Old 11th August 2011, 12:00   #1111

Re: Fleet Admiral Togo Heihachiro - Toyota Fortuner. Life Sails On...

Originally Posted by dkaile View Post
@Guderian - the Falcon HAS landed... Thank you for all your inspirations.
Thread to follow.
Hi dkaile,
Now that 'Falcon' has landed and the same has been confirmed, here is the pucca - Congratulations ! May you have many, many thousands of fun filled and delightful miles on it.

Admiral now awaits his twin's ownership thread !

Incidentally the delivery was pretty quick. How did you manage that ?

Well done and welcome to the club.
Old 11th August 2011, 12:12   #1112

Wah Wah, its raining Fort's. Errr, that didnt sound right. But you guys get the drift,
@Dkaile: Congrats on the Falcon. Detailed report is anticipated.

@Guderian: I've already informed our good ol friend Dotty about sourcing some gadgets for my car, but just in case he forgets, I am taking the liberty to trouble you. Hope that would be fine!
Glad that your local FNAM can source some parts for you. We unfortunate souls in the sister city have to depend on the atrociously expensive ASC's for these thingamboobs.
Old 11th August 2011, 12:19   #1113

Thank you General once again;

As I had reported to you on our last briefing, Commercial Toyota Wallah's had confirmed me the delivery date before 15th Aug on the 1st of this month, after sending email to Toyota Bangalore on their lack of clarity on delivery date to their customers.

Spoken to their SA on 7th - No response;
Called again on 8th - No response;
Sms'd them on 8th evening to cancel my booking and send my refund;

9th 11am - received call from SA that the Falcon had landed with them yesterday night; Prepared all payment by 3pm; Reported back to them that I will be arriving tomorrow so better not touch my beast; Confirmed VIN; Make 07/11 (29.07.2011 to be more precise)

10th 7am - Took my trusted steed the Corolla on a 215km ride to Haldwani
11.30am - Arrival and had a first look of the brute
12.30pm - "My" PDI completed
3pm - Took delivery and rode back to Meerut at 4pm after lunch
8.30 pm - Reached home, Did the customary "Tel Chona", Trip to Temple, Entry to our home

Anyways, its been a remarkable journey and the delivery was done to me in less than 60 days from booking.

3 words - WHAT A CAR!!

Tried my level best to hear all the sounds that our Dear friend Columbus was hearing in his Gladiator in the Ugly part, on my 200km drive back, that he had reported here - http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...ml#post2442237
Couldn't!!!

@Swanand - Thank you

Last edited by dkaile : 11th August 2011 at 12:23.
Old 11th August 2011, 12:21   #1114

Originally Posted by Swanand Inamdar View Post
1. Wah Wah, its raining Fort's. Errr, that didnt sound right.

2. I am taking the liberty to trouble you. Hope that would be fine!

3. I've already informed our good ol friend Dotty,but just in case he forgets,
Hi SI,

1. Quite true...that truly didn't 'sound' right !!!

2. No issues - let me know after dot forgets bringing whatever you asked him to bring, shall check with the FNAM if he has that or have him to get it for you.

3. You mean in addition to the famous CWG accused even dot has issues with dementia ? Figures - both are from Pune...
Guderian is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th August 2011, 12:24   #1115

LOL! Guderian that was one hilarious spook.
Gosh have been using the almost exact same phrase over and over again.

DKalie ~ Mate congratulations!
Nice choice. T-Fort looks best in silver IMHO.
Wishing you many miles of joyful motoring with the Falcon.

What i heard is that you can now get the T-Fort in 4-6 weeks time.
mdsaab is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th August 2011, 12:43   #1116

Originally Posted by mdsaab View Post
What i heard is that you can now get the T-Fort in 4-6 weeks time.
Yes, 6-8 weeks seems to be the average waiting time now. Three dealers in different states told me the same.
Old 11th August 2011, 13:07   #1117

@Guderian - the Falcon HAS landed... Thank you for all your inspirations.

@amitwlele - Thank you Amit ji; Thread to follow.
Congratulations dkaile and welcome to the Fortuner family. Look forward to the thread soon. Just wondering..does your Fortuner have the stock Dunlops that the earlier Fortuners came with?

Do get the wheel Alignment and Balancing done or atleast checked at the earliest. I dont think balancing is done at the factory and my Fortuner drove a whole lot better when i had this done a few days after delivery.

Cheers and enjoy the experience!
Manuuj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th August 2011, 13:08   #1118

Originally Posted by Manuuj View Post
Hi all just sharing this link with you all on an incident that was reported on a Fortuner whose owner is based in Gurgaon.

This is the first Ive heard of such a failure and wanted to share it with you all so other owners may also be aware of the problem and the reason why this happened.

Ive contacted the owner of the ill fated Fortuner and asked him to shed some light on the matter and also share with us what the findings are for the reason of this failure.

I hope he will share the findings with us as this information may save other Fortuner owners from a similar situation who may not be as lucky as him to face it on a deserted road.

Information sharing is what this forum is all about and though most times it is for fun, this time it may save lives

the link to the story on Team-BHP is:
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...pensation.html
Hi Folks,
Attaching a post from Manuuj's thread on TFort for the information of all TFort owners and viewer's of Tgo Channel. Further updates on the matter will be put up by Manuuj on his thread.

In the meantime on thinking as to what possibly could have gone wrong the issues that struck me were:
1. An accidental slotting of LL gear at high speed - by a child or adult by an unintended movement in the cabin resulting in the outcome. Though it is difficult to slot the LL in the normal course of event from H to HL to n to LL...but a swift hit/kick etc could/might have done it.

2. Jamming of the front and rear propeller shafts due to bearing failures. This looks rather outlandish though.

Do get the wheel Alignment and Balancing done or atleast checked at the earliest. I dont think balancing is done at the factory and my Fortuner drove a whole lot better when i had this done a few days after delivery.
Hi Manuuj,
Wheel balancing is done at the factory - Admiral came with balancing weights and the alignment was perfect. Untouched till date though the chaps were supposed to do it at the 10K/3rd servicing.

Last edited by Guderian : 11th August 2011 at 13:12.
Guderian is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th August 2011, 13:28   #1119

Just wondering..does your Fortuner have the stock Dunlops that the earlier Fortuners came with?
This looks like "Made in Japan" to me; and I rechecked the tyre pressure after delivery. It was exactly at 30psi, so they do the pdi properly here, it seems. Didn't find any bobbling or veering at 80-90kmph (the max. speed I drove at on the 200km stretch back) so the WA and WB seems OK to me...

Name:  Goodyears Made in Japan.JPG
Views: 587
Size:  143.6 KB

Last edited by dkaile : 11th August 2011 at 13:34.
Old 11th August 2011, 14:52   #1120

Congrats on the Falcon, Dkaile!
You were really lucky to get it very quickly, otherwise when I last checked in May 2011, the waiting period here was 3-4 months! There is also news that the new version of the Fortuner may get launched in October around Diwali (Already brilliant photo comparison done by the General!). India will have to shift over to the new version, as the CKD comes from Thailand (also under the FTA) and as Thailand will move entirely to the new version from Aug end, India will also get the new version around October! Bad news though is that there is a likely price hike expected of 2 Lacs on the price.

Enjoy your ride and looking forward to your ownership thread too!

Behemoth
Behemoth is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th August 2011, 15:00   #1121

^
I have got news that they are planning to increase the local content and the price hike may not be that steep...
Old 11th August 2011, 15:32   #1122

Originally Posted by Behemoth View Post
1. (Already brilliant photo comparison done by the General!).

2. Bad news though is that there is a likely price hike expected of 2 Lacs on the price.
Hi Behemoth,

1. Many thanks sir !

2. Bad news ?!! That's the best news I've heard for days ! That means the Classic T Fort will retain its resale value real good.
Only 2 Lakhs ? I think with all the wonderful, well thought out, impressively designed changes etc they should increase it at least by 7-10 Lakhs !!!

^
I have got news that they are planning to increase the local content and the price hike may not be that steep...
Awww...Shucks...there come my dreams crashing down. OK then, in view of this, let them increase the prices only by 5-6 Lakhs !

Last edited by Guderian : 11th August 2011 at 15:35.
Old 11th August 2011, 16:05   #1123

Congratulations dkaile! Wishing you many years of trouble free and adventurous ownership. Do start your own thread asap.
nilanjanray is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th August 2011, 16:05   #1124

Originally Posted by Behemoth View Post
Bad news though is that there is a likely price hike expected of 2 Lacs on the price.
For MT or AT version? I guess the auto box will attract more.
Old 11th August 2011, 16:16   #1125

Originally Posted by Guderian View Post
Only 2 Lakhs ? I think with all the wonderful, well thought out, impressively designed changes etc they should increase it at least by 7-10 Lakhs !!!
General,

Not to worry at all..! 2 Lacs is the minimum I have heard and could go higher inspite of the Cost reductions which they have done. Raw material prices have shot through the roof and escalated by almost 20% in the past 9 months. They will transfer some part of the cost to the consumer !
Your investment is totally protected and is one of the rare cars which actually "Appreciates" in value rather than "Depreciating"!