Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 14th May 2024, 15:21   #16

Re: 2024 Porsche Cayenne vs BMW 7-Series

The present 7 series is a fantastic car in every way except looks. If you sell that and buy an X7, it will be like a downgrade. X7 is no match to 7 series in luxury or part quality. My advice would be to buy the 7 series and enjoy it for ten years. If the looks are too quirky, then go with Audi A8L, another excellent car. Once you spend good two years in these cars, you will not have a liking for X7 or Cayenne kind of cars.
DonHyd is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 14th May 2024, 15:46   #17

If the end goal is to “stand out”, why not spend 10-15L on the Defender and make it one-of-a-kind. Save some money brother, let it grow, and buy a crazy expensive car after 2-3 years.
QuentinTino is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th May 2024, 16:12   #18

Originally Posted by morphin1 View Post

Also is buying a Cayenne considered an upgrade from the defender ?

Thanks a lot in advance guys .
From your posts, I think what matters to you most are

1. Exclusivity
2. Perception of Luxury
3. Resale value

If driving dynamics is not that important to you, check out the Lexus LM.

If there's one car that could Trump the Defender in "making an entrance" quotient, it is the LM.
buzzy_boy is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 14th May 2024, 20:19   #19

I see throughout this thread your purchase criteria is simply public perception, exclusivity and showing off to others. No offence, but unless you're in a niche business where impressions matter to this extent, why don't you buy the car you want/pleases you the most? You clearly have the resources for it so test-drive the cars you've listed rather than relying on what other's views will be once you buy it.

Apart from that, I'd recommend keeping the Defender.
If you want to stand out than I agree with Cresterk, the latest 7 Series is quote conspicuous due to it's design and impractiality.
Driving dynamics wise Porsche is the best bet so Cayenne is what you need for SUV+driving pleasure.
X7 is imposing too but won't stand out as much as a 7 series.
If you can then stretch for the Range Rover as nothing tops a Range when it comes to making an entrance.

That's it from my side but I'm intrigued to know why 'seeing too many' of your car is a reason enough to switch up like this? And lastly, will you be buying a G-Wagon in the future?

Last edited by sh3lby : 14th May 2024 at 20:22.
sh3lby is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th May 2024, 21:44   #20

I think you got me wrong .
I prefer not to have a luxury car that is going to be seen very commonly on the roads .
Defender is the next fortuner and next year you will understand what I am saying .

Yes perception matters in the sense when you see a 7 series sedan list price showing as 1.8 cr vs 1.36 cr for the Cayenne which after loading comes to around 1.7 cr the 7 series does seem more premium .

I am here to get the opinion as to which is going to be a better balance between the 2 cars on perception and resale .
I prefer to be frugal and not waste all my money on depreciation.

As for the Range Rover yes that’s in the pipeline and maybe the next gen I will get but I would rather enjoy the journey to that car and keep changing cars every 2 years at least that’s the plan .

BMW X7 I am going to get but next gen . Right now just switching up cars till 2027 .

But thanks for all the advice so far guys.

Last edited by morphin1 : 14th May 2024 at 22:10.
morphin1 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th May 2024, 07:32   #21

I think you got me wrong .
I prefer not to have a luxury car that is going to be seen very commonly on the roads .
Defender is the next fortuner and next year you will understand what I am saying .

Yes perception matters in the sense when you see a 7 series sedan list price showing as 1.8 cr vs 1.36 cr for the Cayenne which after loading comes to around 1.7 cr the 7 series does seem more premium .

I prefer to be frugal and not waste all my money on depreciation.

As for the Range Rover yes that’s in the pipeline and maybe the next gen I will get but I would rather enjoy the journey to that car and keep changing cars every 2 years at least that’s the plan .
Let's be honest here most of us also would do the same (switching up cars every 2,3 years) if we had the money, after all you only live once - so no point mentally ostracizing you which was my initial reaction on reading the thread.

Only the criteria seemed a bit weird but it makes absolute sense now, if someone's going to spend that much money on a car obviously you'll want to stand out, although going for new each time and suffering the biggest depreciation hit isn't the best personally.

End of the day the most 'stand out' vehicle from your list will be the latest 7 series, but that's due to it's shape and (subjective) ugly design. It's not particularly a car you'll get out of and stare at before walking off.
sh3lby is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th May 2024, 10:57   #22

In my opinion, the Cayenne looks much better than the 7 Series and overall is a good package. The facelift has come to India and is packed with tech, and a SUV is generally good for Indian roads.

But you have a Defender 110, why sell it? Its a great car. I think the only reason I would sell it is due to reliability.

However, its your call, and a X7 in the future seems like a great choice to me.
Raghav07 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th May 2024, 12:07   #23

SUVs and exclusiveness are a tough combo to get unless you opt for G/LC/Urus and beyond. I see plenty of X7s/Cayennes and if I own one, I am sure I will spot even more :-)

Thanks to the SUV craze in the country, sedans score pretty high on exclusivity. 7 series is a rare sight, even S class is also not that common. Porsche Panamera might be a good choice - not that common and likely to offer better resale value.
androdev is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th May 2024, 12:25   #24

While the BMW X7 offers better resale value compared to the Porsche Cayenne, the Cayenne boasts superior drivability. If prioritizing resale value, opt for the X7. However, if exceptional driving experience is a factor, the Cayenne stands out despite its less favorable resale market performance.
pragvanshsaini is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th May 2024, 21:45   #25

Thanks Shelby Raghav07 androdev and Prag .

I am ok with setting aside 20 l a year as depreciation or loss of a new car as that is the price I am ok to pay for my fun . But 7 series is coming close to 30lakhs a year of hit on value year on year . So …..

I know this is a very weird comparison and if anywhere on this planet I can get clarity on the subject it’s here .

I am leaning more towards the Porsche so let’s see .
Panamera is a good option but I know it depreciates worse than 7 series .

I don’t drive a lot . My defender has done under 5000 kms in last 1.5 years so mostly a city driving scenario .

But I also don’t want to get stuck with SUV trend either . Have been buying suvs for last few years except for my 6GT and to some extent Porsche feels a little forced since it’s an SUV .

Will give the subject some more thought and do a little more research on both .

Anyone have any idea on how good the cayenne is in dealing with water and Delhi monsoon floods . Have been looking online to not much useful info on this.
Old 16th May 2024, 06:16   #26

Well brother, the only option I have in my mind for rarity is Turbonator's 740i. I don't think so there is any rarer car than that.
Anonymous guy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th May 2024, 09:22   #27

Here are three wildcard suggestions: Since exclusivity is a concern, why not purchase a Z4 40i or an E53 Cabriolet? The newly launched M4 competition is another option. I think you can live with the stiff suspension given your low running.
ex-innova-guy is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 16th May 2024, 13:15   #28

If the reliability factor is not a issue I would suggest you to replace you're Defender 110 with either a Defender 110/130 V8 or wait for the facelift diesel 110/130
Thedgarage is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th May 2024, 15:20   #29

If you're seeking exclusivity, consider Mercedes GLE53 Coupe or the BMW XM, which are priced slightly above 2 crore. But the problem is, these vehicles tend to have poor resale values. Just see if going for assured buyback plans like bmw360 or star agility works out for you.
acedriver_9000 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th May 2024, 19:26   #30

Thanks for the input guys.
Z40 etc are very small. I would like to be able to take my family along.

I am also looking at the Panamera.
Test drove the Cayenne today and did not like it much. Does not really feel like an upgrade from the defender.

Now I am looking at Panamera and 7 series.

What do you guys feel about resale and ground clearance of Panamera?

Thanks in advance .

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com