Land Rover Range Rover vs Mercedes-Maybach GLS vs Lexus LX

Land Rover Range Rover vs Mercedes-Maybach GLS vs Lexus LX-dimensions1.jpg

Land Rover Range Rover vs Mercedes-Maybach GLS vs Lexus LX-petrol-range1.jpg

Land Rover Range Rover vs Mercedes-Maybach GLS vs Lexus LX-diesel-range1.jpg

Land Rover Range Rover

Land Rover Range Rover vs Mercedes-Maybach GLS vs Lexus LX-2023rangerover02.jpg

What you'll like:

• Unmistakably Range Rover styling, yet futuristic at the same time
• Drives just as the flagship Range Rover should. Very luxurious, extremely opulent, and makes you feel special
• Easy to drive around despite the size. Manages to feel compact thanks to the all-wheel steering
• Supreme quality interior in terms of design, materials and feel
• A potent 6-cylinder diesel and plush ride quality make this car a brilliant mile muncher
• The All-Wheel Drive system along with the Terrain Response system is more than capable of getting you out of tricky off-road conditions
• Versatility in terms of seat configurations (3rd-row option available), engine choices (including 8-cylinder petrol & plug-in hybrid) and trims. Highly customisable SV variant also now on offer
• Sheer respect that the big Range gets you everywhere. Pretty much instant celebrity status

What you won't:

• Hugely expensive now. Pricing is in the ~3 crore range
• The waiting period is currently a minimum of 6 months long
• Expect maintenance & upkeep to be very expensive as well. If you have to ask how much it costs to maintain, this is probably not the car for you
• Questionable reliability and after-sales service quality
• Misses out on the absolute tank-like feel of the previous gen car
• Something as basic as TPMS is not offered as standard (it is available as an option)

Review Link

Mercedes-Maybach GLS

Land Rover Range Rover vs Mercedes-Maybach GLS vs Lexus LX-mercedesmaybachgls2020.jpg

Launch Thread

Lexus LX

Land Rover Range Rover vs Mercedes-Maybach GLS vs Lexus LX-2022lexuslx11.jpg

Launch Thread

Last edited by Omkar : 29th November 2023 at 11:29.
Ripcord09 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 28th November 2023, 23:52   #2
AYP

re: Land Rover Range Rover vs Mercedes-Maybach GLS vs Lexus LX

The Urus is a great option for roads like ours. You get a Supercar which is quite practical for our roads. Yes, the dynamics may be compromised but you gain those necessary few centimetres of ground clearance and also the practicality of carrying your family with you. It may not be as opulent as the Range Rover or the Maybach but as a package, if one has to choose a single car, it is gonna be the Urus for me.

If I had to buy an SUV for the luxury factor, it shall be the Range Rover. If someone were to gift one of these to me with a bond of 10 years, I'll go for the Lexus, save some money on fuel and bank on the legendary Toyota, I mean Lexus reliability.

The Maybach might be a nice middle ground between the Range Rover and the Lexus, balancing the opulence and the reliability factor.
AYP is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th November 2023, 00:28   #3

What is the intent of this poll? are you considering buying one of these?
While the Range Rover, GLS / GLS Maybach and Lexus LX are options in the same category of vehicles, the Urus is the odd inclusion. The 1st 3 options can't masquerade as a Urus alternate and neither can Urus pretend to be one of the other options.

I have anyway voted for the Range Rover.
the Maybach GLS is too chintzy looking with its overuse of chrome.
the Lexus is merely a fancy Toyota.
14000rpm is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 29th November 2023, 14:06   #4

The Maybach GLS though blingy, makes a case for itself and I respect the sheer variants/engine options on offer on Range Rover.

But if I had to spend 300+ lakhs on a car, would buy the Lexus LX anyday. That is with my current mindset. If I reach the financial strength to be able to purchase a 300+ lakh car, maybe my mindset would be different.

That said, the Urus really looks like an oddball in this fantasy poll. Would rather have a Cullinan or Purosangue for 5 crores and up instead of a fancy Q8.
DicKy is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 29th November 2023, 16:07   #5

Originally Posted by DicKy View Post
...instead of a fancy Q8.
Exactly. I'd go far as saying Fancy VW Touareg too.
14000rpm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th November 2023, 16:21   #6

Originally Posted by 14000rpm View Post
What is the intent of this poll? are you considering buying one of these?
While the Range Rover, GLS / GLS Maybach and Lexus LX are options in the same category of vehicles, the Urus is the odd inclusion. The 1st 3 options can't masquerade as a Urus alternate and neither can Urus pretend to be one of the other options.
I too am confused on what is the objective of this poll/thread. The choices are very diverse and if its to make/recommend an option then the criteria needs to be clear.

I would love to be in this boat of options, personally for me, its the Urus. If for any other family member where comfort is priority then it's a tough fight between the RR LWB and GLS Maybach.
Sahil is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th December 2023, 15:07   #7

Re: Land Rover Range Rover vs Mercedes-Maybach GLS vs Lexus LX

• Expect maintenance & upkeep to be very expensive as well. If you have to ask how much it costs to maintain, this is probably not the car for you

Isn't this line applicable to any and all cars from this segment (if there is one such thing)?

For the poll, it seems to be not so useful here given that most of us wouldn't be able to afford one ever and hence never buy one. Moreover, most of us would vote purely based on the looks of the car, more than anything else

I don't like to due-tone gold dash color and the front grills/look for the Maybach, but would prefer it over others for it being the Merc. Love the looks of Range Rover and have never seen the LX even in photos (don't care actually). Have driven the Velar (entry level Land Rover) and loved it, and hence would for sure be biased to consider the Range Rover over the Merc, but Merc again has a soft spot in my heart for the badge.

Would love to drive the G-Class (again, another multi Crore option), won't mind sitting in the Bentley Bentayga, Cullinan, the Escalade (if available) or even the Urus.

Maybe the Bentayga will be what will get my cheque in the end for its looks.

So yes, most likely a pointless poll.
sunilch is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th December 2023, 15:14   #8

Re: Land Rover Range Rover vs Mercedes-Maybach GLS vs Lexus LX

The new Range Rover simply lacks the heft of the previous generations of the car. The interiors do not feel very special and also insane service bills would make me steer clear.

The Lexus LX simply lacks the rear seat comfort, feels like a premium Scorpio or Fortuner when it comes to 2nd row legroom.

The GLS 600 Maybach is too gaudy and the engine has a drinking problem.

People spending 4CR are better off with a GLS 400D, which has rear seat comfort on par with the Range Rover and trumps the LX 500d. The funds that remain can be put toward a well spec-ed Porsche Cayman GTS 4.0 or even A moderately spec-ed out 911.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com