Old 10th March 2024, 11:42   #181

Re: Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 73000 km comple

I was told the engine guard had signs of underbody damage, as in - scratches. I don't know which of my drivers did it. This somehow is pushing me again to stop making drivers use the storme.
I agree - one of my most common complaints about todays commercial drivers is about not treating our or their rides carefully like we do with ours, especially if we arent in the vehicle, especially if its a projected macho SUV like the Endeavour, Safari or Scorpio, thanks to social media. The Ambassador era drivers were much,much better though their road sense was atrocious. This is a vehicle that may not be made again - and if you do need a chauffeur for your drives you may have to stop giving them the Storme for its longevity, use it once in a while yourself and use the Altroz as a beater more.

Last edited by 100Kmphormore : 10th March 2024 at 12:03.
100Kmphormore is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 7th August 2024, 10:24   #182

Re: Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 73000 km comple

Update

Odo : 82,000 km

Storme is being used as the secondary car being driven by chauffeur. It is used 3 days a week.

In the 3rd week of July, I noticed reduced cooling from the AC. The cooling coil in the dashboard ac unit was replaced last year. I informed Kaveri Tata CRM Mr. Rajesh and he told me there might be a leak.

I sent the car to the dealership. He suspected there was a leak and leak test was done in the dashboard unit. Since no leak was found, the roof ac unit was checked. The cooling coil of the roof ac unit needed to be replaced. Part was not available in stock. It was ordered and the total work took 2 weeks.

I didn't mind the time because they had to check the dashboard ac coils completely forgot leak. Disassembling and reassembling the storme dashboard is quite a task. I didn't want to rush them up.

Service manager sent me these clips of leakages.

Name:  InShot_20240807_100447324.gif
Views: 363
Size:  4.40 MB

Name:  InShot_20240807_100552788.gif
Views: 378
Size:  4.33 MB

Name:  InShot_20240807_100724716.gif
Views: 373
Size:  5.77 MB

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20240803_100538806_hdr.jpg

I also got prompt updates about the work progress, though it was slower than one would like it to be. Understandably, the number of vehicles they work on, is keeping on increasing day by day and it shows.
Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img20240730wa0010.jpg

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img20240726wa0020.jpg

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img20240806wa0012.jpg

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img20240806wa0013.jpg

The car was supposed to be delivered on 4th, but it took 2 extra days. I wasn't disappointed as I realise the job was well done and that they have limited resources while the traffic in the shop floor was always high.

Total bill was Rs. 17000.

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20240807_090652982-1.jpg

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20240807_090506527-1.jpg

The AC is working fine.

I have had 6 years of flawless experience with Kaveri Tata with all 3 of my Tata cars - Altroz Diesel, Storme and Punch. All three were bought from Kaveri Tata too. But for the first time it was a disappointment yesterday. No complaints with the work done. But the communication was not effective at all. I was informed that all work was completed and the car is being sent to wash at 12 pm yesterday. I told them that I will be there at 3pm. Manager was affirmative that car will be ready by then. I reach at 3, only to find from the customer lounge that the car was still being worked upon.

I had to wait till 7 15 pm for the car to be delivered. In over 2 decades of my experience with Maruti, Mahindra, Chevrolet, Renault and Tata, I havent had to stay at the service center for 4 hours! If I had been communicated to come at 7 pm, the entire disappointment could have been avoided. The Service manager did tell me he will complete the wash and hand over the car to me. I wasn't ready to wait another 45 minutes and took the car home. Now, it's my driver's turn to clean the dirty exteriors and interiors.

Anyways, All is well that ends well I guess. Good job on the technical work by Mr. Rajesh

The car is perfect mechanically and Kaveri Tata has time and again proven to be great in maintaining it. Only change in the future will be that I will have to send my drivers for service appointments. Storme is stepping into the 7th year and I am already looking at Crysta 6S 2.4 manual diesel and Hycross GX Hybrids. I shouldn't be, but I am. The 6 year sentiment is playing it's role I think. Storme is the only car that I am using beyond the 6 year mark, but with just 82,000 km on odo, with new cooling coils, almost new tyres, the car is practically not even at 40% of its life.

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 7th August 2024 at 10:52.
PrasannaDhana is online now   (31) Thanks
Old 7th August 2024, 11:08   #183

Thank you for the update, Prassy.

Hearing about your service center, I am tempted to drive down my V400 from Bangalore, stay there for a day or two, and get the servicing done by them.

The service centers here have way too much volume and have no Storme experts - and this car really needs experts else the ownership experience can quickly go downhill.

lazy
lazy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th August 2024, 00:04   #184

Originally Posted by PrasannaDhana View Post
Update

Storme is stepping into the 7th year and I am already looking at Crysta 6S 2.4 manual diesel and Hycross GX Hybrids. I shouldn't be, but I am. The 6 year sentiment is playing it's role I think. Storme is the only car that I am using beyond the 6 year mark, but with just 82,000 km on odo, with new cooling coils, almost new tyres, the car is practically not even at 40% of its life.
The price at which you picked this car up for 6 years ago and the ride comfort and dynamics of it is not very far from a Crysta which is almost a 10 year old product by itself does not make a good value prop. Hold on to the Storme for a few more years and maybe the new-gen Fortuner will be the perfect upgrade from the Storme. If you really find the need of a new car, the Scorpio-N diesel manual is the car for you look no further.
Cliff9091 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th August 2024, 07:59   #185

1. leak test was done in the dashboard unit. Since no leak was found, the roof ac unit was checked. The cooling coil of the roof ac unit needed to be replaced.
2. 3pm to 7:15pm wait
3. The Service manager did tell me he will complete the wash and hand over the car to me. I wasn't ready to wait another 45 minutes and took the car home.
4.Storme is the only car that I am using beyond the 6 year mark, but with just 82,000 km on odo, with new cooling coils, almost new tyres, the car is practically not even at 40% of its life.
A good technical update for a person like me. Thank You Prasanna. Again, many takeaways from this episode

1. The first clip seems to show a leak from the expansion valve, which shouldn't happen
2. Evap cores (cooling coils) these days typically fail around the 7 year mark unless usage of the aircon is minimal
3. Removal and refitment of the dashboard is best done patiently; a wiring coupler forgotten or a screw/bolt not fixed can cause issues later
4. Service levels are dropping; even with all the clout you enjoyed with Kaveri, they gave you a wrong update.
5. You are someone who takes cars past the 1,00,000km mark before parting with them. In the case of the Storme, it is more about odo reading than age. I'd urge you to keep the car for at least another 2 years.

Last edited by vigsom : 9th August 2024 at 08:01.
vigsom is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th August 2024, 11:53   #186

Originally Posted by lazy View Post

Hearing about your service center, I am tempted to drive down my V400 from Bangalore, stay there for a day or two, and get the servicing done by them.
Exactly my thoughts as well Drive down for a few days, get it in a completely fit shape and then the manage the maintenance with the FNG. But for that need to source all the possible parts in advance else the few days could turn quickly to months

M
zadoom is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th August 2024, 11:24   #187

Originally Posted by lazy View Post

The service centers here have way too much volume and have no Storme experts - and this car really needs experts else the ownership experience can quickly go downhill.

lazy
If you have any major work to be done, you definitely can consider coming here. I can ask them to take care of it like they do with my cars.

Originally Posted by Cliff9091 View Post
Hold on to the Storme for a few more years and maybe the new-gen Fortuner will be the perfect upgrade from the Storme. If you really find the need of a new car, the Scorpio-N diesel manual is the car for you look no further.
Thanks. I think I will find it very hard to replace the storme, let alone, upgrade.

I have always disliked scorpios. May be its the sour experience I had a few decades back with my 3 Mahindras. Fortuner will never be VFM, which is something all my cars are.

Originally Posted by vigsom View Post
4. Service levels are dropping; even with all the clout you enjoyed with Kaveri, they gave you a wrong update.
5. You are someone who takes cars past the 1,00,000km mark before parting with them. In the case of the Storme, it is more about odo reading than age. I'd urge you to keep the car for at least another 2 years.
Thank you brother!

I happened to visit Kaveri Tata today regarding a New Harrier booking (not for me , but for a friend). The CRM Mr. Rajesh took the car in and told me he will get the interiors cleaned and also wash the car. Since my driver had washed the exteriors already, I asked him to go ahead with interior cleaning. It was done in 10 minutes. A very good job and a good gesture by Mr. Rajesh. A pleasant experience, I must say.

Yes, storme will stay longer.
PrasannaDhana is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 13th September 2024, 16:33   #188

Re: Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 82000 km comple

A bit off topic.
Can someone please point me to a reliable FNG in Chennai for Storme.
I recently purchased a Storme which needs a few things to be done.
Old 15th November 2024, 11:42   #189

Update

Just posting the 75,000 km milestone. The 75k service was done at 73,000 km.
. . . .

I haven't gotten the sunfilm pasted on rear windshield yet. I need to do it when I find time.

90,000 km Service

Firstly, the rear windshield sunfilm was installed a few months ago when I had taken one of my school buses for stickering work.

As I did 75,000 km service a bit earlier at 73,000 km, the 90,000 km service was overdue. Car has run 88,000 km.

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20241114_195511581.jpg

Routine scheduled maintenance including Oil change, fuel filter, air filter, wheel alignment and balancing, general checks were done. They didn't not have brake fluid during the 75,000 km service and hence it wasn't replaced. It was done in this service.

Total damage to the wallet was Rs. 138xx

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-screenshot_20241115105130-1.png

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20241102_095026503_hdr.jpg

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20241104_093522432_hdr.jpg

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20241104_175204239.jpg

Always a joy to see new engine oil on the dip stick

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20241104_175112182.jpg

The car was pulling slightly to the left before service. After alignment and balancing, it has become alright.

The steering started to show signs of wear. I got it stitched with artificial leather at a FNG. They charged Rs. 1000. The finish isn't great but it's worth the money and still better than seeing and feeling worn steering wheel whenever I drive.

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20240914_133520155_hdr.jpg

Storme will be 7 years old in March 2025. I am planning to get seat covers done. I have been using it with the OE seats without any cover so far. The aftermarket horn also would need a replacement.

I had a meet-up with BHPians Hserus and Indar. I drove Hserus' Endy 3.2L. Loved driving the car. The noise cancellation, sheer power, predictable handling, it was a great experience. As a package, I found it to be brilliant.

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20241005_112848577_burst000_cover.jpg

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20241005_112923220_hdr.jpg

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20241005_111336289_hdr.jpg

Driving the Storme Varicor 400 right after the Endeavour 3.2L, I realised how superbly packaged the storme is. Without any noise cancellation, the storme is impressively refined. The Varicor 400, though not as powerful as the 3.2L, is still potential enough to excite even a fast driver like me. The ride quality is equally impressive. The sense of space and a second row that's much better than even the Endy. I will have a tough time finding a replacement for the Safari Storme.

A few pics from Ayudha Pooja 2024

All 4 humble workhorses

6.75 years old, 88,000 km run Safari Storme 2.2L Varicor 400

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20241011_092223906_hdr.jpg

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20241011_181203639.jpg

3 years old, 73,000 km run Altroz 1.5L diesel

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20241011_084049499_hdr.jpg

3 years old, 25,000 km run Celerio 1.0L

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20241011_083748393.jpg

10 months old, 6000 km run Punch 1.2L

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20241011_084034644_hdr.jpg

Punch was bought so that my father would use it instead of the celerio. But he says the punch steering and clutch are heavier than the celerio and he prefers lighter celerio for driving. Punch stays idle for most of the month except for some random grocery and misc runs.

Storme got double Pooja along with vehicles at one of my schools

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-fb_img_1731652814124.jpg

Contd..

Last edited by Aditya : 15th November 2024 at 16:55. Reason: Typo; image deleted
PrasannaDhana is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 15th November 2024, 11:55   #190

Re: Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 82000 km comple

Things yet to be resolved

* Rear door lock sensor is throwing an error. Door open prompt on the dash. I have made it a habit to manually lock the driver door which centrally locks all doors before every drive.

* The accident repair of the rear door, coil replacement of the roof AC unit and dash AC unit have all created a few rattles when the car is driven on rumble strips.

All 3 of my tatas were personally handled by Kaveri Tata CRM Mr. Rajesh for the last 2 years. He knew all minor details of the storme as he personally supervised the accident repair, coil replacements as well as scheduled services. He has quit Kaveri Tata. Quite a bummer. Now I have acquainted with new service personnel.

Mr. Rajesh informed me in the past that new tailgate door lock needs to be ordered to rectify issue no 1. I asked the service personnel to work on the above 2 issues. The routine service took them one full day and a half. I won't blame them as the number of cars they see daily is quite a lot. They needed a few more days to work on the issues. I didn't have the time or the patience and have decided that I will get it done in the 1,05,000 km service.

A few pics

An odd car out in the sea of Compact SUVs

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20241104_183049369-1.jpg

With the underrated Mahindra

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20240928_064931748.jpg

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20240929_065354663.jpg

A surprise highway meet with BHPian Ramesh Malairaj and his XUV7OO

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20241017_114015232_hdr.jpg

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20241017_114004570.jpg

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20241008_131153785.jpg

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20241008_131157933.jpg

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20241001_095020107.jpg

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20240930_104959319_hdr.jpg

We also added another Tata to the extended family this month - A gorgeous dark Harrier AT. My brother's first car. Really hope it turns out to be reliable.

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-img_20241107_131320918.jpg

Storme keeps impressing with excellent fuel economy. It is infact cheaper than my Punch per km. I am not someone who drives sedately by any means. Even then, the storme delivers 13 kmpl at all times.

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-screenshot_20241115120138-1.png

Usage has crossed 15,000 km already for 2024. I am expecting another 3000 km before concluding the year.

Safari love story Part 2 | Prassy's 2018 Tata Safari Storme VX 4x2 Varicor 400 | 90,000 kms service-screenshot_20241115120347-1.png

Next update will be at 1 lakh km milestone.

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 15th November 2024 at 12:08.
PrasannaDhana is online now   (12) Thanks