BMW X3 66 33.85%
Audi Q5 11 5.64%
Mercedes GLC 21 10.77%
Land Rover Discovery Sport 24 12.31%
Voters: 195. You may not vote on this poll

Old 21st January 2022, 18:51   #46

Re: Volvo XC60 vs BMW X3 vs Mercedes GLC vs Audi Q5 vs Land Rover Discovery Sport

Originally Posted by kdeepakk View Post
Guys urgent help needed on the finalising the car........

Am booking the car on monday max, so i am stuck between BMW X3 or 3GL.

X3 is Petrol, mileage is 9-10 city and 12-13 highway
3GL is Diesel, mileage is 10-12 city and 14-16 highway

i will keep it for next for 7years for sure, Difference in the vehicle cost i am getting is around 15 lacs approx.

regards
Deepak
You're buying a luxury car for 7 years : which one appeals to you more?
A fast SUV which you'd love to be behind the wheels off and which can tackle the speed breakers with ease, or a practical diesel sedan in which you would be equally happy in the front and back?

Also, the difference in fuel economy would be greater than the numbers you've mentioned, especially if you drive the 30i in a spirited manner.
lamborghini is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st January 2022, 19:26   #47

Re: Volvo XC60 vs BMW X3 vs Mercedes GLC vs Audi Q5 vs Land Rover Discovery Sport

Originally Posted by lamborghini View Post
You're buying a luxury car for 7 years : which one appeals to you more?
A fast SUV which you'd love to be behind the wheels off and which can tackle the speed breakers with ease, or a practical diesel sedan in which you would be equally happy in the front and back?

Also, the difference in fuel economy would be greater than the numbers you've mentioned, especially if you drive the 30i in a spirited manner.
I have multiple uses of it.

Weekdays to office in the Bangalore traffic, which takes 2hours to reach and 2 hours to travel back. If you know about the Maratahalli or KR Puram traffic, they are wonders of the world.

Also need to think of old parents who are 80 and 70 years, getting in and out of the vehicle.
Old 21st January 2022, 19:57   #48

I

Weekdays to office in the Bangalore traffic, which takes 2hours to reach and 2 hours to travel back. If you know about the Maratahalli or KR Puram traffic, they are wonders of the world.
Please test drive Camry Hybrid - it's the ideal car for your daily commute. Or Lexus 300h. BMW with it's super sporty transmission is far from ideal for grueling traffic scenarios. I am a big fan of BMW but it's the least preferred of all the luxury cars I can think of for your daily commute needs.
androdev is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 21st January 2022, 20:23   #49

For old parents, think the X3 is the way to go. Low slung sedans are very tough for seniors to get into and out of. Whereas the X3 is exactly the right height for people to be able to set in.

Apart from that, would say go with your heart - especially if you are keeping the car for 7 years. If you run about 10,000-12,000 km per year, the fuel cost difference will be less than ₹40,000 per year - which is negligible in the context of a ₹ 75 lakh OTR car. So don’t think that should enter your consideration set at all.
Old 21st January 2022, 21:38   #50

Weekdays to office in the Bangalore traffic, which takes 2hours to reach and 2 hours to travel back.
Most members have suggested X3, but given majority of your use, difference in running costs as well initial costs, 3-L maybe a better option.

I don't know how many times your parents will actually accompany you given their age and what sort of distances you will travelling together. But for your majority of usage, 3 L can be considered easily over an X3. You can keep another car from the difference if its indeed 15 Lac. Going further, if you hire a Driver for your daily runs or already have, 3 L will be a better place to sit in the rear.

Last edited by Turbanator : 21st January 2022 at 21:39.
Old 21st January 2022, 23:53   #51

Thanks Guys, i booked the Car at Deustche Motors Bangalore as it is good day for us.

But dint tell them 3GL or X3, as i am driving the X3 tomorrow. Today we drove the 3GL in the city traffic, its very low seating, I am 6.2 and my brother 6.4, it felt like sitting very low. But comfort was good and road presence was good, but due to the long bonnet, finding things on the corner when turning, and in traffic, very difficult to find whats in front of us like some dog / cat crawling in front of it. Otherwise everything is perfect, i tried to calculate the difference in Petrol and Diesel expenses, if the price gap remains the same, then i will be spending around 1.5lac for 5 years ( 1lac kms for 5years ). And when i take the service pack for them, GL is expensive than X3, and i will be saving around 1 lac there, so hardly 60k extra for 5 years shouldnt matter when u r spending 70+ lacs for vehicle.

I am also worried about the rain water logging Bangalore streets, not sure if 3GL can manage those big potholes or waterlogs.

Heart says X3, and mind says GL as its cheaper.
Old 22nd January 2022, 08:30   #52

I have multiple uses of it.

Also need to think of old parents who are 80 and 70 years, getting in and out of the vehicle.
2hrs one way? Wow!
I personally would be inclined towards X3 for height, clearance and also because I am tall at 6'3". Petrol motor is superb to driver. Diesel will also not disappoint you, it's 0-60 time is below 7 now I think which is very good, more than what you can use in Bangalore.
Crossovers are convenient for older people and frankly can do all the cornering stunts etc of a Sedan in India at least where speeds are low anyways. Believing German sedans are much more agile and capable of cornering than their crossovers on Indian roads is mostly a self delusion. That's why I passed a sedan (a used 330i). But anyways, a personal choice.
As an owner of Audi Q5 2.0T, I can tell FE of fuel economy on Marthathalli ORR stretch, where I also commute will be at most 7-8kmpl. I get 6kmpl for my 2.0TFSI (it's a bit old but still). Since yours is longer commute, diesel is worth considering.
Old 22nd January 2022, 17:19   #53

In the past couple of weeks I test drove the Q5, Volvo XC60, X3 and Discovery Sport in that order.

Have shared views of initial test drives here:

Originally Posted by Blackbolt View Post
Saw the car in flesh today! It looks great and has a great stance. Love the rear smoked lights. Grill is too big for my liking but brushed matt look is neat; better than chrome. Harman Kardon system can’t stand in front of B&O system offered by rivals.

Meanwhile I did test drive the Q5 and Volvo XC60.

Quick points
Q5:
1. Responsive and quick engine, good handing
2. Interiors seem to be built to price ; quality and fit and finish top notch it but some bits like seats from backside u can see fabric and not leather skimmed for a few meters at this price point not done.
3. Not the best looking (personal opinion) blacked out version which hides those huge chrome lines on the grill looks better but not available here.

XC60:
1. Ride quality is phenomenal! Outstanding, super smooth on bad roads
2. Specs super impressive, Nappa leather seats with massage function ! It pampers ones.
3. Cracker of a music system. Nothing comes even close ! Period. ( Same could apply to Audi but I did test this one a little more hence point mentioned here)
4. Not an enthusiast car! Engine seems out of breath when pushed. No paddle shifters to aid here but funny triptonic gear thing which is sideways
5. Max boot and maybe legroom space too.

Heart says X3 , mind says XC60. Q5 out of the race!

Cheers !
Test Drove the X3 quick first impressions:

1. Rides like a dream for an enthusiast who wants to attack corners; limited body roll, however the ride is stiffer than the competition thanks to 20' inch alloys and RFT
2. That engine is a beauty, staying true to BMW's ultimate driving machine genes
2. Second row space is less than XC60; on par with Q5
3. Gave the music system another chance it seems nice but B&O systems are superior

We are moving from a sedan (A6) to an SUV; we felt pressed for rear seat comfort in all except XC60; which was fair. We decided to try the Discovery Sport and I'm glad we did it.

Discovery Sport :
1. Loads of leg room and the rear seats recline to a crazy angle so much so that I had to adjust it be upright in the test vehicle
2. True blue SUV , with all the gadgets to assists. 360 Cameras; shows the curb view on both sides so that you don't scratch those mags. It even shows you under the car view, drive mode selector, etc.
3. Ride quality was awesome it soaks in the bumps better than X3, Q5 while XC60 was too soft; this felt just right.
4. Meridian system in same league as X3
5. Most expensive of the lot… 5-10 lacs more. XC60 being the most value for money purchase buy!

Looking at our garage we needed something which was comfortable at the back as mostly it will chauffer driven. So the equation tilted in the favor of Discovery Sport.

That's when the blues started. Its a sellers market:

1. Waiting period: 3-4 months minimum. Sales guys straight up refuse to give an exact date. Refuse the booking if pushed for the date, saying we are not getting the cars from JLR and we cannot commit. Some other models have 12 months waiting they boast!!

2. Colour choices go out of the window, currently they are booking the cars with colour preferences being noted. They will inform buyers in the queue the car they have got from JLR, if the first person in the queue rejects the colour the next in line will get to take a call and they will move down the order. If you stick to your colour be ready to wait we were told.

3. R Dynamic SE no longer comes with Black alloys. I told them internationally it ships with black rims as part of the standard black package. They are not even willing to swap the wheels at a cost difference too. This is what it is take it or leave it approach. Other manufactures alteast BMW is more accommodating in this aspect.

4. Full Digital instrumental cluster might be missing! Now this was a shocker. How can you charge for R dynamic SE and keep on stripping things and keeping the price same.

Its a sellers market and I hate it. Earlier they would bend their backs to be accommodative now the arrogance is too much to handle when you paying SO much!!! I dint want to go ahead with Discovery Sport for their attitude but its the product which is best suited based on our needs. The wait starts....

Last edited by Blackbolt : 22nd January 2022 at 17:27.
Blackbolt is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 22nd January 2022, 18:26   #54

Any thoughts on the soon to be launched Lexus NX350h? We are keen on upgrading from our 12 year old Toyota Fortuner. I am keen on the new X3 but the family is keen on getting a more "reliable" vehicle. Another and more important point is that they are keen on something that quite frankly won't attract eyeballs due to the badge (Not due to design because nothing will attract more eyeballs that a Lexus NX )
Old 27th January 2022, 00:42   #55

Originally Posted by Blackbolt View Post
In the past couple of weeks I test drove the Q5, Volvo XC60, X3 and Discovery Sport in that order.

Have shared views of initial test drives here:

Test Drove the X3 quick first impressions:

1. Rides like a dream for an enthusiast who wants to attack corners; limited body roll, however the ride is stiffer than the competition thanks to 20' inch alloys and RFT
2. That engine is a beauty, staying true to BMW's ultimate driving machine genes
2. Second row space is less than XC60; on par with Q5
3. Gave the music system another chance it seems nice but B&O systems are superior

We are moving from a sedan (A6) to an SUV; we felt pressed for rear seat comfort in all except XC60; which was fair. We decided to try the Discovery Sport and I'm glad we did it.

Discovery Sport :
1. Loads of leg room and the rear seats recline to a crazy angle so much so that I had to adjust it be upright in the test vehicle
2. True blue SUV , with all the gadgets to assists. 360 Cameras; shows the curb view on both sides so that you don't scratch those mags. It even shows you under the car view, drive mode selector, etc.
3. Ride quality was awesome it soaks in the bumps better than X3, Q5 while XC60 was too soft; this felt just right.
4. Meridian system in same league as X3
5. Most expensive of the lot… 5-10 lacs more. XC60 being the most value for money purchase buy!

Looking at our garage we needed something which was comfortable at the back as mostly it will chauffer driven. So the equation tilted in the favor of Discovery Sport.

That's when the blues started. Its a sellers market:

1. Waiting period: 3-4 months minimum. Sales guys straight up refuse to give an exact date. Refuse the booking if pushed for the date, saying we are not getting the cars from JLR and we cannot commit. Some other models have 12 months waiting they boast!!

2. Colour choices go out of the window, currently they are booking the cars with colour preferences being noted. They will inform buyers in the queue the car they have got from JLR, if the first person in the queue rejects the colour the next in line will get to take a call and they will move down the order. If you stick to your colour be ready to wait we were told.

3. R Dynamic SE no longer comes with Black alloys. I told them internationally it ships with black rims as part of the standard black package. They are not even willing to swap the wheels at a cost difference too. This is what it is take it or leave it approach. Other manufactures atleast BMW is more accommodating in this aspect.

4. Full Digital instrumental cluster might be missing! Now this was a shocker. How can you charge for R dynamic SE and keep on stripping things and keeping the price same.

Its a sellers market and I hate it. Earlier they would bend their backs to be accommodative now the arrogance is too much to handle when you paying SO much!!! I dint want to go ahead with Discovery Sport for their attitude but its the product which is best suited based on our needs. The wait starts....
I'll test drive Disco Sports in a couple of days.. I heard they will replace digital instrument cluster with analogue in MY 22 models. Did you check the petrol or Diesel during TD, and which one do you plan to buy (Petrol/Diesel), and for any specific reason
Old 28th January 2022, 00:22   #56

Its the 3GL guys, so we are deciding to go with the diesel version 3GL and white color.

Some reasons for selecting it over the X3:

1. X3 is not worth 84lacs on road for the features its providing + 6 lacs for BSI plus, so total 90lacs for X3

2. Mileage 6-7kms/ltr in City and i travel around 60-70 kms/day inside city in traffic, so it will cost me around 1000 bucks a day ( 22000 per month & 264000 per annum only for city driving and thinking of highway and all ufff....)

3. 3GL Mileage around 10-12kms and diesel bit better

4. 3GL offer was very tempting, easily saving 15+lacs

5. 3GL leg space as we are 6.4 and 6.2 in height was advantage to

6. Old parents felt better to get in 3GL than X3 cos the X3 doors are small and dont open wide

7. X3 back seat thigh support or leg space is cramped

8. 3GL ride is better than the bouncy X3

These are only mine and only my feedback, not to be same with others.
Old 29th January 2022, 23:56   #57

whoever has booked X3 or any other SUV in the range of 80lacs, please hold on till the Lexus NX 300h, it is launching in febraury and its worth the wait.

We had sneak peak view of the NX300h today, it was based on the invite only and we were allowed to see the vehicle, but not allowed for the video or photo, OH MAN, what a vehicle it is, its one level above all the luxury vehicles in that range.

1. New refined Engine ( 0 to 100 in 7secs ) Mileage 14kms city
2. New front grill and lights
3. New Interiors ( 14 inch infotainment wow it is )
4. New Instrument Cluster
5. New Interiors including the door handles, its button open/close, no handles inside.
6. New Rear, its beautiful LEDs
7. Headsup display, new sunroof
8. Safety features best
9. Price range between 75 - 85 in Bangalore
10. Service cost expected around 20k per service ( service pack 30k kms at 30000 )

There are so many more things, now my mind if diverting from BMW to Lexus ahahaha LOL

All the best guys, for all the vehicles you are looking at.

Now i know to how difficult it is to select a vehicle.
Old 30th January 2022, 00:38   #58

Service cost expected around 20k per service ( service pack 30k kms at 60000 ), its 60k not 30k it was typo
Old 6th February 2022, 21:20   #59

A big fly in the ointment are the wheels - 20” run flats and no spare tyre will be very hard ride in cities but otherwise fully loaded, true blue Lexus. Can keep it for more than 10 years with relatively less maintenance costs
Old 6th February 2022, 23:44   #60

We had sneak peak view of the NX300h today, it was based on the invite only and we were allowed to see the vehicle, but not allowed for the video or photo, OH MAN, what a vehicle it is, its one level above all the luxury vehicles in that range.

Deepak, I'm not sure if this is the version that will come to India, but it looks pretty close to what you are describing.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com