Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 26th April 2020, 16:41   #16

Re: Sports car, something fun and reliable - Budget 40 lakhs

Originally Posted by octane1002 View Post
Try sticking to the newest example you can find in your budget.
I will do just that, I'm not ready to take risk by buying an aged car and put a lot of money into maintenance. Especially not when I'm not financially independent. Thank you!

Some great suggestions already. I would also strongly recommend the Ford Mustang. Not only is it fast, but its also reliable + practical enough. Remember, in the USA, it is a daily-driven model. 40 lakhs will get you a very nice example. Just take a bit of care as the rear end can slide if you don't know what you are doing...
I like the idea of a Mustang GT, GTO! My only worries are fuel economy (Heard it gives only 3-4 even under normal driving and a full tank range of only 250-something kms, not sure how true that is. But I think it could be as it's a NA V8) and how's the torque converter GearBox on it? Apart from the proven reliability of it, how does it perform?

And also, I see you say I can find a well-kept example for 40. I can't seem to find any on OLX/Quickr. All are priced in the late 50s and mid 60s. I'm not talking about just TN prices. Up north too! Where should I look for these cars? Thank you!

Originally Posted by avira_tk View Post
I've to disagree with everyone else here and suggest that harish get an suv. There's a few years in college when you have time and company for adventure, you need a go anywhere vehicle. It'll be good for daily usage...
Not really all that interested in SUV's as of now We have a Crysta, when I have to haul a lot of friends I can use that. I know that's nowhere near an all out SUV and a lot of my friends have capable off-roaders. So I think I'll just hop in the seats of their's haha. But yes, Coimbatore is a great place with awesome roads around for every kind of automobile enthusiast and I hope to discover a lot more in the upcoming years

Out of curiosity, if I were to buy an SUV. Which one would you suggest within the budget. Pre-owned/new, doesn't matter. Thank you!

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
I'd suggest the BMW 330i Sport. Current ex-showroom is 41.7L but hold on for the inevitable 6L.discounts in a couple of months...
As I said above, I really like the 330i. But my trim choice would have to be the M-Sport. Don't know why, but I just like it way more than the Sport-line. If we have to buy a new car, this seems like a really good option with the discounts you're talking about coming towards the end of this year. Thank you!
harish is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th April 2020, 17:02   #17

From whatever you have mentioned, what I make out is that you have got 40 lac budget and want something exclusive that will go with your age & has a certain oomph. As with most Kids, your parents will finance the car but you will need to take care of fuel/ maintenance from Pocket money - correct?

I will rule out most 4 Doors sedans, you won't like to carry unnecessarily, 2 is the company that guys in your age will prefer. So you narrow your search to Coupes. Regrettably, there are not enough (cheaper) options that I can recommend. This came to my mind and I am sure there will be more such examples.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/super...sportscar.html (My pre-worshipped Porsche Boxster S (987.2) - A true sportscar!)

If age of the car is of concern, find something like this -

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...4-90-lakh.html (Mini Oxford Edition launched at Rs. 44.90 lakh)

This car had 650 Kms on the odo and went for 34 Lac.

If my understanding is wrong and you are ok with a 4 door sedan, nothing beats a 3 series for a kid of your age. You should try to find such examples

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-...ar-update.html

I won't bother looking for SUV's as these are too common. Most kids get modified Thar's etc but those will be way cheaper.
Turbanator is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th April 2020, 17:43   #18

Originally Posted by harish View Post
Out of curiosity, if I were to buy an SUV. Which one would you suggest within the budget. Pre-owned/new, doesn't matter.
Thank you!
The Isuzu d max or the MUX, preferably the former, there used to be a shop in coimbatore called kit up, someone like that should be able to customize your ride to be unique. Fancy alloys, tyres, stereo and accessories.
Old 26th April 2020, 18:08   #19

Out of curiosity, if I were to buy an SUV. Which one would you suggest within the budget. Pre-owned/new, doesn't matter. Thank you!

I think a little more information about your requirement and usage will help. You have mentioned that the car is primarily for commute to college. But does your friends plan to ride with you? If yes, how many. Coimbatore being a place near to Nilgiris, do you plan for trips with friends?

At 40 lacs, you can definitely get a new Endeavour or Fortuner or Alturas in CBE. Or how about a pre owned Hummer. That will be something exclusive.

PS: I have no clue about what the requirements of a college goer will be w.r.t cars. In my first year of college , I had a Hero Impact. Don't scratch your head, it was a bicycle. Then in third year, my parants got me a used Bajaj Calibre (Hoodibaba!)

Last edited by Lambydude : 26th April 2020 at 18:12.
Lambydude is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 27th April 2020, 15:27   #20

From whatever you have mentioned, what I make out is that you have got 40 lac budget and want something exclusive that will go with your age & has a certain oomph. As with most Kids, your parents will finance the car but you will need to take care of fuel/ maintenance from Pocket money - correct?

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...4-90-lakh.html (Mini Oxford Edition launched at Rs. 44.90 lakh)

This car had 650 Kms on the odo and went for 34 Lac.

If my understanding is wrong and you are ok with a 4 door sedan, nothing beats a 3 series for a kid of your age. You should try to find such examples
That is right! They'll finance the car. Gas would have to be out of pocket money, but I'd like to maintain it myself too. Sedan/Coupe anything is fine for me really.

How do I get a hold of the auctions taking place at the BMW HQ India? Any links? I'm interested in a Mini JCW. I like the new 3 series. The F30 320d is becoming pretty common for a college student here.

After GTO recommending the Mustang, I can't get my eyes of it. The rugged American muscle car appeal has me hooked.

The Isuzu d max or the MUX, preferably the former, there used to be a shop in coimbatore called kit up, someone like that should be able to customize your ride to be unique. Fancy alloys, tyres, stereo and accessories.
The Isuzu DMax V-Cross is certainly one of a kind in India! Regarding Kit-Up. It isn't as good, nowadays. Not many prefer taking their cars there. Many more options have opened up.

Originally Posted by Lambydude View Post
I think a little more information about your requirement and usage will help. You have mentioned that the car is primarily for commute to college. But does your friends plan to ride with you? If yes, how many. Coimbatore being a place near to Nilgiris, do you plan for trips with friends?

At 40 lacs, you can definitely get a new Endeavour or Fortuner or Alturas in CBE. Or how about a pre owned Hummer. That will be something exclusive.

PS: I have no clue about what the requirements of a college goer will be w.r.t cars. In my first year of college , I had a Hero Impact. Don't scratch your head, it was a bicycle. Then in third year, my parants got me a used Bajaj Calibre (Hoodibaba!)
Requirement would be: Mostly for commutes to college, driving around. Maybe 1 friend would ride with me to and fro college. But on weekend we indeed would plan trips to Nilgiris or the farm, something like that. I do like big SUV's.

Hummer's are keeping up their value well in India I've heard, so they're out of the budget and also they don't really interest me. The new Endy seems nice but only if it was the 3.2L. Not sure how the 2.0L with 10 speed is.

Being a short commute, I'd like to bike to college, but I'd have to be more worried about leaving my bicycle at the parking lot than leaving a car
harish is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th April 2020, 10:57   #21

After GTO recommending the Mustang, I can't get my eyes of it. The rugged American muscle car appeal has me hooked.
To know what the Mustang was like to live with in Bombay, click here. It's the perfect fit for your requirements - just go for it. Matches fun with practicality. See my point on GC. Also runs just fine on regular petrol.

In India, GC always needs a dedicated point! Pleased to update that the Mustang’s ground clearance is adequate. On the run to Lonavla & back – which includes toll naka bumps – she didn’t scrape even once. Out of the 50 or so speedbreakers we encountered in Bombay & around, the Mustang cleared all but one. That is a huge advantage. For instance, I know a dude who owns a Jaguar XJ and never takes her out of the city because she gets badly stuck on speedbreakers. With the right precautions, you can pretty much take the Mustang anywhere.
Buy in red if you want Ferrari-like attention. If you don't, then black or silver.

Last edited by GTO : 29th April 2020 at 10:59.
Old 29th April 2020, 11:35   #22

What are your thoughts on the Volvo S60 Polestar, are they worth looking for?
Hi Harish!

Volvo's S60 Polestar is great machine to have fun while driving. True to it's Brand, loaded with safety features and driver aid tech, this car still stands out with the performace capabilities.

There is a S60 Polestar for sale in Bangalore. I can check on the details if you say.

Below is the review by @Suhaas307

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-...-polestar.html (Driven: Volvo S60 Polestar)
AJ739 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th April 2020, 12:35   #23

Honestly, my advice would be to get an Audi TT. Exclusive, fun and reliable.
There's one on sale in Vijaywada for 26 on OLX.

On the SUV front, there are quite a few options.
I understand that you need exclusivity, so my suggestions are

Isuzu V-Cross Will turn heads with the sheer size, you can also modify for more presence https://gaadiwaadi.com/5-monster-loo...ss-from-india/

Toyota Fortuner in white Everyone will think of you as a politician

Skoda Kodiaq for comfort and sophistication

Volvo XC40 for snob value and exclusivity

Maybe a mildly used RR Evoque

One last image of a V-Cross
Sports car, something fun and reliable - Budget 40 lakhs-isuzu.jpg  

Old 29th April 2020, 20:36   #24

My family and I are looking to get a new car for myself, I will be going into college this year, come June. But I have time till end of 2020 to decide on the car and get one. I've shortlisted a few, and would love it if you guys could help be decide/close in on one.

The Requirements:

Budget- 40, and that's the max.
Mileage on car- Under 25-30k.
Expected running- 7500 kms a year.
Vehicle age- Nothing below 2015.
Hello Harish ,
If you don't mind diesel , settle for a 530d f10 , its the most practical car you can own. BMW diesels are fast ,torquey and reliable . I owe one 530d from past 16 months and have extensively driven 25k (currently my odometer reading stands at 50k+ )
This car is very much regarded on the forum also. Maybe gurus on this forum can highlight.
Regards.

MOD NOTE - Dear BHPian,

There are several spelling & grammatical errors in your posts. This negatively affects the forum experience for other readers.

Kindly ensure that you proof-read your posts prior to submission. Also, it would be a good idea to use a spell-checker.

Also, please quote ONLY the relevant bits of a post. Quoting a full, long post inconveniences our mobile readers.

We advise you to read the Forum Rules before proceeding any further.

Last edited by Sheel : 29th April 2020 at 21:47. Reason: Mod note attached.
Old 30th April 2020, 06:15   #25

I have driven a 2017 Audi S5 and it is a hoot to drive. Not a lot of these have sold so maybe a hard find. To be honest, I thought it was cutting it close to the likes of the M series of cars. It is that good in my opinion, while not being extreme like the M's. Its one of those cars that you can drive to the cinema and if you end up being disappointed by the krapp movie you just watched, just pin it on the way back home and you'll forget about the movie.

The highlight of the S5 is the Quattro all wheel drive system paired with a brilliant chassis and an engine that is relentless on power delivery. Just point and shoot.

Something to take note off, if you do put down money on cars like the S5. Brakes can cost several lacs to replace and someone who buys a car like this is likely to have thrashed it. Ground clearance. I've had to ask passengers to get off as the side skirts would scrape during approach and exit of basement parking ramps. Take as much as a warranty and insurance cover as you can.

Take your time and drive every car on the list. This is the only way you can tell if its something you like or not. Good luck.
sandeepmohan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th April 2020, 16:23   #26

I've to disagree with everyone else here and suggest that harish get an suv. There's a few years in college when you have time and company for adventure, you need a go anywhere vehicle. It'll be good for daily usage, quick trips to the hills near Coimbatore, (plenty of options there) try trails and shortcuts without the danger of being stuck in the middle of nowhere.

Get the performance car later on when you are settled, for weekend fun on the Kari speedway.
I was thinking of the same. When I was in college I hung out with soo many guys and our get aways always had the cars and bikes full of guys.

I think the best is for you to go for a good SUV which can take you to places in and out of Coimbatore, including the getaways to the Nilgiris.

It takes you to places, it can carry a lot of stuff, open to modifications.

How about a used Jeep Wrangler 5 door .
Old 30th April 2020, 16:26   #27

Lucky you, getting a sports car for college.
I had only a commuter bike when I was in college. And I couldn't use that either as vehicles were not allowed in my college.

Most sports cars are really good at, well, being sporty.
Since you're looking for sporty used cars, there won't be many available in the market that meet your age/mileage/budget criteria. Instead of deciding on one model, test drive all of the ones suggested and shortlist a few that pull your heartstrings. Then as soon as you find a good piece at a reasonable price, buy it
Old 1st May 2020, 09:05   #28

Maybe 1 friend would ride with me to and fro college. But on weekend we indeed would plan trips to Nilgiris or the farm, something like that. I do like big SUV's.
Hey Harish!

I just went through your thread and quite a wide range of options you have there! I understand, that you are comfortable with SUVs or Luxury Sedans and looked for cars in TN.

How about getting a 2018 Discovery Sport with less than 20k kilometers on the odo for just a bit over your budget? It's fairly reliable, has the legendary offroad capability, and looks the part too. Combine that with Land Rover's Terrain Management System and you've got a great deal too!

Here's a listing of one I found:- https://www.cardekho.com/used-car-de...302D7FC731.htm

It also would not attract as much attention as a sportscar would and would completely solve your purpose!

Akashdeep
akash_v12 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st May 2020, 11:26   #29

You have been recommended some really good cars. But, the car that I would recommend is probably not a head turner. It is neither FWD nor RWD, instead it is AWD. We are talking about 362 BHP with sports suspension. If you could find one in your city, you might get one at a bargain. It is Volvo Polestar. This car is the real underdog in the competition.

Read the review here (Garage overhaul from Torslandaverken - My Volvo XC90 and S60 Polestar).
Old 1st May 2020, 19:31   #30

Hi Harish,

Between SUV to a roadster / sports car, the choice is clearly what you want from your ride, the kind of attention changes with these rides, even considering the college going kids the type of attention differs drastically, all the boys will dig anything exclusive, I am talking about the girls. Imagine / picture yourself in these rides and the type of attention you get.

IMO you are young and should enjoy stuff that makes sense at the time. You can buy SUVs all your life, and any 4 door performance car for that matter, but not many will see you kindly driving a low slung sports coupe in your 40s onward, you know what I mean. Unless its a classic car.

That said, a convertible is as exclusive as it gets, attention personified. If your college is less than 50 years old, there is a chance that you just might be the first kid who has got a convertible to college. You must have watched many American teen movies, and the same goes here too, to give you a perspective. It doesn't matter what car it is as much as the attention you get going 'topless'

I will not suggest a Mini here. A Boxter will be an ultimate choice, Z4 is the second best, may be SLC too, these will just about come in your budget.
The ultimate would have been a Mustang convertible, but that isn't available in India.
zulfi hansi is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com