshay1234 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 19th August 2024, 13:06   #9

Hello Pyrotek,

I think you should consider Kodiaq. It’s one of the rare SUVs that comes with an actually usable height adjustable central arm rest. This would be very useful to your left arm. It also has Dynamic Chassis Control that would give better ride quality than Tucson. At the rear, it comes with head restraints with adjustable sides, to prevent the head from bobbing from side to side when taking a nap.

It has almost car like driveability, light controls, not much body roll etc... Do take a test drive and evaluate.

Last edited by Voyager-1 : 19th August 2024 at 13:09.
Voyager-1 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th August 2024, 13:38   #10

1. Consider using a chauffeur.

2. Try the Vellfire, Carnival, Innova Hycross, or the upcoming EV9. Electric drivetrain could serve you better with more stability.

3. Find a trainer who specialises, and is certified in special populations. Get on a strength regimen to improve your baseline condition.

Good luck.
ach1lles is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th August 2024, 16:38   #11

Originally Posted by Voyager-1 View Post
Hello Pyrotek,

I think you should consider Kodiaq. It’s one of the rare SUVs that comes with an actually usable height adjustable central arm rest. This would be very useful to your left arm. It also has Dynamic Chassis Control that would give better ride quality than Tucson. At the rear, it comes with head restraints with adjustable sides, to prevent the head from bobbing from side to side when taking a nap.

It has almost car like driveability, light controls, not much body roll etc... Do take a test drive and evaluate.

I agree with this suggestion. I am also evaluating Kodiaq for a similar consideration and I am almost going to book it for following reason.
1. Getting in and out is very easy for this car. Not like "climbing up" into the car.
2. Very silent and premium cabin.
3. Dynamic Chassis Control (DCC). Was very smooth in the comfort settings
4. 12 ways adjustable front seats with lumbar support adjustment. Lumbar support is very helpful for proper seating position.
5. Good space in the first 2 rows. Under thigh support is good for driver and passenger.
6. Nap package with having neck support in the 2nd row.
7. 9 air bags, 5 star safety
8. Very powerful engine and drives like a sedan if you want to drive.
9. Sliding and height adjusting central arm rest.

Issues to consider -
1. Fuel efficiency - 12.XX KMPL claimed by the company.
2. Skoda after sales service and support (But up to 6 years warranty can be purchased).
3. Longer turning radius
4. No ADAS.
somersault is offline   (6) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com