Old 8th December 2009, 13:41   #406

Originally Posted by kpzen View Post

BTW, your truck is really well maintained. Doesn't look 75k kms old.
I've seen Sumans beast in motion and trust me it looks as good as new with no noticeable dents/scratches etc.

I think you should also sport the "LOVE CARS LIVE CARS " on you ride which would be very apt in showing your love for the car

I'm sure your car must be thanking you in it's own way for keeping her like that , it would definitely hug and thank you if it had life
Old 8th December 2009, 13:45   #407

Originally Posted by kpzen View Post
BTW, your truck is really well maintained. Doesn't look 75k kms old.
Originally Posted by harishnayak View Post
I'm sure your car must be thanking you in it's own way for keeping her like that , it would definitely hug and thank you if it had life
Thanks guys! Btw, where are you these days Harish, don't see you on the highway? Or maybe our timings don't match!

Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
I read about hrag's Safari facing the same problem apart from one 1.5 Yr old Safari that I was almost on the verge of buying before settlling on the Storm.
Oh yes, Hrishi's truck did have the problem but that was at way more mileage - probably post 65-70k IIRC? And I don't think it's that prevalent - in fact, the Autolinks GM had told me that mine was the first case at their Gurgaon workshop

Last edited by suman : 8th December 2009 at 13:48.
Old 8th December 2009, 13:48   #408

Originally Posted by suman View Post
Thanks guys! Btw, where are you these days Harish, don't see you on the highway? Or maybe our timings don't match!
Well usually i'm on the NH8 between 8:00 - 8:30 pm towards gurgaon and around 7:30 - 8:00 am towards Delhi.

Have been looking for you but no luck ,what are your timings?

Last edited by harishnayak : 8th December 2009 at 13:56. Reason: Spelling
Old 8th December 2009, 13:51   #409

Originally Posted by harishnayak View Post
Have been looking for you but now luck ,what are your timings?
Towards Delhi between 7 & 7.30 and back between 7.30 & 8! Timing mismatch kya karein!
Old 8th December 2009, 13:56   #410

Well currently i'm on vacation this week and would join work on coming Monday , i have flexi timings so i would hit the hwy towards Delhi between 7 -7:30 am and then maybe we can spot each other.
Old 8th December 2009, 17:05   #411

If you do not idle after starting and before shutting down, it will cause turbo wear. I always make it a point to idle for about a minute, or coast on second gear idle in the apartment complex before opening up.
Cold starts the idling is around 2 minutes for me.
Old 5th January 2010, 20:46   #412

tsk1979 said it right.

The Owner's manual says a minimum of 30sec idling after engine start and before engine stop.

Page-76 of the manual reads as:

Before starting

1. Apply parking brake.
2. Ensure gear lever in neutral.
A. Insert the key in steering cum ignition lock and turn it to ‘ON’ position.
B. Press the clutch pedal fully.
C. Now crank the engine.
D. If the engine does not start turn the key to off position and try after
30 seconds.

NOTICE
After starting run the engine in low idle speed for at least 30 seconds.
Do not press accelerator pedal while starting the engine to avoid
damage to turbocharger..

Stopping the Engine
Before switching off the engine, run the engine idle for atleast 30 seconds
and then switch off. This will allow the engine oil to lubricate the
turbocharger, till its speed is fully reduced and also allow the unit to cool
down.

Above precautions will ensure satisfactory life and performance from
the turbocharger.
Old 8th January 2010, 06:57   #413

I am just curious, why is it required to press the clutch during start? Is it more like a preventive measure that even if the vehicle is in gear it should not be a problem. Thanks.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...rting-car.html

I found this thread but there is no specific details about Safari.

Last edited by sumannandy : 8th January 2010 at 07:08.
Old 8th January 2010, 10:42   #414

Originally Posted by sumannandy View Post
I am just curious, why is it required to press the clutch during start? Is it more like a preventive measure that even if the vehicle is in gear it should not be a problem. Thanks.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...rting-car.html

I found this thread but there is no specific details about Safari.
Its not a Safari specific practice, but its just to reduce the load on the starter motor when cranking, based on what i have read. Its also a good practice because as you rightly mentioned, even if the vehicle is in gear, it doesnt take-off.
Old 4th February 2010, 11:01   #415

Just another day in the life......

Another "interesting" odo reading on the expressway this morning -
Tata Safari Dicor 3.0L VX 4x4 - Leh'd, 105k kms up & Auf Wiedersehen!-img002.jpg
Tata Safari Dicor 3.0L VX 4x4 - Leh'd, 105k kms up & Auf Wiedersehen!-img003.jpg

Will provide some updates soon, noteworthy among them was the replacement of the Brake Discs under Extended Warranty, courtesy Autolinks - to be honest, although I'd told them to try, I did not expect them to be successful. Hats off to them, it was their sheer aggression & persuasion that finally convinced the third party insurers to pass the extended warranty claim. Good job!

As the odo approaches 80k kms, high on my list of priorities is to get the AC compressor changed under warranty - its gets a tad noisy during the hot summer months & since the extended warranty for the AC components is restricted to 80k kms, its time to get the show on the road. Strategy has been discussed with Autolinks, I need to find a couple of days that I can leave the car with them & get it over with.
Old 4th February 2010, 11:51   #416

Will provide some updates soon, noteworthy among them was the replacement of the Brake Discs under Extended Warranty, courtesy Autolinks - to be honest, although I'd told them to try, I did not expect them to be successful. Hats off to them, it was their sheer aggression & persuasion that finally convinced the third party insurers to pass the extended warranty claim. Good job!

As the odo approaches 80k kms, high on my list of priorities is to get the AC compressor changed under warranty - its gets a tad noisy during the hot summer months & since the extended warranty for the AC components is restricted to 80k kms, its time to get the show on the road. Strategy has been discussed with Autolinks, I need to find a couple of days that I can leave the car with them & get it over with.
Now that is called taking advantage of the Extended Warranty to the fullest
Old 4th February 2010, 23:58   #417
adc

Will provide some updates soon, noteworthy among them was the replacement of the Brake Discs under Extended Warranty, courtesy Autolinks
Suman da great odo reading of course. And brake discs are covered under EW is what edges me now to change for my VTT also. These fellows said that the discs have become thin and needed to replace and quoting me some good price, told them to skim it and keep it as it is. Will push them up for this on EW.

Are brake callipers covered under EW?
Old 5th February 2010, 11:03   #418

Anirban, killer Avatar
Originally Posted by adc View Post
Are brake callipers covered under EW?
Yup, they should be, here's what they mention -
"Brake System: Servo, master cylinder, wheel cylinder, diesel vacuum pump, calipers, discs (excluding brake pads / liners), drums, handbrake lever and ratchet."

Last edited by suman : 5th February 2010 at 11:09.
Old 21st February 2010, 11:24   #419

Rolling on towards 80k kms.....

Been a while so here are some updates -
  • As the winter was setting in around December, I noticed that the self starter was sounding very sluggish during the morning starts. One cold morning, it clicked over but didn't crank. Switch off-switch on & then it turned. Spoke to Autolinks & it was attended to during the 75k kms service. In case of starter problems, the same is removed & sent to the manufacturer who do the needful & send back. The internal components are replaced as required, the housing is not changed. All replacements were taken care of under EW & it was a joy to hear the "new" car cranking sound when it was done
  • As I'd mentioned earlier, the shudder on braking was diagnosed as Brake Discs - I asked Autolinks to change them & to put pressure on the extended warranty insurer to have this covered under EW. Given the mileage covered, this was a shameless request but Autolinks decided to give it a shot! Numerous phone arguments & e-mail exchanges later, the EW guys finally gave in & agreed! Saved me close to 3k including labour etc, hats off to their perseverance
  • The routine 75k kms service was completed in mid December, the gear lever had developed some play & vibrations - Gear Shift Linkage kit was changed (around Rs 165 odd) & the problem has gone. Windscreen Washer line was cleaned out.
  • Wheel Rotation, Alignment & Balancing was done at Star Wheels around 78k kms
  • One idiotic biker slammed into the stepney cover in almost bumper to bumper traffic on the Modi Mill flyover one morning & cracked the left lower edge of the cover. It was so frustrating I can't tell you - its very expensive to replace & I don't even think I'll get the 3 litre stepney cover; no option but to let it be as it is. Have straightened it out to the extent possible but the crack remains. To top it all, the idiot was trying to apologetically explain how it was due to his Disc Brakes - till I told him in colorful language to buzz off & go get a life! First time I've heard Disc Brakes being blamed for rank bad driving & poor braking!
  • The front floor rubber mats were disintegrating so I picked up a set of 4 from Batra Car Care, along with a Gel Perfume
Not much else to report except what I'd mentioned about the AC compressor. Since it was getting close to 80k kms, left the vehicle with them overnight last week to lodge an EW claim for the AC compressor. The claim was passed without a surveyor's visit & I now need to find time to leave the vehicle with them for 3 days (new system dictates that they have to send across the old compressor to receive the fresh one). Point to be noted is that under the EW, Subros supplies reconditioned compressors & not new ones (huge price difference, 35k odd for a new versus 8-8.5k for a reconditioned). I was a little apprehensive but Autolinks have fitted these on at least a couple of trucks which are running around for 9 months already with no issues. Besides, one is anyway covered under parts warranty for a year so that's fine.

Apart from a general tightening of suspension & centre pin greasing ("khut" sound on full left or right lock), they changed the power steering reservoir return line since there was a small leak detected. The ABS warning light had come on a couple of times lately so I asked them to run a diagnostics - turned out that the right rear sensor was malfunctioning. Now, one of the sensors had been changed after our Leh trip last year (Left rear) and sensors are not covered under EW. As a goodwill gesture, Autolinks covered this one under part warranty so that was close to 2k saved. The windscreen washer motor was also changed FOC since the water pressure was still not up to the mark but they asked me to keep a watch - if it still didn't improve, then the entire line would need to be attended to or replaced.

What else? Not much, just got my lazy driver to shampoo The Beast yesterday so its gleaming again. 80k kms service should be coming up in a week or ten days. Total cost of ownership is presently Rs 99,211, which translates to Rs 1.26 per km (I had earlier missed out including the Rs 4,800 cost of the battery that I'd replaced before the Leh trip which I've included now). Will keep you posted as we trundle along.......

Last edited by suman : 21st February 2010 at 11:34.
Old 21st February 2010, 23:26   #420

I think the maintenance issues seem reasonable considering your odometer reading. Autolinks does seem to be very co-operative. How's the Fiesta going on and what is the likely replacement? Linea T-Jet?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com