It all began in Feb 2009, when we were about to be blessed with a baby in the month of April. So, we though it is the right time to get home a car. The budget was finalized around 4-4.5 lacs. Just before I finalized the car, my closest friend bought his Indica Vista Aura - Petrol.
We liked the car a lot for the following reasons:
1) Huge space. Period.
2) Loaded with many features.
3) Killing price tag. For 4.2 lakhs OTR, we got everything under the Sun.
4) Fresh look from the Tata stable.
So we booked the car on our 3rd Wedding Anniversary day. The whole process was quite smooth, except some irritation from the bank side. The car was delivered on 30th July, with nothing due. I drove the car home and reached at 7:30 PM. My family and few close friends were waiting already. The car got a nice welcome.
Fast forward to future...
Its been 1 year and 3 months till date and 11111 KMs on the odo. A good milestone to write up the report!
The car has served all the purposes a family guy would expect from the car.
Here are the major Cons and Pros of the car:
Cons:
1) Underpowered for sure:
Many a times a I felt that it would have good to have few more horses under the hood, atleast 10-15 of them. Especially during uphills, I felt the car is severly underpowered to take the load.
2) Steering:
I feel that the steering is very stiff and hard. Maneuvering in city and tight corners is not that easy. I would anyday prefer a steering like the ANHC. Its just superb!
3) Stock Tyres:![EEK!](https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/images/smilies/eek.png)
The stock tyres on this variant are pathetic, with regards to the huge weight of this car. Its heavier than most other hatchbacks, and it has the lowest profile tyres. I will upgrade the tyres to wider and taller ones. That might ease the stiffness of the steering. The stock tyres on this car are 175/70 R13.
4) Quality of plastics:
Tata has always been bashed for the poor quality of plastics used in their cars, which is true unfortunately. One fo the power window switch in my Vista was broken withing first 2 months and was replaced by Tata free of cost without much hassle. I am always concerned about the door handles. They feel like they can break anytime. The driver seat belt holder socket had come off and that was fitted too in the A.S.S.
5) Quality of fitment:
- The rubber biddings all around the car also of low quality. The rubber bidding on the roof had come off in few months which was resolved in the 1st service.
- The rub-rails (metal plates on the 4 doors) are stuck with some glue I feel. One of them just fail on the road one day when I was going home from office. One guy at a signal said, "Sir patti gir gaya hey"
6) A/C:
A/C is not very effective. Cooling takes time.
Pros:
1) Space, space, space... I can't talk more about it. Its the USP of this car.
2) Overall feel of the interior:
- The first feeling that you get after entering the car is like you are entering a big sedan. Its very spacious and airy.
- Large window panes(not as large as Jazz though).
- The integrated music system and the central console also give this car a different feeling than other cars.
- The all beige interior on the Aura trim gives even more airy and fresh feeling inside. (its slightly tough to maintain the beige)
3) Stock ICE:
- The stock music system on this car good. Though not as mind blowing as the one on Jazz, its pretty good compared to other hatches. Ofcourse, I changed the stock speakers to JBL Pro and the sound quality became much much better. The Aura variant comes with 6 speaker (thats a good number of speakers for 4 lakhs), 2 tweeters and 4 sub-woofers.
- FM sound quality is very good.
- USB and AUX very useful.
4) Weight of the car:
- The heavy profile of this car makes it very stable on the highways at high speeds. I have driven the i10 on the highway and it was bouncing all over the place due to its light weight. The car stands rooted strongly on the road.
5) Smooth ride:
- The national engine of India, is doing a good job on my car too. The famed Fiat FIRE engine is very smooth.
- NVH is low, even at high speeds.
- The comfort on the rear seat is as good as you can get. You rarely feel the bumps, humps, pot holes, etc.
Some small but noticable things:
1) No ABS, Airbags on offer when I bought my car. Now, the new Vista is loaded to the brim.
2) Whenever I turn the A/C ON, the brakes loose their sharpness. I have had a close shave 2-3 times when the A/C was ON and I had to stop suddenly. Gosh! I am lucky.
3) There is not a single rattle till date. Unbelivable...belive it.
Now, the last thing and certainly the most shocking for most readers. The TATA A.S.S. Well, I have a pretty good experience with them. They have done everything properly when needed. I never had to shout or frown at them for getting things done. Infact, the last servicing was actually terrific. The A/C suddenly feels very good. The SA advised me to go for expert interior+exterior cleaning package, which costs 450 RS and I accepted it. It was fantastic!
The expenses on the repairs and services are very low and don't deserved to be mentioned here. I have constantly got an FE of about 12 in the City and around 17 on highway. That's enough for me. Once I got 19 on one highway trip to Nasik.
After all said and done, will I ever recommend anyone to go for this car??? It is YES. However, the recent price hikes will make a prospective buyer think twice. There's hell lot of competition in the market and Vista has been pushed down the 'like-to-have' list.
Would I go for another Tata car? NO. Not because this car is bad or the Tata A.S.S is bad. Its because I want to try out a new brand, new company, new A.S.S. experience. My next car could be either of the 2: Hyundai i20 CRDi or Fiat Linea T-Jet. Two completely irrelevant choices, but what can I do.
Hope this gives an insight for the prospective buyers who plan to checkout the Tata Indica Vista.
P.S.: I have not driven the new 90HP Vista, so no comments on that. But, since it cost more than 6 lakhs, the Tata pricing magic has gone, frankly.
A recent photo of the Vista: