Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 29th August 2016, 14:21   #1

Jaguar: New XF Portfolio vs Used XJ 5.0L?

What would be recommended as an upgrade from the F30 320d in terms of driving dynamics and overall class? I know 5.0 V8 sounds like a no-brainer but XJL is more of a chauffeur driven car with 0 - 100 rated at 7 secs whereas XF with less than half the displacement achieves the same figure.... Confusing!
AdiSinghV12 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th August 2016, 16:02   #2

re: Jaguar: New XF Portfolio vs Used XJ 5.0L?

Well it really depends how much you are getting it for and whats your intended use. Although the new XF is a very good looking car, if i had to choose I'd pick the XJL since you already drive the 3. Ive never driven the new XF, but i can guess the XJL is better, its a flagship Jag after all. You own the 7, so you can tell the difference between the 7 and the 3. But you still need to mention more details about the condition of the used XJL. If its driven anywhere near 10000, id say take it as its practically new. But if its above 30000kms, id say wait for the XF. Jags are notorious for their service costs and all, and then being a 5L only the lord himself could save you. I too am waiting for the new XF. Only sad thing is the cars being launched in only 2L petrol and diesel avatars.

All the same, the XJL is a 5 years old piece. So perhaps, the new XF wins over the used XJL. Why don't you look at 530d? It may mean you have many BMW's in your garage, but the 530d is an absolute delight. Ask GTO, he too owns it. Besides the back seat, its a perfect car.

Last edited by mijnoirhammer67 : 29th August 2016 at 16:18.
mijnoirhammer67 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th August 2016, 10:15   #3

Originally Posted by mijnoirhammer67 View Post
Well it really depends how much you are getting it for and whats your intended use. Although the new XF is a very good looking car, if i had to choose I'd pick the XJL since you already drive the 3. Ive never driven the new XF, but i can guess the XJL is better, its a flagship Jag after all. You own the 7, so you can tell the difference between the 7 and the 3. But you still need to mention more details about the condition of the used XJL. If its driven anywhere near 10000, id say take it as its practically new. But if its above 30000kms, id say wait for the XF. Jags are notorious for their service costs and all, and then being a 5L only the lord himself could save you. I too am waiting for the new XF. Only sad thing is the cars being launched in only 2L petrol and diesel avatars.

All the same, the XJL is a 5 years old piece. So perhaps, the new XF wins over the used XJL. Why don't you look at 530d? It may mean you have many BMW's in your garage, but the 530d is an absolute delight. Ask GTO, he too owns it. Besides the back seat, its a perfect car.
Thanks for your input The XJL I'm considering is a 2011 and has done around 40,000 kms and it's offered to me around 45L which I'm assuming is 20L lower than what would be the price of a new XF. The condition is not great to be honest as in the interior and the paint and if I get it I'll surely have to get it freshly repainted and get some interior leather work done, also I'd need to reregister the car as well as its a WB reg and the road tax has expired (If anyone can shed some light on this to as the seller said I can get it JH registered again as I have a valid address proof there and get a new number ? Never bought a pre owned but what I had in mind as the number remains the same.... if anyone can clarify)

The 7 to be very honest is a very boat like, and however smooth it may be its more boring to drive then a regular 320d and I clearly have it in mind but the thought of 5000cc V8 of the Jag is having me tempted. And no Bimmer this time

Last edited by AdiSinghV12 : 30th August 2016 at 10:17.
Old 30th August 2016, 10:17   #4

Old Jags are not the most reliable of cars - especially the XJ. To add to that, the JLR service doesn't have a stellar reputation.

My uncle in the UK suffered pretty bad with a used Jag recently and categorically told me to stay away from Jags especially in India. If they can't fix their cars properly in the UK, how will they manage it in India?

I'd stay far far away unless you are willing to budget an additional 10 lacs to fix the car up and have access to a high quality independent garage which can take care of the car properly.

Last edited by reignofchaos : 30th August 2016 at 10:19.
reignofchaos is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th August 2016, 11:51   #5

Re: Jaguar: New XF Portfolio vs Used XJ 5.0L?

As much as I love the XJ's styling, I can't recommend it. The car is a nightmare to own. Very poor reliability. Someone I know has one and says 'it spends more time in the garage than on the road'. Plus, due to its limited ground clearance, you can't take it out of town. The car gets stuck at toll naka speed breakers!

Please avoid. You're just asking for trouble.

Originally Posted by AdiSinghV12 View Post
XJL is more of a chauffeur driven car with 0 - 100 rated at 7 secs whereas XF with less than half the displacement achieves the same figure
There's more to driving pleasure than just the 0 - 100 figure. The XJ is too big & heavy to be a fun drive.

Wait for the new 5-Series & E-Class. Their all-new generation cars aren't that far away.
GTO is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th August 2016, 13:57   #6

Originally Posted by AdiSinghV12 View Post
Thanks for your input The XJL I'm considering is a 2011 and has done around 40,000 kms and it's offered to me around 45L which I'm assuming is 20L lower than what would be the price of a new XF. The condition is not great to be honest as in the interior and the paint and if I get it I'll surely have to get it freshly repainted and get some interior leather work done, also I'd need to reregister the car as well as its a WB reg and the road tax has expired (If anyone can shed some light on this to as the seller said I can get it JH registered again as I have a valid address proof there and get a new number ? Never bought a pre owned but what I had in mind as the number remains the same.... if anyone can clarify)

The 7 to be very honest is a very boat like, and however smooth it may be its more boring to drive then a regular 320d and I clearly have it in mind but the thought of 5000cc V8 of the Jag is having me tempted. And no Bimmer this time

If that is the case, walk away from the Jag homie. Walk and keep walking. Getting a new number means getting it re registered in your state for some 10 maybe 20% of your cars new worth. So if the guy who owns the car bought it at 1.5 cr, then you do the math and see how it goes. At least 15 lakhs, minimum for a new registration. I could be wrong but this is what i was told when i was going to re-register my car. Your budget seems to be at 50 to 70 lakhs. If you can wait, wait for the new E class. I think it'll be a segment leader. The features and gadgets on the car may even leave the S class behind. And if you wanna buy a new car now itself, the XF is closeby, though I'm not swayed by the 2L engines.

I am having the same dilemma now, you can check out my thread. http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/luxury...s-british.html

I was able to confuse myself and everyone else with my choices and wishes . I too wanted to buy the Jag, but people say best not to. Im willing to wait till new years to buy a new car, i think ill go for the F pace or stretch my budget further and get something else entirely. But if i was asked to choose right now, id pick the S5. Its got a gem of a engine and great discounts since its due for an update soon.
mijnoirhammer67 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th August 2016, 14:11   #7

Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
Old Jags are not the most reliable of cars - especially the XJ. To add to that, the JLR service doesn't have a stellar reputation.

My uncle in the UK suffered pretty bad with a used Jag recently and categorically told me to stay away from Jags especially in India. If they can't fix their cars properly in the UK, how will they manage it in India?

I'd stay far far away unless you are willing to budget an additional 10 lacs to fix the car up and have access to a high quality independent garage which can take care of the car properly.
Thats a concern. Thanks for pointing out
As much as I love the XJ's styling, I can't recommend it. The car is a nightmare to own. Very poor reliability. Someone I know has one and says 'it spends more time in the garage than on the road'. Plus, due to its limited ground clearance, you can't take it out of town. The car gets stuck at toll naka speed breakers!

Please avoid. You're just asking for trouble.

There's more to driving pleasure than just the 0 - 100 figure. The XJ is too big & heavy to be a fun drive.

Wait for the new 5-Series & E-Class. Their all-new generation cars aren't that far away.
Thing is I need a 4 seater or I could have chose a Mustang, and dont want to go for a Bimmer this time as much as I love the brand because the current 7 we own will be replaced by the new 7 sometime next year if all goes well and the new 5 would just be a scaled down version of it. Want something which is distinct from other family rides, Merc E, as good as the new one is it feels a little too mature to be used by someone of my age (24) so thats rules out too. Always craved for a Jaguar so was considering these two for now but after reading opinions on the XJL I think it would be the XF. What would be your suggestion on the new XF with blacked out chrome parts and S body kit and a safe 275bhp remap one year down the line? (As you earlier suggested its mot wise to mod a completely new car right away )
Old 30th August 2016, 14:18   #8

The XJL I'm considering is a 2011 and has done around 40,000 kms and it's offered to me around 45L which I'm assuming is 20L lower than what would be the price of a new XF. The condition is not great to be honest as in the interior and the paint and if I get it I'll surely have to get it freshly repainted and get some interior leather work done,
That's too expensive for a 2011 Model irrespective of initial price at which they sold ( later discounted heavily)

You should wait for new E-Class, It's interiors are amazing, saw one recently and it will be a worthy upgrade for anyone looking beyond 3 series.In case this gets expensive, you can also check new A4.

Merc E, as good as the new one is it feels a little too mature to be used by someone of my age (24) so that rules out too.
Absolutely No, you will be surprised with the overall sportiness of exterior and 7 Star interiors better than present S class.

Last edited by Turbanator : 30th August 2016 at 14:20.
Turbanator is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th August 2016, 15:18   #9

If you absolutely want a Jaguar, I would recommend the XE Petrol in the top-end trim. Its a great car to drive. Infact, I would rate it above 3 in terms of driving pleasure. The only problem is that the rear seat isn't as spacious as 3 although it is usable.
amansanc is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th August 2016, 22:18   #10

If you're not on a strict budget and want something fun to drive, why not go for an Audi S5? I don't see a lot of these on the roads so you may be able to get a good deal.
jezza is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com