Nice read. This is the second 3GT long term review that I went through. Even though your car came first in the order of purchase when specifically compared to 'graaja' 3GT link:
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-...s-home-29.html
I went through 'graaja' thread first and then went through your thread. His car has put on great mileage even though his purchase came latter, not to forget yours is a Diesel car while his is Petrol. My impressions after going through both the threads are:
(1) The 3GT is worth it for someone looking for a supple ride with ample amount of boot space especially when compared to the lean, taut 3 series. The bulk 3GT carries on its shoulders when compared to 3 series is akin to its supple ride and humungous boot. Who knows even the rear seat space must have been better compared in 3GT compared to its sibling.
Graaja's attempt to upgrade suspension on his 3GT may have been based on a trade off: To get stiffened suspension and its associated taut ride characteristics at the expense of supple ride which came with stock 3GT.
He ended up facing 3 bent rims with RFT's on, later those RFT's were replaced with tubeless tires and BBS allows , yet still one bent rim. It was his insertion (Reference to #421):
" I think it is a combination of the stiff sidewalls of the RFTs, lower profile with the 18" wheels and weak alloys that resulted in this. I had 3 bent alloys around 30k kilometers and the bend was significant. After this, I have driven 50K kilometers on the BBS alloys and tubeless tires and only one of them bent enough to warrant a replacement. The other that I replaced was mainly to replace them in pairs."
If RFT's and weak alloys being the only constant, in your car and his, and if by taking the above into consideration then:
Why haven't you faced bent alloys?
You have actually replaced RFT's for RFT's , you didn't go the tubeless tire way.
(2) 'The intention to replace all four shock absorbers before the car "falls off the BSI ramp" (figuratively speaking)' may have been of paramount importance when compared to replacing only two shock absorbers which had actually gone bad.
Final BSI update
I had taken the 5 years 60,000 BSI package. Got a final service done from BMW to check whether there was anything that needed attention. In the recent past one of the sensors had given up yet again which was duly replaced under warranty. As a last service, all 4 shock absorbers were also changed by BMW (2 were gone and 2 had become hard). I am really pleased at this outcome from BMW as this would have been a major expense outside of BSI (about 1.2 Lakh approx at A.S.S rates).
|
Kindly confirm whether CBS prompted for the two busted shocks and how was the "hardness" of the other two shock absorbers estimated?
(3)
Hey Graaja,
So here is the information you requested. Before anything else, my personal advice would be to not take BSI at all – certainly not if your running is on the lower side, and possibly even if it is on the higher side you may just want the convenience of servicing at your own will.
You principally don’t want to be bound by the automatic service reminders. I had a situation where my car went in twice in two months, because of the condition based service intervals. They only did brake pad in the first and then did the oil change in the next service. This is pretty inconvenient. Now imagine you want to do a long drive in your car and want all preventive or anticipated maintenance in advance of the trip. You cannot override the CBS rule.
|
If I ever owned a BMW offering, I wouldn't go for BSI. Agreed with your advise. Inspite of the multiple trips one needs to take in order to complete separate jobs which the CBS displays in the car, something that could have been done in one job, it seems service advisor's wont budge until prompted by CBS to do the required job.
In graaja's thread , I encountered an instance where the brake pads required replacement but it was identified that disc's need replacement as well. Some odd rule -- seems to be my impression-- that those service people pulled out from some BSI textbook! (Pun intended) stating both needs to be replaced together! and that they would replace both once disc's arrive. I mean, thats what I understood. What dependency they brought up.
(3) Final question--and this is something I asked in another thread as well, but still awaiting reply.
When you signed up for BSI, did that document set forth in detail some dependencies? For example, jobs such as 'brake pads+discs' or any such jobs coupled together, would require parts to be changed in pairs instead of being changed separately?
Nevertheless, If I were asked to choose between 3-series and 3GT. I would choose the latter.