Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 9th January 2019, 09:06   #31

Re: 50-lakh budget. BMW 3GT or something else?

Originally Posted by graaja View Post
Congratulations on the 3GT. Wishing you tens of thousands of miles and smiles.

49L on road is an awesome deal. Does the 49L include the 5 year warranty and BSI? If yes, it is even more a sweeter deal!
Yes. 49L includes 5 years warranty and 3 Years BSI. I didn't opt for any additional accessories since the car comes fully loaded. I was interested with Car cover but asking price was 32k !
harishpr is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 9th January 2019, 09:35   #32

Originally Posted by harishpr View Post
Yes. 49L includes 5 years warranty and 3 Years BSI. I didn't opt for any additional accessories since the car comes fully loaded. I was interested with Car cover but asking price was 32k !
That's a great deal! Congratulations and wish you many happy miles on it.

Usually, BMW dealers throw in the car cover for free on top of agreed deal. I suggest you talk to the dealer again about it.
Old 10th January 2019, 01:39   #33

Originally Posted by harishpr View Post
We welcomed 3GT M Sport (330i, Petrol variant) for 49 Lakhs On-Road price. This includes 5 Years extended warranty along with BSI for 3 years at a great discount. Dealer insisted on insurance with their preferred partner and i didn't object since the overall deal was a killer. I didn't care much about 3 GTs End of life since the plan is to keep this for at least 7 years!

I didn't have a choice of exterior and interior colour since this deal was valid on Black or White exteriors only.

We booked and received Black exterior with Beige interior combination.

330i is a rocket and I'm very glad to have booked one.
Congratulations Harish, for Bangalore location, most likely you got the best deal anyone would have got in 2018 for the 3GT 330i M sport edition.

Man, you have managed to knock off several lakhs from the actual on road price plus getting 5 Years extended warranty along with BSI for 3 years altogether for 49 lakhs is icing on the cake. Thank you for sharing the pricing details in the forum. This really helps prospective buyers to get an idea of the discounts provided there are still more in stock.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 12th February 2019 at 01:44. Reason: Spacing
Old 10th January 2019, 10:59   #34

Originally Posted by nikhil_pon View Post
Congratulations Harish, for Bangalore location, most likely you got the best deal anyone would have got in 2018 for the 3GT 330i M sport edition.
Man, you have managed to knock off several lakhs from the actual on road price plus getting 5 Years extended warranty along with BSI for 3 years altogether for 49 lakhs is icing on the cake. Thank you for sharing the pricing details in the forum. This really helps prospective buyers to get an idea of the discounts provided there are still more in stock.
Is the RTO amount is correct? RTO amount showing almost 20% of the car. In Kolkata, the price is around 58 and RTO is around 3laks, 5% of the showroom price.
Old 10th January 2019, 11:52   #35

Originally Posted by hok kolorob View Post
Is the RTO amount is correct? RTO amount showing almost 20% of the car. In Kolkata, the price is around 58 and RTO is around 3laks, 5% of the showroom price.
That might have to do with the disparity in LTT charges between states. WB has a rate of 5.5% (IIRC) for a one time tax spanning 5 years whereas KA is thrice that figure (money as well as duration)!

That's why a lot of us are pro-uniform-taxation country wide.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 12th February 2019 at 01:43. Reason: Spacing
Divya Sharan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th January 2019, 03:25   #36

Originally Posted by hok kolorob View Post
The amount showed by Carwale seems correct. Life time Road taxes have always been high in Karnataka.

Looked up the tax slabs in karnataka for 4 wheelers - please see below:

Motor cars, Jeeps, Omni Buses and Private Service Vehicles having floor area up to 5 Sq. Mtrs, cost of which exceed Rs.20 Lakhs. ------> 18% of the cost of the Vehicle

Last edited by suhaas307 : 12th February 2019 at 01:42. Reason: added more information / spacing
Old 11th January 2019, 04:01   #37

Originally Posted by Divya Sharan View Post
That might have to do with the disparity in LTT charges between states. WB has a rate of 5.5% (IIRC) for a one time tax spanning 5 years whereas KA is thrice that figure (money as well as duration)!
That's why a lot of us are pro-uniform-taxation country wide.
Originally Posted by nikhil_pon View Post
The amount showed by Carwale seems correct. Life time Road taxes have always been high in Karnataka.

Looked up the tax slabs in karnataka for 4 wheelers - please see below:

Motor cars, Jeeps, Omni Buses and Private Service Vehicles having floor area up to 5 Sq. Mtrs, cost of which exceed Rs.20 Lakhs. ------> 18% of the cost of the Vehicle
Thanks for the information didn't know about this. Seems a bit unfair for the first buyer but nothing can be done I guess

Last edited by suhaas307 : 12th February 2019 at 01:43. Reason: Spacing in quoted post
Old 12th February 2019, 01:23   #38

Hello HarishPR,
Please share your experience about the 3Gt purchase, its been one month since you booked. Hope you got the car delivery.
Old 24th December 2019, 13:15   #39

BMW 3gt Luxury Line dilemma

Mod note: Similar thread exists and merged, please use Search before opening a new thread. Thanks.

Hello fellow T-BHPians,

This is my first post on the forum, and that too a new topic !

Begging forgiveness in advance for any/all inadvertent mistakes.

The Preface

I own a MS Vitara Brezza 1.2 VDI(O) for my daily commute, and have a M&M XUV 5oo, an automatic VW Vento connect edition and a humble 2014 Mahindra Quanto in the family/office garage to serve various purposes and people.

This December I made the long awaited decision to upgrade, and after a week long r&d cycle, which mainly included browsing through T-BHP fora and threads, plus the occasional Autocar Video review, I decided upon Ford Endeavor 3.2 Titanium + in white. The deal I was offered - 38 L OTR.

But somehow the itch of finding a better deal got better of me and I called u and visited the big German showrooms across town, and a Savvy Salesman tricked me into booking a 2019 BMW 3GT Luxury Line - costing 61 L OTR, and after discount - 49 L OTR, needless to say the heart missed a beat on seeing the white beauty with tan interiors, frame-less doors and comfortable seating and the brain agreed owing to the good GC and comfy rear bench.

I went ahead and booked the car being the novice guy I was in the wild wild world of luxury cars.

Since then I have been second guessing myself - so the question is, is a BMW 3GT 320 Luxury Line worth 49 Big ones today?

Is it a good deal, and should i chose to look past it what are the better options?

Eagerly awaiting the suggestions of fellow enthusiasts and Gurus.

Last edited by Jaggu : 24th December 2019 at 13:18. Reason: Similar thread exists, please use Search before opening a new thread. Thanks.
diablo_rojo is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th December 2019, 14:02   #40

520d can be had for 54-55 and it is much much better overall than 3gt. If going that high put 6-7 more for the 520d. Also check out e-class if it can be had for similar price. Its interiors are 'wow', even better than 520d.
Old 24th December 2019, 14:50   #41

Re: BMW 3gt Luxury Line dilemma

Originally Posted by diablo_rojo View Post
[b]
Since then I have been second guessing myself - so the question is, is a BMW 3GT 320 Luxury Line worth 49 Big ones today?
Personally, unless you need the benefits the GT body style offers over rivals like the C Class, G20 3 series, Jaguar XE, A4, etc.; I would not recommend the 3GT purely as it is the most dated car in it's segment - based on the F30 3 series launched in 2012.
I'd rather put money on the newer G20 / C Class given this is a heart v/s head purchase which will give me nicer interiors, a newer chassis, better resale, etc.

That being said, if the bigger legroom of the GT impresses you over anything else, it is probably the best time to pick it up as the GT model is going to be discontinued in the future (could be a 4GT sometime down the line but it isn't confirmed by BMW who is keen to annex the GT lineup).

Options I would consider at a similar / slightly stretched budget:

1) G30 5 series, Jaguar XF, Audi A6 post discounts (depending how much you can stretch)
2) New C Class, G20 3 series if you want a sedan in budget; Kodiaq, X1 if you want an SUV.
3) Pre-owned X3 / GLC / GLE / G30 5 series if you are open for that route - you can find some within warranty models available at a steal!
lamborghini is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th December 2019, 15:36   #42

I second the opinions of those asking you to look at the 520d and all new 320d. The new 3 in particular is a step up on the F30 in terms of interior space and toys to play with, so it makes sense to at least give it a proper chance. The C is also a fantastic option well worth checking out.

I'm personally a bit averse to the 3GT on account of its polarising body style, your opinion might vary. But objectively, the fact it's based on a discontinued model alone should be enough to encourage you to widen your search.
iliketurtles is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th December 2019, 15:56   #43

I decided upon Ford Endeavor 3.2 Titanium + in white. The deal I was offered - 38 L OTR.

2019 BMW 3GT Luxury Line - costing 61 L OTR, and after discount - 49 L OTR, I went ahead and booked the car being the novice guy I was in the wild wild world of luxury cars.

Welcome to the forum. Both, Endeavour and 3GT are practical cars. Endeavour more so if you want to drive daily and your usage is more. 3GT will be better for someone who has other cars as well for some of the runs in crowded places or where road conditions are not good. You have not given more details about your usage pattern and apart from a new car, what exactly are your must-have features/ requirements.

Regarding the prices, NCR currently has some of the lowest prices and I am not sure if you have got the same deal. Here discounts are about 10-11 Lac but only 1 or 2 pieces may be available.

Originally Posted by lamborghini View Post
I would not recommend the 3GT purely as it is the most dated car in it's segment - based on the F30 3 series launched in 2012.
I'd rather put money on the newer G20 / C Class given this is a heart v/s head purchase which will give me nicer interiors, a newer chassis, better resale, etc.

Correct, BMW is now offering new 3 with about 6 Lac discounts if financed via BMW Financials. ROI is also low 7,9 %

Last edited by ajmat : 24th December 2019 at 18:08.
Turbanator is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th December 2019, 13:04   #44

Originally Posted by lamborghini View Post
Personally, unless you need the benefits the GT body style offers over rivals like the C Class, G20 3 series, Jaguar XE, A4, etc.; I would not recommend the 3GT purely as it is the most dated car in it's segment - based on the F30 3 series launched in 2012.

That being said, if the bigger legroom of the GT impresses you over anything else, it is probably the best time to pick it up as the GT model is going to be discontinued in the future (could be a 4GT sometime down the line but it isn't confirmed by BMW who is keen to annex the GT lineup).

Options I would consider at a similar / slightly stretched budget:

1) G30 5 series, Jaguar XF, Audi A6 post discounts (depending how much you can stretch)
2) New C Class, G20 3 series if you want a sedan in budget; Kodiaq, X1 if you want an SUV.
3) Pre-owned X3 / GLC / GLE / G30 5 series if you are open for that route - you can find some within warranty models available at a steal!
Thanks a lot for the inputs, really appreciate it.

1 - Stretching isnt really an option, 49 itself was a stretch

2- C- Class looks exquisite, but for a 6'2'', 230 lbs guy like me it feels a bit lacking in space across the isle (Head, legs, shoulder) perhaps.

3- Being the first expensive car of the family, pre-owner is off the table for now. Will be rejected by the top hierarchy

I am really confused now. Have all but canceled the GT owing to my personal research and the inputs here - its definitely a dated car.

Taking a bit of a detour - I am being offered Discovery Sport and Evoque both at around 10 L discount - but somehow they look dated too - any advice on that ?

If nothing works out would have to swallow the bitter pill and get a 3.2 Endy titanium plus, the head would have won over the heart !

Welcome to the forum. Both, Endeavour and 3GT are practical cars. Endeavour more so if you want to drive daily and your usage is more. 3GT will be better for someone who has other cars as well for some of the runs in crowded places or where road conditions are not good. You have not given more details about your usage pattern and apart from a new car, what exactly are your must-have features/ requirements.

Regarding the prices, NCR currently has some of the lowest prices and I am not sure if you have got the same deal. Here discounts are about 10-11 Lac but only 1 or 2 pieces may be available.

Correct, BMW is now offering new 3 with about 6 Lac discounts if financed via BMW Financials. ROI is also low 7,9 %
Thanks !
Due to the measurements of the body, and me being the 95% occupant of the driver seat in the planned car, I would love good headroom, legroom and under thigh support, hence when i drive the 3, the passenger who sits behind me almost feels like the Betal to the Vikram

That being said, the g20 looks excellent and I am definitely trying to get a good deal on it - not sure which variant is the best vfm among the line up !
If someone has some insight on the difference between variants in terms of their actual impact it would be great.

Remotely considering the X1 too, due to mouth watering discounts and all, although the interior is just drab and no RWD is a real deal breaker !

Last edited by manson : 27th December 2019 at 19:44. Reason: Merged posts.
Old 26th December 2019, 15:59   #45

If someone has some insight on the difference between variants in terms of their actual impact it would be great.

Remotely considering the X1 too, due to mouth watering discounts and all, although the interior is just drab and no RWD is a real deal breaker !

The G20 is available in 3 engines & trims:

1) 520D Luxury Line BS-4 : They probably have some splendid discounts on this model. It has all the required features and is the practical choice if you do a lot of long runs.
2) 530i M-Sport BS-6 : Basically the 520D with the M-Sport Kit, a nicer and quicker petrol engine. The enthusiast's pick.
3) 530d M-Sport : 530i with a few more goodies like comfort seats (which offer more adjustment), nappa leather, heads-up-display, etc. Biggest change however is the 6 cylinder torquey diesel that has made it the choice for a self driven luxury car - but at a premium.

In my opinion, the 530i M-Sport is worth the stretch if you can get it, though even the 520d will not disappoint.

Taking a bit of a detour - I am being offered Discovery Sport and Evoque both at around 10 L discount - but somehow they look dated too - any advice on that ?

If nothing works out would have to swallow the bitter pill and get a 3.2 Endy titanium plus, the head would have won over the heart !

The Evoque too is quite dated and to be replaced with an all new model, and even the Discovery Sport facelift is in the works (as also for the G20, and GLC) which explains the massive discounts.

Please do have a look at the GLC & X3 too, and also check with your Audi dealership if they have any stock of the Q5 and A6 with them (and I do recommend factoring in the cost for extended warranty for the Audis & Mercedes especially).

Since you are open to sedans, just as an alternative to the Endy - you could look at the Superb, Passat, Tiguan & Kodiaq as well - though truth be told, I am an Endeavour fan boy deep down in my heart and it would be my pick if I had the parking.
lamborghini is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com