|
Advanced Search |
Go to Page... |
![]() |
Search this Thread | ![]() 627,338 views |
![]() | #241 | ||
Senior - BHPian ![]() | Re: Skoda Superb - A tryst with destiny Let me begin writing once again by paying homage to our dear SAM KAPASI. Even though I had not met the gentleman personally, his threads were a instant joy. His YetiBlogs would go in the annuls of Tbhp as one of the finer written topics. His humour was addictive and viral at the same time leaving no one unaffected. His topic on his ownership of the Superb (http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...da-superb.html ) was one of the instrumental ones to motivate many persons (including me). May his soul rest in peace. My heartfelt condolences to his wife and family in this sad hour. I am dedicating the following technical post to our dear friend and his hunger to learn something new always, as he showed with his child like anxiety for knowledge on 4x4 driving on getting a 4x4 Land Rover Discovery. ------------------ Superb's 1.8 TSI engine. It was in fact developed by Audi and not VW as I presumed, which I came to know recently. ![]() Quote:
Last edited by dkaile : 24th September 2012 at 12:20. | ||
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks dkaile for this useful post: | Monaro CV8 |
|
![]() | #242 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | Re: Skoda Superb - A tryst with destiny Finally got my bill for 1st Free Checkup after name correction. Skoda backed seems to be doing a fabulous job keeping customers happy. My mail to the MD was promptly answered back and so was this issue about name correction. For any customer car issues, I recommend this person Mr. Rahul Kulkarni, who I think is their Customer Care Head and sits in Pune. He is solving all customer-care and after-sales issues quite promptly. His details are - Rahul Kulkarni | Customer Care Skoda Auto India Pvt. Ltd., A 605, ICC Towers, S B Road,Pune, India. HQ- A1/1, Five Star MIDC, Shendra, Aurangabad 431201, India 020-30931113 E-Mail: rahul.kulkarni@skoda-auto.co.in www.skoda-auto.co.in customerCare@skoda-auto.co.in The bill for 70 rupees for the free checkup. Quite good for a Superb class vehicle, I would say... ![]() Last edited by GTO : 30th October 2012 at 15:18. Reason: As requested |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #243 |
BHPian Join Date: Aug 2012 Location: India
| Re: Skoda Superb - A tryst with destiny ^^ How is this SUMMER WAS supposed to be used? I bought a bottle from Skoda but i am not sure if its a concentrate or ready to use mixture. To put it differently, is it 1 litre of solution which need to be mixed with water or is it already mixed with water? If it already mixed with water then we need 5 such bottles to fill the entire sprayer bottle otherwise this could just be mixed with 4 litres of water! ![]() |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #244 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | Re: Skoda Superb - A tryst with destiny
Usually such type of glass cleaners are used in a 50:50 ratio with demineralised/distilled/RO water. Rest, hit and trial can give you your preferable best combination. I for one just used one bottle to top-up and that is doing the job just fine with the rest being water. You can also substitute it with a litre of Colin and rest RO water which will also do the job equally well. Don't add normal tap water to any liquid in the car (coolant, battery, wiper fluid etc.) especially if the hardness levels in your area are above 150ppm (usually in most areas), as that will cause calcium deposits and clogging of various parts that come in contact with it. Hope that helps. Last edited by dkaile : 28th September 2012 at 08:10. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks dkaile for this useful post: | Santoshbhat |
![]() | #245 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | Re: Skoda Superb - A tryst with destiny Superb vs Camry vs Sonata vs Accord Shootout in this month's Autocar India ![]() After Overdrive magazine, its now the turn of Autocar India to give the same verdict. The last line is quite interesting and sums it all for me. It's Skoda's Tryst with Destiny - Quote:
Last edited by dkaile : 28th September 2012 at 19:23. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #246 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jul 2011 Location: Udupi
| Re: Skoda Superb - A tryst with destiny I got a small bottle of windshield wash concentrate free when I replaced my cracked windshield at Tafe Access Bangalore. It says 1:100 in the title. this may be the dilution needed. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #247 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | Quote:
| |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #248 | |
Team-BHP Support ![]() ![]() | Re: Skoda Superb - A tryst with destiny Quote:
I guess they are just reviewing/comparing the cars and ignoring the "ownership experience" part. The question is - would they put their hard earned money on a Skoda? Will they put their money where their mouth is? Especially since they know how many customers face issues with Skoda support? | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #249 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | Re: Skoda Superb - A tryst with destiny Quote:
That is what the magazine understood correctly and they are fully justified in putting their "OUR CHOICE". Skoda has some great products which are at par if not better than their VW counterparts. And they are offered at a great price. If you have visited a Skoda showroom recently for after-sales support, you will understand what I am saying. So why then should they not deserve to be OUR CHOICE. I have put my money where my mouth is and have been ratified in my decision. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks dkaile for this useful post: | Santoshbhat |
![]() | #250 |
| Re: Skoda Superb - A tryst with destiny I agree with you dkaile, I replaced my cracked windshield recently at Tafe Access Bangalore. I was really pleasantly surprised by the speed and professionalism with which they handled the problem and to my satisfaction. They gave a free body exterior wash, did interior cleaning and leather upholstery polishing at my request and within 24 hours, they claimed the insurance, got it approved, and my car was ready for delivery. I feel if they maintain similar attitude and approach, they are real value for money. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks dezrskb for this useful post: | dkaile |
![]() | #251 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | Re: Skoda Superb - A tryst with destiny POLICE SIREN!!! Superb Faces 1st Issue - Fails to crank So yesterday night (10.30pm), I thought to take the Superb for a spin as it had not been driven for a few days. Car was in my driveway. It opened promptly by remote. Interior Lights went on but seemed a little dim. Put key in ignition. Waited for all warning lights to go off as usual. Cranked... No crank!! Then some errors started coming on MID. "Error: stabilisation control (ESC)". So my Skoda woes had started, I presumed. Never in all the cars I had owned, that a car failed to crank or battery failed in 6 months of ownership, and that too of a lightly driven car. So much for praising Skoda Reliability!! 5940 on ODO. 6 months 5 days into ownership. All hell foreseen. 11 pm : Called Skoda Roadside Assistance on 1800 209 4646. Didn't expect anyone to pickup phone at this time of the night. Surprise, Surprise. Phone picked up on 1st ring of choosing Roadside Assistance option (press 3). "Yes Sir, how may I help you" - Your Skoda gone kaput, I said. Not starting. "Give me details, VIN etc." - Given "Are you stranded?" - No, I am at my home. What if I was stranded?, I asked. "We would have reached you in 15 minutes based on the location you have given". I didn't believe them. Send someone in the morning 10 am please. "Yes Sir" 02-10-2012 (National Holiday, Gandhi Jayanti) - I thought no one's gonna come today as all commercial establishments and local dealer is closed. Woke up early. Opened bonnet. RAT POO on top of engine!! All hell broke loose in my mind. The bloody buggers must have chewed all wires. I am a goner now! No way can they repair wiring properly without a big expenses on my side. Checked for visible wire cuts. Could find none. Prayed and then cleaned the bay so as to leave no evidence for them... lolz. Battery had some juice but no crank, still. 8.30 am - I get call from Skoda Assistance. "Sir, you complained yesterday. Can we send a person?" Why not. 8.45 am - Repeat Call from Skoda assistaance (it was a Mumbai no. 022-61543400). "Sir, the Road Assistant is on conference. Kindly explain him your location". Turns out he was just outside my house and I guided him to the residence. 8.50 am - Skoda Assistant on my doorstep. Seemed like a normal Electrician. Came in a dilapidated Esteem. Are you from C&T Motors (the local Meerut dealership)? I asked him. "No Sir, We are independent of them". I was surprised. As I knew for certain that C&T Motors was closed today. He takes out his battery from the esteem (a new Amaron) in a jiffy. Tells me to crank and show him the issue. Takes out jump start cables. Opens bonnet and attaches wires directly to his removed battery. Positive to positive and negative to negative. I tell him to attach negative to earth point on car chassis, as I had read it in the manual. He says no need. I crank. And its back to life. What was the reason? I ask him. "Sir, you seem to drive your car less?" Yes. "Sir, this needs to driven frequently" "Saar, all systems very electrical. Even locked, consumes more power than normal cars as it has surveillance system inside". I am not fully convinced. The ESC error messages was still coming on MID. Also TPM and ESP lights were on. "It will disappear once you drive it Sir. Otherwise take it tomorrow to the dealer and get it removed by computer. Also get your battery gravity checked". OK, will do tomorrow. I also remember having read on Hayek's thread http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-t...ml#post2589763 that such errors on MID come due to low battery not providing enough current to various electronics. "Keep car started for 15 minutes to give the battery some juice". I ask him, what would have happened had I been stranded somewhere in the city at 11pm yesterday night. "I would have been there in 15 minutes, Saar". Now I believe him. And more importantly, no issues due to any RATS, luckily. All wiring is intact afaict. I thank him and he leaves. NO CHARGES. All on the house. I take his direct number but he tells me to direct calls through Mumbai Road Assistance for better service. I call C&T Motors, Meerut service advisor. He picks his cell promptly and informs me it is a holiday today. I brief him about the situation. He informs me to come tomorrow for gravity check of battery and also informs me that they have new batteries in ready stock and will be replaced immediately if issue is found, under warranty. But he tells me same thing that it is less driving issue. Skoda cars consume more electrical power on standstill and needed to be cranked optimally every second day. Hmmmm. After 15 minutes. I shut down car. Give it another crank. It's up and running immediately. Error messages still on. So I decide to take it for a spin. Immediately on my reversing out of driveway, all error messages DISAPPEAR. Hmmmm. Give it a nice 5-6 km spin on empty cantonment roads in Meerut. The car's BACK. Same dreamy drive. All error messages gone. I shut down the car and start again. Half crank start. NO ERROR messages. Seems battery is now OK. Only needed some juice that went missing due to lack of spin. Will take it to the dealership soon to rule out battery issue. BUT, out of all this I have learnt some lessons. Skoda does not have the shut it and forget it reliability of the Japs due to its more complicated and burdening electronics, which I knew off course. This is the price to be paid for the extra luxury. You need to get accustomed to handle a European sedan differently from the Japs. Hmmmm. Overall, highly satisfied with the Road Side Assistance of Skoda. They require to give this in India more than any other manufacturer because their cars are more complicated than them anyways. Will update on future battery issue after checkup. Last edited by GTO : 4th October 2012 at 13:08. Reason: Do NOT post in Hindi. And do NOT post abusive language, even indirectly |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 7 BHPians Thank dkaile for this useful post: | Blue Thunder, Hayek, lurker, Santoshbhat, SmartCat, vb-saan, xtremeshock |
|
![]() | #252 |
| Re: Skoda Superb - A tryst with destiny dkaiile, Thats exactly what I was thinking regarding the battery. If you read my Skoda Laura initial ownership thread, I have exactly voiced my concern regarding this and I expect Superb too to be similar as far as presence of complicated electronic gadgets are concerned. Front door (door panel) warning light, and puddle lamp on the undersurface of both OVRMs too stay on for too long. I guess if you want to fold both the mirrors electronically after switching off the engine and open the boot, both of these actions too are drain on battery. Tell me one thing, your car is not driven daily? I drive my car daily but say about 10 kms daily. Only when I go out of station leaving my car behind, then it might not run for couple of days. Also I feel each and every driver should know how to jump start a car and should have a jump start cable in boot as everybody may not have luxury of having Skoda Roadside assistance so promptly in all parts of country. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks dezrskb for this useful post: | dkaile |
![]() | #253 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | Re: Skoda Superb - A tryst with destiny ESP warning + No crank in Superb means Battery dead. Get the battery checked, most probably it will be some dead cell. Though keep your fingers crossed for rat damage! That is absolutely the worst thing that can happen to such a complex automobile. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks .anshuman for this useful post: | dkaile |
![]() | #254 | ||
Senior - BHPian ![]() | Re: Skoda Superb - A tryst with destiny Quote:
----------- Received this reply from the MD of Skoda India, Mr. Sudhir Rao - ![]() This was in response to this letter I had sent him earlier - Quote:
| ||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank dkaile for this useful post: | Blue Thunder, kedarwalke, sagarpadaki |
![]() | #255 | |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2010 Location: Bengaluru
| Re: Skoda Superb - A tryst with destiny Quote:
To hear directly from the MD is indeed satisfying! I must say its very kind of the MD himself to directly reply to a customers concerns.That said,its good to see the satisfying replies from him! If they can improve the Service in around 2 years then i am more than willing to put my money into a Skoda. BTW, did you send a Email or did you write the letter personally and sent it to Mr.Sudhir? | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks sagarpadaki for this useful post: | dkaile |
![]() |