Old 9th March 2013, 09:13   #16

Re: Long Term Ownership - My Scorpio Mhawk

Awesome review with fantastic and scenic pictures.

Ownership costs are surprising for a big boy like Mhawk
nidhin0816 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th March 2013, 10:44   #17

Congratulations for the brute ! Wish you many more happy and safe miles on it.
Batfreak is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th March 2013, 21:52   #18

Great review! Short, to the point and only what is required, wish all reviews were like this. The scorpio looks surprising good for a 40K + vehicle.
amrisharm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th March 2013, 08:12   #19

A quick update on the mileage. I did two tank fills( auto cut off) from my recent trip and surprising mileage figures with almost 100% AC.
1st tank fill (60lts) covered 970kms and the needle had reached half way through the reserve indicator which is the red marking. 2nd tank fill it did 984kms till the same spot on the fuel level indicator.

The tank capacity to auto cut off is 60ltrs and if I were to do the math on both the tank fills the figure shows a stunning 16.xx kms mileage .
I still had another 30 or 40kms fuel left on both instances.

I was a bit surprised and decided to do another mileage test to ensure I wasnt hallucinating and filled up till auto cut off last Friday. Will update the latest mileage figures shortly.

Originally Posted by aviorp View Post
Its a Stunner, Riju bhai. Been quietly following pretty much all your threads - initial ownership, travelogue's, upgrades (ICE, Seat Covers, Alloys ). Very few can carry out some of the best modifications of a Scorp and you're right on top.

The cost of ownership is definitely in par with some sedans or may be even some hatchbacks. Though, in my case I had to shell out a little more, the past one year or so, its been around the same price as yours.
Avi thanks. Well I was actually planning to get an off road bumper just for the sake of aesthetics and then finally shelved the idea. Regarding the ownership costs, I was a tad bit surprised myself but then like they call it here , its the " desi SUV " you shouldn't be spending a fortune on maintainence.

Originally Posted by Rajain View Post
A couple of quick asks -

a) are there any parts that you have had to replace before their 'end of life'?
Yes the clutch .

b) How long do you plan to keep this vehicle?
Another 2 years and my next buy will definitely be an auto tranny.

c) If you were to sell it today would you consider another Mahindra for your next vehicle?
Only time will tell my friend.

d) Have you had a time to call their 24/7 number and get a roadside assistance in all these years? If yes how good was that service?
Never and the one instance I called someone was about a month back when I rear ended the XUV. I contacted Gourav Rao(Dy.Area Mgr ,M&M) and he took care of everything for me.

e) any push back you heard from Mahindra SA on any claim on warranty? Like the extra headlights or an outside fitment of music system or Pete/RD box etc?
None as such. No Pete's/RD's tuning box so never have I had to go that route. Music system and the Aux lamps was never a matter of contention with the service folks.

Appreciate the long term ownership thread. Wishing long long and safe journey's on the Scorpio.

Rajain
Thank you.

Originally Posted by Lukeskywalker View Post
Lovely Riju, I first looked at the pics and then started reading, your Scorpio always manages to stand out, those alloys add a lot of character to the Scorpio, your Geolandars have done approx 38k kms now I would assume, they will last you another 35k kms easily, my Michelins are still good at 73k kms now, these AT tyres, if used on normal roads last and last.
We must do another round of photography soon.
Hari I wouldn't use it beyond 50k or so. By then the tires would be 4 years old and it would have lived its life.

Originally Posted by amrisharm View Post
Great review! Short, to the point and only what is required, wish all reviews were like this. The scorpio looks surprising good for a 40K + vehicle.
Thanks man. Those weekends spent detailing is quite taxing at times and is a calorie burner .
Old 11th March 2013, 08:28   #20

Recently on a highway trip i too had got 16.4Kmpl,i had kept speeds between 85-95 throughout the trip to avoid a speeding ticket.
Old 20th March 2013, 13:37   #21

At the outset let me compliment you for the excellent photography.I have also been using my Scorpio for more than 2 years,the niggling and recurring problem I find is of the power windows going on the blink ,every time I get it rectified during servicing but the problem reoccurs very soon thereafter.It is quite frustrating.You have indicated that it occurring with you only once,is that so ?
Old 21st March 2013, 14:34   #22

Originally Posted by Ramanjit View Post
At the outset let me compliment you for the excellent photography.I have also been using my Scorpio for more than 2 years,the niggling and recurring problem I find is of the power windows going on the blink ,every time I get it rectified during servicing but the problem reoccurs very soon thereafter.It is quite frustrating.You have indicated that it occurring with you only once,is that so ?
Ramanjit thank you. Like I mentioned in my thread, the Scorpio has it's own mood swings and self healing techniques. I would suggest you get the power window motor replaced under warranty. No matter how many times you try and fix it, this problem will crop up. Save that headache and ask for a replacement.
Old 10th April 2013, 09:49   #23

A quick update on the mileage, I sure wasn't hallucinating . The mileage figures are around the same with mixed city and highway driving in the last 2 tank fills with AC usage being at almost 100% .
Both the fills in the last 3 weeks the scorpio did 935kms and 950kms on a full tank till cut off.
Old 15th April 2013, 16:52   #24

Originally Posted by rjstyles69 View Post
Ramanjit thank you. Like I mentioned in my thread, the Scorpio has it's own mood swings and self healing techniques. I would suggest you get the power window motor replaced under warranty. No matter how many times you try and fix it, this problem will crop up. Save that headache and ask for a replacement.
That's a good idea,will get it done as the veh is still under extended warranty.Thanks for the suggestion.
Old 15th April 2013, 17:37   #25

your scorp is always a reference point be it the aux lamps, cb antenna ,now your alloys , awesome buddy . whats the damage for your alloys.

Mine has also crossed 47k in 3yrs & 3 months .

Mine takes about 45-46 lts at auto cutoff before reserve warning and max i have filled is about 52 lts , IIRC tank capacity is 60 lts .
rm_arjuna is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th August 2015, 10:45   #26

Saw your Scorpio's pic in the NDTV's website!
Long Term Ownership - My Scorpio Mhawk-screenshot_1.jpg  

FordDodo is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com