Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 20th August 2023, 19:32   #16

Fantastic inputs androdev - thank you!

Yes, we will be almost always self-driven. I've taken your advice and spent the afternoon configuring the car with my Dad.

We've chopped and changed multiple times before arriving at what we think are the perfect options for us and now sent it to our SA at Porsche. I've let go of the leather package because all their leather options are black, and that makes the Macan's cabin look small. I've instead chosen the Mojave beige and black combination in fabric and then gone on to match the seatbelts, chronometer, clock etc, to the same color. We decided to stick to one of the free colors - Black and instead spent on the sports package, which adds driving modes and some superpower switches!

Given how less this car will be driven (6/7000 km a year), the logical part of my brain is tugging at me, asking me whether it's worth spending this 35-40L over the XC60.

The next few days will tell us

Thanks inwester. I actually agree with you - the Volvos have all the excitement in the gizmos and the sound system but not in the drive, while the Porsche is the exact opposite!

The list makes me feel happy that my shortlisted options are in the top 5.

Last edited by Turbanator : 20th August 2023 at 19:59. Reason: Back to Back posts merged. Spell/ Grammar.
3rdAttempt is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th August 2023, 19:59   #17

Re: Mercedes GLC vs BMW X3 vs Lexus NX vs Discovery Sport vs Volvo XC60

If you have the budget for the below "price conscious" configuration, you can give a serious thought to Macan. Red ones are a must have IMO without which you should not buy the car. Others nice to have if budget permits. Don't go for air suspension as it's a future repair liability. You can check out some pre-owned Macan/Cayenne cars with similar configuration to get a feel for the options before finalising the configuration.

Why Macan: perfect size, great quality if the right configuration is selected, looks awesome, drives great, exclusive. Low usage = easy on pocket (relatively).

Excellent take above on Velar by @ananbanka.

Mercedes GLC vs BMW X3 vs Lexus NX vs Discovery Sport vs Volvo XC60-cfg.png

EDIT: I saw your post after I submitted mine. Please go for top-tier leather package (5 Lakhs) - you won't regret it. Skip reverse camera (free parking sensors are good enough) and keyless go (hurts but sacrifice worth for leather) to accommodate leather package if needed. full leather + sports chrono + sports steering are a must have - you benefit from this every minute you spend behind the wheel. think about what you touch, feel, look, experience all the time vs occasional use items.

Please dump beige. Sleep on the config for sometime before ordering it. Check out some Cayanne/Macan/Panamera, etc. to get a feel for the cabin.

Last edited by androdev : 20th August 2023 at 20:19.
androdev is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 20th August 2023, 20:09   #18

Originally Posted by 3rdAttempt View Post

We've chopped and changed multiple times before arriving at what we think are the perfect options for us and now sent it to our SA at Porsche. I've let go of the leather package because all their leather options are black,
Originally Posted by androdev View Post
If you have the budget for the below "price conscious" configuration, you can give a serious thought to Macan. Red ones are a must have IMO without which you should not buy the car.

Beige will be very simple and may look common. Also, you can ask SA what is included in the Leather Package? On certain models, it also consists of a partial leather dashboard/ some trims of the door beside a better quality headliner. But, I am not 100% sure. I will also happily pay Porsche something like 2Lac for a better colour. If you check any of their other high-priced models, this can be pretty expensive and also, Porsche does not give so much choice (try configuring one of the most costly 911-Turbo-S once) & then you will realise how cheap these options are on Maccan

Look at something like this-

http://www.porsche-code.com/PRG19LW8

Last edited by Turbanator : 20th August 2023 at 21:37. Reason: Minor edit.
Turbanator is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 21st August 2023, 13:58   #19

I'm using XC60 for the past one year and completed 11k kilometers so far. If you are not hell bent on driving experience, I would suggest you should go for XC60. It's a well built car with all the comfort and luxury required to pamper you. Ventilated seats along with massage is boon on long drives. Material, fit & finish, leather, sound system, google maps etc. all together provide you a luxury feel with good VFM compare to other cars.
It is not a driver's car but it's close behind. You will never face issue while overtaking or throttle response. The suspension is tuned towards comfort and hence ride is little springy compared to BMW but comfortable.

I had best experience with service so far. The team is very professional and humble but that could be specific to dealer. However, I feel that customer service culture of Volvo is a notch above than other three Germans.

Let us know what you finally decide. Happy hunting !!
Old 21st August 2023, 19:18   #20

No wonder, most of the guys in the South are super passionate about these. Good, that it's in nice hands.
Indeed ! It is being looked after well and stays within this community. I picked up this X Trail after a search that lasted a couple of years !
dish is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd October 2023, 14:07   #21

Sharing an update on our search.
So we drove the Macan a few more times and concluded that we're the "prefer larger cabin" category of people and have hence ruled out the Macan. To it's credit, it had an amazing ride quality, and cabin insulation. With decent specs, the Macan would cost us between 1.10cr to 1.15cr on-road.

It's now come down to the X5 and the new Velar for us. The X5 is definitely a better drive, and already having a 630d M Sport in our garage, we know the pleasure that the engine delivers. The size is a bit of concern for my Dad not just for driving but also in terms of body roll.
The new Velar, continues to be a gorgeous looking car. My father, for whom we're buying the car, has strong preference for the interiors of the Velar given he prefers a cleaner look with lesser buttons, switches etc. The new Velar has gotten rid of the 2 screens and now comes with a single floating screen with a classy minimalist interior.
The garnet red interior option is actually gorgeous!

Land Rover has pre-fixed interior/exterior options for some cars. For example, their new Verisine Blue colored car cannot be specced with a Garnet Red interior. I am wondering if this can be requested for since its a CKD (it's not an option on their website) - any ideas if this should technically be a problem for the company?
3rdAttempt is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th October 2023, 18:33   #22

Originally Posted by dish View Post
Indeed ! It is being looked after well and stays within this community. I picked up this X Trail after a search that lasted a couple of years !
What a coincidence. So nice to meet you here again.