Old 29th April 2011, 20:44   #61

Re: Chevrolet Aveo 1.4 buying experience and 1200km updates

Last week I have completed a Bangalore Kerala trip and back using new shoes(Bridgestones Turanza ER60 195x60R14) on Aveo. I have covered some 2200km, covering all kind of roads. I felt the tyres are very comfortable and very good grippy, good dry and wet performance. On negative side its bit noisy, but manageable.
Overall i am happy with the tyres.
Old 8th May 2011, 10:15   #62

During my last Kerala trip, all in a sudden AC stopped working. Compressor was working, but cold air was not coming from blower. Replaced the compressor's pressure valve. Detailed experience can be find at
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...in-kerala.html

Now Couple of service updates.
35120km service done on 28-Oct-2010 at Korpex

Problems reported were
1. Some sound from front suspension
2. Some sound from front wheel bearing

Turned to be an expensive service

1. Replaced suspension struts( Under warranty)
2. Replaced front wheel bearing
3. Changed engine oil and oil filter
All the problems are resolved and i felt car is running more smooth.

Expense details (with out tax)
1. Engine oil - 687
2. Washer - 15
3. Bearubf FRT WHL - 1867
4. Bush-DMP - 754
5. Bush-Cont-Arm - 384
6. Filter A-oil Eng - 82
7. Screen Wash Conc - 35
Labour charges
1. Paid service - 750
2. All wheel break cleaning - 350
3. Lathe charges - 675
4. Bearing replacement - 250
5. Consumables - 175

Total bill - Rs 6770 (incl all taxes)

41150km service done on 7-May-2011 at Trident

Just for a change i thought of trying at Trident. Not reported any major problems.
One interesting thing i liked there is, when i just entered there, they have covered the driver seat and steering wheel with plastic covers. Good to keep it clean during the service. It's just a regular service and replaced the fuel filter. They have done a pretty good job and overall experience was really good.

Other things noted during services are
1. Airfilter assembly is damaged little, but i can live with that now. The only way this can happen is from the service center hands. During one of my previous services i had replaced Airfilter from Korpex, i think while doing that work they did this damage and i didn't notice this earlier. The new one will cost around Rs 900
2. Stepney tyre bolt/knob is not fixing properly, looks like thread is gone and reed to replace that.
They don't have stock of both the items.

Expense details

Paid service - 875
Filter Fuel - 378
Total bill - Rs 1397 (incl tax)
Old 27th September 2011, 23:14   #63

Recently did 45K service at Trident as i was planning for my Kerala trip during pooja vacation. I have asked them to do
1. Oil change.
2. Check the AC air filter, clean if required, clean AC blower.
3. Some sound is coming from break, SA told me to do a complete break o/h.
4. Replace a parking bulb

Went there at around 6pm and the place was crowded. My car was in the washing bay. After the wash, some 3-4 people started wiping & cleaning. Still I can see 10-12 cars are queuing up in the washing bay at around 7pm. Even at that time also these boys are doing some what decent work.
I don't know why so much vehicles are piled up, do they are not keeping a limit of number of cars per day.

Following works are carried out

1. Changed Oil, Oil filter ,Gasket
2. Changed Filter A Air(i asked them to clean, but ends up in replacing), blower cleaning
3. Break o/h
4. Door adjustment

Here are the expense details.

Consumable - 175,
Oil - 776,
Gasket - 17,
Oil Filter - 127,
ScreenWash - 35,
Bulb - 37,
Filter A AIR - 712,
BreakCleaner - 203,
Plastic & Rubber care - 150,

Paid service - 875,
Front break o/h - 440,
rear break o/h - 385,
Door Adjustment - 200,
AC blower cleaning - 250.

Total - 4920 incl tax

Overall not a bad experience even though i had a talk with SA about some extra charges he had added for Plastic & Rubber care, BreakCleaner solution & Door Adjustment.
Old 16th November 2011, 15:59   #64

Hi Pals,

I am getting an offer of 2 Lakhs for an Aveo 2006 model (LS) done 66K KM. Vehcile is single owner used.
I have a plan to convert it to sequential injection LPG.

What is you opinion on going for an AVEO in that price.
How is the road grip ?( i saw that the tyres are 13 inch ones)
How is the spares and services ( Im based in Bangalore- Madiwala)

My requirement is to have a economical car with LPG for city and long drives. 5 passengers are expected most of the times.

I've Palio 1.9 D and Innova both are good performers but selling those for raising money for buying a home. :-(

Please let me know your suggestions.

Denny

Originally Posted by kavu75 View Post
Recently did 45K service at Trident as i was planning for my Kerala trip during pooja vacation. I have asked them to do
1. Oil change.
2. Check the AC air filter, clean if required, clean AC blower.
3. Some sound is coming from break, SA told me to do a complete break o/h.
4. Replace a parking bulb

Went there at around 6pm and the place was crowded. My car was in the washing bay. After the wash, some 3-4 people started wiping & cleaning. Still I can see 10-12 cars are queuing up in the washing bay at around 7pm. Even at that time also these boys are doing some what decent work.
I don't know why so much vehicles are piled up, do they are not keeping a limit of number of cars per day.

Following works are carried out

1. Changed Oil, Oil filter ,Gasket
2. Changed Filter A Air(i asked them to clean, but ends up in replacing), blower cleaning
3. Break o/h
4. Door adjustment

Here are the expense details.

Consumable - 175,
Oil - 776,
Gasket - 17,
Oil Filter - 127,
ScreenWash - 35,
Bulb - 37,
Filter A AIR - 712,
BreakCleaner - 203,
Plastic & Rubber care - 150,

Paid service - 875,
Front break o/h - 440,
rear break o/h - 385,
Door Adjustment - 200,
AC blower cleaning - 250.

Total - 4920 incl tax

Overall not a bad experience even though i had a talk with SA about some extra charges he had added for Plastic & Rubber care, BreakCleaner solution & Door Adjustment.
Old 17th November 2011, 09:27   #65

@Tornado
You have two exceptional good machines(Palio 1.9D and Innova) compare to Aveo. I am sure you will be missing these two beauties.
Come into your questions.

1. The price seems to be fine.

2. I am happy with the road grip on my 14 inch tyre. The tyre profile i am using now is 195x60R14 and the stock comes with 185x60R14. I think Aveos come with a 14 inch rim, right?
There are some issues reported here with 2006 series Aveo.
a) Notchy gearshift
b) AC performance
Did you TD the car and how do you feel about this issues?

3. I haven't heard much of spares problem till now and have mixed service experiences. Spares prices are also reasonable.
Near by service centers will be Kropex. They are at Hosur road and Indranagar.
Old 17th November 2011, 17:06   #66

@Tornado , 2L is a fair price for the Aveo but please make sure you have the service history of the car.

I have seen a friend's CNG Aveo since Feb2007 and found it to be good in all departments,save gear shift.

He has covered 50k kms, and a tyre changeover is round the corner ; no other issues seen except routine service.No rattles experienced so far.

I think the Aveo bodyshell is from Aussie Holden,so don't expect issues for at least 7 years.

The service center guys insisted on plugs repalcement at 11k to which i told him to say no ; both struts were replaced recently,but there again I had told him to say No,but he didn't.
Old 17th November 2011, 23:22   #67

2 lakhs is a fair price but still try to bargain a little since the running is high. Please also check whether the previous owner has changed the stock battery and tyres. Otherwise the car is quite well built and doesnt develop rattles easily.
Also, the brakes arent the best of the lot, doesnt really inspire confidence. Please check the power window. These start acting funny after some usage, and the roll up and roll down become a little slow with time and need attention.
Old 20th January 2012, 23:02   #68

Originally Posted by hardilip View Post
@raka1o Hope the bush has solved the issue for you ...Im also facing the noise on my front shocks and even after changing the struts the creeking noise remains... esp when driving through the humps...its really irritating.... Could you let me know the service person in trident and if possible description of the bush needed.
sorry for very very late reply....I am not satisfied yet with the new bush...checking with GM guys what is the potential solution...will update you once its fixed
Old 27th May 2012, 14:21   #69

Reached 50000 km

Took 4 1/2 years to reach the mark. A very long time to reach last 1000km.
Chevrolet Aveo 1.4 buying experience and 1200km updates-photo0331.jpg  

Old 6th October 2012, 10:09   #70

51k service updates

Here is my 51K service updates, did the service on August last week at Trident. Odo was reading 51049, I was doing the service almost after 1 year and after 7k km. As part of the regular service, asked them to do the following
1. Engine oil & Oil filter
2. Engine coolant
3. Break check up
4. Clutch play and check up
5. Replace AC Vent Nozzle, center one, right side one(Got broken sometime back while rotating )
6. Asked me to do Engine Flush & Radiator Flush(haven't done this till now, so opted)

By noon got a call from SA, and were told these problems.

1. Problem with Wheel Cylinder (Brake) -
2. Some minor leak in the coolant tank
3. Need to replace the break pads

I went there to see this. He showed me, sometimes the wheel cylinder is getting gamed and the minor leak in the coolant tank. Asked him to go ahead with the replacement.
Got back the vehicle and overall i am satisfied with the work, though turned out to be little expensive.

Spares -
ELF Engine Oil - 824
Gasket - 18
Filter A-Oil - 126
Screen Wash - 35
Break Pad KIT FRNT - 1858
Nozzile A-Vent CTR - 285
Consumable - 174
ELF Coolant 5 LT - 925
Break Fluid - 206
Cap - Surge Tank - 266
Cylinder A-Wheel Brake - 1750
Tank - Surge - 705
Bardahl Engine Flush - 331
Bardahl Radiator Fast Flush - 383

Lobour -
Paid Service - 1050
Coolant Change - 140
Both Front Brake O/H Incl Air Bl - 565
Both rear Brake O/H DRUM - 530
General Checkup - 325 (Charges for AC vent replacement, Coolant tank replacement)

VAT - 2610
Service Tax - 313

A total bill of 11972

After this did a wheel Rotation, Balancing & Alignment at Madhus and Interior classic treatment at 3M Car Care HSR. Again got top quality service from these 2 places.

One question -
Always, the SA at Trident are pushing us to go for
1. Engine Tuning
2. Fuel Injector cleaning / TB cleaning
3. IAC valv tuning (don't know what it is)

Since i didn't face any problems, i haven't opted for any of these till now. My car is now 5 years and more than 52k kms done, how to identify whether to do any of these?
Old 16th February 2014, 12:35   #71

Updates after 6 years and 62500km and sold

Updating this thread after a long long time.

My trusted beauty was going good and strong. Sometime back last year August did 60K service(did at 59400km). It was a major service,changed timing belt, drive belt and all required filters. The total bill came around 15k. After that did couple of long drives.
However I started slowly thinking of getting a new ride mainly for my long drive. Skoda Rapid was in my mind, but their after sales stories prevented me to make a decision.

Then all in a sudden one of my close friend was decided to migrate to US. He was driving Innova 2.5G(Odo was 27700, less than 3 year old). He was looking to sell his well maintained ride, decided to take it from him. I got it for 9.25 lacs and sold my Aveo on November 2013.

But the painful part was to say bye to Aveo.
My perfect companion for more than 6 years and around 62500km. Not any major issues, only the periodic service, not even a single breakdown, not got stranded any where. Even after using for more than 6 years, not even a single rattling, interiors also looks as rich as new, no fading, seats and fabrics are in best quality. Very comfortable and mature highway drives.
Only on ASS i have some mixed experience.
I feel its one of the most under rated car in the segment and many people are making the wrong comments / negative rating with out having any hands on.

I have put the ads in Team-bhp and carwale. The very second day itself fixed the deal for 2.3 lacs.

Look at the snaps when I decided to sell.
Chevrolet Aveo 1.4 buying experience and 1200km updates-dscn1319.jpg  

Chevrolet Aveo 1.4 buying experience and 1200km updates-dscn1320.jpg  

Chevrolet Aveo 1.4 buying experience and 1200km updates-dscn1321.jpg  

Chevrolet Aveo 1.4 buying experience and 1200km updates-dscn1322.jpg  

Chevrolet Aveo 1.4 buying experience and 1200km updates-dscn1323.jpg  

Chevrolet Aveo 1.4 buying experience and 1200km updates-dscn1324.jpg  

Chevrolet Aveo 1.4 buying experience and 1200km updates-dscn1329.jpg  

Chevrolet Aveo 1.4 buying experience and 1200km updates-dscn1330.jpg  

Chevrolet Aveo 1.4 buying experience and 1200km updates-dscn1331.jpg  

Last edited by kavu75 : 16th February 2014 at 12:40.
kavu75 is online now   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com