Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 10th April 2013, 15:51   #1

Second Hand Supercar. A V10 convertible < 1 crore?

Hello to my fellow BHPians,

This will be the first thread I've started so please be kind to me.

Recently a friend came to me for advice on buying his first supercar. Being a novice in most things related to cars, I am turning to TeamBHP for help.

This anonymous friend of mine has certain eccentric tastes, he likes V10s and convertibles (Audi R8 V10 Spyder pops into mind, I know) but he cannot afford to fund a brand new supercar.

So, I have created this thread with a few aims in mind.

1. Find out just how many supercars out there are for sale.
2. The kind of prices demanded for these cars.
3. Perhaps most important of all - try and find this friend of mine his dream car within a budget of INR 1 Crore.

Please help me out guys, it would be appreciated

Last edited by Taronish_E : 10th April 2013 at 15:52. Reason: spelling mistake
Old 10th April 2013, 16:23   #2

re: Second Hand Supercar. A V10 convertible < 1 crore?

Originally Posted by Taronish_E View Post
Hello to my fellow BHPians,

This will be the first thread I've started so please be kind to me.

Recently a friend came to me for advice on buying his first supercar. Being a novice in most things related to cars, I am turning to TeamBHP for help.

This anonymous friend of mine has certain eccentric tastes, he likes V10s and convertibles (Audi R8 V10 Spyder pops into mind, I know) but he cannot afford to fund a brand new supercar.

So, I have created this thread with a few aims in mind.

1. Find out just how many supercars out there are for sale.
2. The kind of prices demanded for these cars.
3. Perhaps most important of all - try and find this friend of mine his dream car within a budget of INR 1 Crore.

Please help me out guys, it would be appreciated

INR 1Cr for a used car?

I was under the impression that these super cars really fight to get a good resale value. TBHP classified's Luxury & Niche section is handy with your friend, already you have a Porsche Boxter at INR 30L, BMW Z4 at INR 46.5L etc. Even a Ferrari F430 at INR 1.65Cr.

Last edited by jacs : 10th April 2013 at 16:28.
jacs is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th April 2013, 16:29   #3
R.D

I believe for 1cr your friend can easily find a decent sports car Maybe even the R8 V10, i believe Lambo dealers have an R8 in their stocks so i suggest giving them a call
Old 10th April 2013, 16:32   #4

I think his best bet would be to find a used E60 BMW M5. Or an M3 convertible, although it is two cylinders short.
Old 10th April 2013, 17:23   #5

There actually is a V10 R8 Spyder for sale in New Delhi if I'm not mistaken, but asking price is way over 1cr.
Old 10th April 2013, 17:40   #6

The ex-Ghodawat Arancio Borealis 06 Lamborghini Gallardo Spyder which was in Kerala was purchased in the ballpark of the budget you mentioned. Have PM'ed you the price.

The car has been sold to B'lore and has been done up to top nick by Racetech and I believe is in between owners. Could give it a try.
Scorcher is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th April 2013, 17:57   #7

Guys thank you so much for the fantastic response.

Jacs - I know, but the buyer isn't interested in a Z4 or a Boxster/S. Ferrari's are slightly out of budget (65 lakh out of budget to be precise)

FlyingSpur - If you could message me details about that M3 Convertible I would really appreciate it.

Saarth - Seen the advert for that R8 Spyder, way too expensive. :(

Scorcher - I've heard of that car, being in contact with RaceTech Automotive quite regularly myself but I don't think that car is for sale anymore?
Old 10th April 2013, 18:14   #8

There will many performance cars you can find in the mentioned budget as everybody else here has suggested, but finding a pre owned convertible supercar for the same amount will be a task in India, obviously customs duties and rather high registration costs working over time here. Also, convertibles are a minimum 10-15% more money compared to their coupe counterparts. So finding a convertible supercar which is not very old for about a crore looks almost not happening to me.

However, i am only aware of one not very old R8 V10 closer to the mentioned budget and its a coupe. PM me for details, if your friend has any interest.
doctorque is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th April 2013, 19:10   #9

Originally Posted by Taronish_E View Post
Scorcher - I've heard of that car, being in contact with RaceTech Automotive quite regularly myself but I don't think that car is for sale anymore?
AFAIK, the car was sold off from KL to a young gentleman and was later sold to RSM who got the work done from RT (he even got his initials etched on the seats) and then, I believe, the car was then sold back to the young lad.

Please check with Racetech if you wanna know the current status.
Scorcher is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th April 2013, 22:51   #10

Re: Second Hand Supercar. A V10 convertible < 1 crore?

Originally Posted by Scorcher View Post
AFAIK, the car was sold off from KL to a young gentleman and was later sold to RSM who got the work done from RT (he even got his initials etched on the seats) and then, I believe, the car was then sold back to the young lad.

Please check with Racetech if you wanna know the current status.
It is not in Bangalore any more. Sold to someone in Delhi is what I heard.
Old 28th April 2013, 02:21   #11

I think that performance cars like Ms and AMGs would be far easier to find than a full blooded supercar. There is a Cayman at the team bhp classifields though ?
saarth is that trains by porcupine tree?
Old 28th April 2013, 16:01   #12
PPS

Neither a V10 nor a convertible, but something which i came across.

http://www.carwale.com/used/cars-in-...e-911-S382111/
Old 28th April 2013, 17:50   #13

Big Boy Toys And PCH auto world are 2 dealers you might wanna check with. They list all their currently available cars on their website and their Facebook pages.

While both these companies seem to be highly overpricing their second hand vehicles, It may be a good idea to just browse through both to see what's available out there. PCH auto world is offering an almost brand new panamera (3000 km i think) for 1 Cr.

BBT seem to have an amazing after sales. Read the testimonials on their website. That seems to be the key differentiator for them and also may be the reason they seem to be so overpriced.
Old 28th April 2013, 21:46   #14

Originally Posted by Dopamine View Post
I think that performance cars like Ms and AMGs would be far easier to find than a full blooded supercar. There is a Cayman at the team bhp classifields though ?
saarth is that trains by porcupine tree?
Yup it is Trains

BBT sells used cars for a very high price indeed, does anyone have any experience with them?
Old 5th May 2013, 01:02   #15

I'd suggest him to check out the new 650i. Its not really a full fledged supercar and also has a couple of cyl less but boy it surely has some skills. The company claims the 0-100 fig to be 4.9 which can surely be taken down to 4 odd seconds by simple tuning and minor upgrades. The M3 vert can also be considered. However, if it HAS to be a V10 vert then as someone suggested above, I can't think of anything other than the R8 V10.