On a lazy Sunday afternoon towards the fag end of 2017, I thought it was perfect time to update the same and see if it qualifies to become a "long-term ownership review"
Apologies for the prolonged silence !!A failed startup was more than enough to keep me super occupied in all these years along with a lovely princess who is now 3.5 yrs old.
80000kms and 4 year update
As i type, the car is running smooth at around 82K on the odometer but off late there are few observations
Positives that I LUV Compact size - boon in chocked cities such as Bangalore. Car is effortless to maneuver and feels just like a hatchback
Mile cruncher - this 1.25l DDiS loves highways. sweet spot being around 2-3K RPM and i mostly keep the needle at 2500RPM and dusky can chug along all day at 100-110kmph. Though there is turbo lag below 1.8K RPM, i guess it was never a deal breaker since day 1.
Kitna deti hai Its a Maruti, so how can i skip answering this ? I have always managed around 14-16kmpl in Bangalore traffic and maximum of 19.5kmpl on highways. This drops to 17kmpl during "ghat" driving, and when i am in mood to revv/shift gears often.
People mover There are couple of incidents which prove the varsatile nature of this car. I once carried my whole office for a lunch outing. Well being a small startup, we were just 8 geeks. Other incident being family mover - Made a quick visit to the Heritage Winery on Mysore road with 6 adults and 3 kids and we decided to travel together avoiding two cars.
Not so great things Lack of boot space
It was a day-1 problem, but somehow not a deal breaker. as i never had more than 5 people on long journeys along with luggage. I am looking at the new Maruti MPV scoops with great hope that we will see bigger boot.
Gearbox
Having owned SX-4 in the family, SA had mentioned about issues with the gearbox with the 90hp DDiS and told will have to open it up within 80k kms. Though the SX4 is still running smooth at over 1lakh kms, Ertiga was not so lucky. More on that to follow
Service costs at dealerships Maruti certainly is not a cheap car to maintain. In fact it costs as much as a Ford or Skoda/VW if we periodically visit dealerships for servicing. Most of us have already seen a video of Baleno service. They dont do much either. I have been visiting a MASS (not dealership) since my swift and continue to service my Ertiga from there. This ensures my car runs smooth and doesn't leave me stranded on highways !!
Hiccups on the way !! Engine oil leakage This started as early as 5000kms and replaced the oil seal packing under warranty.
Symptoms: Notice oil leak near oil sump(
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...ml#post3323658 Dead battery While coming back from a mall, went to re-fuel and the car never started after refueling. Called the Maruti on road service and the help reached in 10 mins and i was on the move. Replaced the battery !!
Symptoms: If there are issues with electrical system, watch out !!. Power steering warning light kept popping about a week back and for the first time i realized how hard it is without the electronic assist. Also the car needed a longer crank the day before.
Issue with Synchronizer rings
By now i guess this is well known issue. This happened at around 67000kms and 1 month to before expiry of my 4 year warranty. Rushed my car to BIMAL and they passed the blame on clutch assembly but eventually agreed to replace the synchronizer rings under warranty and looking at the high running i also decided to replace my clutch disk and the cover avoiding the labor charges(though I only experienced slight shudder on inclines)
Symptoms: It all started with difficulty to slot in 1 and 2 gears
New Clutch gone kaput in 12000kms
My car had crossed 81K and was planning to drop for service and as i was telling my wife that even after 80K the car is butter smooth, there was a loud judder. This came all of a sudden and i struggled to drive to office and back. Car would hardly move in reverse too !! There was no loss of power in higher gears except for that annoying shudder and noise. As the warranty had expired, Avoided BIMAL and my local SA told that they must have messed up while replacing the clutch disk during gear box repair and that had led to a damage to flywheel as well
So i had to replace entire clutch assembly (around 8.5K). This only happened because i gave the car to dealership for warranty repair and was not present during the repair.
Other updates
The stock MRF ZVTV lasted over 65000kms, they could have lasted another 10-15k kms however i found them to be pretty noisy. I replaced them with Yoko Earth 1 upsized to 195/60 R15.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/tyre-a...ml#post4181255
Its been around 16K kms and Earth1s have been aging well. Certainly the noise has increased but it could also be because i am too lazy to remove those stones
I recommend these for on looking for premium yet VFM tyres. Certainly cheaper than Michelin XM2 or PLC and should last around 50K kms. I considered XM2 but not sure if i will keep my car beyond 2018 or so.
That brings me to my next update. What next for 2018 ?
I am a single driver in the family and Ertiga is that perfect all rounder that didnt let me down even once !! However it is becoming increasingly difficult to drive a manual in Bangalore traffic and i am on the lookout for an automatic.
I even started a thread on this and it is not going to be easy to find a replacement for Ertiga !!
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/what-c...ml#post4276513
It is obvious I need something as special as Ertiga, but i am confused as to
1. Buy an automatic hatch(entry level AMT like Alto/Celerio) and keep Ertiga
2. Upgrade to a proper automatic(as shared in the thread)
Option 1 is ideal for chocked city roads, small car for office commute and Ertiga for highways(at least till 2020)
Option 2 is to go for a 7 seater automatic like HEXA/XUV500 but it will be a pain in city.
Having a lot of hopes on Auto expo 2018, especially the Mahindra MPV or the new Ertiga (if it comes with a proper automatic)
So to summarize, the car still drives like new(new battery, tyres, clutch(2) and gears) and i don't see any drop in the performance or handling.
The ideal replacement for an Ertiga i feel would be an all new Ertiga which is wider, longer and has 1.5l engines(over 100Bhp) and 6 speed automatic and until that happens, i guess i will have to wait. No regrets though !!