View Poll Results: What should I do? | |||
Stick with the Lexus ES | ![]() ![]() ![]() | 128 | 58.45% |
Switch to the Audi A6 or BMW 5-Series | ![]() ![]() ![]() | 91 | 41.55% |
Voters: 219. You may not vote on this poll |
![]() |
Search this Thread | ![]() 62,029 views |
![]() | #31 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: May 2021 Location: Trivandrum
| re: Booked the Lexus ES300h, but am unsure | Should I buy a German sedan instead? EDIT: Buying the Lexus My pick would be the 5 series petrol. One of the most beautiful sedans to my eyes with great features, punchy engines and pretty good reliability. BMW after sales will be much much better than Lexus with its negligible dealership presence. Second choice of mine would be the M340i. |
![]() | ![]() |
|
![]() | #32 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Aug 2015 Location: Punekar->NorCal
| re: Booked the Lexus ES300h, but am unsure | Should I buy a German sedan instead? EDIT: Buying the Lexus Lexus ES is booooooring. But it is very reliable and won't give you headaches in the long term. Yes, it may be mechanically identical to Camry but then part sharing is the new norm and Audi is a VW if you look under its skin! I would recommend experiencing all your options back to back. BMW and Audi are great options, but make sure you have an extended warranty on both the cars and don't forget to consider the resale value when you decide to move on to the next toy. I understand that modern German cars especially BMW have come a long way in the last 20 years, but they are still waay behind the Japs when it comes to avoiding niggling issues like water-pump or oil filter gasket. And they will each cost a limb for parts and labor in India if I am not wrong. Last edited by shree_shell : 28th September 2021 at 21:56. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks shree_shell for this useful post: | roby_dk |
![]() | #33 |
BHPian Join Date: Aug 2010 Location: Bangalore
| re: Booked the Lexus ES300h, but am unsure | Should I buy a German sedan instead? EDIT: Buying the Lexus Most of your family needs can be met with the cars that you have shortlisted, that said, if the better half preference pressures can be managed, like get your wife an electric car, it works, I did that 10 years ago, after that she doesn't care what car I drive, well mostly. If you are going to keep the car for 7-10 years, plus its you who will drive it everyday, the only thing that should matter to you is grins per day while driving it. IMO get the 5 series, (530d if possible) with any other car (in that budget) the regret will start setting in after a year. Don't have potentially regrettable 6-9 years after spending 75+ lakhs. Always remember, it were the cheapest cars that we drove with most passion and the longest in our younger years. With affordability and age going up, time constrains limiting us, generally most of us tend to have shorter ownerships of much more expensive and fun to drive cars in later years of life. Point being, what you can enjoy now is not going to come back after 10 years, even if you spend double the money. As the expression goes 'Grind away your favorite food while you have your teeth', and like BMW says - JOY IS NOW. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 9 BHPians Thank zulfi hansi for this useful post: | Akshay6988, evil_grin, InControl, JHS, Ramsagar, Researcher, RJK, roby_dk, Ssquare |
![]() | #34 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Apr 2010 Location: Mumbai
| re: Booked the Lexus ES300h, but am unsure | Should I buy a German sedan instead? EDIT: Buying the Lexus Quote:
1. So for me it started with the BMW 5 series. First I gave a token of 50k it but due to some family and financial reasons I had to back out. Now in my case they had not ordered the car or even given me a receipt that this is against this car and this VIN etc. So when I went to them for the cancellation I had to fight for 6-7 months after which using influence and all that and then I was refunded my 50k. That for me there was a sour experience against the BMW dealer. Coming to the car I love the 5 series but the rear legroom is abysmal and the fact that it hit on my building entrance while reversing was a bit irritating. Otherwise for driving pleasure if I had to then I would recommend the 530d or the 530i msport but it does have GC issues. There are some nice things like the remote parking through the display key and all that and while its gimmicky for some but for me having a tight spot where I cant get out of the car it would have been a great feature to have and use daily. The dealer ruined the BMW feeling for me and that will always be in the back of my mind. 2. I did not consider Audi A6 due to the Audi experience and the fact that the local dealer was not very confidence inspiring. 3. I went to Lexus, rather I had them come to my house, we checked the entry and exit points and it did not scrape anywhere, heck, even the import TD car that they have did not scrape which is lower than the India CKD version. I drove it a few times and I genuinely like the plush ness that the ES offers. The tan leather interior and the blue colour look good and thats what I ended up choosing. After I bought it the prices have gone up so you may want to consider that in your decision. Also the delivery process was a bit lukewarm as they sent it on a flatbed on my insistence to GJ and the driver just explained a few things and handed over the car and the keys (during peak COVID times). Even the after sales I got it done in GJ where they did give me some VIP treatment at the local Toyota service station but it was not a premium experience. Recently I have come to know that they are opening up a Lexus showroom here so I am hoping for improvement in the ownership aftersales pampering experience, lets see. The fact that Toyota recently increased hybrid battery warranty to 8 years for free is also a very welcome and good gesture. Coming to the driving experience I would tell you its no BMW but its not a slouch and the rasp it throws out on a slight dab on the throttle is quite sporty something in my opinion. I love the car, very happy with it and after getting used to the touchpad I dont care two hoots about the lack of touch screen. If you want the touchscreen just hold on for 1 month theyre introducing the new facelifted ES with touchscreen in India very soon. Also the fact that the MID constantly shows me 19-20 KMPL in such heavy petrol price times is very very soothing . ![]() I would recommend wait 1 month let the facelift come out or grab the current at a discount due to CKD availability. If you want to save money I would recommend buying the Skoda Superb L&K, I am currently negotiating one and trust me its a very good product, just that the Skoda aftersales experience remains to be seen but otherwise its almost everything in that car. Let me know if you have any queries. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 4 BHPians Thank M00M for this useful post: | adityan27, GTO, ravimittal99, Researcher |
![]() | #35 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jan 2020 Location: Tokyo/Ahmedabad
| re: Booked the Lexus ES300h, but am unsure | Should I buy a German sedan instead? EDIT: Buying the Lexus Normally I am an advocate for Japanese cars. However, here I would recommend going with the German options in the same price range. If your heart is set on the Japanese maker, the almost identical Camry is available for significantly less money, it does not made much sense to go for the Lexus. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks mohitchalla for this useful post: | roby_dk |
![]() | #36 | ||
Team-BHP Support ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2009 Location: Mumbai
| re: Booked the Lexus ES300h, but am unsure | Should I buy a German sedan instead? EDIT: Buying the Lexus Quote:
It would seem he has already decided to stick with the Lexus. Btw - absolutely no discounts on the Lexus ES despite the new facelift coming in. Since prices would anyway be higher than the current version. | ||
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #37 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Apr 2010 Location: Mumbai
| Re: Booked the Lexus ES300h, but am unsure | Should I buy a German sedan instead? EDIT: Buying the L |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks M00M for this useful post: | ravimittal99 |
![]() | #38 | ||||||||
Newbie Join Date: Sep 2021 Location: Mumbai
| Re: Booked the Lexus ES300h, but am unsure | Should I buy a German sedan instead? EDIT: Buying the L Hi all, Coming back to this thread after a gap of a few days. I am expecting the delivery of the car on 10th during Navratri. In the meanwhile, please find replies to comments. Thank you for taking the effort and giving your views. BTW nothing against the GLC interiors, just my personal view that it did not appeal to me as much! Quote:
I did try the Skoda Superb and had nothing to complain about it. Just did not fancy a Skoda so gave up the choice!! Quote:
Thank you so much for sharing. Glad to hear all your feedback. I know it is six months since you bought this but congratulations still!!! Quote:
I also get the fact that in terms of driving dynamics it will be a 5 series as so many of you nicely suggested. Just that with 95% of the time in the city, not sure if I will even get to push the car, any car!! Quote:
Thank you so much! The 'ayes' made my decision easier. Quote:
Mod Note: Please quote ONLY the relevant bits of a post. Quoting a full, long post inconveniences our mobile readers. Last edited by Rudra Sen : 24th August 2022 at 18:29. Reason: Quote content trimmed | ||||||||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 5 BHPians Thank Vaahan for this useful post: | Akshay6988, Axe77, lamborghini, Researcher, V.Narayan |
![]() | #39 |
Newbie Join Date: Aug 2022 Location: Gurgaon
| Re: Booked the Lexus ES300h, but am unsure | Should I buy a German sedan instead? EDIT: Buying the L Hi fellow BHPians Excited to be sharing my first post on Team BHP after my membership recently got approved. I have been looking to upgrade my drive to a car in the Rs. 60-80 Lakh range, and would love to get some advice from the experts on this forum. I have ‘almost’ made up my mind, but happy to re-consider based on inputs I receive here. I live in Gurgaon, and my current drive is a 2012 Swift Dzire ZXI – which is in perfect shape. My office commute is typically by an office car / cab, so I typically end up driving on weekends. Hence the car has barely done 40K KMs over the past 10 years. However, the itch to upgrade is for the following reasons:
I’ve been eyeing an upgrade for a while now – so I have considered cars spanning the entire spectrum – Jeep Compass, Ford Endeavour, Skoda Kodiaq, BMW 330Li, BMW X3Merc C Class, Merc E Class, Merc GLC to name a few. However, I kept pushing out the purchase – which allows me to stretch the budget a bit, and again buy a car that lasts me 8-10 years. Also, I have read (many times!) GTO’s thread on how you should always but a car that is a segment above what you think you can afford – and I do fully agree to it. Still (to this day) regret not buying a Honda City when I bought my previous car. So here are the ‘real’ options – which I’ve truly considered & test-driven over the past few weeks:
In addition, I did test-drive the Merc C Class and GLC also – which we decided to not go ahead with. We did not test-drive the 530i since neither the interior space nor the ride-quality were a match for the 630i. Our mind is almost firmed up on the 630i GT, but quite keen to hear opinions of fellow members on the same. Also, as a first time luxury car owner – I have the following questions:
Thanks Saurabh Dear Mods: Kindly let me know if this merits a new thread, or if I should piggy-back on this one. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 5 BHPians Thank Saurabh09 for this useful post: | adityan27, androdev, InControl, Nitish B Shetty, Ssquare |
![]() | #40 |
| Re: Booked the Lexus ES300h, but am unsure | Should I buy a German sedan instead? EDIT: Buying the L Dear mods - there has been no response on this for 2 days. I'm super keen to get the views of the forum members. Is it possible to create this as a separate thread? Since I do see that most queries like this are raised as separate threads. Apologies for reaching out to you through this mode - since I know all my comments will be reviewed by a moderator, but I do not know how to reach a moderator to get guidance on this matter. Thanks much! |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #41 | |||
Senior - BHPian ![]() | Re: Booked the Lexus ES300h, but am unsure | Should I buy a German sedan instead? EDIT: Buying the L Hiya Saurabh, and welcome to the forum. The 60-80 lakh space is a good one to be in, the options are plenty, which can be dizzying and confusing to say the least unless someone knows more or less what they're looking for (don't worry, you're mostly clear on this). In your shoes, I too would consider the X3 30i and 630i most strongly, and would pick the 630i over the X3 because it is very luxurious on the inside (IMO), and spacious too. The way I see it, you want a jack of all trades (a spacious car that can ferry the family during the week, be fun on weekends, do the occasional road trip, gobble up all the luggage, offer a comfortable ride, and be fun to drive). IMO, the 6 GT does all of that, and being a BMW it will be reasonable to own and maintain (relative to its segment, of course). The only scenario that would see me pick an X3 over the 630i is if you absolutely want that extra ground clearance, but I honestly don't foresee that being that big an issue with the 630i, which will offer you the best of all words (sedan, GT car, and SUV-ish). Let me try and answer your questions as best I can. Quote:
If you read Dr. AD's thread, he was very lucky that he had a space saver to fall back on when his RFT failed. Hence, even when he struggled to find a replacement RFT (as he was in a smaller town), he was able to make it back home, albeit at a slower speed. He runs 17 inch tyres, the 6 GT is even larger. There will be very little chance of you finding a replacement tyre if it fails in a remote area. This is an endless debate, with no definitive conclusion as it is so subjective. Long story short, in my opinion:
My personal suggestion, and what I would do if I were you, would be to switch to tubeless tyres, since they're cheaper than RFTs and offer a tad more comfort. I would also buy a space saver to use on trips. That way, you won't be stranded if and when you need to change to a spare. The thing with RFTs is that they can be hard to procure, especially in larger, rarer sizes (like a 6 GT). Tubeless + space saver is the best option in that scenario. It saved me once too, when I had a bad pothole cut the tyre on my 328i (Crossing the thin redline into madness. Meet Red, my old new BMW 328i). I drove back home very slowly, but safely. I think the space saver is a godsend, frankly. Quote:
Given your running, of 10k in a year, pick a 3 year, 30-40000 KM BSI pack, and buy an extra one later if you need it. Frankly, the cost of it vs a service works out to be very similar, maybe even cheaper if you go à la carte. So you can even choose not to go with BSI, and simply pay as you go to reduce your initial outlay. Additionally, stick to zero depreciation coverage plans for the lifetime of your ownership. If and when you need it, you will be incredibly glad you have it to cover your back. Between these three (your choice of BSI coverage or not, max BRI, and zero depreciation insurance), you will be covered to a great deal. If you want as close to 100% coverage as you can get (because there are such few guarantees in life), take the max amount of BSI suited to your running. Given this is your first BMW, doing so will provide total peace of mind, if that's what your after. Good luck with your choice, and happy shopping. Enjoy the experience! | |||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 5 BHPians Thank iliketurtles for this useful post: | adityan27, padmrajravi, RJ2285, Saurabh09, Ssquare |
|
![]() | #42 | |||||
| Re: Booked the Lexus ES300h, but am unsure | Should I buy a German sedan instead? EDIT: Buying the L Many thanks for your detailed response, iliketurtles. Yes I do indeed want a jack of all trades - esp. since this car is likely to be my main (only) set of wheels. Hence it will need to don many hats - as you so articulately put. Quote:
| |||||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank Saurabh09 for this useful post: | adityan27, iliketurtles, Ssquare |
![]() | #43 | |||
Senior - BHPian ![]() | Re: Booked the Lexus ES300h, but am unsure | Should I buy a German sedan instead? EDIT: Buying the L Quote:
Alternatively, use the stock RFTs for their lifetime, and then swap to tubeless later if you'd rather do that. Quote:
| |||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank iliketurtles for this useful post: | Saurabh09, Ssquare |
![]() | #44 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Apr 2010 Location: Bangalore
| Re: Booked the Lexus ES300h, but am unsure | Should I buy a German sedan instead? EDIT: Buying the L Would you want to test drive the ones from the Audi stable as well? You might be pleasantly surprised. This is coming from me who’s had 12 months of fun over 24k km in the A6 Tech Variant. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks jkrishnakj for this useful post: | Saurabh09 |
![]() | #45 | |||
| Re: Booked the Lexus ES300h, but am unsure | Should I buy a German sedan instead? EDIT: Buying the L Thanks for your response. Quote:
Heavily tilted towards BMW 6 GT. ![]() | |||
![]() | ![]() |
![]() |