Team-BHP - VW Polo GT TDI ownership log EDIT: 9 years and 178,000 km later...

-   Long-Term Ownership Reviews (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-term-ownership-reviews/)
-   -   VW Polo GT TDI ownership log EDIT: 9 years and 178,000 km later... (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-term-ownership-reviews/142745-vw-polo-gt-tdi-ownership-log-edit-9-years-178-000-km-later-47.html)

Originally Posted by etchemkay (Post 3853695)
Now that the warranty period for my ride is over, operation Clone-Gannu-GT-TDi begins for me! Slowly and steadily though .. Gannu, you will be PMed :D

Haha no worries Himanshu. Will be happy to help in any way I can. :)

Any reason you didn't opt for the extended warranty? Leave aside the electrics, I wanted the other bits (engine, gearbox, fuel, cooling system) to be covered at least till the vehicle clocks 1L km. Suspension will be a goner once we upgrade to a new set of aftermarket shocks anyway but not too worried about this system for the moment.

Originally Posted by ajaypjayaraj (Post 3854069)
Did you download it or got the DVD? I had v5.1 and when my laptop crashed, I lost all the files. This time, I got v5.2 on DVD. Cant think of downloading 70gb on the broadband onboard. And also, even if I forget to create a back up, I always have the DVD. If you downloaded, I hope you already created back up of those files.

Downloaded. Have burned it into multiple dual layer DVDs. :)

Couple of instances to report.
  1. A Fortuner bumped into the rear bumper from the rear-left side while we were stuck in a traffic jam. I think the guy took his foot off the clutch quickly and the SUV swerved into right; both of us were in adjacent lanes. Upon asking him, what just happened, he smirked and said he was afraid! We didn’t certainly want to make a scene there since he was with his family and a small kid in the rear bench. So we left, praying and hoping my tail light was unharmed. Reached a safe spot further ahead, parked the car and got to down to inspect for damages.

VW Polo GT TDI ownership log EDIT: 9 years and 178,000 km later...-fortuner-bump.jpg

Luckily, the tail light was safe! The bumper has a few nicks and a pointy spot, no dislocation but we felt a nice jerk in the cabin when the Fortuner bumped into us. Would like to get this touched upon but we don’t have a place like Trend in Bangalore which does touch ups and dent removals. The Fortuner had a slightly misaligned front bumper at the front-right.

2. My car was parked at a society’s empty parking lot for a weekend when I was staying at my friend's place and looks like the kids (or the adults) there had a good time playing around with sand and stones, scratching the bonnet in the process. The scratches were very deep and there were loads of it on the whole bonnet.

VW Polo GT TDI ownership log EDIT: 9 years and 178,000 km later...-bonnet_1.jpg

VW Polo GT TDI ownership log EDIT: 9 years and 178,000 km later...-bonnet_2.jpg

Had to get it repainted and VW charged 4400 Rs. for it.

VW Polo GT TDI ownership log EDIT: 9 years and 178,000 km later...-bonnet_3.jpg

No way a rubbing compound or a visit to 3M could have helped - the scratches at 2 locations were long and very deep.

Oh they didn’t stop there. The location above the GT logo has a cross gifted by these guys. This one can be rubbed and the scratch isn’t very deep. Will click a snap and share it later.

EDIT: Here we go:

VW Polo GT TDI ownership log EDIT: 9 years and 178,000 km later...-img_20151130_081340.jpg

Also figured out that while scrolling through the phonebook contacts on the MFD using the steering wheel buttons, long pressing the top/bottom buttons would cycle through the first alphabet of the contacts. So getting to a contact whose name starts with say M or N, this is easier instead of scrolling through one by one. I don’t use voice dialing - it’s a pain sometimes!

BTW, here are some modifications in the pipeline:
  1. When I had installed the maxidot cluster, to get rid of the low-coolant level warning light on the cluster:

VW Polo GT TDI ownership log EDIT: 9 years and 178,000 km later...-low-coolant-warning.jpg

I had connected the coolant shortage sender line (G32) to GND. Later, the facelift models were launched and they had the coolant level sensors inside the expansion tank with the proper harness from the factory:

This pic is from my car which has a blanked slot there with no sensors inside the reservoir:

Will switch to the new reservoir shortly and have the harness routed accordingly. I reckon this shouldn’t be very expensive - a new reservoir, coolant, connector and harness. This way, I’ll have the 2 year old stock coolant renewed as well.

2. Light and rain sensor - Since I have a superior BCM now, I thought I’ll have this feature since it is inexpensive (<2k INR). The Jetta gets the OEM auto dimming mirror with the sensor integrated within the mount but there are a few cars like the VW Touran, where the auto-dimming mirror and the sensors are independent units and the sensor is mounted to the windshield separately. Elsawin helped me with the current flow diagram of the sensor:

VW Polo GT TDI ownership log EDIT: 9 years and 178,000 km later...-rain-sensor.png

That seems very easy! But I am just waiting to get hold of this part:

VW Polo GT TDI ownership log EDIT: 9 years and 178,000 km later...-rls_duch_z_pokrywka_img_2234.jpg

VW Polo GT TDI ownership log EDIT: 9 years and 178,000 km later...-rls_nakladka_packa_1t0955738y20.jpg

which will conceal the harness and the sensor. Belongs to the Touran I believe but isn’t available easily. I should have got the OEM anti-glare mirror kit back then - I thought the rain-light sensor may have to be discarded when the windshield is replaced whereas only the mount is discarded. The sensor can be taken out from the mount. Anyways, let’s see how this pans out. :)

3. Electrically folding mirrors with indicators - I thought this would have been an expensive add-on going but VW itself is retailing this for less than 6k per assembly in India! So that’s less than Rs. 15k for the whole thing! I was shocked when a BHPian recently shared the invoice for the replacement of the mirror on his ownership thread, followed up with my SA this weekend and he confirmed the price. Will take this up next year. I can get the new controller from Ali. I’ll be installing the puddle lights on this along with the auto-folding module.

4. Front bumper replacement + front parking sensors - Ever since the facelift was out, I liked the design of the new front bumper compared to the pre-facelift one and wanted to make the switch sometime. I’ll be getting the one that comes with the Trendline variant without the chrome lining on the lower air dam:

VW Polo GT TDI ownership log EDIT: 9 years and 178,000 km later...-trendline-front.jpg

While replacing the front bumper, we’ll install the parking sensors on the bumper and route the harness inside the cabin and keep it there until the 8K OPS unit arrives. Once the unit arrives, we’ll have to route the front sensor harness to the rear through the door sills/ceiling to connect it to the new unit.

Got the price from the local service center for some parts today:

VW Polo GT TDI ownership log EDIT: 9 years and 178,000 km later...-price-list.jpg

Originally Posted by Gannu_1 (Post 3852539)
Just found out that the headlights' plastic mounts have replacement kits available so if the stock mount moulded to the headlight comes off, the replacement part can be screwed to the holes already present in the headlamps (I am guessing there will be no internal threading in the holes).

These headlight repair fixtures are available with the local service center as well. Priced at Rs. 1625 per pair per headlamp:

VW Polo GT TDI ownership log EDIT: 9 years and 178,000 km later...-img_20151128_150429.jpg

OK leaving all that aside, I have begun the research for the dream DIY I wish to do next year. And every day I end up learning something new towards this cause! If all goes well (finances, parts availability, research and data, support from service center), I am all set! And if it is successfully completed, it will be one hell of an achievement for me! No, it is not the OEM bi-xenon headlamps or rear disc brakes. I am happy with the current setup. :)

Originally Posted by Gannu_1 (Post 3857998)

OK leaving all that aside, I have begun the research for the dream DIY I wish to do next year.
And if it is successfully completed, it will be one hell of an achievement for me!

Dream DIY Gannu ?? IMO every single one of your DIY has been like a dream for me bro :uncontrol

Some really low lying scum bags can even think of vandalising a well maintained car. I could care less if its a kid or a moron, I just can't imagine excusing such pathetic lives :Frustrati

I am really glad that you stead is back in all its glory and with the set of additions you have planned, I think this may well become the most exclusive Polo in INDIA soon.

Sorry to hear about your experience with the fool in the suv and the scratches on the bonnet. Great call on letting it go because children definitely don't deserve the unpleasantness.The VW service centre has done a real decent paint job though. Waiting eagerly for your DIY on the puddle lamps, thats something i've been wanting to do. Would you be getting the VW logo ones?

Gannu, really sorry to hear about the rear bumper and the scratches at the GT logo as I can understand the pain.

There were two such incidents happened to my white GT once while coming on Bellandur Flyover when an auto rickshaw rammed into my car's rear bumper and I had to excuse the auto driver as he is old enough to drive an auto but luckily no damage to the bumper and the rubbing compound had taken away the complete scratches and then I applied a little candy white nailpolish to fix the deep starches which were very minute and the final outcome was not bad at all. Secondly, while I stopped at a Signal near Bommanahalli, a drunken motor cyclist hit from behind and ran away and it was his bike's tire which hit my car's rear bumper, rubbing compound was very effective to treat it but sadly, I had to pay the price for the left tail light which was completely damaged by the bike's handle.

Note: Rubbing compound is very effective but after few washes it fades away and exposes the scratches underneath to some extent.
Coming to the Trendz garage, I feel these guys have become too busy now a days or they have decided not to take up minor works like small touch-ups as I took my car for these two times and they were not ready to handle it and kept my work postponed for couple of times. Also they were quoting too much for minor touch-up works. So, I did the work by my own with just a rubbing compound.

Hi Gannu,

Would you be able to help me identify location of clips to remove lower grill from the front bumper in Vento 2015 facelift.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...ml#post3860794

Name:  VentoLowerBumperGrill.png
Views: 23838
Size:  249.0 KB

Regards.

55,000 km up!

VW Polo GT TDI ownership log EDIT: 9 years and 178,000 km later...-wp_20151226_08_17_17_pro.jpg

The car has been running just fine. *touchwood* Winters are here and I don’t turn on the AC during the morning drives; I prefer to have the recirculation mode off with the windows rolled up. No misting on the windshield or windows thus. Cruise control has helped immensely! Check out the fuel efficiency during the last tankful:

Distance traveled: 914.5 km

VW Polo GT TDI ownership log EDIT: 9 years and 178,000 km later...-wp_20151224_16_37_19_pro.jpg

Fuel filled (tankful to tankful): 39.61 l

VW Polo GT TDI ownership log EDIT: 9 years and 178,000 km later...-wp_20151224_16_40_14_pro.jpg

FE: 23.08 km/l

Have some things lined up for the next month. Shall update this thread shortly. :)

Originally Posted by antardaksh (Post 3867682)
Hi Gannu,

Would you be able to help me identify location of clips to remove lower grill from the front bumper in Vento 2015 facelift.

Regards.

Sorry antardaksh, I've no clue about that. Best to ask the service center about it.

Gannu Bhai need your help for installation of Auto Dimming Mirror. I want to know how to remove the existing mirror from the front glass?
Also if you could guide me for what are the components we need for installation of auto folding mirror?

High 5! :D

VW Polo GT TDI ownership log EDIT: 9 years and 178,000 km later...-img_1604.jpg

Originally Posted by sunilsoft (Post 3880147)
Gannu Bhai need your help for installation of Auto Dimming Mirror. I want to know how to remove the existing mirror from the front glass?

You need to slide it out of the mount in the direction as shown above. I used a mallet to strike it out as it wasn’t budging out easily.

VW Polo GT TDI ownership log EDIT: 9 years and 178,000 km later...-ir3.png

As for the connections - connect the GND to a fastener anywhere on the body and tap the +12 V from the fuse box’s empty slot (eg. no. 24) using a fuse tap connector. Refer Anurag’s DIY thread for the details.

Originally Posted by sunilsoft (Post 3880147)
Also if you could guide me for what are the components we need for installation of auto folding mirror?

Sorry I don’t have any details on the auto-folding ORVMs as I haven’t researched much on this subject yet.

Originally Posted by Gannu_1 (Post 3880165)
High 5! :D

Attachment 1454392

Your's is a TDI right?
Why does the redline start at 6800 RPM? :Shockked:

Please change the title of the thread if not updated. :D

Originally Posted by landcruiser123 (Post 3880169)
Your's is a TDI right?
Why does the redline start at 6800 RPM? :Shockked:

Please change the title of the thread if not updated. :D

His car is very much a TDi. People like Gannu don't mess up things like this :)

If you follow his threads, he installed TSi cluster on his TDi. Hope this answers.

Originally Posted by Gannu_1 (Post 3857998)
While replacing the front bumper, we’ll install the parking sensors on the bumper and route the harness inside the cabin and keep it there until the 8K OPS unit arrives. Once the unit arrives, we’ll have to route the front sensor harness to the rear through the door sills/ceiling to connect it to the new unit.

Hi Gannu,

Could you please help with following questions

1. I want to add parking sensors on the front bumper, would following part suffice and how this is different from the 8K unit you are planing to buy. I believe one difference in number of sensors (8 vs 4).

Product name from AE: "OEM VW Rear OPS 4K Park Pilot 4 Parking Sensors Kit For Volkswagen New Polo 6R PQ25 6R0 919 475"

Rear parking sensors are already there without ops.

2. Is it possible to integrate existing rear parking sensor with new front, so that we are able to reuse some components or we need 8K unit for integrated front and rear parking sensor?

Regards.

Originally Posted by antardaksh (Post 3881643)
1. I want to add parking sensors on the front bumper, would following part suffice and how this is different from the 8K unit you are planing to buy. I believe one difference in number of sensors (8 vs 4).

Product name from AE: "OEM VW Rear OPS 4K Park Pilot 4 Parking Sensors Kit For Volkswagen New Polo 6R PQ25 6R0 919 475"

Rear parking sensors are already there without ops.

No you need an 8K compatible unit. Your current unit which is a 4K unit supports only the beeps through the buzzer and no canbus support. You need an 8K unit with canbus support if you intend to add the sensors for the front bumper.

Originally Posted by antardaksh (Post 3881643)
2. Is it possible to integrate existing rear parking sensor with new front, so that we are able to reuse some components or we need 8K unit for integrated front and rear parking sensor?

You will need a new 8K OPS module. Your existing sensors for the rear bumper and the buzzer is on a separate wiring harness which will connect to the new unit.

Hi Gannu,
Let me first congratulate on your brilliant ownership report. I have gone through your thread countless times. All the DIY's that you have carried out are brilliant and some requires in depth automotive knowledge. Hats off to you.
Glued to this thread big time. Waiting for your next update :)

It’s been a while since the last update. The car has clocked 60,000 km and was serviced last week. I’ve summarized everything below including some changes and DIY work recently carried out.

That would be all. The next major upgrade would be the suspension. On every other weekend, there's something or the other to fiddle around with the car. stupid: